46 independent reviews of Cala n Porter, Spain
Cala n Porter Location

4/5
Cala n Porter is rated 4 out of 5 from 46 Reviews

Cala n Porter Hotels

Cala n Porter Reviews

4/5


Waters visited here on July 2005
Thought a week for us was plenty.

Really glad we hired a car as it got us about the island which is not very big but has lots to see and do. There was one Restuarant that we kept going back to every night and that was Sa Paissa.

They had excellent food and great entertainment. I felt Cla n Porter was a very safe resort and somewhere I would visit again. I could have stayed for longer butfor the children a week was enough.

They loved Aquarock water park in Cala n Bosch (about 1 hour drive). We went 3 times!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


Sharon visited here on June 2005
The beach is lovely (17Euros for 2 sunbeds every day though). There is a lifeguard and water does not go very deep so felt safe letting older kids go and play in water whilst we sunbathed. Quite a steep walk there and back (we had a buggy so didn\'t fancy the steps).
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Sawyer visited here on June 2005
Only 30 minutes transfer time from airport. Everywhere was clean, not too many tacky shops and loud clubs etc. Beach a bit to far down the cliff for prams, buggies etc For us, there is a bus to take you at certain times etc.

Had some very good meals out, everyone very friendly.

Would not go back due to locatoin of beach (having a 3 year old son).
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


janda visited here on June 2005
The resort is quite clean, with a good balance of food drink and entertainment places you can enjoy a good night every night.

The beach is clean with sunbeds and parasol available at an extortionate e17.7 per day. Access to the beach is either by steps, resort train or taxi.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


rocksteady visited here on September 2004
Resort is fairly clean, though spoilt by litter in a few places.
Entertainment is centred around the centre of the village at two or three bars. Live bands/singers and karoke some nights. Bars also have sport on TV.
Beach is sandy and good. Water is shallow so OK for kids, adults may have to walk out to find depth.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Finlay visited here on September 2004
We were under the impression that Menorca was still very Spanish but we were quickly proved wrong as practically every pub and resaurant in Cala 'n Porter is owned by UK ex-pats and therefore serving British food and showing British football on large screen TVs every night. Those who wern\'t showing football had kareoke that you could hear from everywhere in town. Not much different from its big neighbour Majorca.

Our only trip was on the local bus to Mahon which was also a bit disappointing as it is a bit dirty(we saw mice) and the harbour is very commercial(shipyards and oil-storage containers etc.)
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


Bev Bare visited here on September 2004
I didn\'t really know what to expect from Cala\'n\'Porter or for that matter Menorca, but I was pleasently surprised.
The resort isn\'t large but there are enough bars and restaurants to cater for every taste. We were lucky because the time we were there it was Fiesta time so we actually got to see a fantastic firework display, parade of horses etc,. The resort is very pituresque especially the views over the bay. Both the resort and the beach was very clean and the kids could wade out into the water for quite a way. A sure winner can\'t wait to go back!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


neo_n_trin visited here on September 2004
The resort it\'self is again very well presented and tidy. There is really one main street where all the gift shops and retaurants are, but would say the main attraction is the beach which is excellent.

There are 192 steps to the beach with resting places, and 192 steps from the beach to the apartments but by the end of your stay you will have a butt like Kylie Minoge!

There is a mini train that you can take to the beach if you have kids and buggies, which come by every 15 min approx which is a relief.

The other attraction for us was the caves with outstanding views also with bars you can sit at inside or outside ...
the caves. Definitely a must see!!

If you haven't got the little devils with you, you will probably find yourself hiring a car which is quite cheap to explore the island which is only 45 min approx from one side of the island to another.

We would say our main attractions for us exploring the island were.. Mahon(Mao) where you can take a glass bottom boat around the harbour and also see where Richard Brandson stays when he visits the island.

Son Bou was another place for us, which is the longest beach on the island also a good spot to see the sun setting.

Citudella is also very nice.

I would say I would visit Cala n Porter again for the beach, but would not stay at the resort again. For me it would be the other resorts that I\'ve mentioned.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


rachel and family visited here on September 2004
Beach was lovely, steps were suprisingly safe (we had a buggy to contend with!!)

Good choice of restaurants and bars (LA SALAMANDARA can be recommended)

If weather had been bad I do not know what we could have done with the children (but we were lucky and never saw a cloud!!)

Nice short airport transfer.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Melinda visited here on August 2004
A lovely resort - no loutish behaviour. Great for families. The resort has plentiful restaurants and shops to provide an excellent choice. However, it still retains a charm and is full of character.

Traffic was virtually non-existent and the pace of life is much slower than home.

I would have liked it more if there was less of an English flavour. I appreciate the Spanish want to cater for the English, but some of us go to Spain to enjoy the culture of another country. Some would say don\'t go to a popular resort such as this, but with a family there always must be compromises.

However, the resort was lovely and I really can\'t complain - I wish I was there now!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Katie and Sara visited here on July 2004
The beach is stunning, with a beautiful warm terquoise sea. There are also a lot of hotty\'s on the beach girls. The resort was really clean and i would definately go there again, there were always cleaners around. The entertainment was good and the bingo prizes were excellent- Sangria and champas.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Ann, Bernard and Vanessa visited here on July 2004
The resort was very clean. There was no litter anywhere.
The beach had nice blue-green water that was not very deep. The beach was a bit windy. There was 183 steps to the beach(I counted them myself), but if you didn\'t want to walk then you could catch the train. The train would take you around Cala \'n\' Porter for 5 euros.
The resort was very good. There were some caves called cova d\'en xoroi that turned into a night bar at night. You could visit them in the day, and got a free drink with your entry ticket. There is lots of entertainment in the resort, but not much at the Playa Azul.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Anne, Warren and James visited here on July 2004
In our 2 week stay in calan\' Porter we found it was only a small town with the nearest shop being a 10-15 walk from our hotel.It was quite and peaceful like it says in the brouchers and has a nice atmosphere about it. As we are vegtarian we sometimes found it hard to find restraunts which catered to our needs. Restraunts we found good where; English Bar (had 4 special veggie orders) Seagrams (good veggie burgers and stick fries for kids) La salamandra (Quality and Value) adn El Peto\' (Friendly service, exellent food and all round great place to eat) The supermarket facing the \'siesta mar\' was the best value and do free delivey too. The newspapers however weren\'t ...
a good value as every one was priced at 1.80 Euros.
The bus to Mahon was very cheap only jusy over a euro each but once you get onto the bus they cram you in like sardines you could hardly move which we thought was very dangerous if we\'d have crashed. Beautiful beach although quite small not much on it apart from pedalows which where priced between 8 and 12 Euros.
We found that Mahon wasn\'t as good as it had said to be and found it quite a rush cathcing the bus as we only got a couple of hours and next bus was like 3-4 hours later which was to late for us.
To describe Calan\' Porter in 3 words would have to be
QUITE, PEACEFUL AND VERY WARM AND SUNNY! YOU GOTTA GO!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

1/5


Christophe' visited here on January 1970
Nothing to do, nothing of cultural significance, just full of horrible people with uncontrolable kids, bad food and nothing to do or see!!! My advice to people would be to NEVER EVER visit this awful place!
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Bahia Park Apartments  stars Bahia Park Apartments
The Bahia Park Apartments are not too far from the resort centre, and the beach. Especially suited to families and those who enjoy pool and beach based holidays. Due to number of steps in the complex these apartments are unsuitable for the less mobile.

Latest Review: Sep 2012

Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Cala n Porter

1/5
Cala n Porter Playa Villas  stars Cala n Porter Playa Villas
The Cala 'n Porter Playa Apartments offer a good standard of well equipped accommodation and represents great value for money. 2km from the sandy beach or 500m (via over 100 steps) and just 75m from the resort centre.

Latest Review: May 2006

Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cala n Porter

2/5
Playa Azul Hotel  stars Playa Azul Hotel
This accommodation located on the main road offers a friendly and relaxing atmosphere which will appeal most to families.

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cala n Porter

3/5
Siesta Mar Apartments  stars Siesta Mar Apartments
Near a sandy beach, the Siestamar Apartments are ideal for families. The complex is in two parts, both with pools. The Siestamar 2 is the hub of the complex and suits those after a lively holiday. The Siestamar 1 is across the road and is more relaxed.

Latest Review: Aug 2011

Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cala n Porter
Share