Image of Elba Castillo San Jorge Antigua & Suites Aparthotel

Elba Castillo San Jorge Antigua & Suites Aparthotel

8 of 30 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

4 out of 5 from 56 reviews
3 stars
Suite Hotel Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, Avenida José Franchy Roca, S/N, 35610 Antigua (Fuerteventura), Spain
Castillo San Jorge Antigua and Suites Aparthotel is located within the residential development of Caleta De Fuste approx 500 metres from the town centre. The beach is a short walk away from the complex, which provides guests with a home-from-home feel.

56 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sharon Wilkinson
Great for families and couples
3 years 3 months ago
This hotel is lovely; the staff are so friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, the lovely breeze from the sea keep the edge off the warm sun. There is a nice beach about a ten minute walk from the Hotel which is so clear you can see the fish swimming about your legs.
The only let down was the entertainment for the adults, but everything else was lovely. Would defiantly stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SUNSAVE.COM

Hotel tip: Try to get a sea view room

Recommended
Laylia
No hesitation a great hotel for all the family
6 years 2 months ago
My family and I have just returned from this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our fortnight there.

We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which had plenty of wardrobe space and a large balcony with a side sea view. Having stayed at other all inclusive hotels before, I found this one to have the best selection of fresh food. There was always show cooking where they cook your selected dinner choice in front of you and despite being such a large complex of 3 hotels, who all share the same dining room we rarely had to queue for longer than a couple of minutes. The selection of drinks at meal times and in the bar was varied, there was also a snack bar with the usual fast food in between mealtimes.

There are 3 pool areas with plenty of sun loungers. The entertainers worked hard day and night and everyone was invited to join in. The evening entertainment started off with a kids disco then different acts each night and finished off with a disco but it was more geared for younger children. We often went to the English Bar which had plenty of tables, pool table and music channels on the TV and it was never a problem getting served.

All hotel staff were friendly and helpful and worked non-stop. There is a promenade outside the hotel along the coast which leads to the marina in one direction and the next town in the other. It was lovely walking along there, I felt very safe. It was windy but this was very refreshing in the hottest part of the day. The chipmunks are lovely and friendly, we bought monkey nuts to feed them. My kids went swimming with sea lions at the marina which they enjoyed. We visited the Baku waterpark - this is the only place I would not recommend. After paying to get in you have to not only hire sunbeds at 3 euros each but you also have to hire rubber rings for the rides, there are rings which you do not have to pay for but finding these was very difficult. There is no seating what so ever other than the snack bars, we left the waterpark and went into town for lunch, which was the only good thing about the park, they allow you to leave and enter as many times as you like.

There are 2 beaches, we were told that the further away one was best, however we found it too windy with sand blowing everywhere, we then visited the closer beach and found this one much better. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years ago
The San Jorge is one of 3 hotels the others being the Antigua and suites.

We had a 1 bed roomed apartment on the first floor which was a adequate size for the 4 of us. We were a/i but still had a fully equipped kitchen including a fridge(which was great). I have never stayed in a apart-hotel before but would again as its much better than a ordinary hotel were you just have beds and a bathroom and not much else.

The cleaners didn't clean everyday I think it was 5 out of 7 days, and towel were changed about 3 days out of 7. The cleaning in the rooms was basic don't think they swept much, but the rest of the hotel was clean.

The Antigua is the middle hotel and is the only one to have a reception with staff. The reception in the San Jorge were we stayed was in need of some redecorating and the sofa's were ripped in places before we left the sofas were removed( so maybe getting new ones, but unless you have staff on this reception it will happen again because some kids just mess about on them as there is no one to tell them otherwise.

We stayed from the 22/8/09 to the 2/9/09 and the hotel was very quiet it was busier in the Antigua but not as you would expect for august.

The first couple of days you had to get up earlier if you wanted a sunbed but after that you could virtually have your pick.

We only used the Antigua pool which was good and not too cold but each hotel had its own pool.

They had a few games on for children i.e water polo, archery but for most of the day nothing, my younger daughter who is 12 joined in most of the activities but was also happy to play in the pool but I think some children could get bored. My older daughter 16 just sunbathed most days but there was nothing much for her age group, she did go and play on the ps3 and wii one day with her sister this cost 5e an hour.

There was only one buffet restaurant for all three hotel it was big enough but it would of been nice if there were more for a bit of a change.

The food was ok normal buffet fayre but not as much choice as we have had in other hotels so we did get a bit fed up with it and ate out about 6 of the 11 nights we stayed there. They did have themed nights in the restaurant such as Chinese, Mexican, Canarian but it was basically the same with 1 or 2 themed meals not very exciting. I think I am getting fed up with the whole a/i thing but its great when you have kids. Next year I will only have the daughter one with me, but have already booked a/i but will definitely be considering s/c from then on.

The hotel was right by the sea but not a beach as it is very rocky. There were chipmunks there which would come to you and feed from your hand but be careful as there are also rats.

There is a beach about 10 min walk away were there is water sports, it is very hot at the beach so be careful.

The hotel has bars on restaurants very close to it and lots of others 5/10 mins walk away everything is in easy reach. There is also a mini train which costs 1e.

The staff were friendly always said hello the barman in the British bar was very nice we always chatted to him and he gave good measures, the drinks were nice you could have beer, wines red, white or rose, sangria, Baileys, schnapps, cocktail of the day, liqueurs, tequila, whiskey, gin, vodka, Bacardi, rum and probably lots more all local brands you can pay for named if you wish but why bother they all taste the same. We used to tip the barman as he provided a good service.

In the buffalo bar they had a mini disco then entertainment every night we watched a couple of these shows because youngest daughter wanted to but they were very poor. A duo singing badly and their was a snake show which was rubbish, then she wanted 20e to have your photo taken with a snake you were not allowed to take photos yourself I thought this was very expensive. (and it was only 3e to have you photo taken with the animals when we went on a trip to oasis park).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

8 years 9 months ago
As we stayed here for a week in November it was fairly quiet, No problems getting sunbeds etc but the pool was fairly small for a hotel this size.

We ate out and only ate at the hotel once for lunch on our first day, food ok but very expensive!

You could upgrade to All inc for 25Euro's per person per day, We didn't bother and payed cash at the bar on the couple of occasions we came back early.

Rooms were fine ans quite spacious but the self catering facilities were almost non existent. Two cooker rings a sink and a fridge all packed into a space that would normally be used for a suitcase stand in any other hotel. No kettle or toaster but you can hire these but above all no table and chairs to eat you meal from if you did actually manage to russell up a meal in the toy kitchenette .
To be honest we didn't find this a problem as we ate out but for a family hoping to save some money by actually catering for themselves you will struggle.

The on site supermarkets were really expensive a tin of heinz beans and sausages for example worked out at
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Morgan Family
8 years 11 months ago
When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to the San Jorge and we would have a sea view for an extra 60 euros but were told all rooms were the same in all parts of the hotel. We had a 10min drag of the cases to our room. The rooms were clean & tidy but they only changed the towels every 3 days and the sheets once a week ? & you had to be lucky if you had your room cleaned. Rooms were well equipped oven microwave etc but no aircon so we hired a fan for 20 euros

Food was the same every night and is not recommended the only plus side was that you could order bottles of wine/Sangria with your meals !!! nice medium white

There were 3 pools all very cold quite clean but have seen better I thought the hotel was very quiet we could have a sun bed anywhere any time none of the usual towels at 7am I am used too in other resorts

The entertainment was basic in the Buffalo Bar the hotels own team did their best in the day & in the evening but looked like but they must have been doing the same every week all season & looked bored
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended
Christine
9 years 2 months ago
If possible try to get a sea view. Basic rooms if going self catering take a kettle and a frying pan as there isnt one in the hotel, however you can rent a kettle for 8 euros for renting and 10 euros for deposit a week. Entertainment only really suitable for children under 6, therefore we found the entertainment disapointing as my children are 16 and 12. Make sure you get up early to put towels on the sunbeds because they go very quick. Staff very very helpful and friendly, always their to help you.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

BEVAN
9 years 3 months ago
We booked this hotel after seeing good on this site reviews and looking at the hotel over Xmas when we stayed at the Costa Caletta.

We booked a 1 bed apartment in the the San Jorge but on arrival we were put into the Antigua.

Check in was good, reception area clean but it was late (2135) and the restaurant was closed so we were presented with a bottle of water, an apple and a sandwich each so went to the Chinese instead.

The 1 bed apartments are large with ample storage and reasonably kitted out although we never used the kitchen as we were AI.

The towels are only changed every 3 days and the bed linen every 7 days. There is no air con in the rooms, there was ample supplies of hot water. Cleaning of the apartment was not the best and consisted of a quick brush of the floor.

We were there 10 days and the mop was only put around once and I do not think it was dusted at all. TV in lounge had CNN and Sky news as the only English channels, no remote.
Cleaning of the public corridors and pool areas was laughable with the cleaners dipping their mops into their buckets and then just spreading the water around the floor and then allowing it to dry out in the sun/wind.

The same toilets serve the pool areas and the bars, these are only cleaned once per day early in the morning and my wife often found them filthy by the evening with excrement on the seats, gents toilets fared a bit better and were normally acceptable.

The condition of the toilets was probably not helped by the fact that the lights go out 30 seconds after going in to the toilets because of timer switches.

Food in the buffet is not the best, often cold and not well presented. The show cook chefs? especially at breakfast looked as if it was the first time they had seen a kitchen.

A lot of this food was cooked and then put back on to re-heat not a very good practice especially with pork or chicken.

Desserts very poor and not much of a selection. You will not go hungry but it did not suit us. The food and service in the pool bar/cafe was normally better for lunch than the buffet restaurant, although there is only 1 girl serving there and at times service could be a bit slow at least the food was normally hot.

In the evening there are 2 bars open the, English bar in the Antigua and the saloon bar in the Suites although yet again only 1 person behind each bar, well what do you expect for AI. Both these bar people did very well considering but I dread to think what its like when it's busy. A I drinks finish at 2300 hours.

The entertainment is in the Saloon bar had is the usual, if you have been to Caleta before you will have seen them all.

Drinks, lager is not bad, pretty strong, as is the wine, but the shorts seem weak although they put plenty in the glass.
Pools are not heated and are freezing sun beds look as if they have not had a bit of soap and water in years.

Cushions are available for hire at 2 euros /day + 5 euros deposit, towels can be hired from reception.

Most efficient part of the hotel is reception, friendly, good English and will help or arrange things for you quickly.

Taxi from the airport is about 10-12 Euros and there are normally plenty available as long as you don't hang about too long getting your luggage.

Would we stay at this hotel again definitely not!! it seems to have gone down hill since previous reports.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel republic

Andrea, Simon & Jordan Kennedy
9 years 7 months ago
First time we have stayed in this hotel. First time we have been All Inclusive. We are frequent visitors to Fuerteventura and have stayed in various hotels and apartments and villas. This is a first class Hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, always smiling and ready to provide all you need. The hotel was spotless, the room was very clean but basic, maid service was excellent, the rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels were provided. Bed linen was changed on the fifth day of our seven day stay. The food was beautifully presented and there was a themed buffet every night. There was always something for evereyone. I should know as I have to watch what I eat, due to a stomach illness. I found the food first class. The breakfast was excellent. Our son loved the crepes they served and the choice of cereal. He even had a cooked breakfast!!!!. Never known to eat one before. There was plenty of food for everyone. The snack bar offered a small variety of snacks through to complete meals. So you could really fill yourself up morning, noon and night. Ice cream was on hand for all and there was plenty of tea and coffee, just go and help yourself. The hotel itself commands an excellent position, directly on the sea front with fantastic sea views. We stayed at the back which looked directly onto the footpath and the apartments opposite. There are plenty of facilities for the kids and teenagers alike. Internet cafes, games rooms, ping pong, 4 pools, darts, five aside football, skittles, you name they did it. The grounds are beautiful with waterfalls and lush plants. We would highly recommend this hotel and the all-inclusive. 10/10 rating from us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Taxi to hotel cost close to 13 Euros. We booked for the San Jorge all the paper work said San Jorge, we got Castillo Suites? On querying this we were told that its all one building rooms are all the same so we left it at that. The building is fantastic the room was spotless and well proportioned. We had a fridge a microwave a TV (satellite Ha Ha) all the comforts of home really. Maids came five (5) times during our seven (7) night stay and they were great. Clean towels, clean sheets and a clean tidy room when they left. No problem there. Six pools all great!! The hotel staff were all brilliant. I think if you try the 'lingo' they appreciate your effort and reward you with a smile every time you meet. The reception staff were a boon and always ready to help.
The buffet restaurant was big, clean and airy. The tables were well layed out and staff were, again, great. The food however was a slight letdown. Don't get me wrong it was good stuff but even over seven (7) nights it became repetative. Also it was not always hot. The heating lamps failed to their job over some items but not all. Hence the 3 grade i have given for the food. Ok lets go back to our room allocation. We were given the 'Suites' for whatever reason but had I known then what I know now I would have fought tooth and nail for the San Jorge. The 'Suites' is the entertainment section for the whole complex. A big Hello! And Thanks to The Games Room (PS3, XBox360 and Nintendo Wii) The couple who ran it (sorry never caught your names) were lovely. The Mini Disco (Veyo Veyo! etc) starts at 8:30 and finished an hour laterSame songs and moves every night. No problems there. Then the adult entertainment starts at 21:30 again no problem. I enjoy a beer and a show as much as the next guy but for a 'family' hotel it seemed to go on a lot later than i expected. We as a familly went to our room around 23:00 but some families felt it 'the done thing' to stay up past 01:30 and make as much noise as was humanely possible. The bar closed around 11:30ish but the noise carried on and on and on. Even into their own rooms. Banging and dragging furniture (cant they lift it...its only light wood or plastic??)Slamming doors constantly? come on my kids are Nine (9) and Ten (10) and were trained at an early age to close doors properly and to move furniture by lifting...its not rocket science...sorry to moan but....
It would have been nice to have the room later than the Mid-day check out but the place was heavily booked apparently so we mooched around the resort all afternoon.
All in all the place is great with a couple of clitches...nothing is ever perfect.
Oh taxi back to airport 10 Euros go figure?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Neil
9 years 10 months ago
We've just come back from Castillo San Jorge, it's part of 3 hotels in a row. The reception is at the middle hotel (Castillo Antigua). The other 2 hotels have a reception, but it's empty.
The apartment was a good size, kept reasonably clean. We had a balcony overlooking the pool. Other balconies either looked over the sea, or the worst of the balconies looked over the road, or straight across to the balconies in the next hotel.
The pool area was nice, but sunbeds being reserved was a problem. There were signs up saying that reserving beds wasn't permitted, but it wasn't enforced, so people kept reserving them.
Unless your all inclusive, go elsewhere to eat and drink. The entertainment that we saw was poor. We were told the food was "edible". And when I had a pint, it was only filled 3/4 full When I asked to top it up as i was paying for it, they refused!
So the bar staff get a thumbs down, but the reception staff were very helpful and polite.
Location of the hotel pretty good. It is a nice sea front 10 minute walk to the beach, and the nearest bars and restaurants were less than 5 minutes away.
The "trafalgar" bar is the first you'll come to, I will warn that they conned us by adding extortionate amounts for little extras to our meal, without telling us before the bill came. Some of these extras were offered, as if they were free. This place was also slightly more expensive than others, they seem to be milking the fact that they're the first bar that many will see. We paid up and just walked past it for the rest of the week and were glad we did, as there's plenty of other places, and the food was better.
I can't say this enough, get a taxi from the airport and save money on the travel agent's bus transfer. The taxi to the hotel cost 8 euros and 7 euros back at the end of the holiday.

Would I go back and would I recommend this hotel, yes and yes.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.