Image of Golden Sun Hotel

Golden Sun Hotel

26 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Kalamaki Beach | PO Box 228, Kalamaki 29100, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Vic
10 years 7 months ago
We had a lovely time here but the hotel is very basic, no plugs in the bathroom, no shower curtain, and very basic breakfast, we was lucky that the pool bar with Gemma serving was so great and the prices were low aswell. The gardens it is set in are lovely and the shop is reasonable aswell. The air con was a problem but once we agreed to pay the extra it ws turned on permently in our room. I just felt that the cost did not reflect what you got from the hotel.

There was no hairdryer in the room but it was listed on the advert for the hotel.

It was a nice holiday, just felt it lacked in a few ways!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Karla
10 years 9 months ago
The hotel was very clean and well maintained, the breakfast in the hotel was very basic if you like continental you'll be ok!!!

We had breakfast most days at the pool, bar the pices were low and the food was lovely. I think the hotel is in a great location close to beach and shops.

We had a slight problem with ants but with three young children and lots of sweets we probably attracted them!!

We were so sad to leave this hotel the staff were all lovely and great with the kids too.

We will definitely return to this hotel we had a fantastic holiday!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Recommended
Alison Sandgrove
11 years 5 months ago
My best friend and I stayed at this beautifully clean hotel and had a lovely holiday We could not fault the hotel at all apart from the unfriendliness of the staff, who, baring one, didnt speak unless spoken to, and seemed somewhat robotic going about the day to day duties.

Breakfast became repetative, didnt really want beans everyday.

About 3 mins walk to the beach, which over the last 2 years has become dirty, but only due to the holiday makers not respecting their surroundings.

No entertainment. Need something to liven the place up a bit, not sure what though.
This is the second time I have been there and yes would go again with the hope that things might lighten up a bit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Bob
11 years 7 months ago
If you go this this hotel take your own bath and sink plugs, there's none in the hotel.

The pool area and bar are fine but your not allowed to use the air conditioning in the bar.

The rooms are very basic no hair dryer and no TV.

The hotel is clean but room service just make your bed when they feel like it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Michelle
13 years 5 months ago
The Golden Sun is the best hotel we've ever stayed in. We had a beautifully clean room which opened up onto the pool. The pool is lit up at night with fountains. We got up for breakfast the first day and didnt bother to again as it was far too boring but this didnt bother us as breakfast isnt such a big deal on holiday.

The hotel is in an excellent position down a quiet road about 10 mins from the beach and restaurants. Dont have much to say about the staff as they are very much 'behind the scenes'. There is no entertainment at the hotel, which is one of the reasons why we chose it. Nothing worse than annoying music and kareoke until the early hours. There are plenty or bars and restaurants in which to spend the evenings.

It was also nice to sit on the balcony and experience peace and quiet. With respect to the planes, the runway is literally 5 mins down the road, but they only fly 2 days a week, and not during the night. it caused us no problems whatsoever, I think I remember only a handful during the two weeks we were there. I would definately recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
J.Hooton
13 years 6 months ago
If your favourite hobby is 'plane spotting then you should definitely pick this hotel! Although the brochure mentioned it was close to the airport and there was some aircraft noise it did not mention it was right under the flight path. Also the bird scarers start going off at about 5-30 to 6-00 a.m. every morning even when flights don't come in until 6-30 to 7-00 a.m.

Breakfast was adequate but not very interesting and the self service trays reminded me of a motorway service station rather than a hotel.

Also this is the first hotel I ever visited where I was asked to settle my drinks bill half way through my stay because they had to make up their accounts every Friday!

The staff were friendly and helpful but mostly inconspicuous.

The snack bar was a reasonable price and provided adequate choice most days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Netty
13 years 7 months ago
We absolutly loved this hotel,the rooms where excellent very clean some of the staff were very helpful.

The pool and the gardens were spot on. We were glad there was no entertainment as this encouraged us to veture out at nights also we didnt want the hassle of lots of kids and I think having no entertainment puts families off.

The pool bar served up lovely food how ever the staff were a tad grumpy,the the lovely sandy beach is just a stones throw a way and is lovely for long walks and its only a 10 minite walk from the town which has lots to offer.

The only down side for us was the low flying planes but 3 days into our stay we didnt even notice them overall we had an exelent two weeks and are going back next year with my teenage daughter
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic holidays

Recommended
Ben
13 years 8 months ago
well first thing ..greeks dont believe in shower screen..so bathroom is a wet room..bit messy but ok once you get used to it. Rooms were cleaned daily & sheets three times & they were of average size.THE biggest thing is this hotel is right under flightpath & planes pass right over rooms..however it becomes a novelty after a while & there are no flights after 10 or before 6.30am. The pool area is great..spacious & the gardens really well kept . The gym wasnt open when we were there...beach is 5 mins max & the main collection of restaraunts about 20 mins. Breakfast is fairly basic & a bit repetetive..continental style with beans & boiled eggs..lol.Overall..id say a reasonable hotel with a good pool & handy for beach..oops forgot..no entertainment
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum