Image of Castillo de Elba Aparthotel

Castillo de Elba Aparthotel

23 of 30 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Castillo De Elba, Urbanizacion Nuevo Horizonte, S/N, 35610 Antigua, Spain

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stevie & Ruth
9 years 9 months ago
On arrival were put into room 104s, pretty grubby and isolated at the end of the complex, poor standard, isolated!no sitting area lack of privacy!1st morning without any word workmen started chopping down bushes!in this area thus reducing privacy even futher left a right mess! moved 2 days later standard a lot better Next to pool Previous room should never be let out until upgraded!Bit dodgy security wise!
had breakfast a couple of mornings which was fine .
Hotel is isolated despite courtesy bus or taxi to caleta de fuste . Not ideal location for older couples too much building work going on! Too isolated!
Most staff were fine some not, it costs nothing to smile!

Entertainment in complex at night in the bar area was a joke, try dimming the lights a bit eh? create a bit of ambiance! far too bright and the choice of background music? dont go there! The surounding area was a building site the odd bar here and there hardly inviting!We felt that you had to travel each night due to this which is not always ideal if you have been walking all day( due to the hotels local) but you have to eat! Sometimes you like the choice to chill out in your own complex but one visit was more than enough. They really need to address the evening entertainment in this complex! Must say though nice pool area but area very under utilised at night!
The beaches were fine , clean and well maintained, unfortunately were 4 miles away from hotel luckily we like to explore/walk. Did have a newly built lit walkway, but trying to gain access to this took a bit of working out . Hand out some maps on arrival! Ground a bit rough to gain access to,( through building works)& unfinished roads, but sometimes you do like the choice. next time it will be caleta de fuste for us! Which has every thing for a good holiday. As said its a lovely island and will return soon but not to Castillo de elba too isolted luckily we are pretty tolerant, we did'nt let this spoil our break
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

VAL
9 years 11 months ago
We found the hotel clean, staff were very pleasant thomas cook reps were excellent.

It was a bit out of the way but it was no hardship to catch courtesy bus or walk along coast, which we did most days and enjoyed,cant wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended
Jackie Hughes
10 years 1 month ago
Please note we have just come back on 14th July 2007.
We arrived at 9.30pm on Saturday 7th July 2007. We were put into room 203S which was next door but one to our friends in 201S. Very nice rooms and very clean as they are quite a new addition to the hotel, hence the S on the end of the room number denoting Studio. This in essence is an annexe extended to the back of the hotel and quite near to a road and further private apartments at the back.
On Sunday 8th July 2007 we went down for dinner, our friends went ahead of us at 7pm and we left our room at 7.15pm. I heard such banging and crashing coming from what I thought was next door. Then I heard a metal pole fall to the floor which makes a distinctive noise on tiled flooring. I went to dinner and told my friends that next door to us was smashing their room up. We ate the food which was mostly cold and not very tempting but adequate. We then went back to the rooms to get something before going out and room 201S had been broken into and the safe had been smashed from the wall and taken away, the metal pole I had heard was the clothes rail in the wardrobe. They had had all their clothes thrown around everything had been turned upside down searching for things they could take. We reported it to the reception and the security guard came and looked around and said he would get our friends and us into another room. When you look out of the patio doors you can see how easy it is for anyone to get in. They climb onto the perimeter wall, jump onto your balcony, jemmy their way through the patio doors and get in. But to physically smash the safe from the wall is the most alarming. We looked more closely at our safe and could tell it had just been replaced. There was sawdust and wood chippings on the wardrobe floor and the wall at the back of the safe had all loose plaster which they hadn't even bothered to replace.
No one from reception or the Manager or anyone in authority came to see if we were okay. We were helped only by the security guard.
During our most miserable stay at this god forsaken place there were 14 more rooms broken into. Two young girls had their bags stolen from the room whilst they were in bed. The patio doors had no lock on one side which is hidden behind the curtain so you cannot see it. Then the staff try to tell you it has never happened before. So our advice is Do Not Go To This Awful Place.
We need a holiday to get over it as none of us have slept for a week and we had to carry all our money, passports, credit cards etc. everywhere with us because the safes are not safe.
Also the cleanliness of the dining room is superficial, as on the Sunday evening our two year old granddaughter dropped a slice of melon on the floor. We forgot to pick it up. On the Wednesday she dropped a grape on the floor and when my son went to pick it up, the melon she had dropped on Sunday was still there with tiny ants crawling all over it.
The staff are unfriendly and surly and the Manager is less than helpful, he doesn't want to know.
Please do not go to this hotel it's the worst place ever.
We have never moaned about a holiday before and we are quite liberal in our attitude to life and all other people but we can't get over how bad this was for us and how much it cost us in time, energy and money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: A1 Travel

Caroline Perry
10 years 2 months ago
We travelled to this hotel as a last minute booking. on arrival we thought we had made a big mistake as the hotel is in a quiet area, with building works all around.

We were pleasantly surprised when we found out that we could get the courtesy bus to the nearest town, and a taxi there cost us 3 euros there and the same back - wow!

The rooms were very clean, and as we had our baby granddaughter there with us - 5 months old - we were very happy with the cleanliness standards of the whole hotel.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, no matter what the situation, especially the receiption staff. the pool area was spotless and all round we had a very nice relaxing holiday.

There was some building works going on, but considering that the noise was very minimal, it did not mar our holiday in the least.

We were there when an alleged incident took place, but felt that the staff did their best to help.

We will be returning there, as we really enjoyed it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hays travel

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
I stay in both the Castillo Elbas, on a regular basis. Everyone should be aware that they are two of these. One in Caleta next to the San Jorge and has a lovely sea few, is well located for walking just about anywhere in Calleta. The other is in Nueve Horizonte or Costa Antigua. It is a lot more secluded and has a lot of building works going on around it, and when I say a lot I mean that Nueve Horizonte is a massive building site. Saying this though,the building work noise does not intrude on your stay at the Castillo Elba, infact you'll find you don't even notice it.

They are a few Pubs scattered around here, and you'll find that this is what the locals call the Irish Sector. Just talk to any residents and you'll instantly know exactly what I mean. The Irish are buying up everything there. The whole area is very very friendly and the only downside is the lack of entertainment, and you will have to travel into Calleta (about ten minutes by car or the free bus supplied by the Elba - runs every 30 mins) if you walk theres a lovely sea walk way, but be aware its a long walk, even if it is nice. About 45mins to calleta.

Both Castilo Elba,s are wonderful. The staff go out of their way to help and speak wonderful English (believe me some hotel's staff don't). The rooms are spot less and the views to die for.

Obviously the Castillo Elba in Calleta Fuste (or El Castillo as it is also called) is the most expensive to stay in. If you want a cheap quality hotel and can put up the distance from the shops etc then Nueve is the one to go for. Quality at each is faultless.

I will give you all a tip though, if your wanting to do any grocery shopping, don't go to the tourist super markets, and definitely not the one in Nueve, the prices are scandalous. Travel a little further to the Atlantico shopping centre (a little further down the Calleta beach, past The Sheritan) where all your groceries will be a fraction of the price at Spar and beer, well thats 33cents a can = about 20pence, water in the tourist shops is 95 cents for a small 25cl bottle, your looking at 30 cents at spar. The more you save on food, the more you can spend on enjoying yourselves.

Oh did I mention they are some lovely pubs, a bowling alley, amusement park, cinema (shows films in English too) and for the little ones bouncy castle, trampolines, go karts, all in the Atlantico, and its the only shopping centre I have ever been too that has its own beach!!!

Have a great time at any of the Elbas and in Calleta.

Hasta Luego

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: None

Recommended
Karen Green
10 years 11 months ago
Hotel was very nice and I enjoyed the stay there.

Quite agree it is out of the way but was nice to come back to and relax in the peace and quiet.

The pool was really nice. Staff went out of there way to help you. We did try their food and it was nice.

Not a lot around but wait for a few years and it will be one of the places to go to.

Was not unhappy with my holiday enjoyed it very much there, so if your looking for a holiday to relax and get away from it all this is the place to go,. Found nothing wrong at all just out of the way from it all, but what the heck a couple of euros and you get to the town with it all in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcost-beds

Recommended
Tammy
11 years 1 month ago
When we arraived at the Hotel we had to have our room changed as it was so dirty. There was mould on the cutains, the floor was dirty, there were hairs on the pillows and in the bath, the kitchen utensils were digusting with what appeared to be some kind of oil stuck to them.

The location is very much out of the way and apart from some residential apartments the rest is more or less a building site.

For nice places to eat you would need to go into Town in a taxi which would cost around 4 euros each way. This is really your best option unless you are looking to cater for yourself as the 2 or 3 places on the resort which are a couple of minutes away from the hotel are not very nice at all.

The staff were ok, some seemed to be more helful than others. We found that some had an attitude problem whilst others would have a chat and be friendly towards the guests.

When we stayed here there was nothing on in the evening with regards to entertainment. There is a nice young lady who will offer the children to take part in games during the day but it does not last long usually an hour or so.

Our experience of the hotel was a bad one and we would never go back to this resort again. However if anybody who does want to risk it then I hope that you enjoy it more than we did.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Paul Maidstone
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel is very clean the breakfast was above average and the rooms sufficient. The staff are helpful and the pool is extremely clean. No bad points really apart from the location, a bit out of the way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.