Image of Riu Club Hotel Papayas

Riu Club Hotel Papayas

6 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
Avenida de Gran Canaria, 22, 35100 Playa del Ingl├ęs, Spain

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 8 months ago
The Riu Flamingo is spotlessly clean, maids even left sweets and visited every day, beds changed twice in the week we stayed there and towels were changed if required if left in the bath. We stayed in a studio which overlooked the other Riu hotel next door and had a good sized balcony, although the rooms are dated this is a minor complaint because public areas are very nice and the swimming pool area is one of the best I have ever seen. sunbeds are close together but it wasn't that crowded at this time of year, towels are supplied so don't bother taking any.
The location is about five minutes from the Gran Chapparel. The service and friendliness of the staff is second to none. There was a band playing in the bar at night but the prices for drinks is fairly expensive so we went out every night.
I love the Flamingo and would stay again any time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
7 years 10 months ago
Just back from 10 day break at Riu Flamingo and cannot speak highly enough of this apart-hotel, sister to the Papaya next door. Rooms were spacious and comfortable with huge balcony and cleaned daily. Public areas were finished to a high standard, staff were incredibly helpful and, despite the large German presence, sunbeds around the large pool area were easy to get. Imagine there would be a much bigger uptake in summer, though. Weather was superb, which helped, and everything was within walking distance... beach, shopping centres, bars and restaurants. We didn't have a single bad meal experience and particularly enjoyed Los Brasos, a little Italian about five minutes walk to the right of the Flamingo, called Yellow Rose, I think.. the Tex-Mex at the Koka Apartments.. oh, and a wee bar called the Windmill in the Chapparal centre, again just up to the right from the hotel, were selling pints at 1.50 euro, went down well with a raft of Man United victories.
It was our first visit back to Playa del Ingles in several years and we did think the resort in general had degenerated into Tack Central, particularly the so-called Irish Centre. But, really it is the weather you go there for and with hotels like the Flamingo and good restaurants like those mentioned, you are pretty much cocooned from the general tackiness... off the beaten tack, you might say!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Les
8 years 8 months ago
The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. On more than one occasion they asked if we were happy with everything and were very promp when we did ask for things like extra pillows. The kitchen was sparse with only 2 rings no kettle. The location is about 10 minutes stroll to the beach, there is a bus laid on but we never used it. Plenty of beds next to the pool all reasonably new (didn't see any broken or damaged) with a supply of thin mattresses.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Andy
9 years 1 month ago
Have stayed in Playa del Ingles many times and this was the first time at the Riu Flamingo.

We found it was very clean and the rooms very spacious. I can't understand why these sort of places never have a Microwave as you are so limited with only just 2 rings.I'd also recommend taking a small kettle as they do not provide one.

We'd paid for a garden view room but ended up with a view of the Riu Waikiki pool. When we complained we were told that the hotel was full and we could'nt change rooms for another 3 days. When we eventually changed we immediately changed back again as the garden view is certainly not worth the extra money.

When we checked out they tried to charge us for drinks we'd never ordered as neither of us would ever order a bottle of expensive red wine.

The downside of our stay here was the noise at night coming from the car park. A few of the locals would gather and stand by their cars continually talking and laughing. We were on the 4th floor so god knows how the other guests lower down coped. I complained to reception and the spanish receptionist couldn't understand the word 'Noise'. I eventually gave up.

The Riu Flamingo is a nice hotel but not worth the 4 stars. It's more a 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

9 years 5 months ago
SUPERB.......JUST REMEMBER TO TAKE A KETTLE
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Cowan
10 years ago
after getting married we just wanted a cheap chilled out week away and going to a Rui we knew the standard would be good and our expectations were certainly met!
Not too many English mostly German's that were very friendly hotel spotless the rooms are dated but did for sleeping!!!
Staff outstanding and would certainly go back ( o :
A totally relaxing holiday probably more so for couples or older groups of mixed couples not very many children thus no sticky tables at meal times!!!
Would recommend this hotel and the Rui chain to anyone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: orchid travel

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
We stayed for a week at the Riu Flamingto, it is a 4 star aparthotel and shares its facilities with the Riu Papayas where the restaurant and bars are. The hotels are joined so you can easily walk through to them. The apartment was very nice, nothing to go into raptures over but we had no complaints about it. The kitchen only had basic facilities but you were able to cook if required and there is a fridge/freezer. A satellite television was in the apartment but we could only find Sky News and BBC World in English.

There was a lovely swimming pool area and gardens with a tennis court, table tennis and pool table and a children
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Go2Spain

Recommended
Christne Smith
11 years 6 months ago
My husband and I stayed at this hotel and it was our first visit to Gran Canaria. In April/May it was a tad chilly so take some warmies. The hotel was superb in every way. They do not provide kettles in the studios as we Brits call them so we used the 'tea pot' to boil up for a cuppa. Take a travel kettle!

Good location but not for folk with young children; not much to do for the kids at the hotel No problem for us as we are older and did our homework but the clients were all ages and some nice people who in the main kept themselves to themselves, language barrier maybe. Very clean and comfortable.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Paul & Elaine
12 years 2 months ago
Great hotel in a good position.

Staff very friendly with very good service.

Rooms very comfortable and well equipped. Looking slightly dated but very clean all round which more than makes up for the odd cracked tile. We felt very relaxed, safe and comfortable in our room. The free air conditioning was the best feature making it so refreshing after returning from a wander or a day by the pool.

As you will probably have gathered from other reviews, the British are in the minority at this hotel. Mainly German guests with a wide mix of others making up the rest. What we did like was the class of the guests. Call us snobs if you like but there were no groups of rowdy yobs round the pool or coming back in the early hours. It made for the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

One thing to note is that there is a magnetic switch on the patio door which operates the air conditioning. This means it only works with the door shut. The patio doors have large bolts on them and the room doors have very secure looking locks. This means you can shut your room very securely keeping your possessions safe and still come back to a nice cool room. Absolute bliss.

Yes people do reserve sunbeds with towels! It doesn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
Booked direct with riu.com (Having stayed with riu elsewhere) and secured the room at a bargain price!

All areas of hotel spotlessly clean although in a bit of a timewarp! Had lunch pretty much everyday in the pool bar which was excellent value and had really exceptional service.

The staff appear to really like their jobs! All were very well groomed. Delightful pool set in well maintained tropical gardens. Good location, just ashort walk from Yumbo centre. Bit of a hike to the beach but they offer a free bus for guests.

Live entertainment each evening by the pool - was like being on holiday fifteen years ago! Had a really nice time in this hotel. Hardly any Kids which was appreciated.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct through RIU.com

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.