Image of Platomare Hotel Apartments

Platomare Hotel Apartments

4 of 10 hotels in Pernera

4 out of 5 from 54 reviews
Protaras Bowland, Protara, Protaras 5311, Cyprus
The family run Platomare Hotel Apartments are located in the quiet area of Pernera in Protaras.

54 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Margaret & Billy
Clean and spacious apartment complex
6 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Platomare in Oct 2011 -from check in to departure everything was excellent.

The hotel has lovely apartments, all clean and spacious. We requested a private sunny apartment and were given just that in block b on the upper floor with sea views from balcony. The apartment got the sun from early morning till late afternoon in October.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just two mins from beach with lovely coves, nice walks on promenade into Protaras or there is a bus stop just up the road ten mins away. Buses offer great travel all day for Euro 2 till midnight. For a great supermarket, get the bus to Paralimni, halfway on left hand side of road.

The shop at hotel is great for milk, bread and water. A very nice place to eat is at Blue Spice. The entertanment in the area is good.

The staff at hotel were excellent,they went out of their way to make you feel welcome and were so helpful.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
ok
6 years 8 months ago
Arrived at the Platomare in the very early hours of Monday morning and please be warned there are stairs everywhere which makes it really difficult to get to the lifts with your cases, children and pushchairs so wheelchair users be warned there are no ramps.

The maids woke us up not very long after that with their blaring music and strong smell of cigarettes which they smoked in the room right next door to ours. We decided not to use the cot they had left for our 9 month old son to sleep in as it was full of dust.
They then knocked to come in and clean our room, they changed the bins and mopped the floors leaving them soaking so one of our sons nearly split his head open when he had to dash to the toilet. The maid was horrified but it still didn't stop her doing it every morning. In the end we tried to get the kids up early and out of the apartment for the maids calling and we always knew they had been by the smell of smoke in the rooms.

We spent quite a bit of money during this holiday as we tried to stay away from the place as much as possible. The pool area was tatty and our swim wear was filthy after spending the day around the pool. Many of the people staying there had to empty the pool of dead lizards and frogs on a morning I know this is nature but normally the staff clean the pools out during the evenings and early mornings where we have stayed before.

We had drinks in the bar one evening and the family who own the place have a little dog that likes to wee all over the curtains so we left as soon as we could.

Would not stay here again and have to say we love Pernera but this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Andrew And Adele
Dated and lacking in entertainment
6 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Platomare in early June and had a wonderful time.

The hotel is in a quiet area despite other reviews to the contrary. Other hotels nearby do have entertainment which usually goes on until around midnight.

The rooms are clean (not spotless) and spacious but are very dated. We did not pay a lot of money to stay here and only really used it as a base for a nights sleep and somewhere to shower before heading off out for the evening. For this purpose it was fantastic however those wanting entertainment and luxury would be disappointed.

The food and drinks are reasonably priced compared to normal Cyprus prices and the staff are wonderful.

All said and done a nice clean family run hotel that wont cost the earth to visit.

Finaly a word of warning, if you are staying in block B, there is some refurbishment taking place at the hotel next door which will disturb you from 7am onward. This is in no way the responsibility of the Platomare apts however Olympic could do more to pre warn customers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie
7 years 8 months ago
Hotel is excellent in every way you take it. Excellent food, staff, owners. I would never go anywhere else in Cyprus. Hire a car if you want to see this beautiful island, they are not too expensive and of course you drive on the left hand side of the road which is great for me!! Some lovely wee shops near hotel or if you want you can walk/drive into Protaras for the much larger shops including jewellery etc. The jewellery is quite cheap as well which is perfect for me. Anyway see you all again soon...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Lynn & Peter Gibb
7 years 9 months ago
2 star! What a bargain. Hotel absolutely spotless. Food very good and reasonably priced. Location fantastic a stones throw from the beach. The staff are the best Ive ever come across abroad.

Not much entertainment but quiz/bingo night and cocktail day/night are great fun. I have been going for the past ten years and will continue, i wouldn't stay anywhere else.

The Hotel Grounds were absolutely spotless, the Gardener/ caretaker Ganesh was a sweetie and kept pool area, gardens etc immaculate.. The cleaners did a wonderful job at all times.

The owners and staff of the Platomare are really into cleanliness and though they may be brilliant they cannot accept responsibility for the mating habits and the time of year for insects.

A perfect place for peace and quiet, don't like that? Go to Ayia Napa. This is the tenth year i have spent at this hotel in many different months of the year and would NOT stay anywhere else.

This last family run hotel in Protaras really is the jewel in Cyprus's crown in my opinion.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jean & Fred Brown
7 years 9 months ago
Another brilliant holiday at the Platomare, stayed for two weeks this year as we loved it so much last year, everything so clean and the gardens and pool area is beautiful all thanks to the gardener/caretaker who seems to never stop working as do all the other staff. Nothing seems too much bother for them, cleaners also deserve a thank you! Thankyou Catherine our room was perfect! Plenty of sun loungers no matter what time you go to the pool. Outside eating and drinking area is so nice and relaxing, all in all a wonderful peaceful holiday, we will be going back to the Platomare.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 10 months ago
First time in Cyprus for me (a single mum) with my 12 year old son. Spent 2 weeks at The Platomare and absolutely loved it!

Was lucky to get a corner studio at the front which meant we had sea views/pool view and view towards Protaras. The walk into Protaras took us only 15 mins (we timed it) along the new coastal path which is a beautiful walk, although sometimes took longer as was nice to take a slow stroll and enjoy the views, etc.
Even though we did this walk everyday and each night into Protaras i still think The Platomare is in an excellent position, as had we been in the centre of Protaras we wouldn't have experienced the village of Pernera which although is quiet it is somewhere different and has about 3 different bays and the lovely harbour to enjoy.

The people who run and work at The Platomare are all friendly and when we asked for any help about waterparks, where to go, etc they were extremely helpful even ringing places up for us to find out opening times and prices, etc (even though we never even suggested this).
Val did a great job of her first night of quiz night and bingo (which i won....woooo hoooo) and everyone had a great laugh. The only shame is that the hotel doesn't provide more entertainment (although when i was looking at other hotels in olympic brochure around the same area, not one of the others provided entertainment either).

The room was lovely with lots of utensils, etc provided. The maids were very friendly and came every day to clean rooms and balcony, change bedding and give fresh towels, etc. The gardener/caretaker was there from 7am every day of the week and would still be seen busily working away at 8pm. The gardens and pool area was exceptionally clean as was the rest of the hotel. The hotel shop was handy for bits and bobs and reasonably priced too. You could go downstairs at 3am (as i did once) and ask at reception and they will open the shop up just for you. Nothing is too much trouble.

The games room is a little outdated although has enough to keep the kids, etc entertained (pool and ping pong tables, games machines, internet).
The hotel does snacks and meals and although we only had one snack (a massive lovely chicken burger) and one meal (one of the special 3 course meals on offer every night) i can say that it was nice, not fantastic but wasn't bad.

We've been to 14 different places abroad and never like to re-visit the same place as we like to try different places, but after visiting Cyprus cannot imagine going anywhere else now. We loved Cyprus, loved Protaras and loved The Platomare!!! :)

P.S. Hi Gill and Chris who wrote the review below! What a great bunch of people you all were (Alan & Josie too)

Malita and Keegan from Boston, Lincs.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Rose
7 years 11 months ago
never been to cyprus before ,and cant wait to go back ,me and my sister stayed at the platomore and had a great time , thank u to all the staff who were really friendly and helpfull and to val who did the bingo for the first time keep going val u did a good job. met lots of friendly people ,josie alan fom sheffield were brill .going to take my husbund next year its his kind of place well done to you all gill /chris xx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: olimpic holidays

Recommended
Peter
8 years ago
We had had a wonderful week 4* A/I in central Protaras but could not fly home due to volcanic ash cloud.
Olympic Holidays DUMPED US in this Accomadation, I asked for a better room but was told it was 2* & what did I expect?
(1)I expected a clean room without a large decaying insect in the patio door track (2)Beds, pillows and bedroom that did not smell (3) Towels that not only looked clean but were fresh as well (4)A floor that I could walk too & from the bathroom without my feet becoming filthy black (5)A toilet WITHOUT urine stains on the outside of the pan (6) A lift that worked so people didn't need to carry cases up & down three floors as we did(7) Clean sunbeds by the pool (8) Cleaners who clean everything with water & detergent & not just sweep around objects!
I have seen good reports about this property my report tells it as it was whitnessed by me, make you're own mind up. The best part was boarding our feeder coach to the airport!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Johnny Bloom
8 years 8 months ago
Lovely sea view rooms. Clean and tidy rooms. Pleasant and welcoming staff. Recommend it for people who which to spend a lifetimes experience with their families. It gets better and better every year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum