Image of Ibiscus Studios Apartments

Ibiscus Studios Apartments

1 of 43 hotels in Malia

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
Malia, Crete, Greece

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 5 months ago
Just got back from staying here for 2 weeks in Room Only. I knew before I arrived that the main hotel rooms were across the road from the Pool area, so this didn't bother me that much.

The room I stayed in, literally in one room where we slept had; fridge, kettle, 2 beds, small storage area. The bathroom was OK but I wouldn't say it was one of the cleanest. The shower curtain was ripped and yellow from the looks of things it was years of dirt, the shower would leak every time but it wasn't really an issue as there is a grid type thing on the floor, the water taps which are the shower and sink literally dribbled so it would take you 10 times longer than usual, oh and the hot taps were as hot as boiled kettle water, and the cold were warm.

The only main issue we really had was the Maid, she would come to change the bins whenever she felt like it, whether this was everyday or every 3 days which did become minging as you can't flush your toilet paper in Greece. We also only had our bed linen changed once within our 2 week stay.

She would occasionally come in and attempt to clean the floor by walking through the room with a dirty brown mop. I got used to everything after a few days as you're never really in your rooms because it is so hot and you just want to be outside.

We never really got much sleep either and when we did we would either get woken by the bin men coming at 6am, people banging on your door or arguing with each other, strange drilling noises from above or music. But that's what to expect at a Club 18-30 hotel. We had our own "security" guys if that's what you want to call it.
Food:
Location:
Kellogg
8 years 5 months ago
the hotel wasnt so bad itself, the room was o; very basic but thats what we expected although the bedding only got changed once which was quite bad to say we ws there for two weeks and we only got a new towel once. the pool area was nice it had a very good atmosphere, the food was ok but i would have rather walked down the strip to get something to eat as it was cheaper to do so.
all of the staff were nice except the old man with his stick and the night time security guard who constantly shouts at you if you make any noise on your balcony and he also doesnt let you have your music on. if you went into anybody elses room or if anyone came into yours he would make them leave and tell you to go to bed which i dont think is acceptable considering its an 18-30s hotel, he also just stares at you all the time which i found a bit creepy! apart from him i thought the hotel wasnt too bad
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Frances
8 years 5 months ago
After reading these reviews me and my friends were kinda worries about staying here.

the Ibiscus studios is amazing we had some crack here and would deffo stay here again everyone is so so nice, so clean the pool area is brilliant and the wee dogs wee mufffin awww haha...

brilliant brilliant brillant :) :)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
The hotel was very basic, but thats what we expected for 2 star club 18-30. It was no where near as bad as some of the reviews i've read. Yes it was basic and the decor was very old fashioned but it was clean and tidy.
You couldnt really cook with the facilities as we had very little cutlery or cookware but we didnt expect to cook. The only down side was that we only got 1 glass cup but we easily borrowed another from our friends room.
The beds were fine, basic sheets and quite a firm mattress.
The bathroom was ok, very basic hand-held shower with a hook on the wall. You need to get a shower before 7pm or you face getting a cold shower when the hot water runs out.
The air con was 40euros but well worth it as it was very good and got cold quickly. The safe was 15euros but again worth it to keep your valuables safe.
The best part of the hotel was the pool, it was a nice sized pool with a deep middle, plenty of sun-beds some of which where very new.
The food at the pool bar was very tasty and well priced. You could'nt drink your own drinks there but a 750ml bottle of water was only 1euro so we didnt complain.
The hotel has 2 cute little dogs that run around and there very friendly.
The people i met who worked there were really friendly and helpful, it looks as though the place is family run.
The only problem we had was there was a few ants in our apartment but i brought ant-spray with me as i've had this before, the fact that hot water runs out quite soon around 7pm, and the noise from other guests but thats what we expected from 18-30 you dont get much sleep.
The hotel is a 5-10mins walk from the main strip, but its a nice distance so you can sleep at night away from the noise. there are quite a few restaurants and bars around the hotel. the beach is about a 20mins walk.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: 18-30

Recommended
-
9 years 4 months ago
where do i start, the hotel was absolute shocking, really basic, blood on the shower curtain, electric was on and off, toilet wouldnt work somtimes, no hot water for a shower, air con cos 40 euros and safe cost 15 euros, pool area wasnt the best, you arnt allowed to bring your own food and drink to the pool. i went for a week but came back after 2 days its that bad.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Holl
9 years 4 months ago
When we arrived at the hotel we were a bit gutted the pool was over the road, but once we got there we loved every minute of it!! The food was lovely and wasn't pricey and the staff were brilliant. The only thing i could complain about was the shower flooding everytime it was used, but thats to be expected in malia with the small drains.
The hotel is around a 5 minute walk from the heart of the strip so its not too loud when you want to sleep, but you will be told to turn your music off if its after 12am.
We would deffinately come back to this hotel!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: 18-30

Recommended
H.S
9 years 11 months ago
i will tell you what, and that is COR! fantastic hotel mates. it was fun. call me a cat on sunday if i didnt have the best time ever. top notch.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Pud
10 years 5 months ago
They must have changed things since last year and the other review.
There is now air conditioning available,and the bins and rubbish get cleaned everyday. there was no mess anywhere round the hotel, they seemed to have took pride in the cleanliness. owner and sons(bar workers) were very friendly and occasionally dished out cheap special sambuccas. even got to taste the owners made own alchohol which was the strongest thing ive probly touched.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Where do we start?
When we arrived the hotel looked fairly nice and clean. Little did we know this would not last long!

On the first night somebody was sick in the hallway. It took them 3 days to clean it up!

We were there for two weeks and had our bed linen and towels changed once.

The hotel had no air conditioning which, considering we were there during a heat wave, was hell on earth. The best they could come up with was a fan that didn't work properly and cost 20 euros to hire per week.

The pool area had a good atmosphere and they would play your music if you asked but don't try and bring in your own food and drink. Not even a bottle of water. If you do then you'll have the owner to answer to and he is a bit of a nutter.

Finally, be prepared to eat out all the time. The cooking facilities were minging!

To be fair they didn't mind us partying all night and making a lot of noise. We could pretty much do what we wanted when we wanted (except eat our own food near the pool).

All in all, the only thing that made this hotel bearable were the other people staying there. Proper banter!!!
Don't think we'll be going back to ibiscus any time soon though!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum