Image of Cavo Maris Hotel

Cavo Maris Hotel

34 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
A popular choice with many guests returning year after year, the Cavo Maris is a superb 3 star hotel, set in a beautiful, unspoilt seafront location, amongst extensive grass lawns and gardens which run down to a fine sandy beach.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robinson
5 years 10 months ago
We have stayed at the Cavo Maris 4 times and never had anything bad to say. The staff are great the hotel is kept very clean and the rooms are the same. Food is great. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Judith
7 years 9 months ago
The hotel was very clean and most staff were very friendly.Rooms cleaned daily and clean bedding and towels.Not a lot of choice food wise but quality fine.Hotel ideally situated right on the beach with water sports on hand.Short walk to Psotaras.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Judith
7 years 9 months ago
The hotel was very clean and most staff were very friendly.Rooms cleaned daily and clean bedding and towels.Not a lot of choice food wise but quality fine.Hotel ideally situated right on the beach with water sports on hand.Short walk to Psotaras.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
We came To Cavo Maris in September this year, to get married.

During our stay here, we had no complaints whatsoever. The staff were always friendly, and very very helpful. Food was lovely, and we found it very affordable to eat at the hotel for dinner.

Our children loved it here, there was alot there for them to do, they never got bored.

The hotel always looked clean and tidy, our rooms where made up for us every morning.

Our wedding day, they made very special for us in every way. Flowers and fruit and a bottle of champagne in our room. Great day!

Would definately go back there again soon.

Oh and entertainment were great - certainly made my day on my birthday for me!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 9 months ago
Stayed in the Cavo Maris in August 2007 on a B&B basis. The hotel is immaculate. An army of cleaners seem to work all hours and keep the place spotless. As B&B guests, we only experienced breakfast which was fin. A good variety of cereals, fruit, cake and bread and the normal range of cooked bits and pieces. Nice coffee ands juice but expect to queue at the the toasters.

Happy Hour takes place two evenings a week from 5 until 6, when cocktails are half price. Other evenings there is a free cocktail event (fruit punch) and wine tasting.

The pool is large enough and has "Water gym" run by the ever energetic Sergio and his quieter sidekick, Andy every morning around 1100.

Plenty of sunbeds around the pool etc, but once again dominated by the selfish who put towels on the sunbeds from very early on in the day and they remain unused for hours. The hotel does specify that beds left un-used for over an hour will have towels removed but as you can imagine, this is not rigidly enforced.

In true Cypriot fashion, the locals descend on the weekend and monopolise the place. After enjoying the smoking ban in the UK, it is a surprise to see the Cypriots smoking everywhere.

The hotel has reasonable sized gardens, a terraced affair leading to the beach. Beach? No, a shngly pebbly affair with rocks beneath the water. Enter to the left of the beach (close to the watersports) and you avoid the worst. Its not very good to be honest.

The swim-up pool bar offers service only on the land side so swimmers won't get served unless they climb out. Waiter service is offered but can be erratic.

There were 3 restaurants within walking distance ,but the closest (La Cygne) has closed, the Lancashire Rose burnt down on our second day taking the supermarket with it - the only one left is Americanos, which is actually quite nice.

Protaras centre is 3km away if you like neon lit concrete strips. If you are after the "Cypriot way", prepare to be let down a bit. The strip turns into a one way car park at night with screaming scooters and crawling traffic.

So in a nutshell, a clean family run hotel with friendly, efficient staff. It's sadly let down by it's poor beach.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 7 months ago
On first impressions,as we drove in the hotel looked very nice,even once we were inside the reception area was also very nice.

Rooms were of a good standard,quite small balconies & the corridors could do with a facelift,but nothing that warranted any complaints.

For me,the disappointment fell on the all inclusive facilities. Meals on the all inclusive were based on the main restaurant,which offered buffet style meals at all times,the meals were adequate,but there were snacks available at the Coral bar,these included toasties,burgers(except chicken burgers)chips & two choices of salad. However,these were only available outside restaurant times,within restaurant times you had to pay,so if the children did not eat in the restaurant,I had to pay.

Also,the poolside bar offered snacks such as filled pittas,salads etc;these had to be paid for at any time.

Drinks on AI were local drinks & drinks made with local spirits,so beer,wine & local spirits were ok,but only certain cocktails were available on AI,even though they were made using local spirits, Pina Colada-which is popular & one I like to drink had to be paid for as did most of the well known popular cocktails.so....

In brief for me,it was not a truly all inclusive hotel. There were far too many stipulations.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs Joanne Graham
9 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Cavo Maris while we got married at ayia Napa Monastery and had our reception back at the hotel. Which was fabulous Zenios, the food and beverage manager, was very helpful in deciding what we wanted ell ofthe staff were so friendly and helpful,they couldnt have done any more for us.

We had our reception in a beautiful wooden Band stand type of Gazebo which was brand new with its own private garden,we were presented a wedding cake and other gifts from the hotel, the chef and a waiter stayed for the duration of the reception.

Anyway the hotel was spotlessly clean,rooms cleaned every day. We had a lovely side sea view room.

Heard so much about Sergio before we went, he was brilliant with the kids and adults, he never seemed to stop.

The waiting staff were very nice also, mostly Polish girls who spoke very good English.

The food was really nice a good choice of dishes some were repeated every couple of days but this didnt matter to us.We stayed there bed and breckfast but upgraded 4 days a time for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lisa
10 years 7 months ago
The Cavo Maris was very clean, staff friendly and helpful (except for the little man in the dining room who got most upset because we brought drinks in from the bar!).

Sergio worked tirelessly all day and night with the entertainment.

The food good but we went to Cyprus to eat Greek food but had an oriental, Indian, Italian buffet on different nights.

The pool area was very clean and had plenty of loungers. The beach was nice but going into the sea was very stoney, we tried for 10 minutes to edge our way into the sea, until a lady told us if we walked in on the left of the cove it was sandy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Wiggins
10 years 9 months ago
This is the third time we have stopped at the Cavo Maris and it just gets better. Good-sized rooms kept very clean. We had to wait for our room on arrival as they were shampooing the carpet, as we were AI just went for a beer.

All meals are self-service with plenty of choice both hot and cold.

Always plenty of empty sunloungers even though we were there in the middle of August.

Great bunch of waiting staff this year mainly from Poland, they all speak good English and made us very welcome. A few waits for service at busy periods but didn't feel this was because we were AI it looked like the hotel was full.

Will definitely be going back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
We found the hotel spotless with the staff very friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean & modern with comfortable beds, even soft pillows, with beautiful scenic sea view.

The pool was large and modern, with the largest sunbathing area we've ever seen, which leads direct onto a nice beach.

I would sat the biggest let down was the food. The breakfast was often cold. The evening dinner too often either overcooked or cold, especially the chips. :(
In the whole week there was never any fresh bread.
If we were to visit again it would be on a B&B basis or AI as the drinks were plentiful and never restricted.

Overall a great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: