Image of Anagenessis Village Hotel

Anagenessis Village Hotel

22 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Kalamaki 29100, Greece
The traditionally built Anagenessis Village Hotel is located in the village of Kalamaki, on the southeastern side of Zakynthos (Zante) Island. The hotel is a miniature version of Old Zakynthos and is surrounded by lush vegetation.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Richard Hardy
10 years 4 months ago
We arrived and were given a very friendly greeting by Kostas, Maria and Yianni.We were told that we were at home now and taken swiftly to our room and showed around.

We were pleasantly suprised to find our room was based over two floors. One balcony overlooked the courtyard and the upstairs one had a wonderful view of the mountains and down to the sea. Had a quick wash and got changed then headed down to get some food.

We had a look through the menu which wasn't the largest but there was something there for everybody. Bear in mind that it is a snack menu and not a restaurant, we tried a few things off the menu while we were there and have no complaints about any of it.

When we booked we knew it was a bit far out but that's what we wanted, somewhere quiet and relaxed. There is no passing traffic and no rowdy groups when it gets dark.
While we were there the staff couldn't do enough to help, nothing was too much trouble. They treat my children as if they were there own and included them in everything, nobody was left out.

The greek night they do was great, it was a little quiet the first week but we had such a good time we did it again the second week and had an absolutely fantastic time.

Everybody got involved with the dancing young and old.

As other people have mentioned prices are a little higher than down in the town but I never thought much of it, at the end of the day he has a business to run and is only open 6 months a year.

Go to Anagenessis and embrace the people who work there and get involved, I'm not saying spend every waking hour there because we certainley did'nt, just enjoy the time you do spend there. Talk to the staff and get to know them a little.

Make sure you eat at Christo's, it's about 7 minutes walk from the apartments, the lady who owns it cooks it all herself and usually serves it too, she's very friendly and will allways take time to talk to you whether you're stopping to eat there or not.

Also you must visit Michaelos which is about 10 minutes from the apartments, traditional Greek food and fantastically prepared, my favourite was the lamb kampala. Spoke to many people who ate there and nobody had a bad word to say. It does however get very busy so you could be waiting for a table, but it's worth it.

I would without a doubt stay there again and I'm already looking to book there again later in the year.

Take a look at the Anagenessis website, people on here mentioned nothing to do for kids, they have table tennis, mini golf(which isn't great but the kids enjoyed it), playground and kids pool.

The main pool is a little deep which some also complained about, as long as my kids had armbands on they were fine, your kids are your responsibility. Mine were never out of sight so were able to play safely.

Hope you find this helpful, I certainly did and went on holiday with mixed feelings as I found this website after I booked.

Enjoy your stay and have a Mythos for me.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Phil And Family
11 years 1 month ago
About a 25 min walk to main strip for shops and restaurants Kalamaki.
Apartments were basic, bath had been repainted but was bubbling and flaking, shower had no hook you had to hold it whilst being showered.
Greek night was 12 euros for adults and 8 for kids we never stayed for the food but were told it wasn't that nice and the owner took the huff with us on first week because we didn't want to stay for the greek night and things went downhill with our relationship with him and some of his staff.
Pool's shallow end is practically non existent it must be about 4ft 6 and i took 3 steps along and it was much deeper so be warned about that, drinks also were a bit expensive and the hotel had the worst exchange rate in Kalamaki.
Be prepared for a 6 euros per night charge for air conditioning too, electrics work off a key fob and do not remove it as it upsets owner, so phones cannot be charged whilst at the pool or out for the day.
On our last day we had to vacate the room by 10am because were told there was no other rooms available for us and our 4 daughters yet we seen a family arrive at 10pm that night, also cleaner came into room at 8.50 am on the day of leaving for remotes and to turn off fridge, flamin cheek considering e had until 10am!
There are no provisions made for late flights we had to be out of our apartment at 10 am on the Sunday and our coach wasn't coming to pick us up until 3.05 on the Monday morning, we were told to leave reception at 1.00am because they were locking it up even though the ownerhad said he would lave it open, we had to wait about the poolside for just over 2hrs at the poolside.
The layout of the grounds is fantastic but we felt let down and would not return, table tennis was 3 euros and the so called mini golf was 1.50 each.
We did though enjoy a relaxing holiday because poolside at times was quiet but felt that there was no customer care and a very easily huffed owner and some of the staff.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Sue
11 years 1 month ago
Hi i just came back from the Anagenessis village hotel and i wouldnt say it was fantastic but i wouldnt say it was dreadful.The people that were there were very friendly and they would ask you if you wanted anything from the shop if they were going.The poolside never got busy with there only having 18 apartments.The apartments got cleaned once a day which was good and the staff were friendly enough.Monday night is kareoke night which is a good laugh and on Friday night was greek night which was very entertaining everybody joined in and danced with each other.You had to pay 12euro for adults and 8 for kids .There is a long walk into Kalamaki it is about a 25 minute walk the road gets dark and the only lights you are counting on are the ones coming from the cars but you have to walk in single file because it is very dangerous so it would be advised to take torches .
There is no shallow part to the pool it is very deep and if you want air conditioning in your apartments you have to pay 6 euros a day and you will need it because it gets very warm during the night. poolside bar was a bit expensive for drinks and food was off a limited menu .owner needs to make make sure those with late flights are catered for as 10am is early to be told to leave rooms .had a relaxing hols but wouldnt return.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Gemma
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed here for 1 week but wish it had been 2!!
The staff/owner at the hotel were very very friendly and welcoming to everyone. They go out of their way to help you at all times. The Greek BBQ night is great, they get everyone up dancing and having fun.

The rooms are cleaned everyday and they even do your dishes for you!! There is a charge for air conditioning (6 euro's per day) but it's well worth it). The food was nice but there wasnt a huge variety - enough if your not eating every meal there tho.

The hotel is a bit out of the way - about 20 minutes walk to the main strip and another 5-10 minutes to the beach. It's only 5 euro's in a taxi tho if your lazy (or tired)!! There is a shop round the corner (about 7 minutes walk) which sells most things (water, bread, milk etc).

We would definately stay at this hotel again as the atmosphere was lovely and the staff were very helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Dave
11 years 2 months ago
I took my family to this hotel in July.

It's way too far out in the middle of nowhere. There's nothing around and the hotel prices are far above the average. It was costing us over Euro 120 per day to eat! There's nothing for the kids - of any age - and the one night of entertainment that they run is charged extra for - and not worth staying up for. They also charge extra for air conditioning and anything else they can dream up.

The hotel owners seem nice initially but you soon see throught the old routine. You're greeted with "this is your home" but then it doesnt actually filter down in reality. We found them unhelpful most of the time

Staff speak little English - apparently.

The food is expensive as mentioned, (because you have no options), and standard is poor - unless you like chewy pork!

There's a very dangerous edge to the pool and no shallow end.

We expect basic rooms in Greece of course, but these are not good.

I'm wondering where the other reviews really come from... did they stay somewhere else??

We were glad to get home!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Phill
11 years 2 months ago
Just got back from the worst holiday we'd ever had.

Apart from the sub-standard rooms with dirty baths and lack of clean towels, the poor quality, over-priced food, the additional charges for only one night of entertainment put on, (& that wasnt worth watching), the dangerous edge to the pool and no shallow end. Nothing for children of any age and a 50 minute walk to the beach... apart from that -

We had a run in with the owners. Judge for yourself;

Our daughter lives in Greece & is pregnant - we went to visit her. It was a heat wave in Zante, being up to 46 degrees. So we of course paid 6 euro a day fee, (50% more than most places if they cahrge), for air-con that was of course, vital to us.

We took the room key off of the magnetic key fob, so we could let our daughter sleep in the room, (with the fob in the key socket to activate the electrics and the aircon on), and we could let ourselves in without disturbing her when finished at the pool.

Somehow the owners found out - I dont know how - but it was a real big deal to them - saying we might lose the fob?!?!

So next time, we left the key and fob together and popped a small magnet in the slot to activate the room's electrics. Problem solved - daughter naps in cool room and we let ourselves in with key.

The owner summoned me to reception just as I was about to have breakfast, saying the magnet had destroyed a microchip in the room key socket and it was a Euro 500 cost! He (and his screaming wife) also said they could not fix the aircon til after we left as it meant a repair man spending several hours in the room - meaning no aircon for us for 4 days!

Being an electrical engineer i knew this was pure lies, and when I challenged their story, they changed it and the chip moved to reception! I apologised for their upset, informed them there was NO microchip anywhere in their old system and suggested they should just flick the switch behind reception back on.

Alas they would not back down, so I said they should call the company representative as I'd like an investigation.

At this point they said the repair man might be able to sort it in 30 mins and proceed to try to Greek hug me... something that was a long way from my mind!

Thing is, not only did they feel the need to tell me off like a small boy, but they actually also tried to punish me and my family in a heatwave - knowing our daughter is heavily pregnant. Not something anyone would take and you can only imagine my reaction.

All I can presume is that they dont want people using the AirCon that they over charge for.

The air con was restored... 2.5 hrs later.

The First Choice rep took my complaint and then the owners version. They denied ever having mentioned a microchip and denied saying we'd have no aircon for the rest of our stay. A complete pack of lies, even though there we're numerous guest witnesses...

Maybe the management changed since some of these earlier reviews
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

The Wards
11 years 3 months ago
We have been to this hotel 8 times and are flying out again in july this year. The hotel is lovely and all staff are really friendly. Everytime we come home we just look forward to going back to meet all of the friends we make out there, zante is a really beautiful island, plenty of bars and resturants have to go to the cave bar!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Sarah HT Admin
12 years 1 month ago
Got back from the Anagenissis on Tuesday night/ Wednesday morning.

On arrival at the Anagenissis, we were welcomed by Costas, Christina and Dora. Dora showed us to our room and we were given the remote control for the air con (which was free) and told about the apartments and left to unpack.

The studio was fairly small but adequate with a nice balcony overlooking the pool, but the bathroom was tiny, really small. It had a shower, loo and sink, but you had to almost climb over the loo to get to the shower. I did think this was going to put a dampener on my holiday but I have to say, the staff and the great service they gave was worth putting up with the bathroom.
The sheets were changed every three days and the towels every other day. The room was cleaned everyday.

Nearly everything is centered on the pool and pool bar. The pool is fairly deep, the shallow end being 1.3 meters and the deep end being 2.75 meters. There are sun beds all around the pool with parasols, however, there aren't enough to go around and towels were being put out fairly early in the mornings. We did find one day that there wasn't a bed available so we just moved the towels off. I think it
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Chelsea Eaton
13 years 4 months ago
Hello my name is Chelsea Eaton. I have visited 'Anagenessis village Hotel' for the last eight years.

The staff are really friendly and make you feel as though you are one of the family. The staff speak fluent English and recommend the best places to visit on your holiday.

The apartments are very clean and the cleaners visit each apartment twice a day.

The food is great but it is even better to go self catering as you can go to different restaurants each night.

The hotel is just half an hours walk from the beach and just ten minutes in a taxi.

The entertainment is great.

The hotel has one large swimming pool and one childs pool. It also has a mini golf course and a table tennis set, the hotel also has an adventure playground, so the kids can have fun. Every Friday night the hotel runs a Greek night, where they have an outside barbecue and have Greek dancing.

I hope you have a fantastic time here and see some creta creta turtles.

Lots a luck Chelsea Eaton.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum