26 independent reviews of the Melini Apartments
Address: Protaras, P.O. Box 474, 5288, Cyprus
Melini Apartments
Melini Apartments Location
Ranked #9 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Melini Apartments Melini Apartments is rated 4.27 out of 5 from 26 Reviews
81% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (26 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Melini Apartments Reviews

5/5
5

william fox stayed at Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2008
The melini had all i needed for a week in the sun. The apartments could do with an update but they are clean and comfortable with maid service almost every day. The apartments are right in the middle of the main street a couple of hundred yards from fig tree bay so walk out the front doors and everything is there. I didn\'t use the pool area ( i\'m a beach baby ) but it looked fine. Rockafellas bar is right next door and the play loud music until about half past midnight so if you like an early night i wouldn\'t recommend staying there. My room looked right into rockafellas and it didn\'t bother me one bit. The building work across the road wasn\'t going on at all while i was there so i can\'t comment on that. If ...
you stay in protaras i would recommend a day at konnos beach which in my opinion is better than fig tree bay. Take a little bit of bread to feed the fish while snorkelling and they\'ll be swarming around you. All in all i had a great holiday and i would definitely stay at the melini again.

Read More

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

t.thompson stayed at Melini Apartments Hotel in September 2008
my wife and i our son his partner and little girl just returned from mellini apts protarus.we had two apts.both very clean and spacious.we have travelled alot to various parts of greece and spain.and these are
as good as any.staff all ok and very helpful.
food in restaurant very good.arranged our sons wedding
reception there on spec.and owners were very accomodating.



Tour Operator: greece direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Debbie stayed at Melini Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2008
When we arrived much like everybody else after reading the reports we were a little worried about the apartments, we arrived at 3am in the morning and were settled in by the staff straight away they were very organised. The room was a little old fashioned but the furniture was of good quality and the room was large and spotlessly clean, with a really well equiped kitchen area which had everything you need, toaster, kettle, full cooker and every pan pot and utensil you\'d need if you were to cook in your room, the bathroom was spacious with a bath and a shower overhead. (hot water was never a problem neither, there was always plenty).
The pool area, a really nice pool area, a little small for the amount of people staying in the hotel, even if you went at ...
7.30 in the morning, everybody already had their towels on the bed, even though there is a notice asking them not to, however this didnt bother us as we prefer the beach anyway but it would have been nice to have the choice. The rooms were cleaned 5 days out of 7 with clean towels.
Island Affair restaurant which is attached to the hotel was great, fantastic breakfast in a morning with really lovely staff, 4.95 euro for a full english which came with toast, tea or coffee and orange juioe, definitely worth having, we ate there a couple of times at night too and had really good meals at reasonable prices.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Francis had a holiday at Melini Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2008
The Melini is situated just back off the main strip, clean and welcoming. The hotel reception is warm and inviting with friendly (mostly English speaking) staff. No hassle booking in and a choice of air con or fans for the room (costs about 70 Euros a week for air con, for two rooms). The lifts take you to any of the 4 floors, with stairs as an option (if you are fit!). All areas clean. There is a lounge area, with bookshelves, a pool table and a small bar (bar was not in use at the time). There is a washing machine and tumble dryer to use at a small cost, where you can purchase powder and softner if you want.

The rooms are spacious and clean, we had a bedroom with 2 single beds pushed together, with plenty of ...
storage space for clothes and suitcases. There is the choice of paying for a key for the safety deposit box, which I think is vital. The children had the sofa-bed that was is the lounge, matching chairs. open plan kitchen with kettle, toaster, fridge, oven and crockery and cutlery and utensils. There is a breakfast-bar with accompanying barstools.

There is a small balcony, with table and chairs, not big enough to lay out on, but a great view of the pool and partial view of the sea.

The pool is lovely, not too big and not too small.It has waterfalls going into it which is a nice touch. I found that it wasn\'t packed at any one time, and the noise of children playing didn\'t bother us at all. It was a bit of a pain if we couldn\'t get sunbeds, as the notice said, not to leave towels on sunbeds before 8 o clock am. (but they did!) There is a pool bar with very friendly staff and they have a happy hour every evening! The Island Affair is the hotels restraunt, it is family run and they treat you like part of the family! The food is delicious. The pool is spotless and cleaned every morning. There are also outside toilets to use when in the pool or restraunt. We didn\'t hear any building noise when we were there.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jacqui visited the Melini Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2008
We came back from these apartments recently and couldnt fault them. We where in room 202 which was huge with a long narrow balcony other family members where on the 2nd floor as well and they had no complaints about their rooms.Rooms where very clean with towels changed most days.The staff where lovely with all of us I had my 40th Birthday while I was there and we ate in the Island Affair restaurant the staff got me a birthday cake and sang Happy birthday to me. When I went on the last day I got a hug from the staff who treat you like one of the family.The kids loved the pool which was cleaned every night it did get a bit rowdy but not to the point where it was annoying but hey it was the height of ...
the season. This was our 2nd time at these apartments and would defo recommend them.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Mrs Johnson had a holiday at Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2007
We have just returned from the Melini apartments
after reading the reviews we were a bit worried but they turned out to be great. Yes they are not the most upto date however. Very clean, spacious, close to resort
staff helpful if needed.

The pool area is quite small but in Cyprus you can go to any hotel and use their pool so not really an issue

We had a 2 bedroom apart. No. 309 which was huge. On the balcony you could have held a party it was so big
it also had the fire escape - they were proper stairs
with 2 small children I wouldn\'t have left them out on their own on any balcony so it was not a concern.

There was a bar attached that was noisy but we were out most nights and those that we were ...
in the kids slept through it- and it was good for us to sit outside and listen with a G&T in hand !!!


We would return to the apartments!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

carrie visited the Melini Apartments in June 2007
This was our second time to Protaras, first time staying at the Melini.

Hotel rooms kept very clean by the maid, she came round 5-6 times week.

The food was lovely we ate at the hotel a few times at night and most mornings for breakfast and had no complaints, the staff at this hotel are excellent, havent got a bad word to say about them, very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.

The entertainment was also good, the Rockerfellas pub which is part of the hotel is always lively and has a great atmosphere staff there are also very friendly.

The pool area can get quite cramped, as the pool is quite small, there doesnt seem to be that much room for all the sunbeds so we did end up having to go the beach a few times if we werent at ...
the pool at the crack of dawn.

Our room had a lovely view, the balcony was huge, the only thing i would say is that the rooms could really do with an update, a bit of paint and upgrade of furniture.

All in all Melini is a lovely hotel, right in the centre of the strip i would recommend it to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Debbie visited the Melini Apartments, Protaras in October 2006
We have stayed at the Melini appartments for 7 years now. The rooms are very basic but exceptionally clean. Maid service is provided 6 days and linen is changed every 2 days. This is a family run hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here so many times now that we are treated like one of the family.

Would highly recommend to families or couples alike.

Food is excellent in the Island Affair restaurant and the entertainment in Rockafellas pub is very entertaining. Have only stayed in October half term and found that noise is not a problem. Our children have been coming with us since they were small - now they are both young adults and as they still want to come with us is testomy that the Melini is a brilliant place to stay.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Julie Watson visited the Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras in September 2006
Just returned from a weeks stay at the Melini Apartments. Stayed in a Studio Apartment on the 4th Floor - Room 407. Very basic and quite dated but clean. We also had a fabulous balcony which allowed us an extra couple of hours in the sun as the Pool Area, although really nice is quite shaded with Palm Trees and the sun disappears over the top of the building by around 3.30 pm.


Tour Operator: Direct Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

rachel and chris avery stayed at Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras in September 2006
We went to cyprus in september 2006 to get married. we had 45 people with us 38 of us stayed at the melini it was the best holiday we had all been on. Staff are the best staff we have ever had on holiday. Rooms are a good size and very clean. put it like this 10 went back this september and had a brill time again. Me and 25 have booked the melini again for 2008 my freinds getting married this time, can\'t wait to go back it will be our 3rd time .

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

andy visited the Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras in August 2006
The room we stayed in was basic but a good size for a family of 6.

Ate at the hotel a few times and the meals were good.

On week into the hol our daughter got a serious ear infection from the pool.This was a on-going problem as we found out later that many others had suffered the same problem.However no mention from the hotel or the rep.

On the surface it apperared there was alot to do for the kids but they did get bored with pool and others games.

Would go back to cyprus but not in this area.Could go to blackpool for the same things.






Tour Operator: direct holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Mr & Mrs Murphy stayed at Melini Apartments in July 2006
Apartments brilliant.

Fabulous location,straight out of the doors and onto the main road into resort centre.Few minutes walk to beautiful Fig Tree beach.

Excellent value for money.Lovely food in restaurant.

Would definately book these apartments again.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

J Hewitt had a holiday at Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2006
We have just returned from holiday and it was excellent.

The Melini apartments were fantastic they are in ideal location we had a great sea view from our large balcony and there is a great little shop opposite that sells everything you need including fresh bread & pastries.

The apartments were clean & had large rooms, cleaners came 6 days a week and there was full facilities for cooking, a large fridge and dining table. The bathroom was clean but a little old fashioned.

The pool area was clean and tidy and the restaurant attached \'Island Affair\' served excellent breakfast for

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Emma had a holiday at Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2006
Just got back from a weeks holiday at the Melini. Didn\'t really know what to expect but was really pleasantly surprised.

Staff were friendly, check in was fairly prompt, service all round was good. It was in the most fantastic location, on the main road of protarus (but you wouldn\'t really notice that when you are round the gorgeous pool area as the fence/plants masked this well and the lovely sound of the rock waterfalls into the pool drownd out any noise) but great location to walk out at night with most things literally on your doorstep but with no noticeable noise from the bars.

The rooms, as most people said, were basic but large in size and always clean. Kithchen area well equiped and again clean, nice big fridge. We also ate at the hotels attached restaurant and the food was great.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Whitfield had a holiday at Melini Apartments, Protaras in May 2006
This hotel is very clean and spacious, with maid service 6 times a week. It is in an excellent location with Fig Tree beach about 5-10 mins away.

We would recommend the hotels restaurant- The Island Affair for the evening meals as they were fab value and really good food. If you like steak try the Cowboy Steak which is presented on a wooden chopping board along with chips and lots of veg!

The staff were very helpful at the hotel and we would definately stay there again!!!!

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Woodhouse visited the Melini Apartments in May 2006
The apartments were very clean, pool was excellent, with waterfalls calming the day.

Shops within 30m and the only down side was sometimes the noise from the road, but in our room it was not too bad.

If I stayed here again, I would stay at these apartments.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Fiona & Gary had a holiday at Melini Apartments in September 2005
I read so much about the Melini apartments before we went, that I was not sure what to expect. There were mixed views about the apts. However, I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely return.

The apartments are very basic and could do with updating, however they were very clean and spacious. Your bed linen was changed every 2 days, and you also got fresh towels every 2 days.

The staff at the Melini are very nice and helpful and I am sure this is one of the reasons why people return here.

The location was excellent.

Pool area great and also very clean.

This is one of the best places I have stayed, and would recommend these apartments.

As I said, I will be going back.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

NATALIE had a holiday at Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2005
This is a lovely hotel but the rooms are very basic.

However the staff, food and drinks are all great.

It is close to everything. Just minutes to the beach.

Tour Operator: DIRECT

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

deb visited the Melini Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2005
The Melini is in need of complete refurbishment.

However the staff are very friendly and I\'m sure they have a lot of people returning there again. We just expected the apartments to be a lot better than they were from the description and picture in the brochure and on the Direct holidays web site.

The rooms are very basic there was all mould in the wardrobe, the balcony was very small. The corridors and reception are are very dull.

The poolside is too cramped and too shaded.

The restaurant looked packed every night but we never eat there so can't comment on the food we only had a breakfast there, once it was nice the other time not so good.

I would go the Protaras again but would stop somewhere else.

Tour Operator: direct holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Julie & Andre stayed at Melini Apartments, Protaras in June 2005
Just returned from The Melini Apts & Hotel and found it to be an extremely pleasant stay. It was clean and very well situated, the staff were friendly and helpful and the entertainment was good.

We had a huge terrace which was a sun trap the whole day through. (Floor 4, corner studio apt) However the only thing was that the travel company did not advise that the air conditioning was not included in the price.

We were disappointed to leave and would recommend the Melini Apts to anyone going to Protaras.



Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share