Image of Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Guayarmina Princess Hotel

19 of 41 hotels in Costa Adeje

4 out of 5 from 53 reviews
4 stars
Londres, 1, Costa Adeje., 38670 Adeje (Tenerife), Spain

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    28
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Elaine
10 years 9 months ago
God's Waiting Room......well thats what we called it

After a week's cruise we had a weeks stay in this hotel and we will never stay in it again
We arrived early afternoon got our key and stood with our cases infront of the glass lifts (note we had no help with our luggage) and then we waited and waited and waited while the lifts stopped on 0 then missing reception (floor 1) they then proceeded to floors 3,2,4, 2, then 0 AGAIN before opening before us on floor 1 and be warned the lift doors take no prisoners as they snap shut quicker than a nuns legs
After nearly been sliced in two we got to our room 2034 (the side that gets no sun at all during the winter) it was very cold and it was clean enough but the bathroom was a nightmare to manouver in I was certainly dissapointed as it was not up to Platinum standards
They dont replace shampoo/soap/showergel unless you badger them
Electrics are shocking (no pun intended) pluging a phone charger in resulted in the lights dimming and sparks from the plug
Entertainment on a night is equal to a working mans club and with our room being in the main part of the hotel we had no need to go down to the bars as we could hear the piano bar/ lounge/ showroom all at the SAME TIME and knew what was going on without having to go out of our room.
The walls are paper thin between the rooms and we could hear if next door passed wind
Meal times were like a bun fight, the food was average and cold most of the time as was the service but there were just too many people fighting to get to the food and those walking sticks were used as weapons quite a few times against us
Im no spring chicken (50) but 80% of the other guests in the hotel were over 80 and were very rude
There were no sunbeds left by 9am and if you were lucky enough to find one it was away from the pool or bar (there is no waiter service round the pool area) The sunbeds are packed in like sardines and were just left in the same positions the guests left them in I never saw them being tidied at anytime nor was any of the pool/sunbed area tiles mopped or cleaned and I saw plenty of drinks spilt (no wonder there were flies)
Drinks were expensive in the hotel a vodka and coke plus draught beer cost 9 euro's

In my honest opinion this hotel is not a platinum hotel as advertised its more like a 3star and it is not on par with its sister hotel the Bahia Princess yet you are charged the same prices if not more

I was realy very dissapointed as I was willing to give this hotel a chance, it was more like a version of a Butlins care home than any Platinum hotel I have ever been in

My advice is DONT GO to this hotel

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Mr Adams
10 years 11 months ago
Viewed this website prior to booking our holiday to this hotel, after visiting, am alarmed at the number of good reports it has got. The plus side of the hotel is that it is very clean, albeit looking in need of decoration in places, and the staff at reception are very friendly but there are a number of downsides.The room we were given was a family room which, we were led to believe comprised of a double bed and two sofa beds. What you actually get is two very firm single beds and a small double sofa bed. The sofa bed had a mettress that was no more than 50mm thick so, as i have a teenage son and daughter they slept in the single beds and me and the wife had to sleep in the very uncomfortable sofa bed. The room also faces onto the main strip which means if, like we were, you are on a lower level you'll get alot of noise from people passing by until about 2.00 in the morning. We only stayed in the hotel for one week and the same food appeared over and over again. Some of the food, mainly the cooked breakfasts, looked to be undercooked. The beer in the hotel is 3.30euro a pint against 1.50euro on the main bars outside the hotel.


Not a hotel i would recommend. Stopped at far better hotels e.g Senstori in Crete and Sani Beach in Halkidiki if you want a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

James Stewart
11 years ago
we went half board basis, but we were very disappointed in the choice of food as it always seemed to be pork, veal or beef every night. veal and pork occasionally chicken was beside the salad as well. we ate out most of the time so self catering would have been better. we spent a lot of money eating out, even though the prices are really reasonable. the hotel room, which we had booked a suite was really nice and comfortable but the rooms need updating. the hotel staff were always very helpful. the thomson reps were really nice and did not push you into booking any outings, it was up to yourself to contact them. they were available twice a day for 3 hours at a time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Frost
11 years 1 month ago
Excellent choice.hotel was very clean ,looked very grand.nice touches with the plants (they dont need to be real)lovely friendly staff.

Very good choice of food, quick service, just needed a nod from the head waiter and your empty plates were taken away in seconds.

Rooms were spacious and comfortable ,and cleaned every day. Had difficulty turning on the shower as screen in the way.

The pool was clean, but a little slippery near the edge. Although we didnt see much of the entertainment, as we were on excursions, what was planned, looked good but the main evening slots were far too late to enjoy.

Reps very helpful. Best hotel we have stayed in so far, and we will definitely be going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Annie Wiles
11 years 2 months ago
Our third visit too Costa Adeje - which we love!! We stayed in the Guarymina for our honeymoon, after normally booking last minute deal holidays we decided to splash out for honeymoon so for what we payed i expected a little more! the hotel is very nice and clean but could do with a little updating, the staff are very helpful, resturant lovely and rooms nice. on my birthday which was celebrated out there i was left a bottle of champagne in the room - nice touch! pool area nice but i have never come across so many sunbed savers!! they are out soooo early on the departure day we were up at 7.30 and there were towels out already!! People often didnt go down to there saved sunbed till mid afternoon - bit naughty as there are alot of signs saying not to do it. Hotel has a little gift shop and hair salon. All in all a nice hotel but not sure if id go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Kelly
11 years 2 months ago
we have just returned from our holiday and had to write this to everyone going or thinking of going ,great hotel rooms cleaned every day, pool cleaned daily ,right on the beach also bars lovely walks never saw a cockroack or lizard this is our second time here we stayed six years ago and it was good then food hot and plentyfull from raosts steaks fish cold starters veg puddings if you have children you can ask for the childs menue nothing to much trouble great holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Sue
11 years 2 months ago
Stayed at the GP for 14 nights. Worst hotel I have ever been in! Hotel was a disgrace, certainly not a 4T plat.

Rooms not as depicted in the Thomson brochure. We were allocated a room with twin beds plus a sofa bed just wider than one of the twins - all this space for 4 of us!!

The broken toilet in our room took the staff 3 days to repair after we complained.

The cleanliness of the room is very questionable - dust and dirt everywhere. Absolutely filthy. A crisp was poking out from under the sofa bed when we arrived, 2 weeks later it was still there complete with more dust and fluff.

You're not allowed to use your own electrical items in the room according to the notices - just ignore them, I did. Hair dryer and staighteners, plus chargers for ipods and Nintendo DS - used them all without permission!! Ha Ha.

The pool area is dangerous, the tiles are slipery when wet and lots of people were slipping over. Not enough sunbeds and parasols for the size of the hotel. If you don't reserve one by 7am then forget it you're either on the beach or in your room!

I also question the cleanliness of the pool as I am sure it wasn't cleaned properly after a child had an "accident" in it. My daughter was ill within 24 hours of them supposedly cleaning the pool!

The food was okay. Can't complain about that, but having to queue to pay for drinks when leaving the restaurant was a joke. What sort of hotel won't allow you to charge to your room? Answer - the same hotel that puts plastic plants in the planters and won't let you use the fridge without paying extra!

If you are thinking of booking this hotel, please bear in mind that it isn't a 4T platinum as Thomsons say. Its very shabby and not worth the money. I was really disappointed and have complained to Thomsons about it as I feel it was a total waste of money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

L Casson
11 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a lovely 11 day stay at this hotel. The public areas of this hotel are spotless ie pool, restaurant, reception,entertainment area/bar. However i would not say it deserves its 'Platinum' rating more like a good 4*.
It is pot luck what room you get on arrival which can make or break your holiday. This hotel is built on a slight hill. The rooms above ground level are the best (rooms starting with numbers 1000,2000,3000 or 4000). If you are lucky to get allocated one of these rooms you will have a great view over the area and get to use the glass lifts shown in the brochure. All the rest of the rooms are under the pool level and some are better than others. We were on level 3 (1 level under the pool) which was not too bad but we would not have wanted a lower floor to be honest. The lift system takes a bit of getting used to as reception is level 0 and the pool one floor below is level 4. Get it? No, neither did we. There are another 3 floors below this and the rooms are situated in a 'horse shoe' shape around the construction of the pool, which makes it quite dingy the lower you go. Definitely ask for a high floor when you book.
Having said that the room was bright and cleaned daily by the maids who did an excellent job. There were a few things broken in our room when we arrived ie the bedside lamp and wall light were not connected to the mains,the balcony light did not work and the pull down bed was missing a few slats! I would not expect this from a 'Platinum' rated hotel. The lamp was quickly sorted but the rest was not - disappointing. The bathroom could also do with an extractor as it gets quite steamy.
The restaurant is excellent with show cooking every night. There is a fish dish, meat dish and bbq choice of the day as well as the usual hot plate with chips,pasta, salads etc. The staff could not be more friendly and hard working. We had trout on our first night - lovely.
The hotel is situated right on the beach/promenade which is great as there is a door at the back of the hotel that takes you right there. You get to this via the lifts by the pool. Be aware though that this door closes at 21.00hrs and you have to walk around to the front of the hotel to get back in after this time.
The pool area is fantastic but can get very slippy when wet, so wear shoes. You also get the usual 'towel layers' on sunbeds so if you want a bed for the day i'm afraid you just have to join in (especially if you want a parasol). Not sure there are enough sunbeds to go round for the amount of guests at hotel.
There is entertainment on every night, the usual tribute acts and acrobats if you like that sort of thing. We ventured out most nights so can't really comment on these but folk seemed to enjoy them.
All in all we had a great holiday at this hotel and would go back in the future but definitely ask for a high floor room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Bob & Margaret
11 years 3 months ago
The hotel staffs were friendly with the personnel at the reception all speaking English well. There are a wide variety on nationalities using the hotel but UK holidaymakers appear to predominate which makes a nice change from being over run by our Germanic friends.
The hotel is in a good position with easy access to the sea front and beach using the hotel lift however if you are given a room near it you may want to try and change as it will keep you awake all night. (Only managed to suffer it for 1 night before moving)

The dining room is pretty large and can get busy around 20:00 so the best time to eat is when it first opens at 19:00 or wait until around 20:30 although the quality of the food remaining does deteriorate. The cost of a bottle of water is pretty extortionate at
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Wes Hood
11 years 8 months ago
Overall our stay at the GP was quite pleasurable, the food was good and service was good and receptionists were friendly and helpful.

I will start with the hotel exit door which gives you access straight to the beach and shopping 'strip'. this is open all day until eight o clock and then for some strange reason they close it meaning that if you want to go for a drink out of the hotel you have to walk up a hill and then back on yourself to get in the hotel. We think that this door is locked so that you abandon the idea of going elsewhwere for a drink and stay in the hotel and buy their drinks which in my opinion are outrageousely overpriced. I feel that they think that everyone whos stays here are loaded with money and that they can charge what they like ( nearly 4 euros for not even a pint of beer )but only 2 euros on the strip. cocktails are nice but also overpriced aswell as coffee, ice creams and soft drinks.

You feel obliged to buy water at meal times which is also pricey and the money we paid for this holiday you think that bottles of water could be provided at half the price or even free of charge.

This hotel boasts a 4 star service but trays were left at poolsides for long periods of time.

We stayed at the Isla Bonita last year and it knocked spots off this hotel and it is only a three star all inclusive, they serve the same brand coffee, beer, ice creams etc but for a much better price deal.

I feel the GP would do better as an all inclusive hotel but as long as people continue to pay the prices there is not much chance of that happening.

Thomson should have a look at why this hotel features in their platinum range as my parents have been on Thomson Gold in the past and this hotel does not even come close.

My mam got bitten by what we thought was midgees but have actaully been confirmed as bed bug bites.

We would go back to Costa Adeje but unfortunately not to this hotel and probably back to the Isla Bonita.

The entertainment we saw was very amateurish to say the least with again timing the entertainment to keep you in the hotel.

It must be understood that I am not the type to complain about nothing and you should consider this report before venturing to the Princess!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.