Image of Sunny Day Hotel & Apartments

Sunny Day Hotel & Apartments

42 of 103 hotels in Sunny Beach

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
Sunny Beach, Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort, 8240 Burgas, Bulgaria
This charming hotel is hidden in a quiet glade surrounded by trees not far from the main beach promenade. With comfortable air-conditioned bright rooms and apartments furnished to a very high standard, Sunny Day offers a delightful atmosphere.

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dave/chrisfromstoke
7 years 11 months ago
We booked this hotel by mistake thinking it was at the other end of the resort but it wasn't that bad. Our friends we went with had a room 313 which really smelt bad. They asked straightaway to be moved to another room which credit to the staff they duly obliged the next day, our room 311 was very nice, large and clean. Only problems we had was the balcony never gets any sun as its on the corner of the hotel permanently in the shade our other problem was the towels were only changed once in a week but when we did tell the receptionist a new set was sent up to our room straight away. No kettle or hairdrier in room so don't forget to take your own. Small fridge, free air conditioning and TV. Fantastic shower- the best I have ever had. Big supermarket 2 minutes away and beach 5-10 minutes away. Breakfast was a buffet style lottery between 8 & 10- don't leave it till last thing as all the best options were well gone and as soon as the clock chimes 10 everything is taken away. We kept a room on till midnight which cost 50 lev (£22) The pool is nice but the tiling around the pool is breaking up which will cause a few nasty injuries also there is a small kiddies slide into the pool which you have to walk around which a lot of people stubbed their toes on. The staff were very nice and helpful when we did ask. A lot of other guests had mixed opinions of the hotel some good some bad but we thought it was alright.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
9 years 11 months ago
We arrived at Sunny Day Apartments at 11.30pm on a Saturday night and was immediately welcomed by staff, who offered us glasses of red or white wine. We also had a male staff member who took luggage up to the room we were staying in.

We entered the room and was very impressed as soon as we walked in. The room was very clean but the carpet was a bit dark in a few spots. We had a two floored apartment with spirally stairs which where quite dangerous.

In our room, we had a very basic kitchen with a microwave and kettle. However the fridge was pathetic as its about the same size as a pillow, remembering there were 6 of us staying in this apartment!

Downstairs, we had a double bed which pulled out from a sofa. We also had a one seated sofa with a TV, two air conditioning units and a balcony. Upstairs we had a en-suite, which included a toilet, shower and bath. Two single beds, mirrors, plenty of wardrobes and another room with wardrobes and a double bed with a balcony.

The pool was very clean but sometimes we found the pool to be very cold. As for comments concerning the state of the pool, I couldn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Lisa
10 years 10 months ago
I stayed at the sunny day hotel with my family for 2 weeks and i would not recommend this place to any one, the place is a shambles, the pool is a disgrace,for 9 day's of our stay the pool was never clean,and after reporting it to the rep several times nothing ever got done, it also needs to be repaired as loose tiles and missing tiles are a bit of a problem and we got told that they provide us with shoe's to go into the pool with so we would not cut our feet.

The rooms are ok but have carpets and they are in need of a good clean, also when we asked where the gym was as we were told it was broken,only to discover it was being used as staff quaters for the cleaners, it also offered other facilities but many were not usable.

I have got to say if you want a good holiday and want to spend time in the pool, then going to this hotel would spoil all that.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My Travel

Maurice
10 years 11 months ago
just arrived back from hotel sunny day
all i can say is that the pools ar deadly my friend has a son and he was playing in the baby pool sliced his hole foot open more injuries happend but they wre minor staff was good but not very good breakfast is ok not the best the cleaning ladies are briliant but i say its takes about 3 minutes to get served not a problem but very anoying its takes about 5 minutes to get to the beach nut will i ever go back? never...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Sam
10 years 11 months ago
We've just returned from 2 weeks at the Sunny Day hotel, having read the good reveiws on this website. The hotel itself was OK but it was a bit shabby. When we arrived our room stank of cigarettes - there must have been a chain smoking family in before us for the previous fortnight. Although we tried to air it, it still smelt of fags two weeks later.

The carpets were filthy, with a lot of very dodgy-looking stains but the standard of day-to-day cleanliness was fine. We were quite impressed with the cleaners but were disturbed to find that the 21 lev (quite a lot by Bulgarian standards) my son left on his bed when he went to breakfast had been pocketed by the cleaner when we got back. When we asked her about it she gave it back - we assumed she'd thought it was a tip but it wasn't our last day so it was a bit embarrassing.

The pool was a big hit with the children and loungers were free (although you did need to be quick with your towel to reserve them). However, the pool was in a poor state of repair and had many loose and missing tiles. By the second day my daughter had cut a flap of skin from her toe from a broken tile in the bottom of the pool and later in the week a boy had to get an ambulance to hospital to treat a gashed foot (I think that's been reported in one of the other reviews). The hotel did not have an accident book or first aider and this kind of thing seemed quite common.

The hotel didn't seem to have all the glossy facilities suggested in the brochures (and even in it's own literature int he hotel). I never found the excercise room and the table tennis table was broken and rotting under a tree by the pool.

The low point of our holiday was on the day before we left when we awoke at 6.40am to find our room door wide open and
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My Travel

Wendy
11 years ago
I stayed here for 2 weeks and was very happy as we booked a last minute deal and did not know what apts we would arrive at had 2 teenagers who would have liked to be nearer the centre. staff were really nice if you took time to speak to them, only dont break any thing i.e glasses chairs ashtrays as you will pay for them!! Over all rooms were brilliant cannot fault them.
As for food if you order a steak at sunny day just remember to order chips as all you get is a steak and nothing else(hope you dont like veg as they dont seem to eat very much of it over there)
I would go back in a minute as its so relaxing.
reallly good night is Cahns Tent you get a five course meal and plenty of drink its a great show to see.Have also sen other reports on things going missing never had one missing item all the time we were there in fact i lost my camera at a night out and the rep managed to get it back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Lucy George
11 years 1 month ago
I visited Bulgaria for the first time this year with my friend and stayed at the sunny day hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Both myself and my friend are 20 however the hotel looks to suit all people of all ages needs.

The hotel itself is small in comparison to the big high rises that surround the area but this was most defiantly a bonus because it meant that you did not have to fight for a spot by the pool.

The rooms are very clean and have a TV and air-conditioning. The best part of my holiday was the hotel staff who where so very friendly and spoke very good English.

The hotel is situated a perfect distance from the beach (2 minutes) and right next to a 24 hour medical centre, a 24 hour shop and the bus stop.

The buses run every 15 minutes and are extremely cheap. Food and drink is also cheap. The pool was a little chilly but this was a blessing when the air temperature was 38-40C! This hotel and staff can not be faulted and help make my holiday a perfect two week.

The buses run every 15 minutes and are extremly cheap. Food and drink is also cheap. The pool was a little chilly but this was a blessing when the air temperature was 38-40C! The rooms This hotel and staff help make my holiday a perfect two weeks!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
12 years ago
Stayed at Suuny Day for two weeks.

On arrival at 4.00 am with two children we entered our room to find two maids sleeping in it, not a great start.

Breakfast was like a canteen.Food okay although you ordered a plain omelette and got burnt egg and bacon.

Hotel was clean, towels changed daily, sheets changed every three days.

The rooms had air conditioning a definite must have.

On a few occasions people's bags nearly got stolen by people just popping in to the hotel.Staff turned a blind eye.

The pool at first seemed okay but by the end of the fortnight it was falling apart,the tiles at the bottom of the pool could be collected like seashells at the beach.
Also we thought that with you not being allowed into the pool after eight that it was because it was being cleaned. Not a chance as we saw all you had to do was ask or tell the staff you were going in.
The so called lifeguards lay about sunbathing all day and when the pool was empty the all had a wee swim then went back to sunning themselves.Glassess and ashtrays were left everywhere.One wee girl had a coke in a glass bottle and she drop it she got charge 1lev not much I know but why not have plastic bootle and glasses.

The gym had one treadmill.

The staff bar two did not give a hoot all in it for a holiday.There was one apartment which they all stayed in and thought nothing of cavorting around trying to impress the other staff.

No entertainment at all except one Bulgarian night barbecue, not up to much. Music during the day was the choice of the staff for the wee ones (they had Now63, when asked to play this thay turned it down or skipped songs).

Will never go back to this hotel.

The location of the hotel was not for the faint hearted. You had to cross the main road to get to the beach. It had a pedestrian crossing that never worked, it was like playing dodgems and not funny.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Paul
12 years 10 months ago
We found this hotel to be very friendly. My three year old son was looked after on numerous ocassions by hotel staff who just loved him.

A lot of building work going on around hotel but this never bothered us.

Bar/restaurant does not close untill last guest leaves
one night was 5 am.

Rooms cleaned every day. Advice for anyone going to this hoel next year they will be extending this hotel but was told will be finished within a year.

Balkan brochure shows old photo of hotel there is currently 4 buildings not 3 will be 6 next season.

Would recomend this hotel and will be going back in 2007.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
James
12 years 11 months ago
Sunny Day is about as good as you would expect for a 3 star rated hotel in Bulgaria. The reception area is small and clean and houses the safety deposit boxes which are adjacent to the reception desk.
The dining area is clean and comfortable and bar meals are served throughout the day. Breakfast is quite basic but there is plenty of choice, cooked food is mainly beans, potatoes and onions, hot dog style sausage and scrambled or fried eggs. There is also a cold buffet selection. Free coffee (very nice) and orange juice.

The hotel is located on a main road with a bus stop and taxi rank just outside. Although the road is busy there is very little traffic noise in the hotel. The beach is a 2 minute walk away and the resort centre about 10 minutes.

The rooms are quite large and airy. Beds are clean and comfortable. Air conditioning is spot on, although there are some condensation marks on the wall where the units are situated. Plenty of cupboard space, a couple of armchairs and the floor is carpeted. The double glazed windows are very good at keeping out poolside noise. The bathroom is good although there are no baths or shower trays. The water from the shower simply passes into a drain hole in the tiled floor, this can cause a problem if the drain is not well positioned as water can gather around the toilet base.

The staff on the whole are very friendly and polite (although one receptionist had an air of disinterest).
The maids are excellent and don't bother you if you put a 'do not disturb' sign on your door. The towels and linen are changed regularly but they do not make your bed (not that this was a problem) they replace the bottom sheet and the pillowcase and leave the rest folded on the bed.

The pool is okay but rather cold, although this didn't seem to bother the kids! There are plenty of sunbeds but they are the hard plastic type without any padding. The poolside bar is great and plays a wide selection of music throughout the day, the volume is turned right down about 8 p.m.

The exchange rate at the hotel was not as good as other hotels or the Crown Exchange booths (do not use the other exchange booths on the street as they never seem to give you the right amount and if you complain a couple of heavies seem to appear out of nowhere!)

On the whole I would highly recommend Sunny Day for what it is, a clean, comfortable, 3 star (Bulgarian rating) hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum