Image of Korona Hotel

Korona Hotel

63 of 103 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 28 reviews
3 stars
Sunny Beach, Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort, 8240 Burgas (Bourgas), Bulgaria, Bulgaria
The hotel Korona is located in the southern part of the resort close to the popular Nessebur Beach hotel and just 10 minutes from the resort’s centre.

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jan Foley
2 week stay at Hotel Korona
2 months ago
Just returned from a two week holiday in Sunny Beach staying at the Korona.
I'm not sure what people expect from their hols but feel some expectations are high.

Yes the hotel is in need of a major refurbishment, windows indoor sills and rooms in general need a good clean. In saying that our room was OK, cleaner changed towels and bedding every 2 days or when asked, however no mop ever touched the bathroom or balcony.

Pool and poolside plus loungers all need replacing. We checked Trip Advisor before we left so had an idea what to expect. Breakfast in my opinion basic but something for everyone. Paid very little for 2 week stay told 3* and expected 2* and that's what we got. There were a few H&S issues. Lift not level, blocked fire exit and signs of leaks plus hairdryer held together with blue plasters.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Hotel tip: We had room 209 apart from having to hold shower spray and not use hairdryer the room was okay. Great Italian if you head towards the house go thru the little side road you have lotus to your right food nice you will come to Chinese, steak house which is good food (don't know about Chinese) Italian is opposite. If you can find Marbella just down road from trakia hotel can highly recommend.

8 years 2 months ago
The hotel room layout and size is very much like a Premier Inn but you only get a shower not a bath and there is no kettle but you get a small fridge big enough to get milk, wine and beers in. The balcony had a table, 2 chairs and a clothes dryer. It had free air con but we didn't need to use it as the room was quite cool. The beds are divans with continental quilts and the bedding is changed every other day, towels are changed daily.

The pool area is lovely and clean (watched the guys clean it every day) we always managed to get a sun lounger, the pool bar serves drinks, tea and coffee (2 Diet Coke for 3 Lev).

The breakfast has something for everyone, 4 types of cereal, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, jams, honey; fried, boiled and scrambled eggs, thick cut ham, various sausages, toast and a whole section of salads, tea, coffee and friut juices (although these were squash).

Check in was prompt and staff were always polite.

A reasonable hotel in a nice, quiet area, close to some bars and restraunts and not too far to walk into the centre if you wish, very close to the beach, has an on site supermarket, doctor and chemist.

If I were to be critical - the carpets are beginning to look grubby and the lift is noisy, I would request a room far away from the lift.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
Hotel was very clean, maids were in the rooms daily for the 2 weeks we were there. caretakers etc cleaned the pool every other day

breakfast was basic and was ok considering they have to cater for so many different nationalities. unrealistic to expect british sausage, bacon, beans etc, but bulgarian version not the greatest. however toast, salads, fruit, eggs etc just fine

location was superb, far enough away from noisy nightlife - but only a short walk away from the centre and very close to the beach

staff in hotel were really nice, would accomodate any request - although werent too good when it came to alarm calls. let us down twice but had own alarm just in case - phew!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended
JIM
9 years 2 months ago
Hi, just got back, had a fantastic time, hotel room was basic but very clean and the tv had cnn, eurosport, bbc world news and some american channels that had bulgarian subtitles (after dark the tv can be a bit explicit so if have children be careful)

the staff were friendly and helpful and pookey the barman was great serving up drinks till late in the morning (5am one night), there are lots of restaurants and bars nearby which you can get beer for 1 lev, if you go into the DANCE NIGHT CLUB opposite hotel you will be treated to free shots all night and free beer sometimes also, great place to go to get smashed in local vicinity. Would also recommend the corner pub if you like karaoke when your drunk

You can get a train to central however its only a 10 minute walk.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: BALKAN

Recommended
Libran Lass
9 years 2 months ago
It looked clean on arrival and very palatial, but once you had a good look, it was getting quite grubby.

The rooms were large enough for 2 people, everything you could have wanted, except no tea & coffee facilities, but we took a travel kettle, so we were okay. Our room was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the pool, which was good. We had sun in the later afternoon.

Breakfast was okay, but geared towards the Nordic palate. They need to get better toasters!! It was good as this was one of the few places there was no smoking, the other two are the lifts and buses.

Our room was not cleaned nor was the bathroom, only beds made and clean towels daily, but we had to ask after the first week to have our sheets changed.

We had a couple of problems with a broken light and shower would not drain. On both occasions the maintenance man fixed faults within 5 minutes of them being reported.

The staff were friendly enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Littlevik
9 years 3 months ago
Just got back from a two week stay at the Korona in the middle of August. We arrived at 5am and checked in very quickly. A porter took our bags to our room for us. On first impressions the hotel looked clean, bright and spacious. The next day we went down to get a safety deposit box (located in your wardrobe) it cost 60 levs for 2 weeks.

The room is fine, big for just the two of us. We had 2 single beds pushed together, they were quite low but comfortable. There is a wardrobe and dressing table as well as a chair and table. The TV has a few english channels (shouldnt expect many being in a diff country), there was CNN, MTV and EuroSports. The bathroom was basic but fine, the shower was quite powerful. The towles and bedding was fine, and were changed quite often. The hotel is strict on food in rooms there is a 100 Lev fine if any found. We had snacks and just put rubbish in the bin outside!! (nobody noticed). The room has a fridge so you can keep drinks in there.

The pool was a really good size, plenty of room and the kids pool is a good size. We always found sunbeds and we didnt go down to the pool until 10/11 am on some days. There is a pool bar which isnt too expensive. Otherwise the hotel has a supermarket which is cheaper than most in the area, there is also a pharmacy.

The hotel bar does brilliant cocktails which were often cheaper than the local bars. Would def recommend having a drink there.

The staff were ok, although some of them didnt understand much english, but they were friendly enough.

We had breakfast once and decided it was based more for Germans etc, this didnt bother us as we never get up for breakfast anyway.

The hotel is in a good location, a couple of minutes from the beach, a couple of minutes to lots of bars and resturants (Kharma and the house are good). The mini train stops outside the hotel it cost 3 levs each and takes you right to the center of Sunny Beach, otherwise its a 10/15 minute walk but there are lots of bars/resturants on the way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Paul&candy
9 years 3 months ago
arrived on 17/08/08 late afternoon. our first impressions of the hotel where very good and clean with friendly staff and a porter to carry our bags to our room. room was on the 3rd floor over looking the main street which got sun in the morning but shade in the afternoon. clean towels daily sheets changed every few days maids very friendly. pool and outside areas very clean and well maintained with free use of sun lounges.pool bar opened around 10 am until laast guest had left. breakfast was adequate more continental than english. would definetley recomend this hotel to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Gemma
9 years 4 months ago
We where moved to this hotel as first hotel was a disgrace. We found it very clean and tidy maids came everyday with fresh towels and made beds.

Staff friendly. Only complaint is breakfast was cheese, different meats, eggs, salad and pastries not my ideal breakfast but other people where there enjoying it. Would return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Anne & Steve Williams
11 years 3 months ago
My parents stayed in this hotel in 2005.

They rated it very highly. Our first time in Bulgaria. Arrived at Hotel Staff very helpful. Room on First floor towards road. I was disappointed with this at first but after it was better because my parents room was facing the pool and can be noisy and the sun shines on the room all day making it very hot. This was not good for us as we were travelling with a 12 month old Baby.

So the rooms on the road are quiet and shady. Hotel room cleaned daily and maids extremely friendly especially towards the baby. Whilst on Holiday the baby was ill and we went to see the resident doctor he and she was excellent. The baby was sick in the room and the maids cleaned it up with no fuss.

Location Excellent as it was on the quiter side of the resort and if you wanted to reach the the central part the mini train was around the corner or down the road. But you dont have to go to the central as loads to do around the corner.

I have never visted Bulgaria before as I have always gone to Turkey. But I love Bulgaria Try It!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Woodward
11 years 4 months ago
Myself and my now husband went to Korona Hotel for our honeymoon. We stayed there for two weeks.

The breakfast was OK, a fair selection on offer each morning, although the toaster took four attempts. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and were of an acceptable standard.

The walls between the rooms did let through noise from neighbours, if you had noisy neighbours and people seemed insistent on slamming doors at all hours. The toilets in reception did require a bit of attention!

The hotel is in a good location, although it was approx a kilometer from resort centre, there were sufficient amenities in the area, with a good choice of places to eat within a 10 minute walk.

The bar staff were good, reception staff varied depending on who was on, although when we did request our air conditioning to be looked at as not very effective, it was fixed the following morning and worked extremely well rest of the holiday.

The pool was used quite heavily by groups of young people who were not suitably dressed to use the pool (in their pants), so we did not venture in there after then!!! We would visit this hotel again, however, we think there are nicer looking hotels in the resort.

We would not discourage anyone from visiting, you get what you pay for. We believe it represented good value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices