Image of Fenix Hotel

Fenix Hotel

24 of 103 hotels in Sunny Beach

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Sunny Beach, 8240 Bulgaria
The hotel Fenix has an ideal seafront location and a large choice of leisure facilities. The beautiful sandy beach offers an excellent opportunity to enjoy various water sports or simply relax and soak up the sun.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rita
9 years ago
hotel fenix we thougt was very good but the food was terrible thank god we were only bed and breakfast,the location is very good,the staff very pleasant, no ntertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balken

Recommended
Mr Kerr
10 years ago
Arrived at the hotel in the small hours of the morning. The staff were fully prepared for our arrival and check in took seconds and we were taken to room.

Our room was satisfactory. Not as good as you would hope being 4 star. There was a few dark marks and cigarette burns on the carpet and a slight smell of damp. It was not bad, but should be better. It really needed a new carpet and a lick of paint but the room was good enough.

Think the maid on our floor was a bit lazy. It really was the minimum she did everyday, but watching others from the pool side they were making more effort sweeping the balcony and wiping the railings.

We were left fresh towels everyday and although we kept our room nice and tidy it would have been nice for her to run the hoover over it once within the week.

I know other maids in other rooms were far better.

The hotel itself is very clean and well presented. Other rooms seemed better than ours so don't know if we were slightly unlucky.

There is internet facilities available, about 10 machines and they were rarely used.

There was also a gym, but who uses them on holiday?

We were only bed and breakfast and thank god. We tried breakfast one morning and were not impressed. I don't know who actually eats this stuff?
You could maybe find something you could just about eat but it's not good enough. Very poor quality reformed meats whereas the quality on the street is a million times better. I'd suggest forgetting food in the hotel, it's really cheap outside and quality normally excellent.

The pool is of a very good size and the surrounding area clean and tidy.

The main problem with the pool area is the lack of sunbeds. Simply not enough to go around and unless you are up at the crack of dawn not much chance of getting one. You will have to make do with the grass unless the sprinklers are on! There is a notice to say that towels will be removed from beds if you are not present, but that never happened. Too often beds were claimed and the people would not arrive for hours afterwards. Very selfish.

There is also a small bar to the end of the pool area. Depending on who is working will infuence what type and how loud the music is. The young lad that played the thud thud music all day was irritating but otherwise the rest were fine.

There is no entertainment at this hotel. I think they do activities with other hotels, but nothing happens at the Fenix. It does leave for a quieter day and I must say of the kids who were staying at the hotel they all behaved well all week, as did all guests.

The location of the Hotel is good. Leave the pool area and cross the road and you are at the start of the beach.

The other way takes you to some of the quieter pubs and restaruants whilst the other is the busier part of sunny beach.

A pool side room will be quieter than a room at the front side. We were at the front side of the hotel and you could here the music from the bars over the road. It was barely noticeable over the noise of the air conditioning unit. So nothing to worry about.

I enjoyed my stay very much and would think about using the Fenix again.

All in all I would say I would recommend the Fenix if you forget the food and want don't require entertainment. Unless you are positive you know something better this hotel is a safe bet.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Paul And Sheraly
10 years 1 month ago
We were advised by the booking agent to go for the B&B option because it is so cheap to eat out, and we are glad we did because apparently the evening meals were quite repetative although the quality was supposed to be very good. There was a large amount of food to choose from at breakfast and the quality was very good. The cleanliness was absolutely fantastic, our maid came in every morning wether we wanted her to or not, we were impressed with this. The location was 2-300 yards from the beach and just out of ear shot of the night clubs but not to far, about 500 yards. The Fenix is set back a little from the main strret but it is in the middle of the resort, as in each direction we had restaurants and bars. The hotel staff were very professional, not to talkative though which for a holiday resort we thought a little strange but it seemed everyone was liike this not just our hotel staff. If you want entertainment in your hotel... go somewhere else. They don't claim to have any entertainment which we liked. Definately go back to this hotel and definately go back to HC Andersons restaurant for the steaks, Mmmm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Leanne
10 years 10 months ago
Me and my friend have just come back from a week in the Fenix Hotel. It was really clean and the maids came daily (although they never left any toilet roll!). Nice pool. Evening meal was nice, and there was enough choice although we did eat out a few times because it was quite repetitive, breakfast was rubbish though and they hardly ever re-filled anything so you need to get there at 7:30. Found the staff really unhelpful and one lady on reception was one of the rudest people I've ever spoken to! It's really close to the beach but we didn't have nice weather so it was a bit further away from everything else than I would have liked. Think this hotel is fine for families and couples but not for groups of young people or people who like to be really close to the nightlife.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

John T
11 years ago
Stayed at the Fenix - July 07, very good hotel.

Excellent location with plenty going on around, disco across the road didn't bother us at all (double glazing kept the noise down).

Food wasn't as I liked and no presentation at all.

Bar in the hotel lacked any atmosphere, but the roadside bar was very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended
C Mckirdy
11 years ago
Excellent hotel. Great location right next to beach, restaurants and bars. Rooms very clean and in good order. The food was ok. Breakfast good plenty of selection (cooked food, bread, salads, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals). Evening meal fine, but basic. Food across the road at fenix restaurant however great and very cheap so not a problem. Would def go back and stay at this hotel perfect location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Steven Crawford
11 years ago
Just back home from a weeks holiday in Sunny Beach and it was fantastic. Will be returning next year. My only bad point about the holiday was that the food wasn't that good, OK for a week but not for 2 weeks. Hotel was straight across from the beach and also a massive nightclub which was handy. Night-life is great and goes on through the night.

Loads of shops to buy some great bargains. Also alcohol was really cheap around 40p a pint some places and buy one get one free on cocktails almost everywhere and the pool bar at the hotel was great.

I found the resort a lot cleaner than most Spanish resorts but outside Sunny Beach you realise Bulgaria is still a very poor country and isn't really nice.

All in all though I would give it 8 out 10. If they get the food right it would be 10 out of 10
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Cath
11 years ago
Fenix hotel was excellent, minutes from main activity and also the gorgeous beach. Rooms were great very spacious, spotless and lovely - beautiful pool. We were on the sixth floor and what a view, it was fantastic day or night. They have 3 lifts which were in great working order. Staff were very nice and especially friendly to children. Great flight going out and returning. Food was okay, chef was very nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Recommended
Williams
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel is 4* rated and definitely deserves its rating.

The hotel shone with cleanliness and the marbled floors were so shiney. The food was good although a little basic however there is a restuarant next door also called Fenix which serves superb food if you are looking for something a bit extra special.

The hotel is on the main street but set behind a large pool. The beach is also only 5 minutes walk. The staff were exceptionally helping and very friendly.

Would definitely recommend this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Billuk44
12 years 10 months ago
We were half board. Ok the meals on offer was not what I would have asked for but we had toast and egg for beakfast which is ok by me. Dinner was a let down but at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkin

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum