Image of Melissa Studios Apartments

Melissa Studios Apartments

31 of 43 hotels in Malia

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars
Kyprou 21, Malia 70007, Greece

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
3 Young Girls
Hotel caters for all
8 years 6 months ago
After reading reviews we were curious about our holiday to Malia. This was out first time to the resort and were just excited to let our hair down!

We arrived at around 11.30pm so all we wanted to do was get changed and hit the local nightlife. We were greeted by the security guard and led to our rooms. As soon as we got into the room we were surprised with the size...it was huge!! There was one extra bed too! We plugged in the ipod doc and were surprised to see the security guard burst in to tell us to turn it down as there were families staying at the hotel who may be asleep. We were disappointed as we were getting changed at the time!! This wasn’t the only time our room was burst into unexpectedly.

The first morning we met the lovely bar lady who was pleased to get us whatever we needed to cure the hangovers we all had! The food was great by the way, as are the cocktails! We were also introduced to Ingrid who is the owner of the apartments. We were told that there had been a complaint made about us because of the noise the previous night (this was from the security guard by the way), we were a bit disappointed because we thought we had all came to Malia to get away from our parents etc.

One tip: do not even try to bring other people back to the apartment, we were allowed friends from home to come to our pool area (if buying food/drinks) but otherwise no one else was allowed in apartments, even if they are staying at the same hotel!!

Throughout the holiday we got to know Ingrid and all the other staff better and were in fact pleased that we had chosen a place like this to stay at as we had heard stories from other people in Malia who had been burgled etc, we knew no one could get past our security guard. We felt safe and were pleased that the hotel was just 5 mins from the strip so we could get away from things a bit. Don't get me wrong it was literally just across the road but just far enough.

We went self-catering and were impressed with the facilities, there is also a great supermarket right next door to the hotel! The rooms were kept very clean, the cleaners cannot speak English whatsoever though and do not take a hint when you do wish to have a lie in (we really weren’t bothered if out room was cleaned every day).
On the whole we really understand that they want to run a hotel which appeals to families and young groups of friends. We ended up having a lovely time, we really want to go back next year and would 100% stay here again!!


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Yorkshire Lad
9 years 5 months ago
hotel is not really that bad, and the bar staff are friendly when you are there!!! But when your gone the amount of rubbish they make up is unreal, when there i met a lass and i left before her, the bar woman made up so many stuff to tell her when i left, and dont have a clue why.

rooms got cleaned 2 times a week and the owners are very strict. not a place to go as a group, more for couples, older people ect.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: friends

The Mortimer Family
9 years 7 months ago
After reading these reviews, i wasnt looking forward to staying here. But i was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the owner, Ingrid. The room was much better than i imagined. It was very clean. The bar staff, Kathy and Christina, knew our names on the first day before even meeting us. They were more like friends than employees. We had a good long chat with them and other guests practically every day.

The apartments were in a great location, close to the town and beach but still very relaxed.

Most guests visit at least once a year, due to the friendlyness of the accommodation. George & Ingrid, the owners, would sit and talk to us, invited us all to a barbeque (free of charge [:). They treated everyone like good friends that they wanted to stay at their home with them, not just a room number.

As it was a small apartment block, we found it very safe and we could let our children walk around alone, as everyone knew everyone they would look after eachother.

The only down side was the equipment in the kitchen was very basic, we didnt even have a toaster. which we would have liked. Also the shower had no curtain so we used up half the towels drying the floor. The shower didnt even hook onto the wall so we had to hold it which was annoying.

Our rep, Hannah, was fantastic, always there to help and she wasnt only concerned about flogging excursions, she was also a friend to everybody. She text us a farewell message before we left, as she wasnt there to see us off.

To everyone complaining about not having people allowed in their room, its a family run hotel and it is their home, if people havent paid to be in your room they shouldnt be in there. Its up to George if he wants to kick them out of HIS family home.

Both my children, aged 14 and 5, would both love to stay again. Truth be told we would be gutted if we didnt stay again. We would definately recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Gemma
10 years 4 months ago
DO NOT STAY HERE! The people running this hotel ruined my holiday for me first of all n the first night me and my three girl friends asked for four diet cokes and was told she would get them when she was ready! We asked if our friends who were staying down the road could come to our room as there was 15 of us all together but all booked separatly, we were told this was fine but when she saw one of my friends boyfriends in the room she let herself in pushed him out the door and told us we was giving crete a bad name bearing in mind it was four in the afternoon, the man said whilst we were staying in hs house we would do as he said however he failed to see the fact that we had paid for our room and had asked if friends could visit and it wasn't our fault that they were so narrow minded they couldn't believe we can be friends with opposite sex's. On one occasion the gentleman let himself into our room without knocking and pulled the speakers out of the wall whilst we were all getting ready it was only 9pm and the music outside was louder than in our room we only had it as background music but we was all getting ready to go out and he didn't knock which falsed us to spend the remender of the holiday with the key in the lock incase he let himself in again! The maid floaded our bathroom by just leaving the tape running and walking out whilst we was sleeping and it went into my friends case when i confronted her she only laughed, the next morning i was woken up to be told she wanted to make my bed, she only changed the sheets twice and never washed up the plates we couldnt do it ourselves as were were not provided with even a tea towel!! My friend was shouted at in the morning on the way to the beach for talking to a boy in the hallway, i returned home from a night out to find one of the little 17 year old boys locked out his room close to tears after an argument with his friends so i let him sleep on our floor and for this me and the girls got a written warning for anti social behavior and the poor boy was made to pack his bags only then to tell him he can stay the whole purpose of this exercise was to scare the life out of him! There are more things than i can remember to put on here to tell you not to go, the maria rouse down the road was where we spent all of our time and it was much nicer the air-con actually worked and there was a real shower! I'd like you to know we are all between the ages of 21-25 and with long term partners at home the purpose of our holiday was to relax and have a dance not be spoken to like children and told that english girls are all the same!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Helen
10 years 5 months ago
I really feel that I have to add my comments to some of the reviews on this site. I stayed at the Melissa with one of my friends in July this year and we had a truly lovely holiday. We are both in our twenties and most of the guests were around the same age as us. All the owners ask for is a little respect, not just for them but for other holiday makers as well. In all the time we were there they were nothing but friendly to us, they set out the rules on the first day (which are basically not to be too rowdy). There were loads of groups of young people around the pool making noise and enjoying themselves and no one was ever told off for having fun. It was only when people were noisy in the early hours of the morning when others were asleep that they complained. In fact all of the staff were lovely and made us feel really welcome, recommending nice places to eat and having a chat when we went to the bar for lunch. The food was lovely at the pool bar and very reasonably priced.

The maid came to our room every day. She always made the beds and cleaned the bathroom. She didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Cahill
10 years 7 months ago
at this beginning of our holiday we enjoyed outselves! as you do on holiday you meet some people out there and it so happened to be people that we met them from northampton!! during the day we would go out to our room, only to get out towels to go to the beach, we would get someone knocking on our door questioning us why we had other people in out room!
On one accasion my firnd had had to much to drink and i didnt want to be on my own. just for safty reasons so one of the people that we met stayed with me until she went to sleep! then left to go it his own hotel. he prevoiusly left his quad bike out in the car park! the next morning he came to collect his quad bike and he has his helmet and keys in out room so he came to get them and then left!! not long after we had the owner knock on our door questioning us and threatening to kick us out if it happens again! at this point it was out 3rd time this has happened! so as you can understand we were getting a little annoyed! on this experience i would personally not go back to these appartments!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Amy
11 years 4 months ago
well where do i start, after reading the comments on this site i was dreading the place. i was surprised when i got ther because we cudnt have chosen a nicer place. the food was great, hotel was clean, staff were lovely,and the location was perfect. the security gard is very strict and does have a gun but he was very reasonable and looked after the us. however they dnt tollerate any noise, although me and the gurls are noisy we respected the hotel because its also ther home, we did get told off a few times too!! its a great place but next time i hope to stay closer to the beach because its a good 35 min walk away. dont let peoples comments put you off.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Emma.Natty.Kel.KG
11 years 6 months ago
Hotel was very very clean, one of the nicest weve ever stayed in!! Food at the pool bar was gorgeous!! Loads of variety to!! Location of the hotel was just right! it wasnt too far from the strip, only a two minute walking distance, however far away enough so you had a peaceful night and were away from the clubs and noise! Staff at the hotel were very friendly!!! The maid just makes you laugh she isnt as bad as everyone makes out!! Entertainment average good tunes playing all day by the pool! but entertainment was at night in the clubs and bars so you didnt need much in the day. I would definately definately visit this hotel again without a doubt!!! xxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 1st Choice

Recommended
Jonny Coxon
12 years 5 months ago
When we first arrived our room smelt of sick and there was a dirty mop still in the bathroom off the cleaner. The rooms were not cleaned on a regular basis, and on some occasions the maid refused to clean our room and gave us a bag to put rubbish into etc. The food at the hotel bar was basic but ok for snack throughout the day. The hotel was in near enough a good location, as it was just round the corner from the top of the main strip, meaning you could get some sleep when you wanted it.

There is one reason i would not return to the Melissa Appartaments and that is because of the hotel staff. Firstly, the hotel is a family run business, meaning the owners of the hotel lived on the premises and treat it like their home. George and Ingrid, the owners, did not treat us with respect or courtesy, nor did they welcome us or show any friendlines towards us. We were treat like children and forced to follow strict rules. They were miserable and sometimes became very aggressive and assertive. We were forced to pay 50 Euros for a cigarette burn we supposivley put in a sunbed. Difficult when none of us smoked. They threatened police action and then to kick us out of the hotel if we did not pay up. This was black mail.

Also, on one night, the owners decided to have their own private barbeque at the hotel bar, with their own guests including family and friends, whilst the bar was still open to guests at the hotel. This was very iggnorant and disrespectful towards the holiday makers staying with them.

The maid might as well of not been there to be honest. We stayed for 2 weeks and she only changed our bed sheets twice. As well as asking us to clean our own room on several occassions. She rudely awoke us nearly every morning beacuse she wanted to come and have a look at the room. She spent 1 or 2 minutes pondering whether she could be bothered to clean it, then left. Her equipment for cleaning the floors etc are kept in your bathroom, which is not hygenic what so ever, and whenever she did clean the floor, she left dirty water in the bucket.

One thing it does not tell you about the hotel, either in the brochure or on the internet, is that there is a security guard working from midnight until 8am. He does not let you leave your room at night, wonder around the hotel, sit outside of the hotel, and finally he does not let you bring guests back to the hotel after a night out. One night my friend was threatened by the security guards friend and was told he was disrespecting greece and threatened to kill him, claiming he had a gun.

There is no entertainment at the hotel, as the owners cannot be bothered to host to their guests. Music is played throughout the day, and thats about it entertainment wise.

In the brochure, the hotel is advertised to have Air Conditioning in every room for people staying. However, it fails to mention that this Air Conditioning is a further 200 euros per week if you wish to use it. Cunning.

It is fair to say, me or my friends would never visit this hotel ever again and we would advise any other holiday makers to malia not to visit it either. Especially if your a group of young people.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jennifer And Jessica
12 years 6 months ago
When we arrived we were not greeted in the most friendly manner. We were basically informed of a long list of things we could not do!

Throughout our stay the hotel staff continued to be rude and obnoxious towards us. The maid would come in every morning, wake us up then shout at us in greek then leave without cleaning any part of the room. She would then return with the hotel owners wife to complain about us being asleep.

The towels or bed linen were not changed in the whole week we were there which was disgusting!

We were very disappointed in the lack of entertainment provided by the hotel (basically just a cd player playing crappy old music.)

The food provided at the bar was ok, very basic though.
So much for self catering, there wasn't even a toaster!

The guard that patrolled the hotel every night was 1. The scariest person I have ever encountered and 2. Totally unnecessary because the hotel was so far away from the Malia mile that most people would never even manage to find it!

All in all we would never go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum