19 independent reviews of the Cavo Maris Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Cavo Maris Hotel
Cavo Maris Hotel Location
Ranked #42 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Cavo Maris Hotel Cavo Maris Hotel is rated 3.58 out of 5 from 19 Reviews
74% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (19 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Cavo Maris Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

robinson stayed at Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras in August 2010
We have stayed at the Cavo Maris 4 times and never had anything bad to say. The staff are great the hotel is kept very clean and the rooms are the same. Food is great. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Judith visited the Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras in August 2008
The hotel was very clean and most staff were very friendly.Rooms cleaned daily and clean bedding and towels.Not a lot of choice food wise but quality fine.Hotel ideally situated right on the beach with water sports on hand.Short walk to Psotaras.

Tour Operator: Euro Cypria

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Judith stayed at Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2008
The hotel was very clean and most staff were very friendly.Rooms cleaned daily and clean bedding and towels.Not a lot of choice food wise but quality fine.Hotel ideally situated right on the beach with water sports on hand.Short walk to Psotaras.

Tour Operator: Euro Cypria

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Mr & Mrs Tanner visited the Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras in September 2007
We came To Cavo Maris in September this year, to get married.

During our stay here, we had no complaints whatsoever. The staff were always friendly, and very very helpful. Food was lovely, and we found it very affordable to eat at the hotel for dinner.

Our children loved it here, there was alot there for them to do, they never got bored.

The hotel always looked clean and tidy, our rooms where made up for us every morning.

Our wedding day, they made very special for us in every way. Flowers and fruit and a bottle of champagne in our room. Great day!

Would definately go back there again soon.

Oh and entertainment were great - certainly made my day on my birthday for me!

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Nick & family stayed at Cavo Maris Hotel in August 2007
Stayed in the Cavo Maris in August 2007 on a B&B basis. The hotel is immaculate. An army of cleaners seem to work all hours and keep the place spotless. As B&B guests, we only experienced breakfast which was fin. A good variety of cereals, fruit, cake and bread and the normal range of cooked bits and pieces. Nice coffee ands juice but expect to queue at the the toasters.

Happy Hour takes place two evenings a week from 5 until 6, when cocktails are half price. Other evenings there is a free cocktail event (fruit punch) and wine tasting.

The pool is large enough and has \"Water gym\" run by the ever energetic Sergio and his quieter sidekick, Andy every morning around 1100.

Plenty of sunbeds around the pool etc, but once again dominated by the selfish who put towels on ...
the sunbeds from very early on in the day and they remain unused for hours. The hotel does specify that beds left un-used for over an hour will have towels removed but as you can imagine, this is not rigidly enforced.

In true Cypriot fashion, the locals descend on the weekend and monopolise the place. After enjoying the smoking ban in the UK, it is a surprise to see the Cypriots smoking everywhere.

The hotel has reasonable sized gardens, a terraced affair leading to the beach. Beach? No, a shngly pebbly affair with rocks beneath the water. Enter to the left of the beach (close to the watersports) and you avoid the worst. Its not very good to be honest.

The swim-up pool bar offers service only on the land side so swimmers won\'t get served unless they climb out. Waiter service is offered but can be erratic.

There were 3 restaurants within walking distance ,but the closest (La Cygne) has closed, the Lancashire Rose burnt down on our second day taking the supermarket with it - the only one left is Americanos, which is actually quite nice.

Protaras centre is 3km away if you like neon lit concrete strips. If you are after the \"Cypriot way\", prepare to be let down a bit. The strip turns into a one way car park at night with screaming scooters and crawling traffic.

So in a nutshell, a clean family run hotel with friendly, efficient staff. It\'s sadly let down by it\'s poor beach.




Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

cavo maris hotel visited the Cavo Maris Hotel in October 2006
On first impressions,as we drove in the hotel looked very nice,even once we were inside the reception area was also very nice.

Rooms were of a good standard,quite small balconies & the corridors could do with a facelift,but nothing that warranted any complaints.

For me,the disappointment fell on the all inclusive facilities. Meals on the all inclusive were based on the main restaurant,which offered buffet style meals at all times,the meals were adequate,but there were snacks available at the Coral bar,these included toasties,burgers(except chicken burgers)chips & two choices of salad. However,these were only available outside restaurant times,within restaurant times you had to pay,so if the children did not eat in the restaurant,I had to pay.

Also,the poolside bar offered snacks such as filled pittas,salads etc;these had to be paid for at any time.

Drinks on AI were local drinks & ...
drinks made with local spirits,so beer,wine & local spirits were ok,but only certain cocktails were available on AI,even though they were made using local spirits, Pina Colada-which is popular & one I like to drink had to be paid for as did most of the well known popular cocktails.so....

In brief for me,it was not a truly all inclusive hotel. There were far too many stipulations.

Read More

Tour Operator: med hotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

mrs Joanne graham had a holiday at Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras in July 2006
We stayed at the Cavo Maris while we got married at ayia Napa Monastery and had our reception back at the hotel. Which was fabulous Zenios, the food and beverage manager, was very helpful in deciding what we wanted ell ofthe staff were so friendly and helpful,they couldnt have done any more for us.

We had our reception in a beautiful wooden Band stand type of Gazebo which was brand new with its own private garden,we were presented a wedding cake and other gifts from the hotel, the chef and a waiter stayed for the duration of the reception.

Anyway the hotel was spotlessly clean,rooms cleaned every day. We had a lovely side sea view room.

Heard so much about Sergio before we went, he was brilliant with the kids and adults, he never seemed to stop.

The waiting staff ...
were very nice also, mostly Polish girls who spoke very good English.

The food was really nice a good choice of dishes some were repeated every couple of days but this didnt matter to us.We stayed there bed and breckfast but upgraded 4 days a time for

Read More

Tour Operator: Libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Lisa stayed at Cavo Maris Hotel in October 2005
The Cavo Maris was very clean, staff friendly and helpful (except for the little man in the dining room who got most upset because we brought drinks in from the bar!).

Sergio worked tirelessly all day and night with the entertainment.

The food good but we went to Cyprus to eat Greek food but had an oriental, Indian, Italian buffet on different nights.

The pool area was very clean and had plenty of loungers. The beach was nice but going into the sea was very stoney, we tried for 10 minutes to edge our way into the sea, until a lady told us if we walked in on the left of the cove it was sandy.

Tour Operator: teletext co

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

wiggins visited the Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras in August 2005
This is the third time we have stopped at the Cavo Maris and it just gets better. Good-sized rooms kept very clean. We had to wait for our room on arrival as they were shampooing the carpet, as we were AI just went for a beer.

All meals are self-service with plenty of choice both hot and cold.

Always plenty of empty sunloungers even though we were there in the middle of August.

Great bunch of waiting staff this year mainly from Poland, they all speak good English and made us very welcome. A few waits for service at busy periods but didn\'t feel this was because we were AI it looked like the hotel was full.

Will definitely be going back

Tour Operator: indipendant

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

R Thomas visited the Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras in June 2005
We found the hotel spotless with the staff very friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean & modern with comfortable beds, even soft pillows, with beautiful scenic sea view.

The pool was large and modern, with the largest sunbathing area we\'ve ever seen, which leads direct onto a nice beach.

I would sat the biggest let down was the food. The breakfast was often cold. The evening dinner too often either overcooked or cold, especially the chips. :(
In the whole week there was never any fresh bread.
If we were to visit again it would be on a B&B basis or AI as the drinks were plentiful and never restricted.

Overall a great holiday.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

paula white had a holiday at Cavo Maris Hotel in October 2004
The warm welcome that you recieve is great!!!!!
The rooms area a brillant size we had 3 adults and a infant in a cot in 1 room we had 2 adults & 2 children in other room.

The rooms are cleaned spotless every day
the food was out off this world plenty 2 choose from every day & every meal time.

We had a 10 to 15 mins walk in to Protaras
We hired 2 jeeps for 2 days which werent very dear to get us in to Ayia Napa the water park in Ayia Napa is a brillant day out.

The hotel staff are very friendly, brillant with children.

Entertainment was good but not brillant, the karaoke night is a great night.
We would definetly return.

Tour Operator: argo

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

norman buchanan had a holiday at Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2004
My wife and I stayed for one week on an all-inclusive basis,the Hotel and accommadition was fairly clean and well maintained, air-conditioning was sufficent and via a central ceiling vent.
The food was very disappointing, the meals for all-inclusive guests were from help-yourself hot-trays, breakfast was generally good and covered all guests as this is a B&B hotel, however, the lunch and evening selections for all-inclusives were of a poor standard, Sunday being the one exception, it gave us a taste of better food and standards,4 carved meats and a greater choice of sweets.
There was an A La Carte for non inclusives, our selections covered 3 meats and 3 veg type meals, I was concerned that some meat dishes from these trays were only at room temperature or below, the salad selection were very poor,no cold meats, sweets are mainly ...
jelly and ice-cream and a small selection of fruit.
The Hotel staff were mostly friendly, the waiting staff were very friendly and performed much better than the staff manning the main and pool-side bar,a 15-20 minute wait for drinks were frequent and particularly at peak periods (lunch & dinner).I found that all- inclusive guests were made to feel as though they were asking for something they were not entitled to, on one occassion my all-inclusive card was snatched from my hand to give it a closer scrutiny, there were grunts or nods when inviting you to place your order, followed by the question \"all-inclusive\"? barely a yes Sir or yes Madam and very few thank you\'s, just a request \"sign here\". I worked out that all-inclusives (as a rule) gave few tips as they did not pay by cash. I tipped as I felt appropiate,we were well attended by the waiting staff.
Entertainment was poor and mainly appealed to the young children.

Overall, I would only stay at this hotel on a Bed and Breakfast basis, we stayed during a period of the second week of the Islands 2 week holiday period and found the hotel booked and operating to capacity with locals and oversea guests alike,I raised some of my issues with the Food and Beverage Manager who assured me he would address the matters, the only evidence was an increase in staffing levels from one to two staff at the poolside bar, no change in attitudes.
I was told by a member of the waiting staff that the food and attitude generally improved after the July and August holiday period. As we observed, the staff, to be fair, worked very long hours and perhaps,could account, but not excuse my experience of this holiday.

Read More

Tour Operator: argo

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Paul Smith stayed at Cavo Maris Hotel in August 2004
We read the reviews on here before we booked and thought this Hotel sounded outstanding, on return and seeing recent reviews I have to agree things must have gone downhill!
The general cleanliness was of a high standard but was erratic at times, a couple of days our room appeared to have been rushed.
We booked Bed and Breakfast with the intention of travelling round the island the first week and upgrading to all-inclusive for the second week, after sampling some of the food we decided on sticking to B+B and eating out.
The Hotel does have some outstanding garden areas with loungers and parasol\'s leading to the beach, it provides a bar very close to the beach with quick delivery of bar snacks, this and the beach was ...
the best feature of this Hotel.
The general response of the staff was poor but full credit goes to the 2 or 3 members of bar waiting staff who were persistent on you not visiting the bar yourself, they worked very hard and notably long hours and did their very best to serve everyone, the hotel needs to increase the staffing levels.
Entertainment? Two nights was enough! The hotel TV system showed some absolutely outstanding examples of footage of \"previous\" entertainment events of which did not appear during our stay (thats when the TV system was working correctly). One night started very impressive with dancers doing Greek, Italian etc styles (not my thing but was impressive to watch) this was let down by ending around 10pm with Bingo to follow!
In summary, the Hotel was OK, but I have stayed in much better, I will book to return to Protaras for the 3rd time next year, but not in this Hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Elaine had a holiday at Cavo Maris Hotel in July 2004
We\'ve just come back from a 14 nt \'all inclusive\' holiday at this hotel. Lovely hotel, situated perfectly on a beach, just a few minutes from Protaras. However, I would not recommend this as a good all inclusive holiday as there are strict limitations on what you can eat and drink and the times that these are available. The advertised swim up bar was not in operation and lots of people who had gone all inclusive were unhappy at the way in which we were treated, ie: cash buyers always served first, a manager who followed people with drinks and actually removed one or more if he felt like it! Food in the restaurant was not good and it felt like the hotel wanted you to eat at the outside barbecue for which you had to pay ...
on top (this was not mentioned in the brochure). Small group of teenagers were treated with contempt, some staff were rude if they asked for food/drink. Having paid for a 6 ft tall 16 year old as an adult, he spent the whole two weeks sleeping on a camp bed, told that we had to pay extra for a bigger room even though this is what we had paid for. All in all, this was not an all inclusive holiday, we spent over

Read More

Tour Operator: Mercury Direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Ann Harley visited the Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2004
We went to the Cavo Maris in June/July 2005 for two weeks. The hotel itself is well set out but is situated a little too far for walking into Protaras itself, particularly if you have children with you. There is a regular bus service though, with a stop just outside the front of the hotel.

We stayed B&B and enjoyed the breakfasts, which were very nice though could be improved with more choice. We also ate in the hotel dining room for 2 evenings and the meals were okay, but choice for children was quite poor.

Our room was spacious and very clean, our bed linen was changed almost every other day and towels were changed daily. The air-con worked really well in the room, there was fresh drinking water provided daily in flasks and a room fridge/mini bar and safe as ...
well (though you paid extra for these).

The pool was lovely and only seemed busy at weekends, which is when the hotel seems to have an influx of locals visiting, as this happened on both the weekends of our stay. Food and drink provided by the pool bars were of good quality but a little expensive, the beach bar was slightly cheaper and you had a nice view of the beach/sea as you ate.

Hotel staff were friendly and polite. The childrens club was small but kept the children entertained with treasure hunts, mini parties, creative sessions etc. The hotel entertainment staff were very good and there was plenty in the daytime programme for adults and kids. The evening entertainment was okay but rather limited.

My one big disappointment was the fact that we (along with many others) couldnt book a late check out room or have one on the day of departure. The hotel does not have a courtesy room but does have showers downstairs in the pool bathroom area. These are next to the toilets and are not air conditioned and the only plug is outside the bathroom door and isnt close to a mirror (for hairdrying etc).You have to shower as people go to/from the toilets,with little privacy or security and dress whilst sweating in the heat and then dry your hair as people pass you in the corridor or come in/out of the door! This really needs addressing.

My other comment is regarding Avis Car Hire, which we were very disappointed in. They arrived 45mins after appointed time with no apology. We were over charged for a full tank of petrol (this hadnt happened when we holidayed in Cyprus in 2004). We eventually got to the car itself and it was an elderly Clio with too many scratches and bumps too mention and it had very dodgy breaks and no water in the washer bottle. This had been arranged by Thomas Cook i would advise people to book in resort - there were special offers on with some hire companies whilst we were there.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Shell visited the Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2004
We walked into the Cavo Maris reception area and were immediately impressed. The hotel staff were very efficient in getting us booked in, so far so good. We were on the 4th floor so we made good use of the hotels lifts (of which there are only 2 and they are quite small and stuffy but clean and sufficient!). Our room was over-looking the front of the hotel so yeah we were a little disappointed that we didn\'t have a fab pool/sea-view but we had rooms together and they were extremely clean and comfortable (there were 3 women in one room with plenty of room) so we were still on a BIG high. We did have a problem with a dodgy shower lead in our room, but we had a word at reception about it and by the ...
time we got back from dinner it had been replaced with a brand new lead. Our party (5 women) stayed on a b&b basis so can\'t comment on anything other than breakfast, which was a very nice start to the day.
The hotel\'s location was perfect for us, we had about a 10 minute stroll along a well lit street into Protaras town, with all its night life and shops/restaurants so everything was easily accessible wihout any noise etc. at night! We stayed for 10 days at the very end of June and other than the hotel\'s air conditioning which in our opinion could have been a bit more powerful, have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to groups of friends and families alike. I know we all had a wonderful stay and can\'t wait to go back to Cyprus. If you have booked to stay at this hotel for your hols I don\'t see how you will be disappointed.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Scott Hainey had a holiday at Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2003
The hotel was excellent and the staff were extremly friendly and helpful and made us all feel like part of a huge cypriot family. This was my first visit to this hotel although the people i was with have been countless times. The hotel caters for both young and old alike and has a wide variety of activities to chose from. The managment and staff of the Cavo Maris beach hotel very much value thier repeater clients and as the people I accompanied were repeater clients they wre invited to the famous repeater clients dinner. The staff were so thoughtful they invited me along even though this was my first visit.Although the repeater clients are not the only ones who get the \'special\' treatment the staff have time for all their guests and make each and every one feel at home!

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jo visited the Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2003
The hotel staff were excellent and always willing to help to make the holiday one to remember. The location was excellent... close enough to the centre if you wanted a later night out but far enough away to sleep when you got back! The entertainment was good... but the same each week.. so if there for two weeks, you got the same thing twice! The food was nice.. but not much choice for Vegetarians.

All in all... a great place..

Tour Operator: Not sure

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

0/5
0

mpardue had a holiday at Cavo Maris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2002
This has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It most certainly deserves a higher classification than the 3 stars it has been awarded.

The hotel itself is fantastic with a lovely pool (swim-up bar included), beautiful gardens for sunbathing in if you want to be away from the main pool area and if that doesn\'t suit you, the beach is just behind you (with fantastic watersports available). We went B&B and the breakfast selection was fantastic (cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cooked selection etc).

The Cavo Maris lies just outside Protaras town, which is only a 15 min stroll away and Ayia Napa is 15 mins away by bus.

Its the little touches which make this hotel stand out from all the rest we have been to. My birthday fell on the last night of our holiday and ...
I had flowers delivered to the room as well as a card and birthday cake in the evening (all because my d.o.b was on the booking form).

By the time you have read all of this, you will have made you own mind up, all I can say is it is well worth visiting.


Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays
Review Rating

Share