Image of Sherwood Breezes Resort Hotel

Sherwood Breezes Resort Hotel

7 of 9 hotels in Lara Beach

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
5 stars
Lara Beach | Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lawrence
12 years ago
Stayed at the Sherwood Breezes on my first visit to Turkey, absolutely amazed at the freindliness of the staff and the quality of the hotel, we had two small childen and they had a fantastic time we all ate the food and never had a bad meal, the drinks at the pool/beach bar were served in plastic cups (small) but all the other bars served them in glass the lager was very nice even if they do serve it with half a glass of head, the pools were spotless especially the childrens pool where we spent every day, no problem with sunbeds or other nationalities. we never had any problems at all during the week with the exception of the air conditioning which never worked all week, and the management/staff did nothing about it, from what we learned it is only on between june and august/september regardless of the temperature, most of the week the temperature was over 30 during the day and 25 during the night and it made it very unpleasant when trying to get to sleep. the only other down side was the entertainment lots of effort when it did start half way through the week, but hopeless is the best I can say. I would definately go back but only if the air conditioning is on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jo Ward
12 years 10 months ago
Wow, we arrived home only 1.5 hrs ago and could not wait to write my review.

Fantastic hotel, location, food and surroundings.
not many english within the hotel but then its good to mix!!

Only problem is some of our European friends can be quite rude and ignorant, not only towards other guests but also towards the staff, it really does not cost a penny to be polite and use your manners like 'please' & 'thank you' and to realise if there is a queue for the bar or lift then you get to the back???? Any way that is not the hotels fault.

Fantastic surrounding to the hotel and entertainment staff also and how they work the hours they do in that heat???
lara beach resort itself is in our eyes still up and coming with many more fantastic hotels to be built, only 5 mins walk away are a great variety of shops and a shopping centre with many choices to be made.

Beach was lovely with a fab pier to also laze on in the hot sun, and a nice stroll down the beach either way out of the hotel and you can view any of the other great hotels.

I would recommend this to anyone who would like to visit Turkey. Loved it that much hoping to go back as soon as christmas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
12 years 11 months ago
our stay at Sherwood breezes was fantastic,one of the friendliest hotel we stayed in.

Sstaff could not do enough to help us, animation team were outstanding, hardest working we have met, look up feyt, alee and big mustaf, crazy crew.

Rooms cleaned daily. mini bar very handy, would definitely go back.....only downer was to be expected to pay 30 euros per person to keep room on for 4 hours. so go there warned about this, but all in all a really good holiday.....will go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook direct

Recommended
Dee Emery
13 years 2 months ago
Just returned this morning from the Sherwood Hotel and I shall attempt to write an honest review - good and bad.

We arrived in early daylight and was so looking forward to getting our heads down to our 5* hotel, the reception was very nice and gleaming as we expect a 5* to be, however we are so so so disappointed with the room. The bathroom was just fine with hairdryer, hand soap dispenser, shampoo and shower gel (trust me girls, I know we are fussy with our shampoo but this is just fine, only bring conditioner). Bath with a brilliant shower. Fresh bath and hand towels daily also.

The main bedroom had twin beds, then a partition wall, then a further double bed along with a fridge (this was not working properly and when we told reception they told us that it is 'not really a fridge' just something that keeps drinks a little cooler than the room)well, it looked like a fridge to me! The air conditioning was not put on at all during our stay(we know this as my husband was an a.c engineer previously), the fan inside was running but was not enough to efficiently cool the room. Most nights we opened the balcony door just to cool the room off before we retired for the night or it was too hot to sleep - remember this is March - no idea what it will be like in the summer.

The balcony was horrible, horrible, horrible. The partition between us and the rooms either side was broken off, we overlooked a fun fair in the hotel grounds next door, a manky holey roof, building site work accross the road started out at 7am and there in the distance was a bit of sea obscured by other building parts. If you had a room on the other side of the hotel overlooking the pool the whole view was apparently wonderful though.

You must stipulate with your agent that you do not want a 1st floor room or like us your balcony will be like an ash try with droppings from the rooms above. Infact, the whole hotel stunk of smoke from the moment you stepped outside your room. I shall give you 2 occasions 1) we even saw some guy with a piece of toast in one hand at breakfast and a cigarette alight in the other - yuck! 2) in the show of 1
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Dave
13 years 6 months ago
My wife and I have just returned from having a 12 day holiday at The Sherwood Breezes, from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out everything went smoothly, we didn't need to touch our cases, they were taken from us as we arrived by coach (only 20 minutes from airport) and taken to our room while checking in. All the staff were very polite, helpful and we didn't have any problems communicating. The hotel is immaculately clean 24 hours a day, the cleaners work very hard. There is always something to eat!! the food is fantastic, lots of choice, you can be as healthy/unhealthy with your diet as you wish, my wife is a vegetarian and had no problems. There is one main bar with a large seating area that is open 24 hours and through the day there are at least 4 other smaller bars where you can get drinks too. This is the first all inclusive hotel we have stayed at and certainly made full use of all facilities, with no restriction. you may only get a half pint glass when ordering a beer but so what! go get it filled again! you'll need the exercise to burn of those food calories : - ).
We decided to try out the Spa area on our second day and both had a good old scrub and massage before sun tanning, my wife also booked a facial (whatever that is) the day after, the price was reasonable compared to back home, . Please say hello to Simon if he is there, a lovely Turkish guy who speaks many languages and is very funny!!!
There is plenty of room to sunbath the pools and areas around them are well kept and look nice, the hotel has it's own stretch of beach, again plenty of sunbeds, watersports etc..
The weather wasnt' too bad, the day we arrived was overcast and it was spitting slightly, but warm!! The next 3 days were bright sunshine no wind and very warm, the next 2 days rain, rain and more rain, followed again by a few days of nice bright sun but windy this time, one more day of thunder/lightening and rain, and back to sunny again.
We were told by our travel agent to take Turkish Lira as our currency, but we found that around the Lara resort and other places we visited the euro was being used also, so take both it all spends!!
Entertainment wise, it depends on which 'animation' team is running events, we had 2 while we were there we found the daily activities like sports etc ran better with our first team but their night shows not too good! the second team we had wern't that oraginsed with daytime activities but their night shows were better, it's a bit of a lottery really!

As you may have read in earlier reviews, this hotel is mainly visited by German guests which we found to be true, probably
80%, 5 percent English and the rest from other countries, while we were there we met French/Belgian/Russian/Icelandic/Turkish/Dutch, all who were very pleasant but obviously difficult to have a full conversation with :-) Don't let the lack of fellow Brit visitors put you off.

We will return!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Alan Evans
13 years 8 months ago
dont often leave reports as i think people should make up there own mind but just returned from two week stay at sherwood what a
fantastic time we had the hotel is excellent value very very clean rooms were did everyday mini fridge stocked everyday loads to eat different theme nights every night bar open 24 hrs food is plentifull plenty to choose from
hotel is well thought out has 5 different pools
a kids pool lots to do only flaw i would say is that entertaiment could be bettre but they are addressing that all in all 10/10 would recomend to anyone to go there staff are always there to help you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Daphne
13 years 11 months ago
Hotel absolutley great food best we have ever had but:-
As for the animation team never have we seen such unenthusatic people in all our time of going AI.

This made for very long evenings as there was live music on Monday & Friday these were brilliant the whole atmosphere changed but when all you had were the animation show who you had no interaction with at all very boring.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Angie
13 years 11 months ago
Loved being here. We have been to Turkey several times and never disappointed. This was the best yet.
Food food & more food all day long, and it was all excellent. From the fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast to the wonderful late night suppers, there were no complaints. The pool areas are lovely and our last night had a wonderful water ballet and firework display just to round off a perfect holiday!
Would love to go back. The only downside was some of the staff were a bit offish but maybe this was because they couldnt speak English, also the Entertainment staff were a bit pushy wanting money up front for bingo + their CDs, even while you were in the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
14 years ago
Just returned from two weeks at the Sherwood Breezes Resort in Lara Beach. There has not been a review on this hotel before so I will go into quite a lot of detail.

Rooms. Adequate size, comfortable with free safety deposit box and free mini bar with water, soft drinks and beer which is topped up daily. Bathroom of a reasonable size with soap, shampoo and shower gel dispensers and a hair dryer. The shower is really powerful and there is plenty of hot water. Towels are changed as needed. There is not a lot of drawer space and we left some clothes on the spare bed. The air conditioning in noisy and not very efficient.

Food. Is available about 22 hours a day in some part of the resort.

Breakfast: The usual mix of fruit juice, cereal, salads, breads etc. Some hot food and on spot cooking of eggs, omelette's, crepes and toasted sandwiches.

Lunch: Can be taken in any one of three places. The main restaurant serving soup, salad, spaghetti etc. With waiter service for drinks, but there is a dress code a swimwear is not allowed.
The Breezers bar where it is mainly pizzas and pasta, and the Robin beach bar where is food is mainly hamburgers, hot dogs, donner with chips, salad etc.
There is a gozleme station in the wood huts which is open several hours a day, also a jacket potato station which is open for an hour a day. About 4 p.m. the chefs sometimes come out into the grounds with fresh cucumbers and carrots and you have to see the queue to believe it. Also they sometimes bring out mobile barbeque's and cook hamburgers etc.

Ice cream is available between 1 p.m and 3 p.m. and then it changes to coffee and cakes and there are some lovely gateaux and profiteroles etc.

Dinner is in the main restaurant and there are several theme nights a week. Chefs do on the spot cooking on the terrace every night. Grilled fish, paella etc. The desserts are to die for. The restaurant closes at 9.30 p.m. and then reopens at 11 p.m. and is open all night.

Do take advantage of the a la carte restaurants which you can use once a week but need to be booked in advance. We went to the Italian and it was fantastic.

There are several coffee and tea stations around the resort and several soft drinks dispensers with orange, pineapple, cherry juice and ice lemon tea. Alcoholic drinks are available all day but be warned they can be very strong.

The pool area is massive and there are water slides which are turned on for a few hours several times a day. There are free pool towels which can be changed daily, but they are not in big supply so as soon as new ones are brought they tend to go quickly.
Sun beds near the pool need to be reserved early but there are plenty on the beach.

The animation staff work very hard and there is lots to do but if you don't want to bother they are not pushy.

The entertainment was OK if not always to our taste. There is a mini disco at 8.30 and the main entertainment starts at 9.30. At the beginning of our holiday it was held inside but during the last week was moved outside to the amphitheatre. There is an organist in the lounge three times a week who is quite good.

There is a disco from 11 p.m. til 2 a.m.

The main problem with this hotel is there are no adult only areas, either by the pools or in the bars. Whether we were unlucky with out choice of weeks or it is the norm, but the place was teeming with young children who were very badly controlled and spent a lot of time running round screaming their heads off with not a parent to be seen.

If you want a lively holiday then this is the place for you but if you want to relax forget it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.