Image of Kadikale Resort Hotel

Kadikale Resort Hotel

6 of 13 hotels in Turgutreis

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
4 stars
Kadikalesi Turgutreis, Turgutreis 48963, Turkey

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Good hotel but a lot of steps
9 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from two weeks at the Kadikale. The rooms were big enough with plenty of storage space.

Staff were all friendly and helpful with one exception - one of the bar staff at the pool bar would have preferred to walk over hot coals rather than serve me so I had to resort to shouting very loudly so that he couldn't ignore me. Funnily enough, he always smiled and spoke if I was anywhere but at the bar!

Can't fault the food in general - just got a little repetitive after a while, but there was always lots of choice.

My biggest problem was that the hotel is built on the side of a hill - we did know this before we went and asked for a garden room even though we knew the views would not be as good as the sea view rooms. Even with a garden room there are still numerous steps all over the hotel - and the walk up to the amphitheatre is so steep that we never made it to the entertainment.

We enjoyed our stay but would not return to this hotel mainly because of the steps.

The sunsets are stunning - especially the view from the end of the decking.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Hudson
11 years 1 month ago
Our love affair with Kadikale is finally over, we have stayed there four times since 2005.

Lovely quiet location, food plentiful and fresh.

We don't mind getting up early to get some shade at the pool.

The thing that let us down was the entertainment team, previously there was a brilliant team who have moved on, consequently the standard had dropped dramatically.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch/Cosmos

Recommended
Paul B
11 years 1 month ago
Hotel rooms had been renovated to a high standard but let down by other areas - mostly upper pool area that was, I hope, next in line for some attention. Main pool had been updated.

TV in room was a small portable with no remote for the BBC world channel. Ample storage for family of three. Air Con was excellent and the reception provided three entrance cards for the room - any one which could have been left in all day to keep air con on.

Minor gripe - floor only appeared to be brushed when it could do with a good mop.

Minor gripe - safe was available for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: D I Y

Recommended
Claire
11 years 2 months ago
The variety of all inclusive drinks consisted of diet pepsi/ pepsi, fanta or sprite and the alcoholic drinks were vodka, gin, tuborg beer. There was a charge in Lira for the other drinks.
The hotel cleanliness was overall very good except the toilets in the reception area were often very smelly and dirty. The cleaner came in every morning at precisely 9:30 and if you had the do not disturb sign on the door, she would chap on your door until you answered anyway.
Some of the staff were very friendly and others totally spoilt it for us. One man in particular ignored us the first 2 weeks and when it was our leaving day he followed us around being sooooo nice to get a tip.
The entertainment was shocking. Not politically correct at all. One show consisted of a man with "no arms" trying to go to the toilet. And this was meant to be a comedy show. I do not think disability is funny. But the water ballet was beautiful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
The Kadikale resort is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in. It is really clean and tidy and all areas are kept at a high standard.

The rooms are brilliant and have all been totally refurbished to a high quality. They are cleanded daily no matter what time you leave them.

The pool areas are fantastic and there is always loads for the kids to do, we stayed up by the kids pool near the slides.

The food is excellent, loads of choice for everyone, the kids have their own section with their own food. The snack bar on a afternoon is really nice and staff very friendly.

The Italian and seafood restauarnts are lovely, make sure you book them at breakfast time for the next day.

The Bar service is the only gripe with this hotel. At peek times it can take you up tp 20 mins to get served. this is really annoying and it doesnt help when people just walk straight up and get served. Its a case of tipping the bar man on your first day in order to get served. There seems to be alot of managers stood around doing nothing whilst everyone struggles to get served. The main pool bar is the worst so be prepared for a long wait, the best time to go is when the show starts as it easy to get served.

The beach bar during the day is excellent, you get served pretty much straight away and the bar man really looks after you. Mohammed served us everyday and remembered all of our drinks and even brought them to your table. its just a shame the bar closes at 6pm.

If you have difficlulties walking make sure you request a low floor room. Most of the rooms are at the top of loads of steps as is the evening entertainment.

We would stay again and say that this hotel is definalty a 5 star complex.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
Just returned 08.06.09 from a quality two weeks at the Kadikale Resort. The hotel cleanliness in all areas was to a high standard from the pools to the rooms. Fresh towels and bed linen, shampoo's and bath foams left daily.

Breakfast served from 07:30 to 11am - Lunch 12:30 to 2pm - Snack Bar Opened 2pm till 5pm - Coffee/Tea and Biscuits/Cakes 17:00 to 17:30pm then Evening Meals 19:30 to 21:30

The variety and choice was great with something for everyone, even our two and six year olds enjoyed meal times. There was even a Childrens section with there our little tables and chairs to sit on in the Restaurant.

The location of the hotel was lovely and the views of the sea and surrounding area from our room magnificent. Would recommend paying the extra for a sea view room.

Staff were friendly and helpful and great with the kids.

The entertainment is performed solely by the Animation Team and is a bit slow and laboured. Also the Amphitheatre is situated up alot of stairs and away from the bar areas!! Around the pool area in the day time though the Animation team get you involved in pool games and various team sports. water volleyball, waterpolo, Surf board races which are all good fun if you want to participate.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Smith
12 years 1 month ago
The hotel is in a beautiful setting with stunning views of Kos. We walked to Turguitres on a couple of occasions along the beach which took about 45 minutes. The hotel is kept very clean and the staff work very hard. For a change you can book the Fish or Italian resturants which we found good and was nice to be waited on. The entertainment team worked hard although I have to say some of the evening entertainment was a bit corny but the kids enjoyed it.
My 9 year old visited the hotel run Kid's Club three times and enjoyed himself. However, can't guarantee that there will be other English children at that time.
Our main complaint is the standard of accommodation. I could have cried when I walked into our 'family' room. Shabby, dull, dingy, dark with two small windows. The bathroom was dreadful. The tatty wardrobe could just about have taken two peoples clothes, certainly not a family of four. The next day we complained to our rep who didn't bat an eyelid at our comments and immediately took us to reception. It was obvious that she was used to such complaints. Initially the hotel said they couldn't move us, but after standing our ground they found us a room in the newly renovated part of the hotel. Lovely sea view, 100% better room - modern and bright. We had a double bed and double sofa bed for the boys. A little cramped, but we managed with no real problems.
The rooms at the front area near the reception are a real issue with the hotel. If you get a modern sea view room away from the front entrance then great, no complaints, but if you end up in one of the old dated rooms - so disappointing, and unexceptable for the amount of money you pay for a five star rated hotel.
Only other issue was trying to get drinks at the bar, it seemed to take forever to get served, they really needed more staff behind the bar and less staff clearing tables and washing up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from this hotel and the setting was very idylic,the views across the bay are outstanding and the sea is literally lapping at your feet.
The whole hotel is kept spotless and the standard of decore is very good except in our room.We had what i think is one of the older rooms above the reception area.But we loved that we were near to everything and seeing as the nicer rooms were up loads of stairs we were quite happy as the boys were always forgetting something in the room.
Food was good,very fresh with a good selection everyday but as with most hotels it will get a bit repetetive.Snack bar doesnt open till 2 which is a bit of a pain because the kids wanted to use this instead of breakfast and lunch as we have done on other holidays.The main thing we would complain about is how slow the bar service was,it was a complete joke sometimes and my 12 year old was in tears one night as he had to wait 30 mins in the inside bar only to be told it was closed(which it was not).i wrote a letter of complaint to the manager that night but didnt hear anything back.
I have given it a 4 only because its not really near any shops but apart from that it is beautiful.
Entertainment is a bit hit and miss and there could be more for kids during the day,especially older kids.
All in all it was a nice holiday but i wouldnt go back mainly because of the bar situation and also we have been back to hotels before and its never the same so like to go to a different one every year now.
Oh and i forgot to say that there are no free ice creams here but if you walk 5 mins down the beach then take a left there is a small local shop that sells sweets and ice creams for half the price of the hotel shop
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
Sorry to say this but this hotel was not what we were expecting. It was an OK hotel but it could be better a lot better.

The food was OK and plentiful but they could have varied it a bit more.

The rooms were out dated (we were on the right hand side when you go through the security gate block 4) and there was a small drain in the bathroom floor that stunk to high heaven.

The bars were a bit of a shambles and I still don't know what we were are allowed under AI as there was no list only a list with the ones they charged for. It seemed that if you were a good looking female 16-40 you get served first at the pool bar even if the barman was half way through your order. The barmen never seemed to smile apart from the bar up beside the slides and seemed like they did not want to be there.

The sun loungers were a joke with all the ones beside the slide pool broken. It looked like there was only enough for two thirds of the people staying there. This caused problems with people putting their towels down the night before. The hotel had signs up saying 'No Towels Before 7am' but did not enforce it until one day they decided to collect all the towels at 6.50am (the hotel provide poolside towels). So the people like us that came down at 8am thought our luck was in until the people that had put their towels down earlier came down and found their beds taken. I kid you not there was fights breaking out all over the place and we actually watched one guy walk up and tip a woman out of her bed on to the tiles probably the worst thing I have seen at a hotel. The woman was there with her mother and I thought they were going to call the police with guys wanting to do the bloke, crazy.

There was an outbreak of sickness and diarrhea with it being that bad that people were taken to hospital and put on drips. I myself was bedded for 4 days in total and that might be one of the reasons why I thought the place was crap (no pun intended). They rounded up all the people that had to go to hospital and got them to sit in reception for about an hour before they went to hospital it was like a scene from Casualty and probably helped infect the rest of the people in the hotel which included the reps going down with it.

The pools were good and the kids loved the slides but another complaint here, people should not be allowed to drink from glasses round the pool and when a kid crapped in the children's pool scooping it out with a net does not mean it is clean no wonder people were ill.

The views from the top pool are second to none and the man made beach jetty area was spot on for a quick dip.

The entertainment round the pool was good for a laugh through the day but night time was a bit touch and go. They round the kids up for the 'mini disco' and take them up to the entertainment area but make them wait about 10 mins in the pitch dark before they start.

It is a shame because I did not enjoy my holiday this year but it has not put me off Turkey and will be back next year just not at this hotel. It could be a good hotel but the managers seem to think a straight chair makes it a good place they need to get back to basics and make it a happy place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Brown
12 years 2 months ago
We have just booked our Summer Holiday for 2009, back to Kadikale Resort, we love the place. We first came in 2005, then 2006, 2008 and soon 2009. The name was originally Club Kadikale, they started to upgrade the hotel to a Spa and Congress centre after our first visit and changed the name to Kadikale Resort. You will fine reviews under both names on some review sites for those researching.

The setting is on the side of a fairly steep hill, some rooms are up steps, it will keep you fit if nothing else. The reception and restaurant are spotless, cleaning these areas continually.

The bars were fine for our requirements, local spirits and beer and soft drinks included in the AI package. There were less bar staff there this year but not a problem getting served. Be sure to get to the restaurant early if you want to sit outside. Turkish night on Fridays is great.

Beware the watersports team, they charge a lot of money for the Banana Boat ride,they ended up charging
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.