Image of Haiti Apartments

Haiti Apartments

39 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
2 stars
Avenida de Mogán, 23, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain
The location, coupled with the friendly and welcoming atmosphere, makes the Haiti a great choice.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve
10 years 11 months ago
Clean apartments but could do with a bit of an update. Patio door to balcony was very difficult to slide open as the rail was worn out, someone older woud not be able to open it.

Great views, good pool, but 138 steps up from the beach and seafront. Not for the elderly or infirm.

All in all good value and we are a lot fitter now.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Michelle
11 years ago
We stayed at the Haiti over Christmas & new year 2006. After doing our research & reading many reviews of this accommodation we had some reservations, however, were under no illusion that it was going to be luxurious - it is, after all only 2 star rated.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised that the apartment was spacious, clean & with adequate facilities for our stay. The kitchen was well equipped with a large fridge freezer, kettle & electric hob.

There was a comfortable seating area, nice bathroom, 2 twin bedrooms with built in wardrobes, balcony with fabulous views of the beach & harbour. The cleaners came around 5 times per week to tidy around, make beds etc, & the linen was changed twice a week. The hotel is situated on quite a busy road, but the noise wasn't bad & didn't disturb us at all.

There are alot of steps down to the harbour & beach, but then, that's the trade-off you have to make for having such a great view from your room. The pool area was not huge, but a real sun-trap, however, the pool was icy cold (but it was December!)

The pool-bar wasn't always open, unless there were a few people around the pool, but if you asked at reception they'd open it up. I'd advise you try & get a key for the gate that leads from the pool area to the steps down to the beach, this is always locked for security but if you have a key it saves your legs of some of the many steps!

I would definitely visit the Haiti again, we had no major complaint about any aspect of the accommodation. It was clean, within easy walking distance of the beach & bars, friendly staff.

Considering the price & star rating, we couldn't have expected any more.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jessie
12 years 3 months ago
Our apartment, was clean and tidy and would stay there again. Our apartment over looked the sea and the harbour, although we were over looking a road, there was very little noise, in fact we didn't hear any thing.

The staff were very pleasant and the hotel had a courtesy room which was handy.

The only thing was, there was no night entertainment.

The main centre were pubs and clubs are, is only a 5 minutes walk, or you could get a taxi for 2 euro, the beach is only a 5 minute walk, down steps but isn't too bad, the beach is lovely. Directly across from the apartments was a mini market that opened late.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sister

Recommended
Claire
12 years 3 months ago
I've stayed at the Haiti twice now and I have no faults with it at all. It's in a excellent location close to the beach (a few steps to tackle though).

Town is a nice 10 minutes stroll away or we used to get the person on reception to ring us a taxi and it would be there in literally 2 minutes.

The rooms were regularly cleaned and bed linen changed and the pool area is clean and tidy. The thing I like most is the security, after a certain time the doors are locked and you have to knock to get in and the reception is 24 hours so this is never a problem.

I would recommend the Haiti apartments to anyone going to Puerto Rico.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
A&c Kendall
12 years 4 months ago
Arrived afternoon 29 Aug first impression was well ok ,but when we opened door to room thought are we glad only one week (thomson need to send someone to reclassify or remove from brochure ).

Road noise terrible ,but not as bad as groups of young lads who got started with happy hour at bar then to night clubs,arriving back 3-4am and making as much noise as possible.(we heard guests being verbally abused )Rep said she had spoken to them but admitted she was afraid when they were drunk.where was security at night???.

This is supposed to be a family choice holiday. Just glad we didnt have ground floor or apt above bar. Could be nice if money was spent on refurb&air con
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Shute
12 years 5 months ago
We looked forward to this for 6 months... the room was filthy dirty and smelt of urine. The sofas, curtains and beds all smelt, and everything needed replacing. This room was on the bottom floor, and when we had been in the room for a few seconds, I knew I could not spend two weeks there, so we had to pay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Dave
12 years 7 months ago
The Hiati appartments are not for the faint hearted.
The traffic noise is very bad.
The appartment was filthy, staff were rude.

And yes the beach was 162 steps down which was bad enough but coming back up was awful especially at night which involved going through a dark tunnel not a very safe feeling if you were on your own.

I noticed the sea had bits of bathroom stationary floating about and evidence of raw sewerage.
all togather quite the worst holiday we have ever had
The only consolation being that thank goodness we booked one week and not two.

Would not recommend it at all
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Danielle
12 years 10 months ago
I stayed in the Haiti aparthotel in Porto Rico with my sister and my mum and dad and it was absolutely brilliant.

The restaurants there are amazing especially (La Borela) across from the shopping centre down an ally near McDonald
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Norrie
13 years 2 months ago
The hotel has superb views across the harbour, is far enough away from the commercial centre to be peaceful, and is only (in Puerto Rico terms) a short walk to the beach.
The weather is superb, the restuarants nearby likewise (you should try the Italian; 1st left after going down the steps) but watch out for those at the commercial centre (very poor). The pigeons are persistent, and a pest, but less so that those who try and persuade you near the beach to try an alternative man-made beach; don't bother. Porto Mogan is a nice short trip away as is the camel trip at Maspolonis.
You will experience road noise no matter what any brochure states but be aware, the views are immense and from the other hotels/ apartments we seen, you are lucky, believe me.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
R.Dawson
13 years 3 months ago
Just returned from the Haiti and would strongly recommend. Superb view across beach & harbour. Steps to beach 172 to be exact but not a problem if you take your time. 15 minute walk, with fewer steps, to main commercial centre with many shops, bars, restaurants etc. Taxis plentiful and cheap in day less than
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: