Image of Villa Mare Monte Studios & Apartments

Villa Mare Monte Studios & Apartments

33 of 43 hotels in Malia

3 out of 5 from 31 reviews
3 stars
Kondylaki 2, Malia 70007, Greece
Mare Monte is recommended for families and couples and those wishing to savour the traditional village atmosphere of Old Malia.

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    7

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lauren
All needs were met!
8 years 4 months ago
We were a group of 5 young girls (18-21) arrived at the hotel around 1.00am and was greeted by a member of staff. Hotel staff were always very polite, helpful and always up for a chat.

The hotel rooms are basic, but very clean. The rooms get cleaned every day, and if you’re lucky, your Pj's will get designed nicely!! Hotel surroundings were very clean.
As it was self-catering, food bought from the bar was nice! Also, cocktails were lovely.

There is a BBQ once a week, which i strongly recommend you attend as for 15euros is a bargain for the amount of food you can have.

The hotel is at the top of hill, as were very young it was no problem walking up and down it but if you’re getting into Malia town at night a taxi would be recommended as it is very dark and there are no street lamps on the hill, which is a little scary!

All members of the hotel staff were absolutely amazing, no complaints at all!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Natalie
I would strongly recommend this to everyone.
8 years 5 months ago
The hotel cleanliness is very good, the cleaner lady cleans the rooms every day (most cleaners don't).

The food is very good and reasonably priced. You can see them making the food in the kitchen.

The location is up in the middle of nowhere, which is excellent for family's as you can't hear anything at night so you can get to sleep easily. The nearest shops are about 10 minutes away down a normal sized hill. As you pass down the road you will see banana trees inside a green house thing.

The staff are so kind and friendly but do get a little angry at night if you are loud but apart from that they make you feel like part of the family and nothing is a bother for them.

Koula has a BBQ every Friday night adults - 15 euros and under 12's free. It is amazing.

I would strongly recommend this to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Helen Moore
9 years 3 months ago
Just got back from Mare Momte self catering with all you need, nice size room comfy beds, regularly cleaned with fresh towells and bed linen. Had nice size balcony with sea view with surrounding mountians, joyful view watching goats in morning. Staff at Mare Monte very welcoming friendly and helpful. No entertainment but poolside bar staff has wide range music all tastes and laugh to be with. Around poolside snacks avaible pooltable Tv selection games nice size pool with great scenery. Wednesday night is BBQ night that cannot be missed generous helping of salads, selction of meat & local dishes to try. Beaches are lovely more so the little ones locals use, (you'll have to find tham). Sun beds and parasols tend to vary in price. All round Malia was a lovely place to visit especially local tavernas and the staff at Mare Monte that will be bringing us back as they made our stay feel like we belong.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first chioce

Recommended
Humm
9 years 3 months ago
well we was there for 2 weeks, and i don't think i'd be going back, we were treated like rubbish from the moment we go there by one member of staff in particular...

the snack bar made me laugh with the prices....5 euros for half a strongbow and 5 euros for a cheese and ham toastie and side salad, which consisted of 1 slice of cucumber half and 1 half slice of tomato..

we were asked to attend a barbecue on the second week after they'd been rude to us and because we were going home the next day and decided on a early night we over heard the staff slagging us off while we were sat around the pool when we'd done nothing but be polite...

we went self catering which consisted of 2 hotplates with a slit in the wire so every time we cooked the wires sparked and our apartment was infested with ants every morning we were waking up with ants in our bed, all over the kitchen all over the bathroom, once we told them about they told us we should have kept our suitcases of the floor.

we were told we only 5 minutes away from a local supermarket we were nearly half a hour away and to get to the beach it took us over an hour..

i don't know how they can it a 3 star hotel.. overall not impressed
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Tom
9 years 6 months ago
just got back from malia, and what a time i had. The rooms were easily big enough, bathroom great, everything in kitchen that u would need, beds comfortable, pool just the right size and the staff were amazing, the hill was big but managable sober or drunk. The security was helpfull but strictfood and drink from the pool bar was good, i had an amazing time and met some great people.

The holiday was unbelievable and we all are looking to go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Simon
9 years 6 months ago
We stayed at Villa Mare Monte which was a bit of a trek through the Old Town and up the hill. It probably took us about 20-25 minutes walk from the villa to the strip but we think it worth that for the views, the quiet and the natural barrier this provided against the chavs and the burger wrappers.

Our rooms, although right next to the owners were a comfortable size. You had a main room when you came through the door which had two single beds/sofas, table and chairs and a kitchen area with a two ring electric hob, a fridge (with ice box) and plates, cutlery and pots for 4.

There was an archway through to the rear bedroom with a shower room off this short corridor. The toilet was fine, though like all of Crete you need to be mindful of not throwing paper down the toilet. It goes in a waste bin beside the toilet. The shower was a good size, with good power though it didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Chris
10 years 3 months ago
The apartment was clean, tidy and easily large enough for three guests. It did lack air conditioning but this wasn't a problem because it never got overly hot inside, despite the excellent weather.

There was a small hob, plates and cups, etc, although these didn't get used. The compressor in the fridge appeared to be broken (it made a loud knocking sound when switched on). We reported this to the woman at the pool bar, and after returning from a night out found that someone had got it working properly (or replaced it, we're not really sure, but knew we had a working fridge).

There were alot of ants around outside. On one occasion I sprayed a trail of ants with anti-insect spray because they were coming into the room. The occasional ant was also seen in the shower, but three people taking regular showers took care of that. Overall, ants were not a problem.

The location of the apartments wasn't ideal, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who doesn't like walking. The hill was fairly steep and would leave me breathing hard if I was carrying a six-pack of water from the supermarket at the bottom. The other lads reckoned it was a trek zig-zagging up from Malia at 5am!

While not perfect for people seeking the nightlife, its was far from the hussle and bustle. I can't see a problem with people staying here and returning in the early hours - the guy on security never once had a problem with us returning late. And if you don't want to walk up the hill it is easy enough to get a taxi for 7 euros.

The pool area was tidy, with plenty of sunloungers to go around. There was a ban on diving into the pool (the sign stated European Regulations) but this didn't seem strictly enforced as long as we weren't being too boisterous.

The pool bar seemed a little expensive. I suspect a combination of lack of alternatives nearby and the poor exchange rate caused this. A full english breakfast was 5 euros, a small bottle of water 2 euros (we openly drank the stuff from the supermarket without a problem), beans on toast was 4 euros and a pot of tea 2 euros. Beers and cocktails were also available.

The only problem we had was on the final day. Having paid 10 euros each to keep our room on until 8pm instead of the usual vacation time of midday, we got a knock at the door at 11.40am saying we should be ready to move into another room. A maid and then a duty manager told us that the woman that we booked the extension with had told us we had to move to another room - she hadn't. Discussions continued until I pointed out to the female manager that I'd nothing on under my bed sheet so the sooner she goes the sooner we can pack. We did this and moved into another three-bed room that was smaller but okay for the duration of our extension. We managed to barter an extra hour extension, and when I caught up with the woman we'd booked with later she said that she herself hadn't realised we'd got to move at the time.

Overall, that was the only problem during our stay, and I'd be happy to stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Carol
10 years 4 months ago
we really enjoyed our holiday here it was great the rooms were clean the food was great the staff was freindly,my children loved it the pool was really clean met loads ov nice people.it is a bit of a trek to malia or stallios but stallios is the more family place to take kids.i hope to go back real soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompson/first choice

Recommended
Gemma Gates
10 years 4 months ago
Where do i start? My friends and I had an abslutely fabulous time and are longing to go back. We were a bit juvious about the apparent "enourmous" hill, going into Malia town that we read from reviews, as none of us are walkers... espcially in heels after a night out!! However this is nonsense, to be fair there is a hill, but if we could manage it, anyone can! It was always a nice end to the evening, catching up on the girls gossip. I will admitt some nights we were not up for it, however a taxi only cost 6 euros (nothing split between the group)!! The hotel staff were just lovely, really added to the holiday experience and made no complaints about our late arrivals at night. The beach in the day, was beyond satisfactory especially after a night out yet had lots to do. We met so many young people in Malia and are desperate to return, so anyone going next year seeee ya :) Acutally can't wait xx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Unkown
10 years 5 months ago
appartments were ok, but it was a track to the town, walking up and down the hill was a mission!!! You couldnt bring your own water or food around the pool, which was a pain! You cant play music in your room which was no fun! when we came in from a night out we had to be soo quiet or you will get a warning, we even got told off because are heels were makin too much noise!! not a place to stay with a group of girls or lads, nice for couples tho! If you like the hills and goats u will be in the great place!lol
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum