Image of Guayarmina Princess Hotel

Guayarmina Princess Hotel

19 of 41 hotels in Costa Adeje

4 out of 5 from 54 reviews
4 stars
Londres, 1, Costa Adeje., 38670 Adeje (Tenerife), Spain

54 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    28
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wes Hood
16 years 6 months ago
Overall our stay at the GP was quite pleasurable, the food was good and service was good and receptionists were friendly and helpful.

I will start with the hotel exit door which gives you access straight to the beach and shopping 'strip'. this is open all day until eight o clock and then for some strange reason they close it meaning that if you want to go for a drink out of the hotel you have to walk up a hill and then back on yourself to get in the hotel. We think that this door is locked so that you abandon the idea of going elsewhwere for a drink and stay in the hotel and buy their drinks which in my opinion are outrageousely overpriced. I feel that they think that everyone whos stays here are loaded with money and that they can charge what they like ( nearly 4 euros for not even a pint of beer )but only 2 euros on the strip. cocktails are nice but also overpriced aswell as coffee, ice creams and soft drinks.

You feel obliged to buy water at meal times which is also pricey and the money we paid for this holiday you think that bottles of water could be provided at half the price or even free of charge.

This hotel boasts a 4 star service but trays were left at poolsides for long periods of time.

We stayed at the Isla Bonita last year and it knocked spots off this hotel and it is only a three star all inclusive, they serve the same brand coffee, beer, ice creams etc but for a much better price deal.

I feel the GP would do better as an all inclusive hotel but as long as people continue to pay the prices there is not much chance of that happening.

Thomson should have a look at why this hotel features in their platinum range as my parents have been on Thomson Gold in the past and this hotel does not even come close.

My mam got bitten by what we thought was midgees but have actaully been confirmed as bed bug bites.

We would go back to Costa Adeje but unfortunately not to this hotel and probably back to the Isla Bonita.

The entertainment we saw was very amateurish to say the least with again timing the entertainment to keep you in the hotel.

It must be understood that I am not the type to complain about nothing and you should consider this report before venturing to the Princess!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Eve
16 years 7 months ago
Just come back from a weeks holiday, really loved it. Great location, with everything in easy reach. Blue flag beach close by with service to your sunbeds! We had sangria and pizza served to us on Christmas Day! There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool but you need to be pretty imaginative to find space for the beds available. Beach towels were supplied and changed for a small charge. Food was good, especially in the evening. Breakfast was a bit samey, would love to have had a mushroom with my sausages! The hotel was run like a machine, everyone doing their bit to keep punters happy. The Gala Meal was a delight, with wine a cava on tap - the catering staff excelled themselves. The Beatles tribute band went down well too. I was glad that the entertainment began late - made me feel like a grown-up. I agree that the charge for the fridge and safe were a bit steep, but it didn't spoil our holiday. The hotel was very clean, but I think it depends on who you get, as one day was below par, when the maid was changed. My only gripe was the volume of the piped music in the foyer, which was switched on at 8am (no need for an alarm). Our room was a nice size with good storage for 2. Everything in our room worked so didn't need the reception or reps, however both these factors seemed to be the weak cogs in a well oiled machine. Our holiday experience would have been greatly improved if the beach access door was open til late. If you were coming home after 9pm you had to climb a steep hill to get round to the main entrance. (OK if you're fit.)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
J. Gray
16 years 7 months ago
I absolutely adored the hotel, the staff, the food, the entertainment and the location. We all went at Christmas and there is a BIG gala dinner where everyone gets dressed up. There is a lift down to the beach where there are LOADS of restaurants so if you decide to go out for lunch you have a wide range of places to go. My favorite thing of all in the hotel was the staff they were friendly, kind, fun, and very funny. There were 3 entertainers who were all BRILLIANT at there job. I would definitely recommend it since it was the best holiday of my LIFE, and I still wish I was there even though I have been back for a WHOLE week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsan

Recommended
17 years 9 months ago
We spent a week there from the 13 to 20 October 2006. The first thing to greet us in our room was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Barnes
17 years 9 months ago
This was our second visit to the hotel. We enjoyed it so much last year we decided to come again.

The hotel food was excellent and all of us ate too much! The hotel was always clean.

The entertainment was variable-childrens disco needs re-vamping as it was the same music and same games each night. The bands were good but didn't get started until 10.30pm.

My only complaint about this hotel is the tiles around the pool. I slipped over last year and complained and did the same this year. Myself and others who had slipped complained to the manager who kept telling us that they were anti-slip tiles! Obviously not. We asked for this to be rectified before someone really hurts themselves.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Dave Wheeler
17 years 9 months ago
On arrival we thought wow! what a lovely hotel, booked into the room which was clean and nicely decorated. 1st night could not get to sleep because we were level with the road, not so good when you have young children, and this was a family room. At 1am till about 3.30am the noise of motorbikes and cars and people shouting was to be honest too much, we asked to be moved to a higher floor at the other side of the hotel which was much better.

The dining facilities were ok but its the 1st hotel I have ever stayed in that I had to queue up to eat, this is not 4* plus platinum standard. A small bottle of water 440 mls in the restaurant costs 2.4 euros a very small bottle of fanta limon was 2.6 euros which is about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Deborah
18 years 3 months ago
This was our first time in Tenerife and our first time in a princess hotel. We were not disappointed. We went at Easter and stayed 11 nights. The hotel is right on beach front (promenade in between). Excellent location. We managed to walk from Costa Adeje to Los Christianos on one occasion, feet ached after that though!

We were on the 3rd floor with a side sea view, very pleasant. The room was clean but not overly big especially with 2 adults and a 12 yr old sharing. The furniture was slightly dated but you don't go on holiday to admire the furniture do you?

The lobby is very grand. Marble floors and loads of plants and very spacious.

We found the food to be excellent. Great variety and loads of fresh fruit and salads. The grill section, food was cooked fresh to order for both breakfast and evening meals.
The swimming pools are in pleasant surroundings although the tiles around the pools are lethal. We saw several people slip, so be careful. There is a pool bar. All staff appeared helpful. It was annoying watching people put towels out on the sunbeds early in the morning though. There are signs up saying this is not permitted but people still did it.

We tended to go out for a walk along the prom in the evenings as it was lovely so didn't see much of the hotel entertainment so can't comment on it.

We would definitely return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Colin
18 years 3 months ago
This is our 4th time here, but as we had not been for two years I was worried about some of the reports I was reading. I need not have worried as the hotel was as good as ever.

I dont know what planet some people are on. The rooms, staff and food are very good and to compare it with Mcdonalds, as one previous did,is criminal. The only problem we had was with the lift, and the one from reception to floors 4,3,2,1 is a nightmare and needs the use of the stairs on many occasions.

The entertainment was not as good as previous years, and they have done away with the a la carte option, but that does not detract from a lovely stay in a very good standard 4 star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
R Kent
18 years 4 months ago
We visited the Guayarmina Princess in March 2006 as part of a week-long Thompson break. We paid around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Not Going Again
18 years 7 months ago
Stayed for New Year in the Guayamina Princess and as a surprise for all guests the drinks for New Years night doubled in price!!!

The rooms need downgraded to a 2 star as they are very basic damp and pretty miserable to stay in. The hotel looks beautiful from the outside and into the foyer and pool areas but rooms let the hotel down.

There are not enough sunbeds for the amount of guests unless your up at 6.30am.

The lifts were more off than on so if your disabled be prepared for a long wait to get up to upper levels.

Staff when stressed at dinner just pointed to a table and on 2 occasions we were sent to an occupied table much to the annoyance of the first table owners who were up to get their food at the buffet. The food was very nice and varied from night to night.

The entertainment was abysmal and too many bikini fashion shows with children given free rein to do as they wish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.