Image of Canaima Apartments

Canaima Apartments

35 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
2 stars
Avenida de los Cardones, 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain
A small complex on the edge of the resort, the Canaima offers spacious accommodation in a peaceful location.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ali
9 years 3 months ago
On our first night, our room was entered. All doors were locked, however they made out that we have fogotten the balcony doors opened and in my opinion it was the receptionist but we could not prove it. They stole clothes and money! What ever you do, do not leave your keys at reception!
The manager was very rude and arrogant when we asked if he has questioned the receptionist. We also involved the police, but they didnt do anything about it.
Overall I was very dissapointed by the standard of the hotel, especially with the staff and our rep from XL did not come and investigate it further.
I would definitly not reccomend this hotel, they will ever charge you for mat on the sunbed!! Terrible.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: XL

Nick
9 years 10 months ago
Although the hotel was cleaned a couple of times it just touched the surface and what was of particular concern was the invasion of ants in the kitchen! and a cockroach in the lounge.

The staff did their best though apart from the manager who accused me of breaking a lamp at the end of the holiday and swore at me in front of other guests!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Dave
10 years 4 months ago
The rooms were very clean and cleaned 5 days out of 7. The towels were changed every time but the sheets were not, but then who changes their sheets more than once a week at home?

The staff are are quite friendly apart from the owner who seemed to be in a permanent grump!!

The food at the pool bar is of the standard you would expect at a two star place, adequate but overpriced, as is the mini-mart (more of a cupboard actually).

The cats are very cute and don't bother you unless you make friends with them, which we did, being cat lovers. Their is quite a bit of noise from the centro coming up the valley at night, but our bedroom was on the other side of the building so didn't bother us in the slightest, unlike the people above us, who seemed to move the furniture around on a regular basis!!

There are a few cockroaches around the place, however we never found any in the apartment which was a relief.
All in all a very adequate two star experience - we wouldn't go back but this has no reflection at all on the Canaima, we just like going to different resorts.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Dobson
10 years 5 months ago
Just returned from the Canaima apartments they were very clean and furnished beautifully.....but we never had clean sheets in the week we were there.

Also the noise from the bars below was pretty loud so we hardly got any sleep I had to put ear plugs in my ears so I got some sleep.

The manager and staff were very nice and the pool area was spotless the 300+ steps from the centre were a killer but the taxis were cheap at 2 euros.

I dont think I would get to Puerto Rico again as we do prefer the Greek Islands.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

10 years 9 months ago
Arrived here on allocation on arrival.

First impression was ok. There are quite a few cats about but they did not really bother us.

Pool area was nice and quite big there are about 270 steps down to the main centre. We walked down but got a taxi back up which was only 2 and half euros about
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Julie Pearson
11 years 5 months ago
The Canaima is halfway up above the commercial centre.

There are steps and a lift up to the reception area. If you are less mobile ask for a ground floor although there are still some steps to go up to the pool and bar area. The bar is next to the pool and is open from 9am to 11pm, think about this if you want a pool view.

The apartments are comfortable and clean, a maid comes at least 3 times a week to clean and change towels, and once a week to change bedding. There is plenty of storage in the wardrobes and under the beds.

There is a safe for hire if you wish, but keep a hold of the receipt as you will need this for your deposit back.

There is a little shop on site with the essentials, you can hire the mattresses for 90 cents a day that go on the sun lounges which are worth it if you are a sun worshipper.

The bar offers food at all times which is not expensive and a good range to choose from.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
Having just come back from these apartments thought now would be a good time to file my report!!!

First impressions lots of cats about did not bother us in the slightest even though I am not the biggest cat lover. Maids came nearly every day never changed the bedding probably because we were still in the bed!!(had quite a few late nights). Seemed also to mop around the shoes and articles that were left on the floor that was our own fault though for being untidy. Rooms very basic kettle toaster 2 hobs fridge freezer shower was very powerful.

Pool area very clean and pool slide for the kids. Pool bar good when happy hour on 2 for 1.

The only fault I had with the apartments was the cockroaches in the apartment really put me off I know you get them in the Canaries but we have never had them this bad we were on the first floor at the end so bad start straight away. Did not see the first one till we had 2 days left but they must have being around the room as we did find droppings (that's what the wife says they were anyway) The first one we saw was the biggest ugliest thing I have ever seen and it was big, bigger than the lip of the pint glass. I was running round the room trying to catch it in after that 2 very restless nights sleep followed. We saw and killed another 5 after that reported to reception and was given some spray which seemed to do the trick. Would say floors higher possibly would not have a problem.

Location is ok you can hear music but not to the point it keeps you awake 5 min walk down taxi back 2.00-2.50 euros back.

Staff all seemed friendly enough although we did not have alot to do with them really. No entertainment just some music round the pool in the afternoon which was not to loud.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

ELAINE
11 years 5 months ago
where do I begin....

The all round worse apartments I've ever stayed in. It is riddled with ants even though the apartments were cleaned regularly.

That was the least of our worries as the place is covered with cats that stare and 'meewow' at you while your eating your food so we just eat elsewhere all the time because of this.

There were cats creeping around your room as well as the room door or windows would have to be left open cause it was roasting hot, we ended up having to shut them as cats would jump out cupboards at you and it would be quite scary at times cause you wouldn't expect a cat to jump out at you when your opening your wardrobe door.

The manager of the hotel was very rude and nasty to us as well. Our rep was really helpful and nice though.

Luckily a couple that we were with stayed in another apartment 5 minutes away from us so we just went down to there apartments every day to sunbathe at there pool because we were constantly getting told to be quiet and were having to watch what we were saying at the pool at the Canaima as it was a family hotel and I respect that but when I'm on a holiday with my friends I want to be able to at least speak or laugh without getting evil glares or told to be quiet all the time.

The standard at our hotel didn't ruin our holiday but I think that if our friends didn't stay at another apartment and we didn't go down there nearly every day then it might of ruined our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSONS

Diane Mcmurray
12 years 1 month ago
We arrived on sat evening to the apartments we got checked in very quickly and settled in.

The apartments are very clean and we had a maid in everyday although our bed sheets were not changed the whole time we stayed.
It was the hottest the resort had been in a while reaching 48 degrees so we had to get a fan from recieption which only cost 5euro for the week.

The main commerical shopping centre is around a 5minute walk down around 290 steps very easy to find, there are taxis at side of centre to get back to apartment which only cost around 2.50 euro max.

No entertainment at all in complex or round pool and any music in the bar played during the day is spanish.

Meals in apartment and resort very reasonable and food is very nice, dinner would cost as little as 5euro.
Rep in apartment is very helpful and comes and goes from day to day.

Alot of cats counted around 15 one night all stray but harmless, didnt have much problems with cockcroaches or insects, tin of spray in apartment if needed.
Over all a really nice and relaxing stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
This was our second visit to the Canaima and we will be returning again.

The place is kept spotlessly clean in and around the apartment.

The staff are all lovely and friendly especially the bar and reception staff. They made such a fuss of our little girl.

The big pool is really lovely and there is always plenty of sunbeds and room to sunbathe. Childrens pool is very safe and clean with a slide and area for sunbeds.

The apartment itself was very well equipped, even supplied cockroach spray (although not needed) The maid came 5 days in the week and even washed up for us!!

Exellent well recommended!!

The views are fantastic
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.