Image of Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Guayarmina Princess Hotel

19 of 41 hotels in Costa Adeje

4 out of 5 from 54 reviews
4 stars
Londres, 1, Costa Adeje., 38670 Adeje (Tenerife), Spain

54 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    28
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ellis Family
18 years 9 months ago
The hotel looks a four star, but not the room in the basement, which we were allocated on our arrival, at 2am, the room was dark had a mouldy smell with mould spours in the wardrobe, out son has Asthma, and this didn't help.

We complained straight away, firstly to the hotel reception and secondly to the 24 hour Thomson hotline, everyone was helpful, but nothing could be done until the following day. Hats off to the Thomson reps (especially Matt) who by 11am the next morning had managed to not only change our room but upgrade our family into a Suite with sea view (so no complaints there) and in our room the following day, the hotel had surprised us with champagne (in an ice bucket) and our coffee table was laid out with fresh fruit.

It was just that little bit extra that took away the bad memories of our arrival. Thanks to the hotel and Thomsons for all their help. The hotel staff were very helpful, the food was very good, with lots of choice, and it was nice to see Canarian food, with their lovely canarian potatoes.

The poolside restaurant at lunchtime was excellent value for money and their sangria was lovely.

We would come back to the hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
John
18 years 10 months ago
Stayed 7 nights at Guayarmina Princess Hotel.Our first holiday in Tenerife. Hotel itself very good but took a little time to find our way around or the quickest route from hotel room to Reception or to the Dining Room.

A Hotel plan would have been an asset especially as the Hotel is so expansive with several levels. We had a sea view room just below the swimming pool area and the aspect was everything that we could have wished for.

Two magnificent pools and scores of sun lounges available. Breakfast and Dinner was very good and one could eat as much as one wanted but there could have been more variety of food.

Cleanliness of room could have been better.The beds were made, toilet and bath were cleaned but little else was done especially in the lounge area.

There was no washing down of tiled floor and the bedroom mat was dirty and had seen better days. No daily general cleaning or tidying up appeared to be done.

Location of Hotel was excellent and Hotel staff were very helpful and accomodating. Evening entertainment was varied and of very high quality. Drinks at the bar were on the expensive side and it was much cheaper to drink in the many bars in the resort.

Had we have been told on arrival that we could have had a credit account and paid for drinks etc. on departure we would have used this facility rather than having need of a pocket full of euros.

Having now stayed there and finding out for ourselves the way round the Hotel and the services available we would certainly stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Andrew Marsden
18 years 10 months ago
This was our second visit to this hotel, having had a fantastic holiday here 2 years before. The hotel was as good as before in most respects, but the resort it'self has changed.

The hotel is very nice, spacious, and well run. The staff are attentive, and helpful. On busier nights service could be slow, but it was not a problem.

The rooms are not very large. I telephoned the hotel direct to request the same room we had previously, and whilst that wasn't available we were in the same area, simply one floor up. The rooms on the right of the hotel ( if facing main entrance ) have the better views.

We thought the level of cleanliness within the hotel and the rooms was good, certainly no complaints. I agree with an earlier review that the rooms would benefit from a lick of paint. When we arrived the table on our balcony had certainly seen better days - rather dirty, but it was replaced within a day without us asking.

The entertainment is much better than in other hotels we have stayed in. You have a good mix, and most shows are worth watching, for the more popular acts it can be hard to get a seat.

The food is average. There is a distinct lack of vegtables, at dinner, and a lack of variety. There seemed to be a lot of the same dishes on the buffet most nights.

The quality was reasonable, and some of the dishes were very nice, but you have the predictable blandness that you get when catering is on a large scale. There is show cooking on the grills each evening, but be careful with the white meat, as it could often be undercooked, whilst ironically the fish was almost always done to death.

Men must were long trousers to dinner, and they do not allow three quaters. The dress code is however then let down, by them allowing tracksuit bottoms, and vest tops!!

Breakfast is fine, with unlimited coffee and juice, and the usual array of cereal, cooked breakfast, fruit, etc. Omellettes are available as well.

If you are going for 2 weeks, plan on eating out a few times. There are decent places to go close by, and at reasonable rates. Try El Molino Blanco, a fantastic restuarant about a 5 min taxi away. Dress smart - a meal for 4 including a lot of wine! was only 180 euro.

The bar prices are what you expect for a princess hotel, and the measures are generous. Try the cocktails they are good.

The pool area is spacious and there are plenty of sunbeds. I can imagine that at busier times of the year, it could get quite crowded. It is best to put your towels out earlier to get the better slots, and to make sure you get a umbrella, as not all the sunbeds have them. There are signs up saying towels will be removed by staff if you do this, but that never happened once.There are no tables by the sunbeds which is disappointing.

The floor tiles are very slippy, especially around the pool, I wouldn't walk around in bare feet. I nearly fell twice returning to my sunbed after the first time in the pool.

Watch out for the lifts! They are always breaking down, and there aren't really enough, be prepared to queue. In particular the doors are treacherous, and will close on you in a flash, and hard enough to hurt. If more than two of you are getting in the lift keep your finger on the button until you are all in.

The location of the hotel is good. Very close to the beach. There is a second entrance which leads straight out onto the front. Although this locked quite early 9 p.m in summer, and 6 p.m in winter, which is a pain, as you usually return to the hotel from this side if you go out for the evening, and then have to walk up the hill and around to the main entrance. It would be better if it was a card entry system.

There are shops nearby, and a number of supermarkets. There is a great cocktail bar on the beach which is open till about 1 a.m. which is a great place to relax.

To the south is Torviscas which is pretty grotty, and full of time share touts, and people trying to sell you boat rides, or get you into their restuarant, but once through there the walk down to Las Americas is nice.

If you heads north from the hotel you get to playa del duque, which is a new resort, with a white sand beach. This resort is what the area around the hotel was like 2 years ago. A bit quieter, no touts, nice little cafe bars.

Las Americas is a cheap taxi ride away, but you can walk down in 30 mins or so, for a livelier night out try the Dubliners.

This is a very nice hotel, and a great place to stop. It is well situated, and has good facilities. The resort it'self is not as good as it was two years ago, and I suspect will become a lot more commercial and brash over the coming years, but before that happens it is worth a visit.

Having been twice, we would not go back again, but we generally don't go to the same hotel twice anyway.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Glenn
18 years 11 months ago
Be warned >> this is NOT a platinum hotel, although it does hit the 4 star requirments.

The entrance is fantastic and thats where it ends.

The rooms are very small, (if you're travelling with a family and have booked a twin room), expect an area of about 18ft x 12ft, with a 3/4 partition down the middle , there's no living space.

You'll pay 54 euros for a fridge (dont bother), it'll hold 3 x 3/4 ltr bottles of water, nothing else.

The safe boxes cost an extra 30 euros (for activation)

The pool isn't very big and the area around the pool is lethal when wet, (which it always is), people are falling hard all the time, esp the kids whom tend to run in and out of the pool. (seen some nasty accidents)

The kids entertainment is hit and miss, the kids club opens for 2 hours in the morning and when it wants in the afternoon, this is because there's only 2 hotel entertainers on site and they cover the entire hotel program, (adults and kids). There's no differentiation either for the children and the ratio's are woeful. (supervisors / children ratio is 1 / 20)

Sun Loungers >> what a joke, there's not enough for the guests staying in the hotel, so reservations start at about 06.00 hrs and if you want poolside with a brolly you'll need to get up earlier, even though the hotel states in it's policy that sunbeds can't be reserved.

The manager will not enforce his / hotels policy, which leads me to the restaurant.

The restaurant states gentlemen must wear shirt and long trousers to dine.

Everyone wore long trousers, however i feel "football shirts" are not appropriate for dinner, however the manager was not interested.

The hotel is well positioned to take advantage of both Las Americas and Del Douque, (which is lovely).

The hotel does cater for everyone, in general, however i was expecting clients with a more discerning taste and approach in this so called paltinum hotel.

I did feel as though the holiday companies had placed their (allocation on arrival) mob here, i don't want to come accross as snobbish, but my wife and i both work in extremely challenging environments, with some of the more testing citizens of the UK, on holiday i want to get away from that.

maybe tenerife was a bad choice, or maybe this hotel is just very poor indeed.

best of luck and happy hunting
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

David
18 years 11 months ago
Arrived 1st of August 2300 hrs to the hotel reception which looked very impressive from the outside. We booked in and were directed to our room by the concierge with a lot of finger pointing. No porter service. I am sure Thomson told me we were staying in their Four Star Platinum hotel.

Managed to find our room, at least we didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

18 years 11 months ago
This is the first time we have visited Tenerife and our general impression was very good.

We chose the Guayarmina Princess because it appeared to offer everything we were looking for in a hotel package holiday at a reasonable price.

We were not disappointed and we would certainly go back to this same hotel.

The hotel appears immaculate when you enter the marble reception area for the first time. Whatever time of day, there appears to be lots of cleaners cleaners sweeping and polishing throughout the hotel.(even down to dusting the leaves of the plants!)

The hotel food is very good...lots of choices and generally well presented. You can eat as much as you want. There is a charcoal grill area where you can watch your beef/chicken/pork being cooked for you. We were only staying for 7 days and ate in the hotel restaurant each night. If we were staying for longer then we would have eaten out a few times just for a change. The service was excellent.

With regards to the dress code for dinner, I must agree with the previous submissions. Although the men have to wear long trousers the women can dress in whatever..you wouldn't believe what some were wearing or not wearing! Also football shirts should be outlawed at dinner.....sad families all dressed in the same team shirts.

Location was fab. Short walk to the beach/shops. We had a sea view from our balcony on the top floor..great views. However if you are allocated a room below the pool level then I am told it is very claustrophobic.

All of the hotel staff were great.

The entertainment was average. The bar was full each night and there were different shows at 9.30 and 10.30 each evening. Most acts revolved around good looking women wearing the minimum of clothing! 'The Cinderella production was dire!)

The one major bad point was the question of sun beds. Yes get up early to reserve one. I was determined not to but I found myself down there, armed with towels at 7.30 each morning. Shame on me!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Sophie Anderson
18 years 11 months ago
Very good welcome, arrived about 6pm so had time to find our room and unpack a bit before dinner.

Very good food, but on the Canarian Food night not much choice for vegetarians like myself. I went with two other adults, and were not impressed with the beds - one had a plastic cover on! That seemed like a bit of an insult and told the cleaner, and got it sorted.

Never run out of any toiletries or anything and luckily nothing went missing. Couple of waiters were not English which thought they would be. Excellent location, right on the beach.

Sunbeds can be impossible to get after 9am so to get one you have to be an early bird! Entertainment was ok, but younger kids felt the need to sit directly in front of you to block your view.

Overall had a very pleasant and enjoyable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Sue Pugh
18 years 11 months ago
Check in was excellent and the hotel reception and lobby areas were impressive, however, the rooms were very disappointing.

They were desperately in need of a re-furb and smelt very musty. We were on the second floor and seemed to be situated in no mans land with views of rock walls and the side of the adjoining hotel.

We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full. The room was spacious but not particularly clean. Dust under beds, old sweet wrappers under our lovely green velvet sofa bed which had seen better days.

We rented a fridge but it was tiny, not worth 40 euros. The rooms were not cleaned well at all, the bath was not cleaned every day more like once every 4 days.

A maid was watched one day and she simply made the beds, quickly wiped around the bathroom and was gone. The corridors also smelt musty and looked tired and worn.

The hotel does provide pool towels in the room which is handy, and I wish I had known this beforehand as it does save on space in your suitcase.

I found the hotel restaurant very good with plenty of choice. Everything was very well organised with no queueing or running out of food.

It was spotless and the staff were excellent. The only let down was food cooked on the grill in the evening. Sometimes we found chicken, salmon, steak under cooked or even raw and even after returning it to be re-cooked it was no better.

The pool area was not spacious enough for the amount of guests. We were packed in like sardines and the previous comments about sun beds at dawn are all true.

The poolside is very slippery even if you walk very slowly you can still go flying - young and old! The pool was nice and warm, but on our last day(luckily), something unmentionable was spotted floating in the pool.
The pool attendants fished it out but left all the oblivious swimmers still in the pool. In my opinion the pool should have been drained-but it wasn't.

Entertainment wasn't fantastic, after you've seen one swimwear/sarong fashion show you've seen them all.

The mini disco was ok but our kids are professional mini-discoers and they were not impressed. The best part of the evening was after the 'main act'where the entertainment staff did all the old favourites YMCA, Macarena, Cha-Cha slide etc where all the kids who were still up could join in.

Ours were flagging by then(11.30) but this would have been better placed at the mini-disco time. We had torrential rain one day and all the lower ground floor flooded to about shin deep. The hotel ceilings were leaking and the marble floors were really slippery.

Many rooms had to be pumped clear of water but we noticed these rooms were soon occupied again. Overall I was disappointed in this hotel and would not give it a 4* grade but more a 3* as the rooms were it's main let down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

19 years 1 month ago
Stunning hotel as you enter, staff were polite and helpful. Hotel was very clean in the communal areas, pool area clean and tidy.

Excellent location our room over looked the sea which had a fantastic view in the evening. The food was ok buffet style, but the hot buffet was only ever luke warm, even when the waiters brought a new tray out it was never piping hot as it should be.

I would stay at the hotel again but I would go self catering next time. Entertainment a bit boring except the act Bitter and Twisted they were excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sanderson
19 years 1 month ago
This hotel was fantastic, a must for everyones looking for a bit of class but away from the super family / kids everywhere holiday.

We took an 18 month baby with us and he ate everything we put in front of him, but to fall back on there was always yogurts and snacks available in the restaurants for him. We stayed for 2 weeks and the breakfasts do get very repetative and i lost interest after 10 days but the evening meals where always something diferent with 1 themed night a week. There is a snack bar where you can eat in for lunch or take out back to your sunbed but prices where quite high compared to the bars and restaurants on the beach front which were only minutes away. example for six adults with one pint each and a childs meal with juice hotel cost was 65 euros but along the beach cheapest we paid was 45 euros at a steak house. Many places along beach do 1 euro a pint where hotel was nearly 4 euro a pint but cheaper between 4and 5 due to happy hour in piano bar.

The location of the hotel was fantastic lots going on all around very kid freindly ares with most of the bars near by are not on busy roads.playa de las americas is about 35 mins walk away but a couple of big hills to clibm or about 5 euros in a taxi to veronicas

The hotel staff always say hello and in the resarauts were very friendly. did not have much contact with reception as everything was perfect.

With regards to entertainment we only stayed in for mini club then went out but lots going on at least 2 acts a night and they were always full.

Overall this hotel was an excellent holiday!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.