Image of Puerto Plata Apartments

Puerto Plata Apartments

40 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
2 stars
Avenida de la Cornisa, 7, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain
The Puerto Plata Apartments offer a good standard of accommodation with great views of the harbour.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Michael
8 years 9 months ago
I stayed privately in an apartment owned by a friend. His apartment is on the 3rd floor. It was of course a fabulous apartment. He is after all a friend of mine!

Pool fab. Poolside bar, that is the bar right next to the pool was very poor and unfriendly and dirty and expensive for what was there. But the bar above,where if you wanted,you could have an English breakfast every morning was lovely. Very friendly and well kept.

The main restaurant on site was one of the best I have been to in the Canaries. Certainly one of the best in Puerto Rico. And I visited a few.

Steps, cockroaches, taxis, service( in the main) were not a problem. I would go back for sure.

The only thing that annoyed me was the officiousness of the reception who, after a few days, insisted on interrogating me about my status, how long I was staying, why I was there etc. and wanted to keep my passport all week. No way I said.

But overall the lovely weather said it all. Where would you get it in January in Europe.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: private visit

Recommended
Yvonne MacCaulay
8 years 10 months ago
We are 2 girls and we had a week away before xmas. We came to puerto rico a year earlier but stayed at the top of the hill. This time we chose puerto plata as we saw that it is in a better position. we were shocked on arrival to have to wait about 20 minutes in reception while an argument was going on between an english couple and the receptionists. Eventually we got our room. It was ok, superficially clean and its not an expensive place so you dont expect much. There wasnt much. The fridge hardly worked and the whole kitchenette thing was old and battered.

We had quiet friendly neighbours. in fact one of the neighbours were the english couple who we first saw in reception. they were staying in a private apartment which belongs to a friend of theres. they explained that each apartment is individually owned but some are operated by reception and others are completely private. apparently there is a little war going on with the reception trying to control who uses the private ones and thats what the argument was about.

The poolside bar was friendly. it was almost impossible to get a sunbed on poolside most of the time so we went to the beach mostly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

James
9 years 4 months ago
Only for 3 or 4 late night visitors(cockroaches)and ill fitting curtains Puerto Plata was fine.

Staff at reception were very helpful and communication was not a problem.

They have 2 bars a pool bar no complaints here and an evening bar which close's about 2 ish visited it a few times they have a nice cocktail menu worth checking out, music is not loud so if your staying above it there's no thump thump thump coming up from it.

Also there is a well stocked supermarket on site but watch the prices I heard a woman at the till getting charged more for her item than what was marked on the shelf,when she questioned it it fell on deaf ears.

They also have a resturant on site with good selection and tasty food worth giving it a try some night.

Alot of steps so if your a bit dodgy on the feet you'll have fun!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Stein

Recommended
Wayne & Clare
10 years 4 months ago
When we arrived everything seemed ok. The staff we met on the first night were fine and we had no problem with te ordering our taxi's or sorting out our safe.

Our only actual problem with the hotel was on our last day we left the room for a quick lunch at the pool bar. Great food and Great staff, but when we got back, both our front and back doors were open and our safe had been been open and my fiance's phone had been stolen.

I went to reception to report it and thats where the true side of the staff's ignorance and bad manors came through. we were told we left all the doors open and the safe and must have lost the phone too and were trying to make a false claim.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Becky
11 years ago
This hotel was great, the poolside bar staff are so friendly and come and talk to you all the time.

Quite difficult to get to rooms with luggage as there was no lifts to our apartment, very clean i didn't see one cockroach the whole holiday!.

Not a far walk from centre but at night we got taxi back only cost 1 euro. Lovely beach veiw, would definitely recommend this hotel/apartment.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: friends and family

Recommended
Lynsey
11 years ago
We enjoyed this hotel - the location was perfect for us as we walked it back every night from the bottom centre, although climbing the stairs to get to pool level was a nightmare until about the 4th day we found the lift at block E which took us up to the poolside.

We only ate at the bottom pool bar - the food was excellent & prices were value for money. I recommend the Tuna mayo baguette for lunch & only costs 4 euros.

Cleaners kept room clean as came 5 days out of 7.

We were on 2nd floor of Block B & we did have some bother wih cockroaches in the bathroom only but we bought spray for 2 euros 50 cents & it was money well spend as we sprayed the whole room before we went out & when came back in - if we had any - they were dead so never saw any live ones.

The pool was nice & due to the weather it was also warm.

Spent 10 days there & would go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Maria
11 years ago
Stayed in this hotel in October 2006 with a group of friends. Had stayed here before and am going back in October 2007.

Overall the hotel is an excellent choice for a chill out holiday. The Staff are very friendly especially the staff in the poolside bar. The late nite Karoake is brilliant.

The apartments themselves are very basic. Stayed in apartments near the gardens (we had no balcony) Security Guard patrolled outside every night very secure.

The apartments could do with a bit of brightening up
overall the accommodation is good. The Vista Grill the restaurant in the apartments one of the best in the Resort of Puerto Rico.

Would recommend these apartments for a short break to chill out
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Stein Travel

Recommended
Emma Smith
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel room was ok but had noisy neighbours which we complained about and they were moved so that was good.

Bit high up in mountains so it was a steep walk if going home drunk but taxis were very cheap so it didn't really matter.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Thomas&Margaret Cox
11 years 11 months ago
These must 1 of the nicest apts. in Puerto Rico and we have been to many, there is not a bad thing about them. Maids even do your dishes if left which they don't have to.

There is an excellent poolside bar and the restaurant is lovely but just take a walk down the hill and you will find every kind of eating place all which good there is a bottom gate which you can use to go down so it not very far and if you don't want to walk up taxis are very cheap

We cannot wait to go back as for cockroaches we did not have any and we were on the bottom which had a patio lovely gardens well kept and a great view
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
Went self catering as I prefer to choose my own places to eat out. Flicks bar at top centre very good quality food English cafe.

Hotel clean.

Hotel food not bad.

Hotel location average.

Hotel staff pig ignorant.Not bad entertainment.

Wouldn't visit this hotel again as got broken into on 5th day of holiday hotel staff very ignorant didn't care less.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.