Image of Royal Wings Hotel

Royal Wings Hotel

6 of 9 hotels in Lara Beach

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years 4 months ago
This is a fantastic hotel that I can fully recommend.

When we arrived at 1am in the morning we were told there was the midnight buffet available and that food and drink ( inc alcohol) were available FOC 24 hours per day. This was great so after going to our room we popped down for a quick drink and snack before bed.

The staff in all departments are very friendly and efficient. We found it best to tip our waiter most nights ~ this ensured he kept out table for us and gave us very quick service for more drinks and served wine by the bottle not just the glass. Tips would also ensure quick table sevice in the bar and a bowl of nuts!

It is worth making sure you have small notes or
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Deirdre
11 years 6 months ago
We arrived at approx 3.30pm and check-in at the hotel was very easy and quick, therefor we were in our room and unpacking in no time. We walked about the hotel just to see what was available and came across the cake shop which had filled rolls and plenty of fantastic cakes also tea coffee or hot chocolate etc. The evening meals were very pleasing with something for everyone to eat. As our holiday was classed as Winter not everything was available to use in the hotel. The kids fairground rides was not available, but as we were only a couple this made no difference to us, but could be disappointing if you had kids. They only had 2 ala carte restaurants open instead of the four in summer season. The rooms are very well kept and mini bar stocked daily is a nice touch to have in your room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
12 years ago
Travelled with wife, kids aged 5 and 8 and stayed here for 14 nights from the 2nd of August and had an excellent time. Having booked last September we managed to get a fair price, which made this holiday excellent value.

Room - We stayed on the 5th floor and had a Sea View room, which was worth paying extra for. Room consisted of a double, single, and sofa bed, and there was ample cupboard space for clothes for the four of us. Mini bar was refilled daily, and rooms were cleaned between 9.00am and 5.00pm depending on where you were on the corridor, and as we were near the end our room was cleaned around 4.00pm most days. Room had usual things one would find including a TV with very limited English language speaking channels.

Staff
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Pamplemousse
12 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from a fortnight at the Royal wings, our 4th visit to Turkey having previously stayed at Lykia world, The Grand Azur and Aqua Fantasy. We had a wonderful time and our children 12, 9, 7, 7 were kept entertained throughout. Based on our visit I would thoroughly recommend the Royal Wings for a family holiday for it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Hols/Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mehmeh
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed here for a week over half-term. The food and service were good. Our son loved the water slides, wave pool which is on for half an hour morning and evening - check signs for times or you'll miss it- and the lazy river which had no current, but had rowing dinghies on it! There were notices that there was a mini-club each morning and afternoon, but as we had no children, can't comment. However there was no evening children's show as done at other AI hotels we have visited. There was no teens club. The funfair looked good and operated each afternoon and evening. Reservation of sunbeds not allowed before 9am and strictly enforced, which is brilliant!

There is a lot of choice of food. The main restaurant has outside tables. The Chinese and Fish are outdoors. The Turkish and Italian are indoors. The lunchtime snack bar is outdoors and is actually a waiter service restaurant and really good. Get there before one to get a table. All outdoors are under cover if you see what I mean! Shaded. You can see the menus for the a la cartes in reception before you book. The first visit to each is free, after that you pay 15 euros each.We ate at the Italian and enjoyed it very much.

There is a watersports outfit on the beach offering the usual things. Daytime animation offered boccia, darts, archery and aqua aerobics. Claimed to offer air gun shooting, which husband and son were keen to do, but apparently the guns were broken......... Try dive in pool. Ten minutes mini-disco in the evening at 8.30 in the amphitheatre, which seemed rather short to me. Evening shows at 9.30 in same place, of variable quality. Two comedy sketch shows in one week and one should definitely have been adults only in my opinion, so beware if you have children and are bothered by this. Ten pin bowling and a cinema. The spa looked great and the treatment prices were not astronomical.

There is no point requesting anything for rooms. We had paid quite a lot extra for a seaview room and didn't get one. Were told hotel was full, so couldn't be moved and to lean over balcony looking right so could just glimpse the sea! This apparently constitutes a seaview to them!

The Royal Wings certainly has the wow factor in its design and newness. The swimming pool is the biggest I have ever seen and beautifully designed, wandering through the grounds. Many nationalities there, but the biggest group was probably the British, maybe because it was half-term for us.

Ice cream is not available all day, only at dinner in the main restaurant and from 1-3pm near the main pool. It is by the scoop in cones with a wide variety of flavours and is Walls judging by the logo though not the name.

There was a good choice of food, from the familiar like spag bol, pizza, chips, carvery to Turkish specialities. Most evenings had a theme like Mexican, Chinese or Italian. The desserts were great.

The slides are open from 10-12 and 2.30-5.30. There are table tennis tables and pool tables, plus a small arcade near the bowling alley. Also free wi-fi in the lobby and most of that floor including the outside bar tables.

It is very slippery around the pool and I slipped and sat down very painfully. They should put down non-slip mats like the ones around the slide pool. Sunbeds around the waterslides all went early on, but there were still a few available around the main pool later on and on the beach. The beds by the slides and on the beach are not very nice ones; main pool ones more comfortable. None of the beds have padded mats on them. On the jetty, they have very nice foam mattresses with big cushions.

I think you can have lunch in the main buffet restaurant, but we never did. We ate in the 'shore snack bar', down near the beach, which was waiter service with a salad bar. Did burgers, pasta, lamb on skewer, etc. There was a nomad's tent near it, which did pancake wraps and pizza. By the main pool, under the amphitheatre are kiosks doing various things. At lunchtime, they did kebabs. A bit later jacket potatoes (why not at lunchtime?) Here too was the lunchtime ice cream. Also fruit and in the afternoon, luscious waffles and pancakes with different sauces eg cherry or chocolate. Yum! From I think 4pm, there is the patisserie inside the hotel, doing lovely cakes and also filled rolls. You won't starve.......

We went in to Antalya on the hotel bus one day, in at 10, back at 4 and they also do one in at 3.30, back at 8, I think it was. Takes about half an hour. Costs 5 euros each return, book the day before. It dropped us by Hadrian's Gate into the old town (Kaleici). We wandered down to the harbour through the very picturesque streets. At the harbour, we got a 2 hour boat trip along to the Duden waterfall which drops into the sea. There was a stop for swimming, but we didn't have our swimming things, so take yours if you fancy this trip! Cost 20 euros each. But we paid in lira and it worked out a bit cheaper. 40 lira. (Likewise the hotel bus) Then had a late lunch at a harbourside restaurant, quite cheap and then back up to the modern town and a look round the shops.

The shopping mall directly opposite the hotel is expensive designer shops. Ordinary shops are down the road to the left, including a pharmacy. I noticed you could book trips in one of those shops, which would probably be cheaper than the rep.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Ruth
13 years ago
We have just returned from the Royal Wings Hotel and are still recovering from the food poisioning.

The hotel is lovely with extensive pool facilities, water park and a nice beach. The pier is a great place to take in the afternoon sun and very relaxing unlike the pool that is very noisy most of the time with loud music from the entertainment team.

We did have an enjoyable first week at the hotel but the second week was dreadful due to the stomach upsets that are so painful you needed to stay in bed. The hotel has its own doctor ( maybe that should ring alarm bells) he was so busy with so many patients in the hotel we had to wait over an hour to see him. Our 9 year old daughter was so ill that she had to be admitted to hospital and given a drip.

We only ever read good reports about the hotel before we visited but I do feel you should be aware especially if you are taking children. We only ever ate at the Royal Wings hotel and I am convinced that we had food poisioning. The Thomas Cook representative admitted that there was a problem at the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

The Evans Family
14 years ago
What a fantastic holiday, all the things we hoped for in the holiday brochure were spot on in relation to our holiday. Being a fairly new hotel it was so clean and the food choice and entertainment were superb. We have already booked for next year roll on next August!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
J Butterworth
14 years 4 months ago
I would like to say that I enjoyed every minute of my holiday and wish I didn't have to come home, however, as my friend and I enjoyed it so much we have booked a return trip for later this year.

We have only been back a week and I am missing it already.

The staff were amazing and highly entertaining during the day and the evening.

We spent our days by the pool watching the entertainment team playing darts, boccia and beach volley, and our night watching the variety of show produced by the team.

After a few drink we would head off to giddy disco and see the resident DJ spin some tunes.

I must say this holiday will stick in my mind forever, unless next time we have more fun!!

The food in the hotel was also fantastic the variety of food was great.

With a touch of class, this hotel is great for everyone!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.