Image of Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa

Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa

31 of 52 hotels in Side

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
5 stars
PK 70-71, Sorgun 07600, Turkey

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ukbill
Folk who like a balcony , nice food, particularly solo travellers - AVOID this hotel!
9 years 11 months ago
The good points were friendly staff, very clean, lovely hotel grounds.
The bad points, it was miles from anywhere, no local bars or shops, almost wholly German and Russian guests and food tailored to them.
(As other reviewers have said, one can always find something to eat. True. But I reckon evening dinner in a 5 star hotel should be a pleasure to look forward to, not just a search for edible food!)

Worst of all - this hotel cheats. About a year ago I booked, through Thomson Holidays, two weeks and paid in full the extra supplement for single use of a double room with full balcony.
When I arrived I was offered a small box room (1170) next to an elevator, stairs and all of the service ducts.(Regular travellers know that these rooms are the “rooms from hell” in hotels, the ones to always avoid because of the corridor noise and flushing toilets all night.) I immediately complained and was offered an alternative – a different small box room (1120) next to a different elevator, set of stairs, and set of service ducts.

So I complained again, and was told those were the only two “single rooms” available.
I produced my invoice and proved I’d paid specifically for a “Double Room with Balcony”. This caused reception to go into a back room to consult. They returned to claim “these ARE double rooms, but the only doubles we sell to solo travellers”
So I then asked for the General Manager. I was told he was unavailable and had gone home at 4pm.
I said I would telephone the Thomson office in Antalya and demand an immediate change to a different hotel. Again the reception staff went to discuss in a back room.

They emerged to offer me a third room (6218) – not next to stairs, elevator or service pipes, but it didn’t have a balcony.
I was told I could have this, if I signed a piece of paper saying I would forgo a balcony.

It’s interesting to note that the design of the Turquoise hotel means it has a large number of rooms without proper balconies – just a floor to ceiling opening window with a fence to stop you falling – apparently called “French” or “Juliet” balconies. Ones you cannot step out on. I’m guessing they have difficulty selling these rooms.

I was now really hot and tired from travelling all day, so I gave in, under protest, and made sure that my feelings were fully stated on the piece of paper I signed. I just mentioned this to the Thomson rep next morning. Not a formal complaint because I’d decided to get on with my holiday and make the best of it.
A few days later the Thomson rep got back to me. She had investigated the situation and tried unsuccessfully to get the hotel to show the actual rooms offered, and give a proper explanation.

She discussed it with the local Thomson office manager – and they completely agreed the hotel had cheated, and decided to immediately pay me significant compensation. ON the spot!
I assume they will deduct that cash from what they pay they hotel. GOOD! That is great customer service. Thanks Thomson and the excellent local rep (Ali) – I will continue to book regularly Thomson Holidays.

I’ll never ever again consider the hotel Turquoise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
12 years 2 months ago
We've travelled to Turkey many times on holiday, and this was, without any shadow of a doubt,THE best hotel we've been to. After a six hour delay with "Don't book it, Don't Thomas Cook it", we arrived after midnight, and the entrance and lobby of this place is stunning.
Next morning, and breakfast, WOW, everything you could possibly think of was there,first class service and food.
Lunchtime, and again superb, evening dinner was a buffet, but also chefs were preparing food the whole evening,it was not hard to find something you could enjoy, again great!The pool area was first class, and the beach was only a matter of yards away.There was entertainment every night, the only downside being, it was in four languages!.All in all a fantastic place to be, and would definitely have no hesitation on going again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
13 years ago
It's been 7 years since I last went to Turkey for a holiday and I'd always stayed on a B/B or S/C basis. During these 7 years I had discovered the advantages of an A/I holiday and decided to try to find this type of board in the Antalya region. After trawling through many different hotels I finally settled on the Turquoise and was very pleased with the outcome.I travelled with my eldest daughter and one of my grandaughters. Our flight with Thomsons was uneventful and in next to no time we arrived at the hotel. We were greeted with a glass of champagne? filled in our forms and went off to our allocated room. The room was located in a block in the forest and was conveniently close to all the amenities. Plates of sandwiches had been left for us (it was the early hours of the morning) and a quick inspection revealed that although perhaps a little tight the room would be spacious enough for the 3 of us, I drew the short straw because I got the single bed which was not the softest but could be put up with for a week. This is a large hotel which seems to cater for all ages I must admit to being surprised at the number of children there but guess other nationalities (of which there were a lot) have different holidays to ours. The food, drink, entertainment was excellent and apart from the beach my daughter commented that the hotel was better than some parts of the Caribbean. We went into Side on the Dolmus a few times and it was exactly as I remembered, I even changed some money at the post office although the rates weren't as good. I thought that price wise Turkey has become much more expensive and was glad I'd gone for the A/I option. Our week ran out on the Friday at 12 noon when you had to vacate your room and our flight wasn't until the early hours of Saturday am. I asked about keeping the room on and was told it was 40 euro till 4pm and 80 till 8pm. I managed to get it till 4pm and as we had booked the Chinese a la carte for 7pm it worked out quite well. Incidentally it took us all week to get a booking for the Chinese but it was well worth the wait. Had a nice relaxing week which I thoroughly enjoyed and would certainly return however it would have to be out of peak periods when the hotel was not full to capacity.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
13 years 1 month ago
Large hotel with lots of amenities. So many staff so you never waited long to be served anywhere. Good selection of food, enough of a variety to suit most people. As it was very hot (and getting hotter by the day!) more parasols are needed. The sunbeds weren't a problem, there were a good number available, however people were vying for some shade.
The staff are lovely but mainly speak German, and of course Turkish. There were people from Russia, Germany, France and England. Because they are getting more English people visiting, the staff do seem to be making attempts at speaking English.
The rooms were well equipped but on the small side. Brilliant shower, always plenty of hot water. Lots of lights and mirrors. Fridge with various soft drinks daily. We took a travel kettle for a cuppa in our room.
There were 3 Speciality Restaurants which we would normally have used. However their menus were quite limited after the huge buffet selection available in the main restaurant.
The grounds were huge and beautiful. We arrived at night so didn't know our outlook. When we opened the curtains the following morning it felt like we were deep in a pine forest. Trees everywhere. We were actually overlooking the entrance but were not bothered by noise. Our room was also next to a lift, but again, noise was negligible
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Smith
13 years 9 months ago
what a loverly hotel everything was spot on breakfast
had a very good choice pool was loverly there was a really nice play area for anyone with young children i think the star rateing they have for this hotel is not wright it is not a 3star more like a 4 star+ we enjoyed it that much that 10 of us are going next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Phil
14 years ago
The hotel is situated in beautiful woodland surroundings, we stayed in an apartment block just outside the main hotel building. It was a couple of minutes walk away from a beach bar which was rather inviting!!! There was a mini bar in our room which was free, non alchoholic drinks and water which were topped up daily!! The safe was 3 euro's a day. The swimming pools are lovely, especially the waterslides, good fun for the children and the brave adults!!!

The food was the only down side to the holiday really, some of it was ok but alot of it was awful, and if you like the food here, well what can I say about your taste buds!!!

The beach was right next to the hotel, which was very convenient.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Rodney Stoneman
14 years 1 month ago
This is a lovely hotel visually, set in a wonderful array of colours and woodland with stunning sea views. Reception were very polite and the hotel lobby was totally non-smoking which was lovely. This is also the case in all enclosed parts of the restarant and bars.Our room was in an annex (F) some way from the main building but transport was provided with complimentery golf cart and luggage carried up to the room. You have your own hand controlled air conditioning units in all annex buildings but the main hotel is regulated by thermostatic controlls which most of the residents stated were not always in agreement with thier own feelings, many a balcony door was open through out the night. the room was spacious and cleaned daily. Food is buffet style and there are stands around the hotel most of the day with donughts the size of your fist to kebabs,pizzas turkish style hand made by old lady in nomadic tent, the food really was top class 90 per cent of the time but towards the end of our stay the hotel really filled up and the chefs were really struggling to keep on top of things,from 17th june 2008 the hotel is booked solid and i dont see how they will cope nut that is just my opinion.The hotel is a short bus ride into town(1 euro each way) and about 45 mins walk. The staff would do just about anything and the smiles were warm and genuine through out the stay they really wanted you to be happy which was not hard with beer,wine and any cocktail you wanted free. The entertainment was mainly done by the animation team and if you like watching people mime to songs and dance then good luck to you but not my sort of thing, however make sure you see the Wednesday night band, absolutely fantastic entertainment value songs in 4 different languaged and the rendition of kylie's " Cant get you out of my mind" was sung as "cant get you into my head!!!!!" There were people crying with laughter but the dance floor was packed more the i have ever seen in any other hotel fantastic value throughout but nights was enough to do all you could really do and we were both left with fond memories but no real reason or desire to want to go back. I would also strongly recommend not going to turkish bath through rep in the hotel, though cheaper then hotel spa it was a human conveyorbelt with no personnell touch only an aim to sell you more once you are there it really is not worth the money. The hotel is about 50% Russian 25%german then english,dutch,french and belgians of them all the Russians are by far the rudest but tend to keep to themselves so not really aproblem til meal times then it was every man for himself!!!!!!!!!! there were chips everywhere!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Mike
14 years 1 month ago
Stayed on an allinclusive basis and we found the found both varied and of a good quality. There are 4 al a carte restaraunts, we vistited 3 - Chinese, Italina and Turkish and the found at all three was first class although the service was slow.

Location right on the beach and you can walk along the beach into Side which is a 30 minute walk.

Staff first class, not all speak English but they all do their best to help.

Entertainment team try hard and there is a lot of day time activities but the quality of the evening entertainment is a bit varied.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
L
14 years 11 months ago
REVIEW REMOVED - WE DO NOT ALLOW REVIEWS POSTED FROM RESORT
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.