235 independent reviews of the Caleta Dorada Apartments
Address: Costa Caleta, Av Alcalde Juan Ramón Soto Morales, S/N, 35610 Costa Caleta, Spain
Caleta Dorada Apartments
Caleta Dorada Apartments Location
Ranked #16 of 29 hotels in Caleta De Fuste


4/5
Caleta Dorada Apartments Caleta Dorada Apartments is rated 3.5 out of 5 from 235 Reviews
65% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (235 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Caleta Dorada Apartments Reviews

4/5
4
"Good Hotel"
Brenda & Elizabeth Walker had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in March 2012
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and had the usual breakfast, eggs, toast, jam and butter with fruit juice and tea/coffee which was served quickly in the large restaurant.

The hotel was clean throughout and the restaurant was set out nicely. We did have evening dinner in the restaurant which was very good and served nicely in nice surroundings; we had half a bottle of wine with dinner which was expensive but good. They had Rajastani music and dancing on throughout the evening.

The hotel was located on the main road but we had no traffic noise in our room. We had air conditioning and fridge and TV. We also had an Ayuverdic massage at the hotel which was very good and good value. We also had tea/coffee making facilities in the room.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3
"Gone downhill still last visit"
Liz Barrie had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in April 2011
My husband and I stayed here in 2009 and the food, facilities and entertainment were really good. But we went back May 2011 and this hotel has gone down hill since 1st choice pulled out - Only 1 pool open, 1 bar. There should be 3 pools open, 3 bars including a irish pub!

Mediteranean & chinese restaurant closed only, buffet open. Choice was very limited to chicken nuggets/pizza and chips every day for lunch and dinner for our daughter. Visit The Pickled Palm in the complex behind the hotel for good fresh food.

Some snacks at the pool bar are chargeable now - eg chips are 2 euros, cheese toastie and sandwiches free. If you want a hotdog they are free before 1pm then charged for them after 3pm when it reopened.

Kids play area closed and crazy golf closed. Evening ...
entertainment was bingo and karaoke every night. Couple of acts a week eagle show and acrobats were good.

Beware 2 bedroom aparts are double room and bunk beds! Not so good when you have elderly adults in your group.

There is a lovely market in the carpark next to the hotel every Sat morning, worth a visit and the train is 1 euro downtown.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Julie visited the Caleta Dorada Apartments, Caleta De Fuste in July 2010
Hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and it was in a good location. 10 minute walk to town and nearest beach. If you are prepared to walk for a further 10 minutes you will find a much nicer beach than the man made one. The food wasn't perfect, sometimes cold and sometimes not cooked properly.

Often you would get there to find there were no plates or cutlery so you had to wait around. Also the food was very samey not much variety good if you like fish. The pool was very cold so I didn't get in at all but the kids loved it and spent all day in there. The entertainment was not up to much day or evening unfortunately. Same things every night. Free train to beach is not free it is 1 euro and we ...
did not have Playstation in room as specified when we booked because they kept getting stolen.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

nikki jones had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel in May 2010
Myself, partner , 9 yr old and 4 yr old arrived at the hotel and really liked the look of it. Recepetion was very nice an the pools etc. had the keys to out room which was around a ten minute walk away to find our key wudnt work in the door, called for help and locks were changed in an hour or so. Our bathroom had an infestation of ants in the bath an asked them to sort it out but they didnt.
The rooms are quite dingy an very small with blue itchy blankets for beddin an no air con.
The first week we thought the food was ok, cud be better as there was not much choich, my 9 yr old ate pizza the whole time , the second week the food went right down hill and people ...
were becomin very ill includin myself, vomitin constantly. We made lots of friends there which allso fell ill, i didnt eat for the last 3 days of the holiday an not many people i know did either.
The hotel staff are very nice an hard working, kids clubs a bit of a let down as when they have too many kids they turn you away , not good when they are signed up to go for the day.
Entertainment was ok, mini disco ( 3 song) then bingo an then desic, other nighgt was a parrot show, brazian dancers which were pretty good.
I wouldnt visit this hotel again , i have been home 4 days and still ill and the doctor says its food poisening as does my friend we met there. I would prob go bak if i wasnt eating there as the pools are good, a massive selection of drinks an the hotels in a good spot, ten minutes from beach an shops .

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

lee myles visited the Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel in May 2010
I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone, we came home on 30th June an my partner has been in hospital since being treated with Salmonella which she fell ill with on Our second week. So many people were complaining about the food an people were falling ill all the time.
We spoke to many people who had come to this hotel for the second yr now and they said last year it was fantastic but they have taken the cresh , football academt, swimmiing lessons, all gone and the kids clubs are turning kids away because they do not have enough staff. The swimming pools are freezing an its not due to weather because it was boilin while we was there but the pools were like ice.
Ants were a major problem , our rooms were full of them ...
, they were all over Our clothes, in the bath and the sink , not nice at all !!!

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

hayley martin had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel in March 2010
Was worried about going here as mixed reiews and reported breakins. We didnt hear anything about breakins tho while we were there. Overall impression of this place was that its a little tired but adeqate in all areas for price paid. Hotel was clean was being repainted in some areas. Rooms were clean basic but nice set up with terrace we were near baby pool ideal spot. We did have trouble with ants and spoke to others who did too but the cleaners sprayed everywhere and it got rid of them. Location wise it is walkable to beach but is probably furthest hotel away in resort. Theres a train at 1 euro each was sometimes really full and this was quiet season. Glad was all inclusive as a lot of bars and restaurants were still shut up for time of ...
year. Food wasbasic at times compared to preious hotels but good quality. Mediterranen restuarant dire gie it a miss couldnt get in chinese was full. You need to book these on day of arrival. Staff generally very friendly and entertainment ok most nights. Wouldnt go back would prefer to stay nearer beach, and the pools were too cold lots of steps aswell, but there are ramps in most places.

Read More

Tour Operator: sunsaver
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Nicola Scott stayed at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel in April 2009
The hotel was very clean, especially as so windy and paper cups and plates would fly everywhere around the pool. Food good, although we did visit the mediterrean restaurant which wasn\'t much cop. My little boy had the sausage and mash and the mash was \"Smash\". My friend had the Canneloni which didn\'t look at all appetising. The Chinese was much better and the main restaurant always had a good selection.
The pools were cold but clean, although my 3 year old cut his knee open in the baby pool on a broken tile and we had to visit the doctors, but the manager of the hotel was very kind and offered us some money as way of compensation, the reps however didn\'t seem too concerned!! Staff friendly and liked to give you \"Happy Happy\" measures at the bar!! We heard ...
of one break in but luckily nothing happened to us. Don\'t you hear that everywhere you go though?!! Would go back.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

leigh, sam & kids visited the Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel, Caleta De Fuste in February 2009
went for a week in feb 09 with my wife & 5 year old twins. only paid

Tour Operator: booked independently

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

b eccles stayed at Caleta Dorada Apartments, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in January 2009
the apartment was very clean with the cleaners coming to clean everyday, although they only changed the bedding when we arrived and not at all during the stay.
we tried the entertainment on the first night but it was not for us, it was more for kids than adults.
the grounds was very clean and tidy and i especially loved the way that they had put up cafe\'s for cats, the strays were very well fed.
my first gripe is the fact that they have still not done anything about the break-ins we wasnt broke into but the apartment next door was, it spoilt the holiday for us, making sure that we didnt leave anything in the apartment that could be stolen.
and the second gripe is, from 7 30 every morning the planes would be coming in as often as 6 ...
in the space of 45 minutes. at first i found it very scary but like anything else i did get use to them, but it was the ones that came in during the night that i found more scary.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

niki fields visited the Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in January 2009
We stayed at caleta dorado in calet de fuste. Had a great time entertainment was very good, we had a tot with us so went to crech of which we paid 6 sessions 64 euros he loved it food was great lots to choose from. been before thinking of going again next year.

brilliant


Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

yvonne coulson had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in September 2008
Returned to this hotel again and had a wonderfull time.The staff were brillant and made a point of welcoming us back it was a lovley personal touch.The food was great it is not your own personal kitchen so you may get fed up of seeing the same bits but most of it is different.The staff work very hard for their money and do try to do their best.If you have any problems then go and see the staff.You should not expect to be treated like you are the only person on the complexe there are other people there.The entertainment was ok but if you are the sort of people that will not do anything except sitting around the pool eating drinking then you will get fed up.Thanks to all the staff.You were great.

Tour Operator: independant

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Natalie Gale stayed at Caleta Dorada Apartments, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in July 2008
Myself my husband and two sons aged 8 and 5 (my 5 yr old had his birthday whilst we were there) stayed at Club Caletta Dorada 6th to 13th Aug 08. We were staying in the B side - B8. Upon arrival I was pleased to note that our apartment was lovely and clean, facilities inside very good and in a lovely location to the B side pool.
We went straight to dinner and found the usual All Inclusive style buffet food. There was a good selection of salad and fish etc and the children really enjoyed going round and choosing their own food. On two occasions we visited the Chinese Restaurant which you need to book 24 hours in advance and it was absolutely delicious!!! I would really recommend it to anyone. We didnt eat at the Mediteranean restaurant.

The ...
reps at the hotel absolutely made our holiday! The entertainment was brilliant and they work so hard to make sure you are having a good time. Our children went to the kids club twice - and had a brilliant time. In my opinion, if you are going away as a family - if the kids are happy -then the adults are happy!!

The bar service was good we spent most of our time in the C side pool and bar area which is where the english entertainment is in the evening. I was slightly baffled to be told that the B side bar area is where the Italian entertainment is held - particularly as I was staying in the B side!

I have no prob recommeding this hotel to anyone although I wouldnt personally go back to Fueterventura again. This is because I feel the island is probably very up and coming but needs more money spent on it. Its not as pretty as the other Canary Islands. Also, I prefer not to return to the same place.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Ludford had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments in July 2008
Spent 2 weeks at the caleta dorada with my wife and 2 children (aged 11&9). Had a 2 bedroom kids den apartment in c block. We were happy with the apartment on the whole my only minor gripe is that as it was right beside one of the main flight of steps we were woken several times in the very early hours by people being really noisy. The other thing that is guarenteed to wake you up from 7.30 in the morning is the planes coming into land. The complex itself is quite big and spread out but is well maintained and is very clean. For a 3 star rated place i was happy with the food although as with all all inclusive places it was a bit repetative, the thing that i found amazing is that every evening their ...
is free bottles of rijoca wine on the table and it was good wine too, the sort of stuff you would pay

Read More

Tour Operator: Firstchoice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Donna Watson had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel in June 2008
We have just return from two fantastic weeks at the caleta dorada, we were all dreading it following previous reviews which we had seen however we could not fault anything about the holiday as a whole. We arrived late on the Saturday night to friendly reception staff and stayed in block C, the maids came in 12 out of our 14 days to clean round although towels and sheets not always changed but beds always made. Surrounding areas including gardens keep clean and staff always about removing any liter and cleaning communial toilets. All staff freindly and helpful. Enterainment was mainly the reps with a few professional shows thrown in, the entertainment reps did a fantastic job and worked really hard, all of the daytime activites were set around pool C which was great and if we wanted a quite ...
day we headed down to pool A behind reception this pool a lot more chilled out and peaceful and the pool is heated.
Food well apart from the fact that the poolbar food could have a little more choice we thought the food was fantastic I could not fault it at all, loads of choice in the main resturant, we made a meal out of everything on offer there was fresh meats cooked on the grill along with all vegetables to make a dinner or pasta, salads, pizza, soups, cakes and of cause chips which I must say I didnt have once during my stay. Chinese Resturant Buffet was really nice and also the Mediterranean Resturant food was great but the only problem was the staff poor Lucia was the waitress and barstaff and very rarely got help so anyone going please be patient with her as she was doing her best. Finally the location good 5-7 minute walk down to the main centre and harbour were a train runs every half hour and can take you back up the hill for 1 euro if you dont fancy the walk.
All in all great holiday they just need a few more staff.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

harry hill stayed at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel in June 2008
we went there worrying about all the breakins but that never happened the food in the medeterrian restraunt was awful mash is \'smash\' and the sausages were deep fried hot dogs. great entertainment block c the hardest to get to and from but a little train helps you. get a sunbed next to yr bungalow and you will not get broken into

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

tina silcox stayed at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in May 2008
glad we did self catering, the amount of people we spoke to hated the food on the all inclusive, saying that, it was very expensive at the supermarkets, more or less pound for pound.
clean, well they came in just about every other day, not bad.
location, about 7 mins walk into town,or the train which was 1 euro each it was handy and every half hour, it all mounts up tho, taxi\'s 2 to 2.45 euros and lots of them.
staff. just went about what they were doing, hardly any response, the odd hello[olla].
entertainment. nothing for adults, we soon found it was a family hotel, not for couples, but we didnt gwt to pick the place.
would not ever go there again, lots of maintainance needs to be done, no place for couples.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

pugh stayed at Caleta Dorada Apartments in May 2008
we have just come back from club dorada in july we have been there for 1 week when we first booked we read the reviews and we nearly cancelled, but im glad we didnt it was brilliant the hotel appartment was great we were in b block very clean and the staff were brill, the appartment was cleaned every other day
the food was great although they kept running out of cutlery but just ask them and they will get some more. from b block the entertainment was a bit of a walk but hey we were on holiday so it didnt matter my little girl is 10 and she really enjoyed it. there is a little train that takes you to the beach and town for 1 euro each but a taxi is only 2.50euros the beach is lovely ...
but a bit windy.as family i would certainly go back here again.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

ugot maggeid had a holiday at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in May 2008
this was a excellent holiday only 1 problem was that about 4 of our frends all got robbed and it was due to the security ie windows easy to open. bring your own sliding locks with a bolt!

the reps were good and so was the food

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

payne visited the Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel, Caleta De Fuste in February 2008
Arrived 09/02/08 at reception, 2 adults & 2 children, very unhelpful reception staff who gave us a map to the bungalow, 10 minutes away with no help & all uphill. The bungalow apartment STANK of must and everything felt damp, we asked at reception but were told we couldn\'t move rooms. The patio door was dodgy as was the childrens bedroom window lock, we asked the maintanance man to fix it and was told it was fine!!

We spent 20 Euro\'s paying for a hairdryer, remote for TV, & safety box, which was returned at the end of our stay. The rooms were dirty, paint peeling, no coffee/tea etc & the shop on sit very expensive. We have always gone on All Inclusive holiday where all things like this have been provided, also no complimenary soaps etc.

The patio was dirty with ...
ants and table not clean, also you could wave to the aeroplanes landing as you are right under the flight path, start at 5.30 am until 1.00am, so take your ear plugs!!!!

The only place to eat was the oriental restaraunt which was being used for all meals breakfast dinner & tea all poor quality with no variation in choices, no cheeses, fruit, and dirty tables.

The only other place to eat was the C side pool bar with chips, chips, burgers, hotdogs which were cold & under cooked ... beware ... all the other restaruants that were advertised on the website were all closed !!!!

The C side pool was not heated so it was sub zero, we asked and was told the pump was broken, only the brave went in! This to was dirty, with cups, glasses, and dirty tables left there for days, until one of the bar staff cleaned on the Wednesday.

The B side was full of Italians so no sunloungers were available. they got the heated pool....

It was 10 mins in a taxi to the town as a steep walk back & beware it was full of Timeshare conmen, we nearly fell for it, also the trips are cheaper it the town, so don\'t be conned by the First choice reps... Aidee the boss very pushy & not interested in any complaints that anybody had, we were not the only family complaining, everybody moaned about the food & smelly rooms and cracked tiles round the pool & how cold the water was... I have never complained before but after 10 years of going on all inclusive holidays I feel have to warn others not to be suckered into booking here. Also the entertainment was good if you were under the age of 10 years old.

The whole complex needs a lot of maintanance and more staff, they should not be charging full price with only a quarter of the bars, restaraunts being open, I feel they should close for a month and re paint the whole lot or BOMB the place !!!! All very unhappy......




Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
1 stars

0/5
0

smith stayed at Caleta Dorada Apartments Hotel, Caleta De Fuste, Spain in January 2008
*Admin edit. This review has been removed as it was posted from Spain. To ensure that our reviews remain unbiased we do not allow posts from the country where the accommodation is situated.*

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Share