Image of Hammamet Garden Hotel

Hammamet Garden Hotel

27 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

3 out of 5 from 38 reviews
4 stars

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Niki McLean
9 years 2 months ago
We arrived in the middle of the night and were swiftly checked in before we were shown our room - which felt like 3 miles away when half sleeping and pulling along our suitcases. We fell asleep and when we woke up at 9 a.m there were no free sun loungers (you have to be out by 6:30 am to get one). We had a small room which did not have a safe, no coat hangers and the bathroom and hall flooded when you had a shower. We complained 3 times to reception but nothing happened so we went to see out holiday rep - he was great and got our room changed within half an hour!! New room was big and bright and there was a safe!! The maid cleaned the room well but never did the balcony and she made it clear that she wanted a good tip. Talking of tips, be prepared to tip very well to get a good service - if you don't you become invisible.
Pool area was clean as was the pool. The staff at the bar beside the pool were rather rude and would ignore kids waiting for a drink. Not all is all inclusive. Diet coke, local or imported vodka, gin, brandy, freshly squeezed orange juice are not part of the all inclusive!!!! Food was so bad, we had to eat out more often than not. We were served raw chicken and when we pointed it out we never even got an apology.
I would never ever go back there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Joe West
10 years ago
Stayed one week at the Hammamet Gardens - we had a lovely large room and the maid kept it very clean and put flowers on the bed and in the bathroom. Always plenty to eat in the resturant bread out of this world. The beach was good but at least 10 mins walk you could have a ride in the horse and cart just tip driver. The entrance to the beach not to clever but once you get to the sunbeds - good. The only down side to this hotel is that its not truly all inclusive - bar closes at 11pm then you have to pay and also only brandy and two Tunisan alcoholic drinks. Also very little english spoken by the entertainment team. English guests seem to keep together. Made lots of friends. If only you could move the hotel nearer to the beach then it would be better. The pools are great and staff very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Gerald Oakley
10 years 7 months ago
Hammamet Garden hotel is a very nice hotel the only problem I found it did not cater very well for children in entertainment.

The food for adults was very good but poor for the kids not much snacks day or night that the kids like.

Smoking was a big problem you cannot get away from it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomsons

10 years 9 months ago
We had a nightmare!! Although the Family Suite room we were given was large (had 2 bedrooms), the sink tap in the bathroom was broken, the bath tub was filthy, we had to keep requesting new bath towels & toilet papers everyday (as no servicing was apparent even when were out all day), and cockroaches scampering across our room scared the living daylight of our two young daughters (and me!!).

Food variety was limited & repetitive. Don't be fooled by 'all inclusive' deals, as there were many restrictions, for example children could not have snacks before 11 am (and it usually means just a small cold cheese roll) and had to queue.

When we caught the waiter adding water to soft drinks (coke) to fill up the glass, he denied it & called us a liar.

After 5 painful days (of 2 weeks holiday), when we threatened to leave, the hotel manager confiscated our belongings and forced us to pay hefty
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

10 years 11 months ago
Hotel was fairly clean, carpets were brushed rather than hoovered. I think they were hoovered once a week. Toilets in reception and pool areas were quite dirty, often there was no toilet paper, toilet seats were broken.

Food was quite good but repetative. Drinks service was slow, on a couple of occassions we had finished our meal before the drinks came. Some waiters and bar staff quite miserable, but it was ramadam when we were there so they may have been a bit tired / hungry. If you took the time to get to know them they opened up and service improved.

Location not brilliant but as we had 2 small children we did not leave the pool too much as they were very happy there.

We did not see much in the way of entertainment, on the first day there was some aqua aerobics but that only happened once.

The camel ride excursion was an 'experience', one camel rolled before it got up, with 2 people still sitting on it!
Life guard at the pool very helpful and friendly, although some people interpret their friendliness as harrasment, they love children.

Go with an open mind and do not expect european standards, we enjoyed our holiday but would not return to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Last Minute .com

Yvette And Danielle
11 years 1 month ago
The Hotel was clean and tidy at all times, the cleaning ladies could be seen all day with buckets of bleach water washing floors till the evening.

The hotel is quite impressive, not at all what I expected when reading the reviews.

The food was hot and always something for everyone, you must remember if you want MacDonald's stay at home. Fresh pancakes for breakfast, cereals, hot and cold milk, drinks, squashes, continental breakfasts as well as omelette's, hard boiled eggs or 3 minute eggs, the choice was endless.

Pizza'a available from 10.30 til very late, pancakes available from 11am, sandwiches etc all day. Lunch a varied menu every day and evening meal, different yet again.

The location is also good, it's quiet, the beach is 5 minutes walk away.. with water sports jet ski, paragliding, banana boats etc.

The staff made the holiday, very friendly, my mobile didn't work while away so I was able to use the Directors Secretary's office to send a couple, how nice is that.

Hickle our waiter for the 2 weeks was lovely, and the animation team are wonderful, aqua aerobics, dancing, archery, darts, ping pong, football etc, Kimo is one in a million, Issam and Sabry are great too, on our last night we all got a bit teary, they did too.

The entertainment was so funny every night...I would go back to this hotel again, a lovely place, take a look for yourselves.. I was dreading it and it's the best holiday I've ever had.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ot beach/med hotels

Recommended
Julie Lyme
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Hammamet Garden Resort, in June for 1 week, we arrived at Tunis airport, (which is nearer than monastir), we had a mini bus just for us, which was nice, as there was no other stops on route to our hotel. We arrived at the hotel to a very warm reception, we stayed in room 538, which is a suite, (a must for people with children) it had 2 bedrooms, 2 balconies with pool view, and it was a very large suite.

The reception staff were very helpful, especially sonya, she is a lovely woman and more than helpful. We were all inclusive, as we like the fact that the kids are'nt always pestering us for a drink, ice cream etc, you have to sign for everyhting you get, but you get used to this.

When we got there we tipped the waiter in the resturant 10 dinar,(about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Recommended
J
11 years 4 months ago
The hotel is amazing. More like a 5star hotel!
The food was good, and the night entertainment was brillient!! Lots to do in the day time, and a also two nice sized pools to choose form.

Not too far from the beach, and a variety of nighlife, bars, restaurants, and shops nearby.

Hotel is definately worth visiting and worth the money!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotel

Recommended
Barry Donaughee
11 years 8 months ago
Be very sure you want to stop at this hotel.

From the first day things looked bad. A 4 star hotel that's cold, cleanliness was a basic floor wipe/tidy.

The food was disgraceful, bland trays of tasteless mush, which if uneaten one meal, you got re named for the next day. Same awful breakfast, starters alike. You really had to be here to sample fare?

Hotel on the grimmest street, no shops bleak view. We did not feel safe outside the hotel grounds.

Staff are ok,you do get bothered by the same camel/ride/salesman everyday.

Entertainment what a joke, Tuesday karaoke and an awful duo another night. We took a taxi ride to the Medinas in Hammamett, and would not recommend this to any family that has small children.

This has been the worst holiday ever. Be sure you want to come here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

HAZELWOOD FAMILY
11 years 9 months ago
WARNING WARNING UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES GO TO THIS HOTEL
If you have a daughter of 10 years plus be warned many of the younger male staff will try to molest her this happened to many families while we were at this hotel and the children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.