Image of Grand Sunny Beach Hotel

Grand Sunny Beach Hotel

85 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 33 reviews
4 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria
This hotel is situated on sunny Beach, and enjoys excellent views. recently refurcished , and centrally located in the resort, it provides ideal access to shops, restaurants and bars, and is suited to people looking for a beach based holiday.

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Very good!
2 years 2 months ago
We had a pleasant stay at this hotel the rooms were clean food was a bit samey. Staff did a great job. Especially the bar staff Petar & animation team oleg & teady
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holidaygems

Recommended
Harrison
8 years 4 months ago
hotel is in a great place right in the middle of sunny beach but when it says allinclusive light that is what it means the only warm drinks you could get after breakfast was at the pay bar and you had to pay for it, most of th staff were friendly when we were shown to our room i had to go tell them that the whole plug for the fridge was hanging of the wall which was fixed next day, aircon did not work well at all, food was edible if you liked pork or chicken, there was no entertainment at all not even for children you had to go to another hotel in town and pay, it said there was a pool bar but they sold it to subway, there was not enough beds round the pool for even half the amount of the hotel i felt also that we were discriminated again'st by having differant coloured wrist bands than the germans russians and all the other diffarant nationalatis, we were lucky we were on the second floor but the lift was always breaking down.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balken

Recommended
Tony C
9 years 2 months ago
Just returned from here, and overall found this hotel to be just about acceptable for what we paid.
The hotel was always very clean and tidy, any mess was cleaned up straight away, rooms were big enough for 2 adults and 1 child, with just about sufficient storage space. The bathroom was big and had a shower cubicle (but no hot water at busy times, between 17.30 - 20.00)
Food was o.k , breakfast was always good (no HP sauce though) and they don't do proper bacon, just warm ham.
Lunch & dinner always had a fairly good selection and the salads were very good, some people found all the hotel food inedible and ate out every night, but they must be so fussy, as there is always something there that even the most fussy eaters can have. (my 2 kids are fussy and lived on pasta / chips / salad etc for 2 weeks)
Hotel smack bag in the middle of everything, but could get a bit noisy when the alco's roll in at 3-4 in the morning.
Staff pretty miserable most or the time, never smiling or having a laugh with you, but we always got what we asked for (eventually)
No entertainment at night whatsoever!!!
Kids entertainment every day (1 hour) was the same but they all enjoyed it.
The pool was always very cold, great to cool off but you couldn't stop in for long.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Robertson Party
10 years 1 month ago
We went to Grand Hotel in Sept 08 & it was a nightmare from start to finish!! Let me start with the staff, they have to be the most unhepful & rude I've ever come across. Going to the bar for a drink was as if you were putting them out for asking to be served, same when asking the reception for any help. Dont think I ever saw any of them smile. Tipping them didnt help either, I almost wished I hadnt bothered.
The pool is tiny, no where near big enough for the size of the hotel, & if you are lucky enough to get a sunbed it will probably be broken. The pool area was not good at all, my partner tripped on a cracked bit around the pool & badly hurt his toe. The pool bar is OK, but be warned if you are all-inclusive - the drinks here are not included, yet its about the only area with friendly staff & any atmosphere.
We found the food not good at all Im afraid, we had a toddler in our party & it was difficult to find anything he would eat, plus the strict times didnt make it any easier, its hard to tell an 18 month old when hes allowed to be hungry, we ended up taking fruit away with us for him most of the time. We struggled to find anything we liked ourselves, most days it seemed to be a lot of fish dishes. We actually ended up spending quite alot of money eating out, despite having paid to go all-inclusive.
The rooms were a bit run down & in one of the rooms we also had a leak in the bathroom, we had to wait days for this to be sorted. In our room the light switch panel came off the wall one of the times we put our key card in but my partner just tried to fix it back on as we were leaving the next day. When we were checking out we were informed we would be charged 70 lev for a new fitting!! We tried to argue our case, it wasnt our fault their hotel was falling apart but they said we should have reported it. So be warned make sure you report anything that breaks at this hotel, they probably wont fix it for days but at least you wont get charged!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Lisa Jones
10 years 1 month ago
After reading some of the reviews on this hotel i went to this hotel with an open mind and when i got there i was more than happy. We were bed and breakfast it has got everything you would want but like anything its get boaring after a bit. The location was fab you are in the heart of sunny beach. The pool was nice but as many people have said not big enough for how many people staying at the hotel. It is very cheap in bulgaria so i wouldnt recommed all inclusive or half borad. The hotel is everything you could want the cleaners are always cleaning and they come to your room everyday. i would visit this hotel again but maybe not in september due to the second week it rained.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Alan
10 years 2 months ago
Stayed here on a half board basis whereas everybody else seemed to be All inclusive.

I can assure people that this hotel comes nowhere near to 4* rating not even a 3* - 2* is being generous.

Myself and my family are not fussy eaters and love to try most things but quite simply the food here is absolutely awful. Not much of a choice and usually luke warm if your lucky and if you go to eat near the end of the sitting there wont be much food anyway. The restaurant is more akin to a works canteen than a supposedly 4* establishment.

Yes the towels are changed every day but you only get one per person and the size of that is just above that of a hand towel. At least 25% of the sun beds are broken, no mattresses on the beds and there are only 20 tatty sun umbrellas so if you want one, get up early to beat the selfish people that hog them at about 6.30 in the morning ( and it is not the Germans doing this).

If you dare to complain about anything the staff suddenly become unable to understand English. Thank goodness I was only there for a week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

David Malcolm
11 years 3 months ago
i just returned this morning from this hotel i have been
to sunny beach six years in a row if you like loutish
mob rule and dont to sleep you will love it i got one nights sleep out off 14 thats when we did a two day trip to sofia
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Rae Brown
11 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from holiday, the hotel was much better than I had thought it was going to be having read reviews before we went I didn't expect much. Room was kept clean daily but food was a hit or a miss. We have an 8 year old daughter who lived on cucumber and fruit. Food is so cheap outside we didn't worry that they didn't cater for her. Brochure said it was ideal for families and couples then why did they allow groups of around 20 young guys who took great delight in singing when returning to their rooms around 4am. didn't put us off and we would definately return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Mytravel

Recommended
Kevin Ritchie
12 years 1 month ago
Grand Hotel on first arrival was very nice.

Reception staff and porter staff were also very helpful and nice.

The staff in the lobby bar were totally different, there was one night we asked for a cocktail, but it must have been too much like hard work, he returned to say it was not available, so we went outside to pool bar where it was no problem there...? Needless to say we never returned to the lobby bar. Pool bar staff really nice and cant do enough to help.

The room...very 1970s looking plenty of space and kept very clean everyday by the cleaners.

The food...breakfasts were first class really good.

Evening meals...please take this advice and eat out. They were awful. Plenty of other people complained as well. We as others complained to our rep, but to no avail, she said their quality controller was looking into it. You would have thought they would have done that in May.

Finally our rep...total waste of space - at our welcome meeting she told us about all the usual excursions, she highly recommended the lazy day cruise (a 3/4 day cruise on a boat with swimming, fishing can diving and cruising along Sunny Beach and Nessebar) she also recommend to book our return seats to make sure we sit next to each other. Well that didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
John Eldred
12 years 1 month ago
Food, breakfast luke warm but edible dinner don't bother terrible. Take my advice eat out it's safer.

Room, my girlfreind has a spine problem which causes great pain when walking and climbing stairs requested 1st or 2nd floor you guessed it put on 10th.

Lifts much too small for size of hotel. Had to pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum