Image of Elvira Hotel

Elvira Hotel

36 of 39 hotels in Stalis

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
126 Irinis 700 14, Crete, Greece

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr Ralph
8 years 7 months ago
After reading various reports about this Hotel we arrived in resort thinking this is going to be the Holiday from Hell... No one there to greet us - well it was 4am in the morning ...

But how wrong we were - As a family run Hotel some things seem a bit strange but nothing that the experienced traveller has not seen before.

The Room = Ok it was on the small side but everything was clean and cleaned on a daily basis... The shower worked the loo worked and we had electric .. Beds were comfy and the doors locked.
Air conditioning was available for a fee of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Kev
9 years 5 months ago
Arrived on the 9th of September could'nt wait to leave on the 23rd.We arrived in the early hours,no one in reception.We had to find our own rooms(key left in the door) The first thing i did was go to the toilet,what a mess it was,black around the bottom.It did get cleaned but what a first impression.
The bed linen was grey with holes and tears and the towels were grey also. The breakfast was continenal which would have been ok if the coffee had'nt been just warm and weak (we had two breakfast to see if it improved,it did'nt ,so we ate out, more exspence.).
The beds are very hard and i dont know what they stuffed the pillows with, they were lumpy. Needless to say i will not be useing this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: olympic

Barry Clarke
9 years 5 months ago
we go to greece twice a year so we can appreciate how basic hotels there are , however this one is basic in the extreme . bed linen was laundered though grey in colour with tears in though they were changed once in the two weeks we were there . towels were a matching colour the shower mat got to be the colour of the road outside and never got changed the pillows were as hard as bricks and gave you an headache with the pressure of laying on them , the slats fell out the bottom continually one young couple actually got charged 50 euro's for breaking thiers the owner although losing her husband earlier this year was as welcoming as the landlady at the bella vista that del boy and rodney stayed at in fools and horses the pool was very pleasant despite the problem with the filters , but the worst thing was the embarrassment of having to ask for a replacement toilet roll whenever you wanted one in front of every body which she would get from a locked cupboard would definately visit stalis again but a change of hotel would be essential.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Andy Kilford
9 years 7 months ago
Well, as we were both very tired when we arrived we didn't pay much attention to the hotel as all i wanted to do was go to bed. Although first impressions wern't great. As you pull up to the hotel it looks pretty s**t but once inside and once you've gained a full view of the hotel it is not that bad. People who run the hotel are a friendly greek family with all intentions to make your holiday as good as possible. Very helpful and the lady "CAN" speak english, for example if we ever wanted a cab into malia she was more than happy to book it for us. It is situated right on top of a main road which doesn't really bother me or my girlfriend but it may bother others. The sound is not that bad. The rooms are extremely basic but what can you expect for the money paid and greek standards. 2 x single beds, small wardrobe, little bedside cabinet and a desk. Your not in the room as much as you think so its not a big deal. The pool and cafe/bar area is clean and food is OK. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and only ate the breakfast twice. It consisted of cake bread but changed everyday (bacon rolls etc are available)i was asleep when it was being served most days. We just went down into stalis town centre and had a full english for 5 euros a head each day. The drinks and food are pretty cheap in the hotel though. Rumours on previous reports of this hotel is that the room didnt get cleaned. Our room was cleaned every day with exception of one day but this was because we were in bed when the maid arrived. So it was our fault. Altough the sheets wernt cleaned all week. Unless you dribble in your sleep its not a huge problem. Air conditioning, safety deposit boxes and a fridge are extras and are paid for on arrival.

Air Conditioning - $40 Euros Per Week
Fridge - $20 Euros Per Week
Safety Deposit Box - $10 Euros Per Week

I advise you purchase all of these. Do not brave it without air conditioning, you will end up not sleeping or becoming very uncomfortable.

The pool was clean and a laugh. Many other people who stayed in the hotel with us didnt have any major complaints and neither did we. I would give the hotel a 3/5.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Paul & Pat
10 years 8 months ago
Elvira hotel is run by an older Greek couple who do not appear to speak English although they are very friendly.

They understand when requesting money for any extras i.e. safety deposit box, air conditioning, or fan, or extending room time.

Rooms are basic but reasonably clean, the plumbing needs attention not enough cold water at times making showering dangerous, also toilet floor seemed to flood due to inadequate drainage.

Noisy at night due to traffic on nearby main road. breakfast was a piece of fruit cake with boiled ham.

Would not stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: olympic holidays

Sammy
11 years 5 months ago
The four of us stayed at Hotel Elvira in Stalis for 11 nights. It was in a really good location less than 5 minutes to the beach.

The pool area was really nice with a snack bar but that is as far as it went, there were no Greek nights or BBQ's like the brochure said.

The rooms are very basic, our friends got a room with a balcony facing a wall. The rooms are cleaned a few times a week but not to my standard. The bathroom was tiny we all had trouble trying to get a shower, we had get our showerhead replaced even then the water just trickled out and it was either boiling hot or freezing cold one night there was no hot water at all and with no shower curtain the water went all over the bathroom floor.

The couple who run the hotel hardly spoke any English but they were smily and said morning and thank you.

Breakfast was dry bread with veg spread and a cold boiled egg, I would have just preferred friut or something.

I wouldn't visit Elvira again but because our holiday in Stalis was so good it didn't ruin our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Darren And Emma
11 years 5 months ago
We booked for two weeks to the hotel Elvira, and was very disappionted on arrival.

Hotel staff very unhelpful and couldn't speak a word of English unless you were paying for extras.

Hotel was very very dirty, room cleaned not once in 2 weeks. Towels changed once and bedding changed not at all.

The shower room was a good idea if you liked sitting on the toilet whilst taking a shower.

The one light in the room wasn't very helpful when trying to get ready to go out and the broken wardrobe meant we lived out of our suitcases the entire time.

The cot we asked for through th*****ns fell apart after 10 mins, not very safe for a 9 month baby and after asking 4 different reps for a replacement, none appeared.

Breakfast consisted of 1 boiled egg(cooked day before and reheated) ham and cheese, and a piece of cake.

The hotel is situated 10 yards from a busy main road with no sidewalks.

Entertainment was non existent, owners went to bed at 11 and the hotel was in darkness, although brochure states Greek nights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompsons

P Brandt
11 years 6 months ago
The Elvira Hotel in Stalis was very clean. It was run by a friendly older Greek couple who did everything they could to help us enjoy our stay.

The hotel was very central, being just 3 minutes walk from the beach. It was very close to 2 supermarkets and had a bus stop outside.

The room was basic but this is commonplace in Greece.

There was no entertainment as such but there was a fully stocked poolside bar for guests. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended
O. Ewart
11 years 6 months ago
I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Elvira Hotel in Stalis, Crete. The hotel is situated about 25 metres from the main highway, which is busy and noisy throughout the day and night.

I have visited most of the Greek Islands and would say that this hotel is basic even by Greek standards. Our room was not cleaned at all, bedding was changed once, clean towels twice.

The double room we had was quite small, no fridge, fan or aircon, all had to be paid for as extras. The bathroom / toilet was tiny and the shower didn't work half of the time.

Impossible to communicate with the couple running the hotel except when they wanted money for extras then they could communicate very well.

The breakfast provided in our B&B package was awful and a complete waste of money. The resort of stalis is quite busy with 'too many' English / Irish Pubs and loads of excellent Greek restaurants.

The beach is located within an easy 10 minute downhill stroll, a long / thin beach, the sea was quite choppy for most of the 2 weeks. Jam packed with sunbeds provided by the restaurants at a very reasonable cost of 3 euro's for 2 beds and a sun shade.

If you have a choice of hotels I would strongly recommend not to choose this one. Poor hotel, poor service, poor location and I would not rate it as a 2* hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum