Image of Dionysos Hotel

Dionysos Hotel

10 of 43 hotels in Malia

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
2 stars
Dimokratias 74, Malia 70007, Greece
In a great location right in the middle of Malia, the Dionyssos Studios enables you to be right where it's happening. The pool/ bar & sun terrace is where everyone catches up on the gossip from the night before whilst you bronze yourself.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Shaun Gaskell
9 years 6 months ago
This is the second time ive stayed at this hotel in three years. The rooms are basis but really clean. Maids cleaned & changed towels everyday. The hotel is in the middle of the strip & 5 mins walk to the beach. Air-con & safety deposit box cost us around 50 euros for the week. Maria on reception is really nice & friendly. She`ll do anything to help you out if she can. I would definatly go back to this hotel for a third time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olyimpic

Recommended
Danielle
9 years 7 months ago
I stayed at the dioynssos in Malia in July 2008 , it was fantastic. The hotel is perfect location on the strip, I thought it may of been a little noisy but didnt here a thing! The staff are fantastic and will do anything for you!! Def off back next year! Malia is brilliant, it has everthing you want for a lively holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Jo McGoldrick
10 years 8 months ago
Have only been back 4 hrs and had to write a review! This hotel was truely amazing! I have had the best holiday that i can remember, due to the wonderful staff who couldn't do enough for you. Maria and Pedro I miss you already, these are two brilliant people who really exceed all your expectations.

As for the hotel, any photos you see don't credit this goregous hotel enough! A recent refurb has turned it into a modern, classy hotel situated right in the center, close enough to all the action in the evening with it's own busy bar and 5 mins to the beach and water park during the day. One gigantic plus whcih they don't seem to advertise and we were so grateful for, was double glazed windows. so a peaceful nights sleep whatever the hour!! I always felt safe as there was always a member of staff around, and the CCTV was so discreet you forget it's there (not that it was ever required but it's nice to know theres someone watching out for you if ever needed)

Rooms were lovely and spacious each with private balcony. Self catering equipment provided us with everything we needed, but there were so many fabulous restaurants we barely ate in. You must go to the red lion (fresh, homecooked meals, huge portions) espcially the sunday carvery! Also for something a little more special the brasserie which has great staff and the best wine list in crete!

Please do not hesitate booking this hotel it is suitable for everyone. I'm going back for sure and taking all my friends so they can see just how fab this hotel really is
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Hannah, Emma, Olivia, Kirstie And Louise
11 years 7 months ago
This hotel was perfect for a group of girls just wanting to have a brilliant time in Malia.

I strongly disagree with some of the comments made about the hotel on this website, as we didn't find anything wrong with it. We had very large, clean rooms, great entertainment on in the bar, very friendly staff - especially Maria, and the hotel itself is situated right on the main strip with all the bars! It's also only a 5 minute walk to the beach.

We would definitely come and stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Victoria
11 years 8 months ago
This hotel is the perfect place to be. It is located in the middle of the night life and not far from the beach.

The staff are great, I really don't agree with some of the comments on this page, but honestly, this hotel is great, yeah theres a 30 euros payment if you want to bring people back... so what? they are strict for your own protection,

The reception lady is very friendly and helps with any problems. The bar is brilliant, great music, great atmosphere, if your looking for a good time holiday, dionyssos is the way to go.

I'm going again next year!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Dee
12 years 6 months ago
This hotel is the unfriendliest prison I have ever been in. Friends staying in other apartments were not allowed to even call or come in for a drink of tea in the day without being threatened with a 30 euro charge.

A lot of the staff were unfriendly ignorant and seemed to hate their own jobs, not a nice atmosphere at all. Plus the bar that is in front of it has 16 year old girls gyrating their bits on top of the bars (very dangerously only holding on to the ceiling, health and safety, I wonder if there covered if they fall and damage themselves permanently) I hope so for there sakes but you can't help but have to walk through the tacky seedy bar.

I am no prude but some things there is a time and a place and coming in from evening dinner is not the time for that seedy stuff.

We all hated the hotel have never been in one as bad.

Malia itself is seedy but the beach is lovely and the resort is busy with plenty to do. Apart from the gypsy's who pick pocket and steal of all the young drunk lads (seen it 4 times in the week we stayed there) and the women beg in the middle of the road with babies, bikes going up and down and they sit in the road begging with babies at one in the morning until seven. We saw them get a taxi at that time with young babies and kids.

Girls as young as 4 lap dancing for drunk lads? something needs to be done..

I also got a lovely taxi driver who decided he show me his personal bits... but I knew the police wouldn't believe me so didn't report it... just girls be very careful the Greek men think all English girls are loose.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: twentys

Bonnie
12 years 7 months ago
I loved staying at this hotel. Simply because its based right in the middle of Malia. I also found that we had some really good flat mates!

I agree that the hotel staff were like prison officers, but when you are drunk 24/7 you get over that and just laugh. Despite all their moaning and constant observation of their 24 hour camera... they new every move any person made.

I would still go back and stay at this apartment undoubtedly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2wentys

Recommended
Kerry,Jenni,laura,Carla,ang And Paula
13 years 5 months ago
We went to these apartments with open mind with reading other reviews before we went. We were really surprised that what a great place it was! The rooms were quite basic but didn't mind as we only went in there to sleep!

The people were really friendly especially Jimmy who just kept wandering about didn't know exactly what he did!

The apartments were situated virtually in the middle of everything which when you crawl in from a night out was really useful!

They did food downstairs in the Babylon bar which was absolutely spot on! The fry ups were lovely.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2wentys

Recommended
Claire
13 years 7 months ago
This has to be the best holiday I have had I ages!!!!!

The hotel is in a great location and seemed to have a collection of the best people in Malia staying there.
We spent the days around the fantastic pool area drinking cold beers, in the evening we drank mostly in the bar attached to the hotel. The drinks were really reasonable and some wicked cocktails were consumed - oh my poor head!!!!

We found most of Malia's coolest people were in the bar at some point in the evening and with the vodka bunnies I can
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2wentys

Recommended
Lynn From Glasgow
13 years 8 months ago
Apartments very small and basic but clean and right in the middle of everything - Great location!!!

The bar attached to the apts very good and lively, dj was great and bar was always busy. Food was really good priced and tasty.

Reception staff not very nice on last day was charged for several items they claim we used from the mini bar, which we did not use at all. It was really a no win situation and the money was deducted anyway from our 50eu deposit. If you are in these apts I'd advise to take all items from the mini-bar down to the reception on day of arrival as after speaking to other guest's we found they had all been charged for items they also hadn't used.

Another warning should you wish to take a visitor back it will cost you 30eu.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 2wenties First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum