Image of Socrates ApartHotel

Socrates ApartHotel

5 of 43 hotels in Malia

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Malia, Μάλια, Malia 70007, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Laura
Great for couples
3 years 9 months ago
Perfect for couples and small families who want to chill out in a nice quiet place day or night. Walking distance to Malia strip and plenty of places to eat around the hotel. Busy parts withing 15mins walking. Hotel staff were warm and friendly very happy to help with anything. They told us about a lovely beach 10mins up the road to Stalis where the waters were clear and blue. Malia beach isn't very nice. The sun loungers in the hotel were lovely not plastic things! Will definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave.com

Hotel tip: Make sure you buy or have air conditioning when you go. A lot of great places and bars to visit within 15mins walking distance. Gets very hot alot of people tend to hire quad bikes to get around.

Recommended
Steve And Angie
8 years 8 months ago
What a fab holiday.

Hotel was clean and spotless in every area. Rooms were of good quality for Greece and were cleaned every day - new bedding and towels twice a week.
Pool area was fantastic and relaxing, never had to rush to get a sunlounger. Pool bar and food served there were superb and good value. Rena, the bar girl is great and Graham the nightshift barman a very nice guy.
The apts are ideally situated and though not in Stalis as the brochure says you are far enough away from Malia to avoid the nutters. On to the coast raod round the corner and turn right it's a 10 minute walk to Malia, turn left and you're 10 minutes walk from Stallis, which goes on and on. You are probably better getting a taxi into the heart of it (5-7 Euro). You are also just a 10 minute walk from old Malia village with it's picture post card squares and Tavernas but having said all that there are some lovely places to eat out right on your doorstep, Made in Greece and Paradise are just a few hundred yards up the road, great food at reasonable prices.

All in all the most relaxing holiday I've had for 10 years and mainly because of these wonderful apartments. We met some great people there, some of them have been many times before and will be one making a return visit very soon.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Linda-Mary & Colin
9 years 5 months ago
We cannot praise the Socrates highly enough! We had a fantastic fortnight at these apartments. The staff, all of them, worked tirelessly to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble.

The whole complex is kept in pristine condition. The rooms are spotless. The beautiful garden/pool area is cleaned every evening.

The food at the pool bar is excellent and is very reasonably priced.

Sometimes reps. can be, well, not up to scratch. Fiona, the Thomson rep. was absolutely brilliant! If she said that she would be there at a particular time, she was there! Any queries that we had she answered straight away.

All in all, we had a lovely holiday and would not hesitate to return
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Shirley And Andrew
9 years 6 months ago
This accomodation was perfectly located between Stalis and Malia although it was closer to Malia.The studios and whole of the property/grounds were kept spotless by the tireless staff. The maids always had a smile and a Kalimera for us and the rooms were cleaned everyday with towels and sheets replaced regularly.

We had a studio for 2 which was a decent size and was equiped with a 2 ring hob, microwave and kettle (no toaster). The air conditioning cost 100 Euros for 2 weeks and the safe was 25 Euros.We also had a tv and hairdryer.

Raina the girl behind the pool bar was briliant. She was often chatting to us and other guests and seemed genuinely interested in learning more about us. George, the much talked about barman has now left so we didn't have the pleasure of meeting him. The pool bar had an extensive menu and cooked food from 9.30am - 9.30pm and everything was cooked fresh by the same girl who worked around the clock. Everything we tried was lovely.

The pool scene was nice and relaxing with background music or big screen TV. The pool itself was a good size and there was never a scramble for loungers even at this time of year.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Socrates and if we were to visit the area again wouldn't hesitate to stay here a second time. Fantastic holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson/eurocypria

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
The apartments were set in beautiful well maintained grounds,in a superb location between Stalis and Malia. For studios they were a decent size, and bed linen and towels were changed regularly. No noise from outside could be heard in the apartments. The air con was a godsend in August although a bit on the steep side at a 100 euros for a fortnight. All the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful.
The pool area was spotless, with plenty of free sunloungers all day. The pool bar was open from 9.30 until 2.00 am, and served great food.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson / Eurocypria

Recommended
Dora
10 years 5 months ago
socrates lI apartments are beautiful to look at, the rooms are spacious and very clean. It has a very large pool with excellent views. The Bar and food staff are really friendly and helpful. The food was very good. Overall the apartments are clean thoughout. Maid service is every other day, the beds are changed 3 times a week. The Bar chap is so funny!! makes lovely cocktails.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Hannah Miles
10 years 8 months ago
Have just returned from the Socrates apartments and could not fault a thing, the apartments were spotlessly clean and maids came in and cleaned everyday, new towels were produced every other and the sheets were also changed on a regular basis.

We had two balconies and they had such pretty views, the pool at night was lit up and we could see the sea from our balcony.

The staff were lovely and couldnt do enough to help. Especially the bar man that gave us our fair share of free cocktails.

The pool bar served snacks and meals all day and the English breakfasts were lovely. The pool was huge! and there were plenty of sunbeds, so you didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get one.

There was mini golf also available but we didn't play as it was too hot. Apartments also have a car Park for any mopeds or cars hired.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: partner

Recommended
Steve / Angie
11 years 7 months ago
Socrates II is the best accommodation we have stayed at for location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff. We returned with friends in July 2006 after been so impressed during our stay as a couple in Sept 2005. Infact my fiancee and I have enjoyed our last 2 stays so much we have already rebooked for Sept 2007.

Rooms were cleaned daily without intrusion and bedding/towels changed on a regular basis.
Staff extremely friendly and always there to help you with any query relating to accommodation or resort.

We were made to feel extremely welcome from the first time arrived.

Excellent sized pool cleaned every day with plenty of free sunbeds. Able to sunbathe on patio around pool or on the surrounding well maintained grassed area.

Poolside bar serving very good breakfasts and meals/snacks throughout the day until late evening.

Property advertised by Thomson as being in Stalis but actually nearer to Malia but dont let this put the older generation off. Being in our forties we found the location ideal. Located on a quiet street on the Stalis/Malia border away from the hustle and bustle but within easy walking distance of beach (5min), Malia (10min approx) & Stalis (15/20min approx).

Plenty of restaurants/supermarkets/shops are less than 5mins walk away. Also local bus stops to other resorts only minutes away.

Would recommend this accommodation to families and couples of all age groups.

The only adverse comment we can make is that the air conditioning is a little bit on the expensive side
if you decide you need it. I think it was about 100 euros for a fortnight. Luckily so far we have managed without but it can get a little humid on the island during high season.

Apart from that one bad point we are unable to fault this property and believe it to be the best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed at.

We enjoy it so much we are looking forward to our third visit in as many years during Sept 2007.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum