Image of Parthenis Palace Apartments

Parthenis Palace Apartments

21 of 43 hotels in Malia

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
3 stars
Arsinois Str., Malia 70007, Greece
The Parthenis Palace is a small apartment complex situated in a peaceful location between the resorts of Stalis and Malia. This friendly laid back property offers modern comfortable rooms in a relaxing atmosphere ideal for guests wanting a quiet base.

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robert
8 years 10 months ago
Eight guys going to Malia wanting our own beds which we requested and were assured by Thomas Cook we would have then to find we had to all share beds' were then told that air con for the week would cost 50euro.The rooms were so hot you would feel sick if you didnt pay, apartments were dingy no hot water, one little shower tray and a shower head, no curtain.

The hotel is run by the manager and his son who was aggressive, two guys staying next to me came home at 5 not loud at all and they threatend by the son with a big torch waving it like he was goin to hit them.

I wouldn't recomend this hotel or Malia. A girl got raped walking back to the apartments but the police paid no interest, constant fights, iI saw 4 people get bottled and a group of 10 kicking 1 guy.

No hotels allow you to bring people back they all have security and if you bring some1 back to your apartment 50 euros fine.

Not a nice place at all and i've done Aiya napa, Tenerife, Ibiza and had a wicked time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Joe
8 years 11 months ago
The rooms were not clean upon arrival, and staff did not apologize, rather they tell us to wait as if we were impatient. Furthermore, rooms were not cleaned for three days in a row prior to our departure.

Location is good during the day, however it is very daunting walking back to the place during the night due to the absence of lighting.

The hotel staff were not at all helpful, maybe only the bar staff were friendly. The manager did not listen care that there were problems with the condition of the rooms, and tells us to "live with it."

We were threaten by the manager and his security staff that he would call the police if we did not pay a charge for a breakage in the room which we disputed and we were advised by the rep it would be dangerous to argue. So we paid, however, we were not given a receipt of this transaction.

The only possible upside is the fact the rooms are in fairly ok in the new block, but the showers are still very poor.

The main reason I would never return to this resort is due to the threatening behaviour of security and the manager.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Rj
8 years 11 months ago
5 18 year old girls went in July. We were a bit worried after reading some reviews about what to expect of these appartments but we were pleasently surprised upon arrival!

We had two rooms on in the newest block located furthest away from the pool and bar (only about 100 meters) and another in the small villa next to the new block.
Rooms were basic and what we expected, kitchen facilities were almost non existant but this was ok as we didnt plan on cooking anyway. Bathrooms not great but liveable! Rooms were very clean and we were given clean sheets and towels every two days.

Pool area was lovely, compared to some of the others we saw ours was great! Lots of sunbeds and palm trees, musics played around the pool all day which may not be ideal for families or the older generation who want some peace and quiet! The pools and pool area is cleaned every day.

The bar staff (George and Panos) were great very friendly and helpful, seeing that we were very hungover in the mornings theyd often bring our breakfasts over to our sunbed and making us all laugh and keeping us entertained during the day! The bar food is cheap and basic but theres lots of choice (mainly English) and it was ideal for us!

Location had its good and bad points. We liked that it was situated outside of the centre of Malia because it meant we could get a decent nights sleep!..but the walk back could be a bit daunting, very dark and lots of drunks about! Also you have to walk down the main road linking Stalis and Malia, Quads,moped,cars and coaches speed down the road and with no pavements it can be quiet scary as it seems the greek wont stop for anybody! There were lots of little supermarkets on this road which were good for buying water (dont by bottled water from the hotel as its extremely expensive!) The distance also meant if one of us had enough on a night out we'd all have to walk them back to the hotel as we didnt feel safe on our own and the walk is a good 20 minutes there and back which could be quite annoying!(it is a nice walk for sobering up on your way home though)

The only negatives about the hotel are you can hear everything thats going on at night, the doors slam and are really loud so during the night all you can hear is constant banging of doors and people running around shouting/talking. There is sucurity at the hotel and if u do anything you will be woken up extremely early by a very unhappy manager!
Also the guy who runs the place (the managers son) is a little scary! very arrogant and a bit of a perv he can make you feel awkward and uneasy at times. We got to know him and by the end of the holiday he seemed ok, but i wouldnt like to get on the wrong side of him to be honest!

Malia is a good resort, Very very cheap! It was our first holiday without the parents it was a bit overwhelming and obvious that some people go over the top! we saw alot of fights and two of us got our bags stolen and we heard about alot of horrible things going on which is a shame. But if i was going to go back to Malia i'd want to return to Parthenis palace!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Stephen
9 years 8 months ago
We stayed at The Parthenis in October 2008 and were very lucky to be in Crete for a week of beautiful sunshine.

We had a bad start to the holiday when we didnt like our room because it was located in the far block in the middle of nowhere. We found it quite eery and asked to be moved rooms. The owner wasnt very helpful at all and basically said it was tough and we would have to wait for the rep to sort it the next day. We phoned the rep who said she couldnt do anything until the next day.

Luckily we got moved and were generally happy with our rooms.

We booked the holiday because it was cheap and as they say you get what you pay for. We had no TV, no cooking facilities ie no oven. There was a little stove like thing that looked very mancky!

We asked about air con to be told it would cost 50 euros for a week! This in my opinion is a joke. Every night we were very hot in the room but i refused to pay such a high price for extra comfort.

The location is good in that it is smack bang in the middle of Stalis and Malia. The problem we had is that it is also smack bang in the middle of a deserted street that at night has no lighting so it can be quite intimidating walking back to the hotel at night. We opted for taxis after the first night.

Overall we had a good holiday but personally i wouldnt go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Lynn
9 years 10 months ago
I have put that we wouldn't stay in these apartments again, but that is really a maybe - dependant on the time of year. We were told that it was a family oriented hotel in between Malia & Stalis, which is is however, what Thomas Cook don't tell you is that they also allow LARGE parties 10 + of 18 - 30 holidaymakers who are only there to get drunk, come in at all hours and create a lot of mess and noise. It is my view that this is the reason that the apartments have not been updated / repaired and that cleanliness in the apartments leaves something to be desired. Our experience was that t could be 3 or more days between bathroom bins being emptied, which in the heat in Greece is not at all hygienic. Similarly bed linen and towels had to be virtually asked for (supposedly cleaned x2 ev wk - that was a laugh!)
The staff were fantastic especially Mike behind the bar every night and Maria and her team in the day. Very pleasant. The pool is fantastic - very clean. However days around the pool listening to the escapades of the young (not quiet) punctuated by strong language is not my idea of a place where young children should be.
Thomas Cook need to decide how they want to market this property and if they want to fill it with rowdy 18 - 30 yr olds then other people like us should be warned at the outset.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Sam
9 years 11 months ago
We stayed in the parthenis palace in the beginning of july and on arrival we was surprised how nice the apartments were as they were so close to the strip in malia. Perfect walk for the nightlife only a 5-10 minute stroll so no need for a cab.
our apartments were the block at the back rather thean the block over looking the pool and after seeing the pool view apartments ours seemed in better condition and newer.
we was always able to get a sunbed around the pool but this was probably because everybody wakes up in the afternoon.
during the peak summer months i would definitely recommend to the young.
the two downsides were the air conditioning didn't seem to be very cold, and there weren't many restaurants close by. the food at the snack bar was ok but did get boring. would recommend the red lion on the strip!
would definitely go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Kim
10 years 2 months ago
Me and my boyfriend had an amazing time at Parthenis Palace we met two other couples who were lovely and the hotel was just dead good.

The full English was boss especially because it was my birthday and we got quite drunk and needed it badly and Michael behind the bar was lovely except he still owes me birthday cake!

The room was lovely and clean the only bad thing was having to check out of our rrom early and leave our luggage out by the pool and the communal toilets werent very nice.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Carly
10 years 10 months ago
parthenis palace is a great place to stay. once we arrived after having a 6 hour delay at the airport all we needed was a rubbish hotel. but arriving at parthenis palace we knew it would make up for the rubbish flight.

we stayed in the back block of apartments which were very clean and cleaned 3 times in the week.

the apartments not really well equipped for self catering but as we ate out every night that was not an issue for us.

the location was brilliant, with just a short walk to the beach and to the strip for a night out.

i would definately visit this hotel again as i had a brilliant holiday and wished i'd stayed longer. me and my 8 friends made great friends with the rep and yiannis behind the bar. yiannis often became dennis when we were drunk and couldn't remember his name!!!

also security was very good, making sure you were quiet when coming in from a night out.

overall a 10/10 holiday!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Becky
10 years 11 months ago
me and my friends stayed in pathenis palace for two weeks in the summer. it was a lovely hotel. we stayed in the apartment blocks at the front beside the bar. the pool was always clean and free from rubbish, the staff were amazing made the holiday so good. it was out the way of the main strip so it was nice and quiet. only a 5 minute walk to the main strip and the beach. the apartments were cleaned three times a week.

i would definitely go back again and i would recommend it to anyone =D
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Angela
11 years ago
The cleaners came round every other day to change towels and make the beds, not convinced the floor was mopped very often though.

We were self catering and not at all impressed with the facilities, a kettle and a 2 ring hob, could only really cook pasta! Not even toast for breakfast!

The pool and bar were really nice, clean and relaxing.
Unfortunatly our apartment was broken into while we were out, loads of things were taken including our passports, the staff did not help us at all, didn't even offer to let us use the phone.

This is why we would not return. Great while everything was going ok but a different story when things went wrong.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travelvalue

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum