Image of Melini Apartments

Melini Apartments

9 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
3 stars
Protaras, P.O. Box 474, 5288, Cyprus
A good standard of accommodation in a great location for the beach and resort centre.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
William Fox
7 years 10 months ago
The melini had all i needed for a week in the sun. The apartments could do with an update but they are clean and comfortable with maid service almost every day. The apartments are right in the middle of the main street a couple of hundred yards from fig tree bay so walk out the front doors and everything is there. I didn't use the pool area ( i'm a beach baby ) but it looked fine. Rockafellas bar is right next door and the play loud music until about half past midnight so if you like an early night i wouldn't recommend staying there. My room looked right into rockafellas and it didn't bother me one bit. The building work across the road wasn't going on at all while i was there so i can't comment on that. If you stay in protaras i would recommend a day at konnos beach which in my opinion is better than fig tree bay. Take a little bit of bread to feed the fish while snorkelling and they'll be swarming around you. All in all i had a great holiday and i would definitely stay at the melini again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
T.thompson
7 years 10 months ago
my wife and i our son his partner and little girl just returned from mellini apts protarus.we had two apts.both very clean and spacious.we have travelled alot to various parts of greece and spain.and these are
as good as any.staff all ok and very helpful.
food in restaurant very good.arranged our sons wedding
reception there on spec.and owners were very accomodating.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Debbie
7 years 11 months ago
When we arrived much like everybody else after reading the reports we were a little worried about the apartments, we arrived at 3am in the morning and were settled in by the staff straight away they were very organised. The room was a little old fashioned but the furniture was of good quality and the room was large and spotlessly clean, with a really well equiped kitchen area which had everything you need, toaster, kettle, full cooker and every pan pot and utensil you'd need if you were to cook in your room, the bathroom was spacious with a bath and a shower overhead. (hot water was never a problem neither, there was always plenty).
The pool area, a really nice pool area, a little small for the amount of people staying in the hotel, even if you went at 7.30 in the morning, everybody already had their towels on the bed, even though there is a notice asking them not to, however this didnt bother us as we prefer the beach anyway but it would have been nice to have the choice. The rooms were cleaned 5 days out of 7 with clean towels.
Island Affair restaurant which is attached to the hotel was great, fantastic breakfast in a morning with really lovely staff, 4.95 euro for a full english which came with toast, tea or coffee and orange juioe, definitely worth having, we ate there a couple of times at night too and had really good meals at reasonable prices.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 11 months ago
The Melini is situated just back off the main strip, clean and welcoming. The hotel reception is warm and inviting with friendly (mostly English speaking) staff. No hassle booking in and a choice of air con or fans for the room (costs about 70 Euros a week for air con, for two rooms). The lifts take you to any of the 4 floors, with stairs as an option (if you are fit!). All areas clean. There is a lounge area, with bookshelves, a pool table and a small bar (bar was not in use at the time). There is a washing machine and tumble dryer to use at a small cost, where you can purchase powder and softner if you want.

The rooms are spacious and clean, we had a bedroom with 2 single beds pushed together, with plenty of storage space for clothes and suitcases. There is the choice of paying for a key for the safety deposit box, which I think is vital. The children had the sofa-bed that was is the lounge, matching chairs. open plan kitchen with kettle, toaster, fridge, oven and crockery and cutlery and utensils. There is a breakfast-bar with accompanying barstools.

There is a small balcony, with table and chairs, not big enough to lay out on, but a great view of the pool and partial view of the sea.

The pool is lovely, not too big and not too small.It has waterfalls going into it which is a nice touch. I found that it wasn't packed at any one time, and the noise of children playing didn't bother us at all. It was a bit of a pain if we couldn't get sunbeds, as the notice said, not to leave towels on sunbeds before 8 o clock am. (but they did!) There is a pool bar with very friendly staff and they have a happy hour every evening! The Island Affair is the hotels restraunt, it is family run and they treat you like part of the family! The food is delicious. The pool is spotless and cleaned every morning. There are also outside toilets to use when in the pool or restraunt. We didn't hear any building noise when we were there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Jacqui
8 years ago
We came back from these apartments recently and couldnt fault them. We where in room 202 which was huge with a long narrow balcony other family members where on the 2nd floor as well and they had no complaints about their rooms.Rooms where very clean with towels changed most days.The staff where lovely with all of us I had my 40th Birthday while I was there and we ate in the Island Affair restaurant the staff got me a birthday cake and sang Happy birthday to me. When I went on the last day I got a hug from the staff who treat you like one of the family.The kids loved the pool which was cleaned every night it did get a bit rowdy but not to the point where it was annoying but hey it was the height of the season. This was our 2nd time at these apartments and would defo recommend them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mrs Johnson
8 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from the Melini apartments
after reading the reviews we were a bit worried but they turned out to be great. Yes they are not the most upto date however. Very clean, spacious, close to resort
staff helpful if needed.

The pool area is quite small but in Cyprus you can go to any hotel and use their pool so not really an issue

We had a 2 bedroom apart. No. 309 which was huge. On the balcony you could have held a party it was so big
it also had the fire escape - they were proper stairs
with 2 small children I wouldn't have left them out on their own on any balcony so it was not a concern.

There was a bar attached that was noisy but we were out most nights and those that we were in the kids slept through it- and it was good for us to sit outside and listen with a G&T in hand !!!


We would return to the apartments!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
This was our second time to Protaras, first time staying at the Melini.

Hotel rooms kept very clean by the maid, she came round 5-6 times week.

The food was lovely we ate at the hotel a few times at night and most mornings for breakfast and had no complaints, the staff at this hotel are excellent, havent got a bad word to say about them, very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.

The entertainment was also good, the Rockerfellas pub which is part of the hotel is always lively and has a great atmosphere staff there are also very friendly.

The pool area can get quite cramped, as the pool is quite small, there doesnt seem to be that much room for all the sunbeds so we did end up having to go the beach a few times if we werent at the pool at the crack of dawn.

Our room had a lovely view, the balcony was huge, the only thing i would say is that the rooms could really do with an update, a bit of paint and upgrade of furniture.

All in all Melini is a lovely hotel, right in the centre of the strip i would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Debbie
9 years 9 months ago
We have stayed at the Melini appartments for 7 years now. The rooms are very basic but exceptionally clean. Maid service is provided 6 days and linen is changed every 2 days. This is a family run hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here so many times now that we are treated like one of the family.

Would highly recommend to families or couples alike.

Food is excellent in the Island Affair restaurant and the entertainment in Rockafellas pub is very entertaining. Have only stayed in October half term and found that noise is not a problem. Our children have been coming with us since they were small - now they are both young adults and as they still want to come with us is testomy that the Melini is a brilliant place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie Watson
9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from a weeks stay at the Melini Apartments. Stayed in a Studio Apartment on the 4th Floor - Room 407. Very basic and quite dated but clean. We also had a fabulous balcony which allowed us an extra couple of hours in the sun as the Pool Area, although really nice is quite shaded with Palm Trees and the sun disappears over the top of the building by around 3.30 pm.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Rachel And Chris Avery
9 years 10 months ago
We went to cyprus in september 2006 to get married. we had 45 people with us 38 of us stayed at the melini it was the best holiday we had all been on. Staff are the best staff we have ever had on holiday. Rooms are a good size and very clean. put it like this 10 went back this september and had a brill time again. Me and 25 have booked the melini again for 2008 my freinds getting married this time, can't wait to go back it will be our 3rd time .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: