Image of Meridian Centre Hotel

Meridian Centre Hotel

59 of 104 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 43 reviews
3 stars
Slanchev Bryag, Bulgaria

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tim
9 years 4 months ago
The Meridian Hotel was clean and the Hotel Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was good and you could eat as much as you liked as a buffet style menu. The location was okay, near enough to the beach(about 5 mins walk). For a lads holiday (and no doubt girls), it was an ideal base. You could choose a Hotel more cenral I guess, but it wasn't a problem. The Hotel bar is open 24hrs!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: 1st choice

Recommended
Campbell
9 years 5 months ago
Hotel room was amazing spotless and had a superb shower it was a good size and was cleaned every day the worst thing about this hotel is the food Breakfast was reasonable you could always find something to eat but Dinner was the worst food i have every come across it was horrible we had only one meal that was edible. The staff in the restaurant could do with a personality check they were the most miserable people ever. The bar staff were very friendly and would always give you a smile as well as the people who worked around the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Nolan's
10 years 3 months ago
This was the most awful experience abroad i have ever had. This is not just the opinion of my travel party, but we had conversations with over 11 families, couples etc who had the same experience. Do NOT go to this hotel if you want to enjoy your hard earned holiday. I was i tears on day 3 trying to book a flight home. Im not a pathetic baby, and I was not the only oe crying. It really was that bad. The hotel food was appaling to say the least, my sister and I were actually reminiscing about school dinners in a positive light in comparrison to the pigs swill we were served here everyday. Ive never seen veg as mushy in my life, literally falling apart if you touched it with a spoon, pink, bloody meat. Completely inedible, people leaving plates and plates of food in the search to find something they could stomach. Most people ended up with a chip butty every night. And as for the choice available, it was very poor. The staff have some very questionable body odours too add. We ended up eating out 6/7 nights we were there which was quite costly, having always gone up to try the food available first. Luckily, we could escape the hotel food but the hotel itself was a nightmare. Yes, the rooms were clean and maids visted daily, this was not the problem. The hotel is designed in a cylindrical layout which causes noise to echo and reach up from the 24 hour lobby bar on ground floor all the way up to the 11th (top) floor. The noise of people coming in and out of rooms at all hours and the echo up the cylinder was unbelieveable. We had probably 2 - 3 hours sleep a night in 20 min bursts. Numerous people would storm out of the room screaming at people to shut up so that they could sleep at 4am , 5 am etc. It ruined the holiday. We were too tired to enjoy ourselves and found ourselves sleeping through the day just to catch up. Hotel staff were unhelpful, unpolite and would prtend to not understand you if it meant that what you asked them to do would mean leaving their seat and not watching football. To be honest, resort holidays are not my thing really and I found sunyn beach to be like blackpool on crack. Full of english yobs shouting, swearing, way way too drunk, fighting, acting lewd. Prostitues everywhere. Cheap and tacky trinket stalls selling the same thing over and over. Kebabs, burgers, chips, pizza. Where was Bulgaria? If thats your thing, fair enough. But seriously, go to another hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Cassie
10 years 3 months ago
This website has a lot of completely opposite opinions to me about this hotel, The worst holiday experience i have ever had here. Hotel was awful! Food was so disgusting, i actually had to spit it out into a tissue (i felt like i was 7!) people leaving plates and plates of food in the search for something edible. NOTHING was edible apart from the salad. The hotel was so so noisy, you couldnt sleep at all. People would storm out of their hotel room and scream at people to shut up talking etc, all night. Got no sleep for a week. I needed another holiday when i got back home just to recover from this terrible experience. Dirty, disgusting. Just dont go there!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Carole
10 years 3 months ago
This is going to be a long review as I found so many bad things to Write about. First off the Hotel Meridian 4* joke the place is a dump. I have read the other reviews and can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Kerry & Paul
10 years 3 months ago
The hotel is extremely impressive to look at, and we found it lovely and clean. Our room was on the 9th floor with a pool view and it was really spacious! The maids came in everyday and the room was spotlessly clean. The restaurant is on the top floor, and quite a lot of people have complained about the lifts at peak times. We didnt have any problems, as we walked the 2 flights of stairs to the restaurant, unlike a lot of other fully able people! The food in the restaurant was lovely. Im a really fussy eater, so always worry when we go half board, but i found plenty to eat on 8 out of 10 of the nights we were there. I recommend sitting outside while you eat if you dont mind heights, absolutely stunning views! Only complaint would be the lack of cutlery! But the staff did their best to sort it when you told them. The pool is a really good size, and we always managed to find a sunbed in a good position. Wasnt too impressed about the charge however, although i have been elsewhere in bulgaria and it is common.

The hotel is slightly outside of the centre of sunny beach, the main street is about a 15min walk. There are plenty of bars and restaurants near the hotel though, but most of them had cheesy local bands on in the evening, which isnt particularly to our taste. We did enjoy the bacardi bar and the cocktails in the mexican bar were amazing! Both 2mins from the hotel. There is a little train which goes to the centre if u dont fancy the walk, although it is costly if you use it alot!! The centre is lively at night, lots of places to eat and drink there. We did eat out a couple of times, mainly due to it being so cheap! Everywhere we ate was lovely, didnt have a bad meal! We had a really nice chinese on the main street, and had lunch at the hotel a couple of days, cheap and cheerfull lunchtime menu! There is something for everyone, and you can find more traditional food if you look for it!

The beach is 5mins walk from the hotel, was fairly clean and the sea was lovely, however we did a runner at the sight of a jelly fish!!! We took a trip to nessebar, was a nice couple of hours walk around the ruins, but there isnt really much there. Would recommend catching the bus there and making your own way around, much cheaper than a taxi or organised tour!! We also went to the aquapark which was a really good day, plenty of slides for adults and kids! there is a free mini bus there from the bus stop as well!

All in all we had a fab holiday here!!! :)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Kerry &barry
10 years 6 months ago
Great hotel,we had a family room which was so bigcant fault it. The food was great good for my kids chicken nuggets and smiley faces. The swiming pool was good for all ages, but didnt like that you had to pay for the sunbeds,3 levs per bed. The location is great the piccidilly pub is good fun, the owner is very friendly,and the staff one called angle.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: 8

Recommended
Paula & Alan
10 years 7 months ago
Hi what a great hotel.

This hotel was great both me & my partner had a fab time.
We were half board and the food was lovely with something for everyone. (salads,meat,fish,chips,potatoes ect)

The hotel was kept very clean and tidy with the maid cleaning our room every day we could go for breakfast and come back and the room was spotless.

Location of this hotel was good about 10-15mins from the main street (flower street) but because we had some of the best place's on are door step we didnt need to go to far.
Francos next door is a must its owend by the hotel and all the staff are very friendly.

It also does some amazing food !

Hotel staff were very friendly and always polite.

We would defently visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: panorama(thomas cook)

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
We stayed for 1 week H/B, and enjoyed ourselves.

Breakfast was fine, with plenty to choose from. If you got your table first, it was laid out for you, but if not, you had to go and look for cutlery etc.

Dinner could be a bit of a hit or miss, but you would not go hungry. We spent last 3 days going out for dinner(so cheap anyway).

All the staff were were fine, except for one waitress who kept pestering us, because we did not want a drink sitting at pool area.

Hotel was very clean, with comfortable foyer area. Lifts can be a nightmare if you stay at bottom and want to go to eat, as restaurant is at very top. Same if staying at top, getting down to bottom, if you want to go out during mealtimes.

We had a superior room, which had plenty of room. Only one chair though, but 3 on balcony. TV with plenty of channels.

Good sized toilet. Wife says to take own hairdrier as handle on one in toilet can get hot.

I have posted some photos in gallery under "Bulgarian Hotels"
All in all a good hotel,
Rooms cleaned every day, towels replaced daily, and sheets changed twice. Pool area OK. Always sunbeds available, but only because they were 5 leva per bed.

Location is fine, at south of resort. Right outside hotel, plenty of entertainment/bars/eating/stalls/beach about 200 yards.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended
Kirsty And Dominic
11 years 4 months ago
the hotel looked impressive from outside, the maids were excellent and most of saff good too. location was also good but we wished we were a little closer to centre. we found the food ok but after a few days started getting stomach cramps and being ill. After speaking to others there at same time we found this a common problem.
the fact you have to pay for sun lounges in hotel really annoyed me as this is usually included. for value for money the hotel is what i expected as was a cheap enough holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: JMC

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum