Image of Can Gardens Resort Hotel

Can Gardens Resort Hotel

42 of 52 hotels in Side

3 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
Liman Caddesi No:4, Side, Turkey
Centrally located and set right on the beach, the Can Garden provides an excellent location for your holiday. Be as lazy as you like in the hotel's peaceful surroundings or explore all there is to do in the nearby area.

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brown
Nice quiet holiday
11 years 11 months ago
We stayed there wanting a quite holiday, at we had that, the hotel was very clean, the staff very helpful, I am coeliac and the chief would make a point of being about to make sure I eat the correct food, I was not ill all holiday thanks to him.

There is a mini bus laid on to go to the beach, which picks up at the back of the hotel, the swimming pool area is nice, does get a bit slippery though, it can be quite bad when they do afternoon cakes near the pool bar, just take extra care.

We walked to the beach mostly, it's not far, the beach was very nice, and they also have their own restaurant which serves lunch from 12.00 - 14.00, there are stairs to get to it from the beach.

In the evening's we mainly sat outside overlooking the pool, the bar there has waitress's that take your order or you can go to the bar.

Got the dolmus into Side a few times
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jim And Lori
12 years 9 months ago
The Can Garden Resort is a clean and well kept hotel.
The staff are friendly and attentative often collecting and refilling your glass before you get up to return to the bar. The staff keep the communal areas and rooms spotless.
The pool area can get a little busy but there is the beach a 5 minute walk away where you can eat and drink as part of your all inclusive deal as the hotel has a beach bar on its own part of thre beach.
We stayed for a week and the food was beginning to become a little repetative, however there was plenty of it. There was a strong contingent of German and Dutch holiday makers who out numbered brits by around 70% but this was not an issue for anyone.
We drank mostly rose wine and it definitely was not diluted.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Stephen & Janine
13 years 9 months ago
we arrived at the can garden resort hotel on the 21st october 08,our first thoughts of how nice it was.the food was varied and plenty of salads but verry little ice creams in the restuarant or the snack bar.you helped your self to the food with waiters cleaning up as soon as you have finished.staff were always cleaning every where you went.the location of the hotel was not great but a free shuttle bus to the beach.at the beach the hotel had its own snack bar there for food & drinks which is great if you want to stay on the beach all day,but beware there is a lot of steps down to the beach.staff were helpful but the entertainment very poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Mandy Yates
13 years 10 months ago
I really enjoined being at Can garden resort hotel i had the time of my life and hopefully will be visiting there next year too with all the family.It was an amazing hotel. x
p.s i recommend this lovley hotel to anyone as it is a Truely sensational hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Kelsey
14 years 1 month ago
this hotel isant the best as you can see from preveiw reveiws it was ok food verry boring entertainment well planed not good at it though ! bar staff untrained i asked for a drink and he said what drink even though it was there but great cleaness !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: easy jet

Recommended
Julie
14 years 6 months ago
I think that the hotel was lovely and I recommend it very much.

Next year we might visit again but definitely go in July or August as it wasnt the weather I expected.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Pat
14 years 10 months ago
This is a lovely hotel building but a terrible hotel for a holiday.We had after reading about this hotel expected a good quality 4T hotel.

In reality the building is 4T but the quality of service at this hotel barley deserves 1T.

The hotel is out of the way about 20 min from Side and at night the area is devoid of any entertainment. The hotel animation team try their best and in fairnes during the daytime they are not bad. But at night you have to see it to believe it, a bunch of 5 yer old children could do better, it is embarassing and most people do as we did and head off to Side in a taxi or on a Dolmus.

The food is not worth bothering with apart from the deserts,they are really good but if you expect a good quality of Turkish quisine or decent basic food forget it. What they have is served cold, covered in sauce or spice and badly cooked or semi raw.

There is very little choice for children. Greasy cold chips,inedible burgers and sausage (poor quality tinned).We were warned by some other guests to be careful what we ate and we could see why.

A large amount of people were suffering with a nasty dose of Turkish tummy that lasted for 2 to 3 days. Apart from breakfast we decided to eat out and had some lovely meals. We were also spared the Turkish tummy but met many people in the hotel that had had it.

The drinks are very limited. Local Brandy,Vodka,Gin and warm watery beer.The soft drinks are very tastless and fruit juice is so watered down at times it is hard to tell what it is supposed to be.

The waiters work hard but they are also on the lookout for young English girls. They were very sugestive to my 15 year old daughter and she was upset by their advances. This was reported to the hotel but didn't seem to have any effect.
The pool has a problem and at times smells of chlorine or is murkey water.There are no where near enough sunbeds and unless you reserve one before 6.0am you end up either on the grass or down at the beach.

The hotel runs a free bus to the beach. It is a lovely beach the only problem is that you have to clamber down some steps to get to it. Not much fun for people with pushchairs or problems walking. The hotel has a bar on the beach and you can also get a snack there.

The rooms are spacious and have a good bathroom but the room service is not up to 4T. Towls are not changed unless they are really filthy. The maid will normally hang them out on the balcony to dry and our sheets were only changed once. The bathroom is cleaned well but the rest of the room is not.

We have been to Turkey before and will retern again but not to this hotel. Be warned stay elswhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Bloxham
14 years 11 months ago
Hotel spotless rooms very spacious and cleaned on a daily basis,staff fanastic as usual all Turkish people are out 6th visit to Turkey,food very good choice fish a la carte resturant fanastic,cakes fablous,turkish bath and full body massage a must for your skin and suntan well worth the money
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
Chris
14 years 11 months ago
The hotel looks very impressive, lots of marbel and grandious light fixtures. But I am afraid that looks can be very decieving.The food is some of the worst I have ever encountered unless you are prepared to live off cakes and desserts.The main courses are warm at best and when they go cold more food is added to try and warm it up.The cakes and deserts are first class but I would have prefered to have had the option of a decent main course.
The swimming pool seems to have a problem with the chlorine content at times it is very strong and at the beginning of the holiday the water was merkey.There are not enough sun beds for the amount of people and they are soon all reserved.
The beach is wonderful but not accesable to anyone with walking problems as it is only accesable down some steep steps.
There is a very limited choice of drinks warm beer,vodka,brandy or weak mixers.The alcoholic content seems very low but this is probably a good thing as there seems to be a lot of underage drinking.
The animation team is norm during the day but at evening it is terrible and many guests go out and find alternative entertainment.
The bar staff are overworked but do there best and are a friendly crowd.Unlike the managers who appear to be very surley and walk around switching all the lights off about 12.0pm
The maid service is poor our sheets were not changed while we were there and the small balcony and windows never cleaned.
Side is 15 to 20 min away on a Dolmus and there is a frequent service.
This was my fifth time in Turkey.We would retern to Side but definatly not to this hotel even if it was a free holiday. Time is far to precious and Turkey has some wondeful places to visit. This one should be avoided at all costs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tompson

Dawn
14 years 11 months ago
Plese do not be tempted by the photos of this hotel. It is a lovley building but that is about the only good thing about this hotel.
We were all inclusive,we would have been far better going elsewhere B&B or self catering.I am fortunate enough to get away on holiday 4 or 5 times a year and this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stopped at as far as the quality of service goes.
The comunial areas are kept very clean but for a farly new hotel the standard of cleaning in the rooms is not up to its star rating even by Turkish standards. The small balcony was never swept and the patio doors had finger marks all over them. I put our dirty towls in the bath expecting them to be replaced by clean only to find them hanging on the balcony to dry on our retern.The bed linin was only changed once during our stay.
The food is terrible everything covered in a sauce or spice and cold ( apart from the chips ).If you are happy to ony eat salad and desert then you will be o.k.If not then you will have to do the same as we did and eat out all the time.There were a lot of people with some sort of stomach bug that seemed to last about one to two days.We never had this problem but then we only had one meal in the hotel.
The beach is 15 to 20 min away but the hotel do have a shuttle bus and there is a bar run by the hotel on it.The beach is lovely but while we were there we met a lady in a wheelchair who had not been warned about the steps down to the beach and was unable to use it.If you have mobility problems be warned the steps down to the beach are steep.
The hotel is about 20 min bus ride away from Side but you can get a Dolmus (mini bus) outside the hotel.You can book excursions locally far cheaper than the rep can offer and if you haggle you can get some really good deals.We went on three trips and my 15 year old daughter went free.From the front of the hotel turn left walk about 500m,take the first left and walk just past the bar about 20m and you will find a booking agent on your left.The boat and market trip is really good and good food included.
The bar staff work very hard but there are not enough of them.Expect to wait to get served and the drinks are very limited and of poor quality. For some reason known only to the managment they keep shutting bars and moving to anouther bar.
The entertainment is virtually non exsistant and most people go out at night but you will not find much locally you have to travel into Side.
Around 11.30 to midnight they start to switch off the lights in reception and around the hotel making everything dull and dismal and if you want a drink after 10.30 expect to wait about 15 min to get served.
I would retern to Side but not at this location and definatly not at this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tompson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.