Image of Melas Resort Hotel

Melas Resort Hotel

14 of 52 hotels in Side

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Side 07330, Turkey

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not impressed!
11 years 4 months ago
Learn German before you go, that's my advice! We have just come home from a fortnight at the Melas Hotel and I can't say I'm too impressed. What I said at the start was meant in all seriousness, the hotel caters for Germans in a big way.

The hotel is in need of a drastic makeover. Our 2 bedroom apartment wouldn't look out of place in a Terry and June show, but everything worked.

The hotel pool is good, sunbeds are an issue with our Germanic friends being early risers.

I found the food very dissapointing, quality wise it was spot on, just very unimaginative. For example, during our stay there were no asian dishes at all, no chinese or curry, just bland stews and unlabeled salads.

The staff were mainly average, no finesse of a 5 star hotel you would perhaps get in Egypt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Michelle
Immaculate and great atmosphere
12 years 3 months ago
The resort is made up of a hotel and Village style apartments. We steed in one of the family room apartments in the village, which is set in delightful gardens that are kept immaculately clean and tidy.

The rooms are clean and tidy and are cleaned daily. Being all inclusive means that there is food available almost constantly and as a very fussy eater I can honestly say that there was always something available that I liked. The presentation of the food was amazing and the chefs must work amazingly hard throughout the day to keep the food coming.

The hotel Location is a little way from Side main town, however there is a promenade path that stretches the whole way along the beach and makes for a lovely evening stroll after dinner to burn off some of the excess calories that are so easily consumed!

The hotel staff are friendly and polite and they soon get to know your preferences. There is also an amazing Turkish baths at the hotel which, although not cheap, can help you return from your holiday feeling de-stressed and ready to tackle the mundane chores once again.

The animation team are great and our daughter has kept in touch with many of them via Facebook once we returned home. She can't wait to get back again and we have already booked for 2011.

There are not that many English people at the resort but this is probably because there is only one travel operator that advertises. There are all sorts of nationalities at the resort but everyone seems to get on well and tend to mix with each other.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
M,Hall
13 years 7 months ago
The hotel decor was dated and in dire need of total restoration.The rooms were partly floored in bad fitting carpets and uneven wood floors on top of cracked tiles.The woodwork in the bathroom was rotten.
Staff apart from the cleaners were only interested if you gave them a big tip.
Entertainment What entertainment!
Our fifth visit to Side was spoiled by a poor hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Jane
14 years 1 month ago
Arrived after a delayed night flight. Check in was slow and we had to pay for a safe key. Food was available in the restaurant for night flight arrivals.
In trhe morning, we missed breakfast, so went off to get seats, no free seats near any of the pools so settled down for a rest on a grass verge overlooking the sea.
Rooms are spacious and clean, whirlpool bath with shower in and long glass doors. Minibar including pop water and beer refilled every day. DSecor is mainatqained but dated, wallpaper and carpet in rooms. Aircon workls well and you do not need power key top operate, so can leave it on. However, here is only one door key and hotel entry card per room - which is a pain fopr two single travellers who may not want to go back to hotel at same time!!!!
Restaurant was fab, no stampede for meals, unlike neighbouring hotels and food hygience certificates are on display. Beach bar serves salad bar, pizza, lamachun, pide, pizzas and burgers, fruit and ice cream up to 5pm. Afternoon tea by main pool is available.

Dinner on terace is lovely, never watched any shows but team and activities were well organised and friendly.
AI runs till midnight - we went out before then.

However, there are NO COURTESY ROOMS at all in the hotel, and you cannot pay to keep your room!!! We ended up taking a shower in the Hammam, and carrying our travel bags with valuables with us all day!!! Not satisfactory at all.

Plus side, no wrist bands. Much quieter than Hemera despite being full. Would return, but on a day flight.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Andy & Vicki
15 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from a week at the Melas Village Resort. The hotel is magnificent and set in beautiful landscaped gardens right on the beach front.

We were just expecting a few nibbles but breakfast is a lovely continental spread with cheeses fruit pastries, omelette's cooked to order etc. During the afternoon you can choose from a snack at the pool bar or a buffet style lunch in the restaurant both of which are all inclusive, we also ventured into Side one afternoon and enjoyed a very cheaply priced fresh fish lunch which was superb. Quite difficult to fit in any meals out after all that!

The pools are lovely, there are 3 to choose from, a big one where they have afternoon games organised by the animation team, and smaller pool up on a terrace, both of these have amazing views out to sea and a third pool with big waterslides great for kids.

Restaurants are great. the all inclusive buffet has different menus daily so it doesn't get boring, and there are 2 a'la carte restaurants available also.

We stayed in a family suite (although there was only 2 of us) but we had a double bed, then a separate room with 2 single beds which can also be made up into sofas, an adequately sized bathroom with shower and bath and plenty of closet space for clothes etc.

Evening entertainment is provided by the in house animation team for both children then adults, the shows they put on were very high quality and we were impressed, there is also a number of bars and clubs just outside the resort if you like to venture out.

Overall I would say this is probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in on holiday and I am extremely fussy!

Word of warning though, this resort would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties as the amenities are quite far apart and involve some steps - where there are ramps they are quite steep. Also if you suffer from hay-fever, please go prepared - whilst the gardens are lovely they are a bit intoxicating so plenty of hay-fever stuff is required.

I would recommend this resort to families, couples who don't mind children and elderly travellers. We are 30 + 38.

One more thing - the main guest base here seems to be German and Russian, all the staff speak both languages fluently but not all of them speak very good English.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Darren & Sarah
17 years ago
This was our first time in Turkey and I must say, it was one of the best holidays we have been on!

The hotel was all inclusive and the food & drink were great! Now I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Alan Bond
17 years ago
Externally,this hotel is of a 'Sixties' concrete style.

The inside furnishings and carpets, however, are second to none - definitely 5*.

The gardens are huge and very well kept -definitely worth strolling around.

The restaurant is adequate, although the breakfast is only brilliant if you like eggs.

Both lunch and dinner were a delight in terms of quality and variety of food - the head waiter was a bit scary, but the rest of the waiters were friendly and enthusiastic.

The pool was clean and warm but be careful of splinters from the wooden sun lougers. I spent a day in agony when I got a 2cm splinter in my finger.

The hotel bedrooms are large and comfortable.
The t.v. has got the usual 2 English news programmes and eight German channels. The complementary mini bar was stocked up daily with 6 cans of pop and 2 cans of beer.

The only negative aspect of the holiday was the scrounging mentality of the bar waiters and bell boys. Be warned that they throw a strop if you dont give them a 'bung' every time they do you a service. We met a family that had brought
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Bloxham
17 years 2 months ago
Just returned from two weeks hotel at hotel what a fanastic time.

The good thing about it was there were only 30 british people in the hotel which was nice especially as the hotel was very european.

No complaints at all about holiday infact EXCELLENT.
Daughter enjoyed kids club team who worked especially very well with them she enjoyed the banana boat ride the most, evening entertainments was good, food vast choice afternoon tea was never a miss.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Would defintely recommend the hotel only fault if you like to be in centre not taxi ride away
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
A
17 years 3 months ago
Myself, husband and two children (10 & 3) stayed at the Melas Resort Hotel in May last year. We all had a fantastic time.

The hotel was spotless, the staff (except reception) were great, nothing too much trouble.

The rooms were of a good size and had a sea view, maids cleaned rooms everyday and mini bar restocked everyday.

The food in the restaurant and the beach bar was great with a fantastic choice for all meals.

The beach was great with plenty of shade and sunbeds and the outdoor pool was good with a great in
door pool which was great for my 3 year old.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday and would definitely stay there again, my children still talk about the holiday now.

By the way we had no problem with getting drinks from the village in the evenings like one of the other reviews in fact it was nice not having to wear a wrist band like some all inclusives.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Debbie
18 years ago
This was our first visit to Turkey and I was very impressed with the hotel and facilities.

Plenty of room, sunbeds and umbrellas around the pools, and all clean and well maintained. Own stretch of beach, again clean with reasonably-priced watersports. Banana boat was a favourite with the children (organised by hotel kids' club).

Location is pretty good too. Although a short taxi ride from Side town, there are plenty of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.

The bar and restaurant staff were great - really helpful and friendly - reception staff a little less so and spoke more German than English.

Food was of a high standard and quite varied - 7-year old daughter is a bit picky but never went hungry. Desserts were great! Good selection of alcoholic drinks, including interesting cocktails, free ice cream in loads of flavours. Afternoon tea with cakes was a highlight.

Daytime and kids' entertainment was well organised and varied. Evening entertainment was mostly in-house but still pretty good including kids' mini discos, dance shows, cabaret, live music & late night beach parties. Only downside was on Sunday night - entertainment team's night off - just bingo, which doesn't work well in 6 languages!! (Hotel caters for German, Russian, French, Dutch, and of course Brits, but not in the majority).

Overall this was the best hotel we've ever stayed in and I would definitely consider going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.