Image of Roslara Apartments

Roslara Apartments

56 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 18 reviews
2 stars
Calle Roque De Los Muchachos, 3, 35139 Mogán, Spain

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carlos
7 years 10 months ago
Having read previous reviews we were dreading arriving at the apartments. However to our suprise and delight, the rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. We booked the holiday last minute and got a very good price. If your expecting luxury then pay for it. If you want a comfortable clean place to stay with fantastic views and helpful staff stay here. The apartments are basic but had everything we need including kettle toaster loads of cutlery clean bed linen and towels. The apartments had a great bar next to the pool area with a lovely couple running it. We spent many hours socialising around the bar and meeting loads of ineresting people. The food and beer were good and great value. The shop next to the pool was conveinient and contained the apartment owner who provided us with our keys and a smile. She also helped us when ever she could providing my girlfriend here own paracetamol that wasn't avalible in the shop. In terms of hygiene the cleaners worked extremely hard and we turned one of them away on one occasion cos the appartment was still clean from last time she did it. All the families we spoke to only had positive thinks to say about the place. Previous negative reviews are either by people expecting to pay peanuts and get the ritz or the appartments have made rapid improvements. Anyway we loved it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jetline travel

Recommended
John Dyson
9 years 10 months ago
If you like decaying 1950's concrete this is for you. The place has an air of neglect not helped by the very off-putting garbage bins tastefully arrayed outside the front entrance.

The bulding site next to it is a constant nuisance. Work there seems to be dead slow and stop. The site is very steep and there is only a limited lift service-you need to be fit enough to haul luggage around.

Finding the hotel by car is difficult and you need a map from the helpful tourist offices in Puerto Rico. Parking is not easy and the hotel staff very unhelpful about this.

In season I suspect that parking will be more or less impossible. The sea views are nice-at least if you like distant views. The beach is a long way away down a steep hill and taxis are a definite help. The balconies are pleasant but in need of repair. The balcony rails are rather low-children would need watching.

As far as size is concerned the rooms are fine. But although they are cleaned they are distinctly scruffy. Some things dont work properly. Two lights were out in the bedroom-one bulb clearly having had a major confrontation with someone. However in fairness this was attended to pleasantly within an hour or so of reporting it. The toilet was idiosynchrotic to say the least. Still you got a useful insight into local plumbing.

The equipment for a self catering apartment is disgraceful. Three forks, three spoons three knives etc. Three pans. No cleaning equipment. A fridge that worked but looked as though it should have been junked years ago. The cooking facility is a very small hotplate with two rings. (Its just as well that the excellent Europa Centre is near for meals).

The most basic electric kettle with no switch-just push the flex in and pull out of the plug. A toaster that toasted as it saw fit-doubtless the big piece that had been knocked out of it didnt improve its performance.

The minimarket is OK for emergencies but is quite expensive and has only very basic supplies. The bar is OK though the bar staff seem more interested in the regular drinkers than others. Its pleasant around the pool.

All in all it should be avoided. Too many disadvantages and its overwhelming shabbiness is de[ressing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Beach Holidays

Danielle
9 years 10 months ago
I stayed here the last week in Feb and thought it was great value for money. I think if you pay through the roof for it you may be disappointed. The rooms are basic but clean, all our s/c equipment worked fine. The best part of the rooms were the balconies...They're huge and have the sun all day long. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Me and my friend were in an apartment just above the shop so if we needed anything it was just a shout away. Cant ask for more! The building works next door obviously aren't ideal but they're no where near as bad as people make out. The best place to catch the sun is over in the corner right by them and after 5 mins you dont even notice it....Well the crane horn every now and then reminds you but it wouldnt spoil your holiday. Having been to Puerto Rico many times i'd say the place was on par with others i'd stayed in but cheaper.

The only downside to the place really is the location. Its a 5/10 min walk to the Europa but a taxi/bus ride down to the commercial centre. Its an easy walk down to Amadores Beach but even at 23yrs old i wouldnt attempt the walk back the bus up is about 90 cents!

I would use these again if i was on another low budget holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Ian
10 years 1 month ago
major buiding work going on next to these apartments no good when your applying sun creams it makes you look like flour graders with the amount of dust.
the rooms are basic with no fans poor decoration, if like us you asked for a sea view you will need binnoculars and assistance from the local crane operator to see from rooms 34/35, if you like ants and other insects this is the place to book wishing everybody a happy holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choise

Steven
10 years 3 months ago
Arrived at 6am. No one there to greet us, which was disapointing, just a note on the main door telling us our room number.

At 10am went for breakfast at the poolside bar and ordered full Scottish breakfast. Into second mouthfull and noticed that there was, what appeared to be, a pubic hair sticking out my fried egg !!!!!
Customer there also complaining he had been burgled!!!

Not a good start.....

The apartments themselves were very basic but generally clean to begin with and the balcony was a good size which caught the sun all day long. No air con though.

The whole place would have looked nice a few years ago but now it is in extreme dis-repair. Walls are crumbling, paintwork flaking. generally the apartments were run down and in drastic need of some tlc...

Building site next door with work starting at 7am with a big noisy crane that didnt stop until 7pm. Unfortunately our apartment was closest to this...

Cleaned twice in our week there....quick mop of floors and towels changed but not the bedding which is a disgrace especially in this heat!!!!
By the end of the week our balcony was inch thick in dust from building site...

No entertainment at night which was probably a blessing as we had to go to the Europa centre which was fabulous.

Staff nearly non existant...reception hours varied between 1 - 2 one day and 5 - 6 the next..Poolside bar friendly enough although lacking in cleaning skills as it was filthy...

Good location looking down to the Amadores beach which was 20 mins walk away. Suggest taxi back up the hill which was very steep.

Five...yes five apartments burgled in the week we were there. Each time no forced entry so a key must have been used.....The maids? The staff??? who knows... the police didnt anyway and didnt seem to care as did the staff.

Would i go back....

No...or at least not until the place had been restored and better security in place
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: UKTravelshop

Carol@danny
10 years 6 months ago
arrived at roslara at 3am and their was list on the gate saying ring sercurity to gain access.after 30 mins a gaurd let us in and told us room number and that the key was inside the room,after going down 3 lots of stairs we found are room which was basic but seemed clean,at 10.30 we made are way to reception and the staff spoke fairly good english and helpfull.we looked around the complex and looked at the island which is realy nice but a bit out the way,taxi to the beach is 3 euro cheap and cheerfull. the cleaners came about 2 times aweek to change towels etc, the only thing we found a bit strange was the couple that run the bar seemed to drink more than holiday makers which many nights ended in rows, we would come to the resort again but not to roslara, it was a experience not to be forgotten....
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Tara
10 years 8 months ago
The day we arrived there were no receptionist there just a note on the door with a key and the apartment door open. So we had to carry our bags to the bottom floor to come back to the top floor as there were nobody there to help.
The nest day, we got up and we pluged the toaster in and it automatacily switched all the electric off!
So we went down to the beach for a few hours, we come back and we'd been burguled! someone had stolen all the jewerely and a mobile phone, they were gold chains, bracelets and rings! We went down to reception and she couldn't help as she couldn't speak a work of English, luckily the bar staff did!

The reception shuts really early so in the afternoon you wouldn't be able to get an ice lolly after 4! lol

The cleaner comes in most days and mops the floor the towels got changed twice in 10 days, and the bedin once!

The apartments are in the hills, and you need to taxi everywhere even to the beach! and for something to eat!

I will not be returning to these apartments, but I'm coming back to Puerto Rico! more near the night life!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: ..

Sarah
10 years 9 months ago
Just arrived home from the Roslara and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night break. Arrived early but only had to wait 30 min until room was ready. Room was very spacious, basic but everything you needed apart from a hairdryer!

It was cleaned every day except Sunday.

We stayed self catering but the food served at the bar was fantastic. All homemade Scottish food.

The location looked to be miles from anywhere but once you were there it is only a 10 min walk to the Europa centre and only 3 euros for a taxi to the bottom centre. You didn't really see the hotel staff just the girl at reception.

The sun was out all day so got a cracking tan!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
Roslara was at the top of Puerto Rico. 15m walk down hill to Amadores beach. Stunning and well worth the walk, taxi back up was only 2.5 euros. You could always take the steps (700)!!! Down to Puerto Rico beach around 25m again well worth the visit, and taxi back up was reasonable at 3 euros.

We stayed room only and used it as a base, well positioned and clean, basic, value for money and would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
John & Margaret Deuchars
10 years 10 months ago
We stayed in Roslara apartamentos. We usually go to Puerto Rico for eight weeks Jan/Feb on a self-catering basis. Prior to this year we have rented private apartments. Because we had only two weeks this year we chose to look for a package.

We know the area very well and chose Roslara because of its location. The sun was on the balcony from 0830h till sunset and that was what we wanted.

The Europa centre is good for shopping; and morning baguettes(still warm) can be had at the Spar at the bottom of the hill.

The apartment block has a lift from the entrance to the pool/reception floor only. This was difficult for me at the beginning (we were on the third floor). Taxis are cheap; and there is a bus from Puerto Centro to Europa and Amadores(90 cents redeemable at Custom supermarkets)

The apartment was cleaned daily (except Sunday); towels were changed twice a week and bedding every Monday. It was basic; kettle, coffe maker and pots and pans, and enough crockery and cutlery for three people.

The building does need some TLC.

The staff were pleasant and chatty when they came in.The caretaker cleaned the canopies when we were there. The bar staff were nice. We had a drink there on arrival and discovered they have a selection of 'easy reading' books.
Every Sunday a live singer is at the pool bar. Mostly 50s-70s songs. Sounds great from the balcony.

There was some building work on the next plot of land - but that is Puerto Rico and you get used to it. That will probably still be getting built this time next year.

If we can have long stay at Roslara, we may well be back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: