Image of Kinza Hotel

Kinza Hotel

36 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

2 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Chris Bingham
12 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from a 7 night holiday at The Kinza/Zenith complex in Hammamet North. Our first visit to Tunisia.

I have to say first that I dont recognise this hotel from previous reports, something must have changed. We were in the Zenith part it looked as if the Kinza was closed for the end of season.

Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool area with a view of the Med between the two hotels which are in front of the Zenith.

The room was very clean perhaps a bit jaded but fine for two people. The balcony is small with a table and two chairs, a squash but OK. Yes the TV changes channels through finger holes but the leaflet in French tells you a remote is available from reception. Anyway we didnt go to watch tele.

The shower is powerful but the water gets cooler after the morning time. The room was cleaned daily, we always left all our money and stuff in there and it was never touched.

The two poolside bars were closed but the two indoors were operational, I never found the 3rd one. The service was good, definately no prejudice against Brits even though we were the minority guests.

It helps to have a go in French throughout this hotel and country. The AI drink selection is limited but adequate for us, if you want to get hammered you are on the wrong holiday.

The staff we found extremely friendly, once you get known they will bring drinks to you outside.

There was only one restaurant open but it was never packed or busy. We thought that the food was great, a wide choice and we ate everything with no ill effects. The wine is basic, the rose is probably the better.

The animation team did their best but there were few customers for their services at this time of year.

The problem with the Kinza/Zenith is location, you can walk to the beach, the few shops and the bank machine but otherwise its taxi to anywhere else.

All in all we had a great holiday and would certainly return. Its possible that our experience was due to the time of year, I imagine in high season it could be different.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Leisure

Recommended
Victor
12 years 3 months ago
It was our first time in Tunis and to our misfortune we selected Hamamet and Kinza Hotel. I am saying this because there are better, popular and nicer places to go to in Tunis.

In the surrounding of this Hotel there is not much to visit, except for a popular beach in that area and a few shops in walking distance. Other than this you have to travel on average of an hour to visit interesting places using Taxi.

Regarding the hotel reception, pool area and outer parts are good and or satisfactory. The rooms need some attention especially the bathrooms. Activities and animation team seems well organised. The hotel is tidy all around.

The waiters are the worst problem in this hotel if you are not French. With the French tourist the waiters and barmen are different. If you are French you are first and best served and if you are English or Maltese you are surely the last to be served. There was one case when I was in queue to be served lunch waiting for eye contact from this waiter serving on this table when it was my turn. Unexpected French tourist was being served by this waiter skipping the queue and I was waited patiently saying nothing. After serving all those skipping the queue, this waiter shouted in my face and said what do you want from this table with a grumbling attitude. I was really offended. The barmen are pretty much the same. Later on I said OK from now on I will not say a word in English. I tried my best to use Italian and French best way I could but still no progress once they know where you come from you are treated the same as always.

We were four personnel at full board for seven nights and three of us were sick for the last three days with stomach pain and its effect. The food looked nice and good but the thing is that in seven days we only ate small fish, rabbit, chicken and turkey. We never saw pork meat, beef meat at all. Most food looks local; there was no international known food for breakfast, lunch or dinner. No toast, no ham, no beacon for breakfast.

There were no booklets at all in the Hotel except for bill board using French, Italian and German language. Only the daily program of activities in pool area was in English along with French, Italian and German language. We still had a good time best way we could and treated these people for what they or who they are, thinking that this is what they can offer. In the end I was glad that it was over to return back home to my normal way of living.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own booking

Sandra
13 years 1 month ago
On arriving at Monastir airport we quickly found the Med hotels rep who informed us the transfer coach number and where to find it. A short walk outside, we found the coach and asked the driver if it was the correct one to the Kinza hotel. He promptly stowed away our luggage and after a few minutes we were off.

We arrived at the hotel at around 12.30 am and found it to be very quiet with all the bars closed. After filling in some forms, we were given the room key and told how to get there.

The room was fairly basic, the satellite television had only 6 channels in German, French or Arabic, there was no remote control, you could only change channels by poking your finger through the button hole and there was no way of turning the volume up or down. There was no mini bar and the air-conditioning stopped working shortly after our arrival. The balcony even though small had a great view of the pools and gardens. Apart from the basic room, the holiday was fantastic.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and will bend over backwards if you make an attempt to speak French or Arabic to them.

The food buffet (we were on an all inclusive hol) was superb and we got to try out a large range of Tunisian food, although English stuff is available. We did experience some tummy troubles but that was down to the change in diet and soon went after a day. Most of the food is already prepared and kept in large bain maries to keep hot, but there are chefs that do eggs, pancakes and omelettes to your liking, fresh pastas with your own blend of sauces in the afternoon and a barbeque in the evenings outside by the pool with varieties of meats and freshly cooked tortilla breads.

The actual hotel was kept very clean and maids were extremely efficient and dedicated. We were always greeted with friendly hellos each morning and sometimes we returned from the pool to find beautiful red flowers from the gardens scattered over the bed.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as the staff are lovely and entertaining to all who are willing.

I must also mention that a part of the hotel was not open due to it having been graffitied by English people and that if you do go you must remember that Tunisia is a very poor country and the smell of drains and not so great beer is to be expected and not just down to the hotel.

The surrounding areas are poor but it is nice to see the culture and I highly recommend taking a taxi (only about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
13 years 1 month ago
We were moved to Hotel Le Zenith (also called Kinza) from the Sun Garden hotel. The hotel is situated in the north end of Hammamet. Our room was medium sized with two single beds pushed together, the room and bathroom was very clean. The hotel has two pools one seemed to be heated the other wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Sandra Mills
13 years 2 months ago
This is the second time that I have visited Tunisia and honestly if this had been the first visit I would never go back again.

This hotel is not catering for the British tourist the rooms were small and very basic but were cleaned daily.

The food was awful and the drinks were non existant there was flat beer, cocktails in a plastic cup and that was about it. I was drinking orange pop for a week and that was out of a plastic cup.

The hotel staff were misarable and the entertainment was ok in the day if you liked exercising. They played French music all day and night.

The Hotel has a private part of the beach but the loungers are old wooden ones and you have to pay to use them.

The Hotel also has a bar on the beach but the only thing that is free is fizzy drinks, you have to pay for the beer and food even if you are all inclusive.

Please don't be put off Tunisia by this report as I stayed in Port el Kantoui last year and had a great holiday,

Just stay clear of this Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jetline Travel

Vinnie Keelan
13 years 2 months ago
I've just got back from the Kinza Hotel, North Hammamet. If you have booked a holiday with this hotel and want to find a review you will be hard pushed to find one.

The Kinza hotel doesn't exist, it comes under Hotel Le Zenith or Anais.

I booked a room with pool view, mini bar, sallelite tv, phone and double bed. When I arrived I got no bar, no phone, no tv, a view of a roof from a small window with broken glass all over the window sill and panes of broken glass resting against the window. After speaking to other English holidaymakers that arrived that day, they were all in the same situation, and were all given substandard rooms. After complaining to the manager, he moved us to another room after the second day, which was slightly better, but not by much.

The staff were unhelpful, rude, unfriendly and ignorant.

This was my first time to Tunisia with my husband and we decided to go All Inclusive (what a joke). The beer was either too frothy or flat and looked like tea. If you asked for their local Vodka, Bacardi or Gin etc, etc, they gave you the same drink, the only slightly drinkable drink was Rose wine.

Myself and my husband made friends with another couple and we were all fully inclusive. I asked for a bottle of wine and the barmen was very rude and said I can only have one drink at a time (even though four plastic cups is a bottle), whereas he was serving other holidaymakers, mainly French and Italians bottles upon bottles of wine and a variety of other drinks all in one order. I stood my ground and got a bottle of wine, but he slammed it in front of me a ranted something in Tunisian. We also noticed that the other holidaymakers were getting cheese and olives with their drinks and waiter service, but again we were totally ignored.

The food was always cold or lukewarm, and again the waiters were very rude. The hotel had its own private beach with a snack bar which was also fully inclusive. They would not serve us food, we had to pay (waitress was very rude in telling us this too). They told us they had no soft drinks, but were serving the French and Italians pop. Basically, all we could get was water, and then had to walk back to the hotel for lunch.

I just wanted to come home, all I can say is that I'm glad I only booked a week. Things did improve for a couple of days, when a lot of British put together a petition stated that the staff were rude, aggressive and refusing to give us drinks. I gave up in the end and started drinking my own drink (which I purchased at the duty free).

There was nothing to do at this hotel, the entertainment was rubbish during the day and night. They wouldn't order us taxi's to go out at night, and I didn't want to walk down the street at night to get one, due to the horror stories I've read.

On the plus side, the pools and gardens were lovely. The hotel was always kept clean and tidy and rooms were cleaned every day. The beach was also nice, but you had to pay for the sun lounger cushions.

Still don't really understand why the staff were so rude, but the manager was very helpful in trying to rectify the situation. Don't really think this hotel should offer all inclusive, as I don't think they understand the concept of "unlimited supply of local drinks and food".

I'm sure the rest of Tunisia is lovely, but this experience has put me off for life and I will never go back, even if it was free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperial Travel

Barbara Duce
13 years 2 months ago
This was not all inclusive as I understood it. We had to pay for spirits, although not much admittedly, and were limited in the amount of wine we could drink. Not that we wanted to, it was disgusting.

The room was small, and the balcony tiny - only room enough for 1 chair. The toilet leaked, and the plug was broken in the bath. The towels did not smell clean and there was an underlying smell of drains throughout the whole hotel.

The staff were rude and unhelpful, and only seemed interested in chatting up my 20 year old step daughter rather than providing service.

The rep, although friendly, found any complaint amusing and did not have a great understanding of English.

Would certainly never visit this hotel again or indeed Tunisia, although people in the nearby towns were pleasant and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Aron Greaves
13 years 2 months ago
Well we landed at 21.15 dead on and after a lovely coach ride we arrived at the Kinza at 2.30am.

We were just slung our keys and told to go to the room. On entering the room we had no wardrobe, no TV, no cabinets and no balcony. It was a room basically with 2 single beds a shower not even a window, a prison cell is bigger!!

After complaining the following day we got a room upgrade which was a much better room. No mini bar though or hairdryers, apparently no rooms had them.

We had Breakfast which included cold egg, garlic sausage and popcorn, yes, popcorn!!!!!

We made friends with a lovely couple from Worcester who have posted also and we realised that we were not the only ones being treated like dirt, infact after snooping around asking questions etc it was only the English being treated like dirt.

The snack bar was a farce along with all meals and drinks and the staff were just so ignorant it was unreal.

It
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperial Travel

Heather
13 years 2 months ago
Although we had booked into Kinza Hotel we were allocated to the Zenith Hotel on arrival. There are three hotels on this site, Kinza, Zenith and Anais all part of 'Sunny Hotels'. On check in we were allocated our room and had our luggage carried up the stairs to our room (on the 3rd floor) by a very polite member of staff, the cases were very heavy but he did not even hang around for a tip as we had expected him to. The staff at reception did not all speak English but they did try or they asked for assistance from those who did.

Our room was fairly basic, although a good size with a lovely view of one of the pools and the sea. The balcony was large enough for the 2 chairs and table we were supplied with but the two balconies below us were a much larger size. The 'Satellite TV' listed consisted only of 6 channels, none of which were in English, there was no remote control and it was not possible to turn the volume up or down. The double bed we had hoped for was actually two singles. The room was cleaned every day and all towels were washed and replaced daily regardless of if they had been used, although they often smelled odd when they came back. On several occasions we were pleasantly surprised to find flowers neatly arranged on the pillows on our freshly made beds. The cleaners did not speak much English but always greeted us warmly and checked our room was ok. The hotels were constantly being cleaned, the cleaners were very hard working.

The Restaurant was generally clean. The tables were cleared quickly after each plate/glass was finished with and table cloths were brushed down or turned after each group left the table. The table cloths were then changed between each meal. The food was generally warm but often cooled very quickly. It was also often difficult to figure out what particular dishes were although pictures and key words above certain dishes were useful.

We found that each area of the restaurant was served by particular waiters, some far more efficient and polite than others. Our waiter in particular quickly remembered our room number for ordering drinks and often found us a table if we appeared to be struggling to find one.

It was very difficult to establish which drinks were all inclusive at the bar. The beer pumps were frequently too frothy and resulted in half glasses. The coke was often flat in the restaurant or too frothy from the bar. The local vodka was extremely strong and the white wine smelled like vinegar, red wine and Rose were better options.

With regards to the bottled water please note that on the label it mentions in French that it is beneficial for obesity and constipation- I am sure you can imagine the results! Bottled water is not available after 11pm.

The entertainment or 'Animation' staff were very enthusiastic, one person in particular was very friendly and approachable and often stopped us merely to wish us a pleasant meal or to check we were enjoying our time there. He was also very helpful in advising us of the location of several English bars and which were the best. Day time entertainment included pool aerobics, various pool games such as relay races across the pool on a surf board with increasing numbers of people on the board, fetch the spoon from the bottom of the pool with a reduced number of spoons each time in a kind of 'musical chairs' vein and many others. The pool activities only used one pool always leaving the other pool free for those who did not wish to join in. There were also dry aerobics sessions, mini golf (very mini), belly dancing, archery, bowls, volley ball and football on a daily basis.

The pool bar served snacks (only pieces of pizza & chips) and coffee roughly between 12pm & 4pm, although did run out of pizza at times.

The evening entertainment varied between bingo (in 4/5 languages), games and stage shows. We only visited one show - Moulin Rouge which was very good and were told by other couples we met that the games were also very entertaining.

The organised trips were generally good value for money. We particularly enjoyed the Sahara trip which although meant a couple of very early mornings and a lot of time in a coach, we went to a great number of fascinating places and had frequent photo stops and refreshment breaks. The Sahara and a camel ride, El Jem (the amphi theatre), Matmata (the mountain houses), Tamarza (a Desert Oasis and waterfall), a palace, a museum and the Great Mosque were just a few places visited on this weekend trip.

The reason we would not visit this hotel again is that we prefer to try different locations each holiday. However the hotel its self is not too bad, especially if you can speak French and do not set your expectations too high. The rep was not exactly fluent in English but he was usually able to figure out your question and to answer it fairly clearly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperial Travel

Conor
13 years 2 months ago
Where do I start - Myself and my pal James had a fairly smooth journey from Manchester to Monastir and there were no delays which was great.

Having retrieved our luggage we entered the arrivals lounge where we could see the stands and reps for the various different travel organisations Thomas Cook etc.

Unfortunately I was unaware at the time of booking that Med hotels our tour operator only use local reps not so bad when you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med hotels

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: