Image of Helena Park Hotel

Helena Park Hotel

13 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
5 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Taz
Lovely place to stay!
5 years 5 months ago
First impressions were great! Absolutely beautiful hotel, with amazing superior rooms! The maids were fantastic, always keeping our room clean - must have been difficult what with 2 teenagers in each room! The pool however was freezing! Needed to be heated! The food was good, however I feel it really needed more of a variation; but the waiting staff were lovely and friendly, as were the bar staff! It was a good location as we wanted to go to bars and clubs, but wanted to be far enough away from the strip to be able to have a relaxing holiday as well! The entertainment team weren't great, however I think this was part of their charm as they were funny and friendly and always got the audience involved. For all inclusive I don't think it was the best as there wasn't a great deal you could get, especially when you think of all inclusive form different hotels.

All in all however, it was a great stay at Helena Park hotel, and I would definitely say go there and have a great time :)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Hilary Berry
10 years 3 months ago
Although we arrived quite late in the evening we were met with a welcome glass of sparkling wine as we booked in and were told we could help ourselves to coffee or tea which had been put out in flasks. Reception and Bell boys were very efficient and we were soon settled in our room. Hotel cleanliness was excellent, carpeted corridoors so that you do not hear the rattle of cases being dragged along. A little disappointed that we were allocated a room overlooking the road and supermarket instead of gardens and swimming pool but as it turned out watching the cars getting stuck in the flood water just ouside hotel proved to be quite entertaining as the weather was so bad we did spend a lot of time in our hotel room. It seems the end of September is not a good time weather wise and we were two weeks too late.
I could not fault the food, there was always plenty of choice. Pastas, Pizzas, Roast meat, fish, local specialities etc. as well as a vast variety of salads and desserts. Breakfast also had an excellant choice of cereals, breads, cold meats, cheese, full english breakfast,various types of eggs and fruit. What more do you want.
The hotel is situated at the far end of Sunny Beach in a quiet area about 40 mins stroll to the Centre. You could take a road train from outside the Victoria Palace Hotel next door but one to Helena Park. Cost 3 levs which would take you to Artist Street in the Centre.
The beach was clean and well kept, just step out of the gate of the Helena Sands which is linked to Helena Park and your on the prommenade. You are able to use the facilities of the Helena Sands, indoor pool, sauna, gym etc. The Helena resort has its own beach bar right opposite hotel.
We found all the hotel staff extremely helpful, our rep from Thomson was one of the best, full of information. And always a cheery smile whenever we bumped into him even though most of the guests wanted to know when is the rain going to stop. The hotel annimation team did their best with daytime games and a little evening entertainment. There was also a duo and and a guitarist another night but not great. The only critism was that on the second week a conference took over the entertainment bar for one night and the only other bar open was the lobby bar which did not have many seats and after a great deal of complaints by the customers wicker chairs and tables were brought out into the lobby area for people to sit. It would, perhaps, not have been such a problem if it had been a warm dry evening and most of the guests would have gone to outside bars or for a walk but, unfortunately, the rain was torrential that night.
All in all the hotel was very comfortable and I would definately recommend this hotel.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Dave & Cathy
10 years 6 months ago
At first we were allocated a room looking out on the waste bins of the hotel next door. When we complained and asked to be moved we were moved to an acceptable room. This was our 1st visit to Bulgaria without doubt the Helena Sands was the best we have ever stayed in.
Staff and service top notch! Efficient, friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable.
We did not use the sun beds around the pool and 18Lev/day on the beach was a bit steep especially as it is part of the complex, some discount for hotel geusts should have been on offer.
The location away from the tatty almost no go centre with the adjacent beach was perhaps the best that Sunny Beach can offer.
Food was excellant (we both put on pounds)the bar service and the beauty treatments were much appreciated by my wife.
Warnings about petty thieves, beggars and touts oustide of the Riu complex were well founded, security staff made certain that little got passed them. We felt "unsafe" outside of the complex.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Nev Alice
11 years 3 months ago
The hotel is very grand and pretenious but it has its flaws.

Any evening entertainment was very poor either the animation team in the helena park or a set of poor singers on two out of 14 night There was some folk dancers but they worked behind some trees and little was seen.

There was some "sweet"little rules such as it cost about 18 pounds to replace the beach towel you are lent (you can buy a better quality one for 2 poundand there is a notice that you will be fined 300 euros if you bring in food and drink from outside.

This apart the hotel is very clean the food o k and plenty of it. The pool boys seem to make a nice living putting out the towels to save the payers sunbeds.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Claire
11 years 3 months ago
After reading a few reviews we was abit worried about going to bulgaria but my boyfriend and i loved it. Our room was lovely, pool and sea view just what we wanted. The decor is also nice and clean and the maids who clean the rooms work very hard. The hotel food is better then we expected with a good range to suit most people. The staff are quite friendly and are always there is help with any problems you may have. The location of this hotel is excellent if you like peaceful days and nights but with easy walking excess to the night life only a 10 minute walk away. The entertainment in the hotel was just one night of irish dancing which we watched from the hotel balcony but only lasted for a short time. We would return to this hotel again some time in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Smith
11 years 3 months ago
Staff very friendly and attentive
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Holidays

Recommended
TheQuietOnes
11 years 6 months ago
The Helena Park is a part of the RUI Helena Resort in Sunny Beach.

Classed as 5 star, it is a Thomson Platinum property, which it certainly deserves!

The staff were excellent and very friendly, although they pretended to understand more English than they really did. (Quite often another member of staff would come to verify what you actually wanted!)

Entertainment catered generally more for German guests, of whom there were probably about 75%.

The hotel is located at the North end of Sunny Beach and is a reasonable distance away from the Benidorm-like fast food, fake Name-Brand clothes and "memorabilia" stalls.
The food in the hotel is very varied every night, which makes some (stupid) guests complain that there is no variety from day to day.

EVERY day there is veal (at least one dish of it!), fish, chicken or turkey and pork - there are other things like calimari and rabbit sometimes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sharon Tut
11 years 7 months ago
I stayed at this hotel having stayed with the group knew what to expect.

Having read all reviews was a bit worried about going.

The hotel was fantasic food excellent and its nice its right on front and the hotel does not let any beggers or golf cars on its fronts.

Its a long walk to centre my advise would be get cab, but it makes its nicer its out of way as away from all noise.

The hotel did a huge firework display which we ran down stairs in are PJ's for and missed it as was not aware.

Would definitely stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Julie Brown
12 years 3 months ago
We just come back from hotel RIU Helena Sands .

Well, what can I say? It's the best holiday we have ever had.

The rooms are so clean , which are cleaned every day , you have clean towels every day the maids are so lovely.

The food is brilliant you have so much to choose from you eat as much as you want ,which my weighing scales are showing.

The staff are so friendly and helpful, the waiters at your table are so nice to you, they are really nice people.

I would definitely go back again as everything was just perfect for us and with the complex being on the flat was even better as we are less mobile.

The sea is really lovely with no stones which was nice for getting in the water.

What can I say?

Just a perfect holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas

Recommended
Ian Houston
12 years 4 months ago
A fantastic hotel stayed there for the second time this year, there were cleaners on duty most of the time and rooms were imaculate and spacious.

Food was first class plenty of choice and as much as you could eat(MEN please note they require you wear trousers at night and not shorts).

Location is great right on the beach with the busier end away from the hotel and they have their own part of the beach where you can have a sunbed(with a complimentary towel which is changed daily)

It is a very classy interior and great if you want to sit and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere that the hotel promotes.

Entertainment was better than last year consisted mainly of two girls singing with a bloke on the guitar and an occasional Bulgarian folk dancing night and a magician, but there is plenty to see and do outwith the hotel so it wasnt a major factor for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum