Image of Frixos Star Hotel & Apartments

Frixos Star Hotel & Apartments

29 of 43 hotels in Malia

3 out of 5 from 18 reviews
2 stars
Malia, Μάλια, Malia 70007, Greece

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr And Mrs Billings
Lively, But very friendly
3 years 2 months ago
All the rooms are clean and appropriately sized. The staff are friendly and make you feel very welcome, as if you are part of the family. Nicos is brilliant, he could not be more helpful and ensured that our stay was one to remember.

The pool area was kept clean and tidy, the barman (James) during the day, was second to none, with advice on where to go, what to do and where to eat.

Fantastic views of the sea and hills, brilliant setting and on the whole quiet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Hotel tip: Most rooms have pool views. Visit Taverna Odas in the old town and The House on the main strip is brilliant for any time of the day.

Recommended
Ash
9 years 10 months ago
There were 8 of us staying, 4 each in rooms 12 and 10(I was in 10- we ran to it when we knew we were getting them since 12 is apparently haunted!)

Our room was quite dark through in kitchen area and there was a few kirbies and some hair from the people who had been there before. The shower was a hit or miss for hot water, i think we had to shower before 7.30pm if we were heading out to have a warm one.

The main bedroom was nice enough though and a nice little balcony which overlooked the pool bar area.

Good distance from the strip as u dont get any noise (apart from the clubland style beats constantly blasting out through the day at the pool) and if you find the frixos pool too busy (which is often was) just head down to the olympic hotel down the rd a lil bit- its lovely and way more chilled out and has better food. (Its free as long as u have something to eat or drink kinda thing). We went there most days after discovering it!

Im not scared of ghosts and was pretty laid back about the whole thing but still wanted room 10 rather than 12. Thing is though even though we were fine that our room was 'ghostie free' we had a few odd things. One girl kept seeing a woman at the end of her bed. (She was in the bedroom the first week- we swapped rooms the second week). When me and my friend moved into the bedroom the second week my friend who slept in the same bed as the other girl did kept waking up screaming, and I had to wake her up and calm her down. She also jumped out her bed at one point cuz she saw something. I just made jokes about it to try calm evry1 down and forget about it kinda thing but on the first night we were in the bedroom room I woke up and I couldnt move. Something was holding me down and I couldnt scream for help or move and it was horrible! I felt like I was suffocating and dizzy and felt like there was something on top of me. And no we werent 'wasted' when it happened, wish i had been! lol

Me and my friend still stayed in that bedroom (didnt want to go back to the horrible dark kitchen/bedroom bit!) and just made a joke of it and nothing else happened. So watch out for room 10- unless they swapped the numbers of the rooms cuz the girls in room 12 had no problems at all!xx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Smith
10 years ago
Me and a Freind from home went to the resort and it was lovely, hot weather and sun!!! good clubs and livily nightlife.

the food was poor, it was ok when you rock up at 8 or 9 in the morning with the drunken muchies, you can have a slice of toast and some butter.

the staff were lovely, george the bar man gives you free shots, sometimes there a bit like mouthwash, but there free so what the hell.

Be careful, we were fined 40 euro's for a bed sheet!

i wouldn't go back to the hotel purly because i would want to see different hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first chocie

Jo
10 years ago
My friend and I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks but would definately not go back! The location is ok as it is at the top of the Strip but you only get to the strip after going down a creepy back alley way.

We had a nice balcony but it overlooked the other hotels pool who constantly had loud music playing. Did not enjoy waking up to Katie Melua!

We got Bed and Breakfast but only had it once as there were ants crawling over everything!

Most of the staff were friendly but some made us feel very unwelcome. the pool was too crowded but there are others around that let anyone in so its not too bad.

The beach is a long walk away, too long for the heat in june!

the shower doesnt work! for the whole two weeks you either got blistering hot water or freezing cold water, very unpleasant!

the hotel is ok if your not going to be in it much but i would definately not go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Claire Jason Danielle Luke Brian
11 years ago
Having been to this hotel for the past 11 years we cant find anything wrong, Nikos, Maria and the staff will do anything to help you.

The food is good, the location is perfect as you are only a short distance from the nightlife so you will still be able to sleep without the noise if you wish!

Malia is full of entertainment so you don't need this in the hotel which gives you the option for the relaxing night at the pool bar if you can't handle the crazy nightlife in the centre.

Already booked for the 12th time in June 08.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Lou&anita
11 years 9 months ago
We stayed at Frixos in Malia, we have the best holidays.

We have been going to this hotel for 7 years now, we love the people there they are really welcoming, pool area is always clean, plenty to eat and drink,our room is always being cleaned we can find no problems at all at frixos.

Looking forward to our holiday there next September.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Gillian
11 years 10 months ago
We absoloutely loved The Frixos it was great!!
The staff were great and did there best to help if you needed anything!

We were self catering and our room was great it was cleaned regulary. Our balcony was huge we had a big massive one then a small one it was great! so if your going over aim for room 20 its fab!

I will definitely return to the Frixos made some great friends and had a wicked holiday, the only thing i will say is the food is not great at the pool bar but really that would be my only complaint.

Our rep was Lyndsey she was great made our holiday fun filled.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Clare,claire,rach & Liz
11 years 10 months ago
Four of us (all girls) went to Malia for a 2 week holiday. After reading up on reviews we were not suprised by how basic the apartments were. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, and the food was reasonable.

We experienced freaky things going on in our apartment, from 2 of the girls seeing figures to 2 out of the 4 of us feeling like they were being pinned down in their sleep.......weird! It got to 2 of us that much that we slept on the beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Tony
12 years 10 months ago
The Frixo's hotel is a very nice basic hotel which was what we expected everyone was friendly the barman was excellent but the old lady was a bit weird!

The atmosphere between the guests was great especially the Bath girls in room 2 (and sleeping boy).

If I was to go to this hotel again I wouldn't be as loud to the security when coming in, brake anything or leave playing cards on the balcony because girls from Bath steal them!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Caz,chelle
13 years ago
Im sorry but are we the only people not to have liked this hotel, There was no air conditioning, no fridge, we were told to be quiet,Im sorry but I was utterly shocked with this hotel and to be honest would never return.

We actually came back a week early and cut our holiday short. The only good thing about it was it was central and the pool area was nice. The room was small also. I was really dissapointed with malia and wouldnt ever return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum