107 independent reviews of Sa Caleta, Spain
Sa Caleta Location

4/5
Sa Caleta is rated 4 out of 5 from 107 Reviews

Sa Caleta Hotels

Sa Caleta Reviews

4/5


Danielle O'Neill visited here on July 2008
The resort itself is very quiet with only a handful of shops and restaurants which are fairly expensive although it\'s only a short bus ride away to busier resorts if you wanted to go.
The beach is a lovely secluded cove, very clean and safe for the kids.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Mrs P White visited here on June 2008
The resort is excellently placed for families with small children as it is perfectly safe,There are not many Restaurants to choose from,We ate at the Ocean which served excellent food and very friendly helful waiters, with bouncy castles for the children.
The beach is lovely, a delightful little cove
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

2/5


mr and mrs parkinson visited here on June 2008
When your travel agent says the resort is quiet they are not kidding it is near deserted with hardly anywhere to walk or look at.Near the Blanc Palace there is 2 or 3 bars come restaurants and then about a 15 minute walk away there are a couple more. I think the lack of competition shows in the quality of the food it was okay but nothing exceptional.All in all 1 week here would have been enough for us and if it wasn\'t for the Blanc Palace been so good it would have been a bit harder to last 2 weeks.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


alan paget visited here on June 2008
We have just returned from a 2 week stay,once we got over the shock of how quite the resort was,and the lack of shops,we really enjoyed ourselves. Lovely beaches,and two water parks,we met some truly fantastic people there,and had a great laugh and a fantstic time,i would recommend to anyone with young children,although teenagers might find it a bit boring.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Williams visited here on June 2008
Great resort if what you want is a quiet family holiday. That is exactly what we were after and you have none of the loud music and garish arcades that you get in the busier resorts. However, if you fancy a bit of that, you can just hop on one of the many wonderfully clean, air-conditioned buses and in 15 minutes you'll be there. It's great.

You're just down the road from Cuitedella, the beautiful old capital city which has a real feeling of old Spain about it. Lovely cobbled streets, great little boutiques and fantastic authentic tapas bars. You have to try the local cheese and honey dishes, delightful!

Just a walk along the coast from Sa Caleta is Santandria, ...
another lovely little resort which boasts the best restaurants in the area. Bar Sa Nacra is great, best pizza in the area and right on the sea, fishes swimming underneath, glorious sunsets, just what a beach front restaurant should be.

The beaches at Sa Caleta and at Santandria is fantastic. Sa Caleta is a real diamond, an unspoilt, litter free cove, perfectly safe for the little ones even if you go quite far out into the water. There's a little hut on the hill where you can buy refreshments and ice-creams during the busier times. The sand is clean and perfect for sandcastles, and there's a shower at the side of the beach to rinse of all the shoes and things at the end of another fab day at the beach.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


emma and deniece visited here on October 2007
The resort is excellent the beaches around there are fantastic and your only 3 killometers away from the old capital of menorca cuitadella. Here there are plenty of shops to keep you occupied a few hours if your not the sitting in the sun all day type. The buildings there are lovely also as they have not been altered from when they were first built and it is a very pretty place to be. When you are walking around you can also see the history of the place still around as it hasn\'t been changed at all.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Gavin visited here on September 2007
There\'s nothing to the resort, other than two bars, a bike hire shop, two restaurants, a supermarket and a Chinese restaurant (don\'t even go there, it\'s not worth it!).

The Ocean restaurant - we went there the first night - I had the lamb shoulder, which was excellent. We found it a bit pricy, but the food was worth it. Also, there\'s a bouncy castle and swimming pool for the kids, which is a nice touch.

We returned two nights later when I had the lamb again, as did my partner. However, before ordering, we had a couple of drinks which we paid for in cash to someone at the bar. However, somehow, when we got our food bill, it seemed ...
that the drinks had been duplicated (strange to see how this could happen, bearing in mind the fact we moved tables and the fact we had a different waiter). When I challenged them, they readily admitted their \'error\', but, perhaps cynically, I think they did this deliberately. We didn\'t go there again, although I have no complaints about the food.

We got the regular bus to Citudella on a few occasions. There are lots of restaurants there and you\'ll be surprised at the difference in price. Also, it\'s where the real Menorcans live and so they don\'t rip you off there. It\'s good to see how the Spanish live, rather than in the English-y resorts, where they charge over the odds.

I have to say (based on the beaches I SAW) that the beaches in Menorca aren\'t to the same standard as I\'ve seen on Mallorca.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Al visited here on August 2007
The beach is fantastic and be sure to take a snorkel and mask there are so many fish to see and the lack of surf and currents makes it ideal for children. The area is very uncommercialised but good restaurants can be found within walking distance, particularly the Sa Quadra in Cala Santandria ( about 10 mins walk around the coast). Also the Sa Nacra restaurant is worth visiting for the view. Opposite the Sa Nacra is a large hotel that does wonderful 3 course buffets which are good quality with lots of choice (54 euros for 2 adults and 2 children)The bus system is excellent, reliable, easy to use and cheap. Citudella is worth visiting and takes 5-10 ...
mins on the bus.
If you prefer a quiter holiday without masses of bars and clubs this is a beautiful area to visit


Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Ian T visited here on August 2007
The resort is very quiet with a handful of restaurants all with very similar menu offerings. One of the best was the Sa Quadra which involved an enjoyable 15min walk from the Blanc Palace across Santandria beach. The Ocean restaurant next door to the hotel had a play area with bouncy castle to keep the kids amused while waiting for the meal. The town of Cituadella was about a 15 min walk away if you wanted more lively nightlife.
The beach was small but had sunbeds and umbrellas and a lifeguard and was good for snorkelling, it even had organised beach volleyball, football and other games at a large area at the back.
One day the sea had a lot of jellyfish ...
float in to the beach but the lifeguard put up the red flags and even signs with pictures of the jellyfish were planted on the waters edge to warn you which I was impressed by.
Overall a great quiet family resort.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Karen visited here on August 2007
Sa Caletta is a very quiet and very clean resort with very limited restaurants. Wasnt too impressed with the restaurants although Ocean was quite nice and lots for kids to do, rides and bouncy castle although this was full of beetles when we were there which put kids off. Sa Nacra restaurant was nice and quaint which is just a few minutes walk away from the main area. There is an excellent bus and taxi service so it is a good base to visit other places such as Cala Bosch and cuitadella. The beach was lovely and the water fabulous, you can go out quite far without it being too deep which is great for kids. We spent many ...
a day on this beach and there are free activities such as volley ball just by Sa Caletta Playa apartments. If you walk around the coastal path there are some fabulous villas to drool over! Overall an ideal base if you want to be away from hussle and bustle. We liked it but having been to Menorca twice now it will be a while before we return and would go to another resort that we liked better.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Ciara visited here on August 2007
The resort itself is very quiet but beautiful and relaxed. we took the bus into Ciutedella and it is beautiful with some lovely shops and stalls! the town is ancient with beautiful buildings. all in all i loved this holiday and my husband and daughter enjoyed themselves immensly as well!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Carol Wilson visited here on August 2007
Calleta was far too quiet, and not much going on at all.
The two coves were poor, one being very tatty and unkept.
The restaurants were poor also, the food in the Chinese was awful with two parties threatening not to pay the bill the one night we went. The other Restaurant Gabrielles was ok, basic food nothing special the lights were far too bright no atmosphere, did\'nt try the posh looking fish restaurant it looked too expensive. There was a huge hypermarket but it was that well hidden no one knew it was there. Excellent bus service though to decent places, Citudella only down the road easily walked to, Calla Bosh great for a night out.
All in all good base to go to other places but lousy to stay in.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


lynne visited here on August 2007
On the small beach there are shower facilities and sun loungers for rent there is a beach cafe for food and refreshments.the resort is very clean and tidy, if you don\'t mind walking in the heat there are some lovely places you can go or rent bike\'s, we love it here and have already booked to go back again this year.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Mrs M Barnett visited here on July 2007
The resort in itself is really picturesque. It is well looked after. Everywhere is really clean and tidy.
The entertainment in the resort is a bit low key. It is mainly within the hotels, however there are some lovely restaurants to visit.

We went to Oceans (just round the corner from Sa Caleta Playa Apartments) and the food was lovely. The kids have a large bouncy castle area where they can unwind while us parents have a little drink or if it is during the day you can even use their swimming pool for a change of scenery.

We also visited the chinese restaurant which is on top of the balcony opposite Oceans - this was absolutely gorgeous and really reasonable ...
with price. Our favourite place to eat had to be the Steak House which is about a 15min walk from Sa Caleta Playa Apartments. The food there is to die for!

We also visited Pedro\'s Ranch which was an excursion First Choice held - I recommend this to everyone. You have a great laugh which is helped along with free Sangria.

We would visit this resort again but would probably hire a car next time to explor more of the island.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


nanandgranddad visited here on July 2007
The areas that we visited were very clean but the beach is very small and had very few sun beds. The locals are very friendly and helpful. The sea appeared to be very clean and had blue flag flying. We wouldn't visit this resort again but only because we tend not to go back to places we have allready been to.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Angela visited here on July 2007
bus service is excellent to other local resorts as sa caleta itself is actually pretty quiet. we spent most days/nights in cituadella (5 mins on a bus which runs every half hour) or in cala bosch (about 15-20 mins again with a regular service). there´s a little cove just minutes from the hotel which is a bit on the small side but extremely clean with gorgeous clear waters. a few restaurants are also dotted around but wandering a little further afield to santandria or cala blanca can pay off when it comes to both restaurant choice and a better beach
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


olivia visited here on July 2007
Sa caleta is a really nice resort, and there are a few lovely restraunts.
We spent most of our time at the ocean bar which is just round the corner, as they have a lovely bar and a pool which is really nice and also a ball park which the children loved.

We took a taxi ride to santandria quite a few times as we stayed there last year and new most of the restraunts around that area. We particulary enjoyed the steakhouse called sa quadrea.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


mike norman visited here on July 2007
Sa caleta is a very quiet location with 2 very nice beaches and wonderful clean clear water to swim in and to watch the boats coming and going.
unfortunately there is no real centre to the resort.

Found a very nice bistro BAHIA where a very pleasant meal was had
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


R Burns visited here on July 2007
There is a small supermarket attached to the hotel which was pretty much OK for all our needs though a slightly larger and chaper one was situated about 10 mins walk away towards Santandria beach.
There is a cashpoint by the hotel supermarket which is easy to use, there are also many in nearby Ciutadella.
Therre is a small beach adjoining the hotel but we much preferred the larger Santandria beach about 15 mins walk away. This is fairly clean (a little seaweed in places) and has a few snack bars and restaurants in the vicinity. Worthy of particular mention is ths Sa Nacra restaurant built imnto a cave (be careful with small children though as it\'s about a 10 feet drop ...
into the sea with a rather flimsy rope barrier).
Also worth a visit is the old town of Ciutadella. This can be reached by an excellent bus service or taxi (the price is 5-6 euros for 4 people by taxi). Many nice harbourfront restauarants plus interesting old buildings and streets to explore. I would also particularly recommend the Menorca blava boat trip that leaves from the harbour.
Back in Sa Caleta there is a small commercial centre with a good souvenir shop, a couple of bars (the first one ,the Odeum, does nice pizzas and has a good quiz night on Fridays). There is another pizza / pasta restuarant which we didn\'t try and upstairs there is a chinese restaurant which I wouldn\'t particularly recommend because of the small size and slow service. Oposite the commercial centre is a sea food restaurant called Oceans which has swimming pool plus bouncy castle. Not cheap but good quality food.
Overall I found Son Parc and Cala Galdana (where we stayed previously) better for eating out in terms of price and efficiency of service particularly for families.
I am also becomming more and more irritated by First Choice who seem to be all show with very little practical help in terms of the service they provide (as well as their policy of advertising \'free child places\' then slapping on a whopping \'under occupancy supplement\' for each child in an appartment which would certainly not comfortably accomodate the 4 adults its pricing is based on).
All that said though I would stay in this resort and this hotel again with air conditioning and proximity to Ciutadella being my chief reasons.


Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Ian & Diane visited here on June 2007
Sa Caleta is a small town , there is a some shops at the top of the road where you can buy souveniers,a couple of bars and restaurants plus a chinese. A 10 minute walk will take you to another small beach at Santandria where you can find a couple more bars and restaurants , Sa Nacra is a small bar/restaurant over looking the sea, food is okay , more of a lunch time kinda place , stunning views . We thoroughly recommend a restaurant called Sa Quadra just off the beach , it is built into a natural cave, tables are available inside aswell as outside , the food is the best we ate whilst in Menorca , the ...
garlic bread is brilliant , the service is very good too , if dont go to many places whilst on the island you\'ve got to try this place.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Blanc Palace Aparthotel  stars Blanc Palace Aparthotel
The Blanc Palace is marvellous for those families with youngsters under the age of 10. It's not only just 100 metres from the charming, sandy cove of Sa Caleta, it's also got a massive swimming pool of its own, loads of things for the kids to do.

Latest Review: Sep 2013

Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Sa Caleta

4/5
Sa Caleta Apartments  stars Sa Caleta Apartments
Address: Apartaments Sa Caleta, 07760 Ciutadella de Menorca, Spain

Latest Review: Apr 2006

Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sa Caleta
Share