Image of Zante Maris Hotel

Zante Maris Hotel

14 of 26 hotels in Tsilivi

4 out of 5 from 54 reviews
4 stars
Tsilivi 291 00, Greece
This brand new beachfront hotel, consists of five blocks of stylish and comfortable accommodation set in spacious grounds. An extensive range of luxury facilities on site means this high quality hotel is perfect for those wishing to relax and unwind.

54 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    29
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Perfect Location.
1 year 8 months ago
We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. The hotel is on the beach so whichever room you are in you are within a five minute walk to the beach. The pool bar is quite small, but the beach bar has plenty of space and you never really feel overcrowded, but you do by the pool bar.

There is plenty of choice of food in the morning for breakfast. I have never been to the main restaurant for lunch, so I don't know what the choice is like then. In the evening, there is always some form of salad, chips, spaghetti bolognese, rice and potatoes to chose from.

The rooms I have stayed in have always been fairly large and comfortable. Each room has a fridge and a safe, so your belongings should be safe. Be careful with the shower in the bathroom as it can soak the floor, but other than that it is perfectly clean. The staff are always friendly and pleased to see you. The communal areas are always clean. They have an animations lady who tries to get you involved with activities, but she isn't too pushy. She is also in charge of the evening entertainment, which isn't that great. They have Greek dancers on a Saturday night which is probably the most entertaining. On the other nights it's either cash bingo or a singer and that isn't the best, but there are plenty of other places to spend the evening away from the hotel if you don't want to.

The majority of the guests are probably people who have been there before and it's mainly British people who stay here. Well, it has been when I have gone there. One thing that does annoy me though is that sometimes you can struggle to get a pool lounger though. Guest can put towels down on them and then you don't see anyone sitting there all day which is annoying. Friday and Tuesday tend to be when the hotel is at it's quietest so this is when you don't have to be up at a ridiculous hour to make sure you get one.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Hotel tip: Try and get a room on a high floor as otherwise the sun loungers by the pool are near to your balcony/terrace and guests sitting by the pool will be able to see into your room.

Recommended
Mrs Yapp
Awful
7 years 5 months ago
Visited this hotel in October 2010 on an all-inclusive deal, the food was awful very little choice and sometimes undercooked, I and my son in law and granddaughter were taken ill in the first 5 days. There was no choice of food for my granddaughter to eat unless we paid extra for the chicken nuggets and fish fingers which they classed as the al acarte menu.

The drinks were of poor standard only 30% alcohol and were watered down you had to pay for diet coke and tonic if you wanted them with your drinks as I an diabetic I found this very un reasonable the other drinks on offer like the wine you could buy at the local supermarket for 3euros 90 cents. And they were serving you this.

As a four star hotel you did not get 4 star service. They were catering for the European clients.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sambacasual
7 years 7 months ago
Just had 10 nights in the Zante Maris and i have to post a mixed review of the place,but I'll break it down:

Arrival/room- arrived at 2pm and check in took 30 seconds, we'd emailed ahead requesting a high floor, double bed and a pool/sea view. We were given room 319 which i have to say was perfect- spacious, spotless, well equipped, our fridge didn't work and was replaced instantly and at the same time the maintenance bloke cleaned and serviced our air conditioning. We were given the double bed we asked for and it was huge, as was the wardrobe. All the dressing table area etc, but the bathroom was very small, not a drama on holiday though and it was very clean. There was an LCD tv and DVD player. They say they have satellite channels such as BBC and SKY but they certainly didn't have when we were there but we go out every night anyway so no problem. We also rented a safe. The room was really the only god part of the hotel unfortunately but i'll get to that.

Staff- The hotel staff, without exception were all 100% spot on. Very friendly, treat everyone like a friend and really can't do enough for you. Always cheerful and full of energy so top marks there.

Pool/beach- Oh dear. This is where it goes downhill, as reported many times on here and elsewhere the sunbed situation is a massive let down. There's a good 600 guests and only 100-120 beds. There's meant to be rules preventing people reserving beds and going out but it isn't enforced at all and there's total chaos. If you're not up and ready to get a bed by 7:30-8 at the latest then forget it. We saw people out putting towels down at 1am one night, and another night we came home at midnight and there was a few out already. We complained but nothing was done. Daily we saw and even had rows with Russians who remove towels when people nip to the bar, or reserve beds at 6am and don't come back til 4pm. The circus was made worse by the aggressive and rude Russians. The staff need to get on top of this, we ended up using other pools elsewhere or paying for sunbeds on the beach, not outside the hotel though as there's nothing but sharp stones. All in all very hard to just relax and sunbathe, which for me ruined the hotel.

Entertainment- Well daytime entertainment was non existent apart from the occasional water volleyball game which only taller blokes could play. If i'd gone with a family I'd have been very frustrated as there's nothing at all for the kids and the evening entertainment was as bad, consisting of the odd quiz, a singer who did a few covers one night and in 10 nights they had 4 nights of 'DJ Theo' who is basically one of the bar tenders and a laptop blasting out random songs over a scratchy horrible PA system,occasionally nipping off to serve people when the bar was busy! luckily there's plenty going on 5 minutes away in the resort, otherwise we'd have wanted to come home after 3 or 4 days, very bad indeed that TUI don't mention that there's is little or no entertainment programme.

Food- easy to sum up really: school dinners! we were half board so had meals. Neither of us are particularly fussy eaters but were VERY disappointed by the buffet. It was hard to make a proper meal, instead you had to just load up with random dishes,which were sadly mostly lukewarm, greasy and tasteless. The Greek dishes were particularly disappointing as you'd expect better from a GREEK hotel but alas most of the meat was fatty, unseasoned and greasy. Things like the Stifado were passable, just,the pasta was without fail cold, stuck together and dry. The chips looked sadly like last nights leftovers reheated and dessert was daily variations of blancmange and stale turnovers.

Breakfast was virtually inedible. The scrambled eggs were still liquid and cold, the bacon was just fat, the beans were mostly cold, the toaster was a joke, often taking 10 minutes and repeated attempts at actually toasting the stale and flaky bread they supplied. Unlike other buffets there wasn't anyone there cooking the fried eggs to order and as such they were all left out half cooked with partially raw whites and cold uncooked yokes, something I'd consider to be dangerous. We spoke to various British couples and they all said the food had made them feel rotten and were withdrawing money and going out to restaurants. This place even managed to ruin tzatziki. They'd got coleslaw and put yoghurt in it. The tea and coffee were cheap and nasty efforts and the fruit juice, well what can i say, watered down apple juice that tastes of bananas! People who have left reviews saying the food was nice are either very easily pleased, not used to a better standard or were just lucky to have been there when a better kitchen team were on shift.

All Inclusive- we upgraded to All Inclusive for 3 days at a cost of 14 euros each per night, for this we could have lunch either in the buffet, which was mostly last nights leftovers rehashed,or a 'meal' in the snack bars which were just toasties or burgers and not nice really. As for the drinks, well the beer you are allowed is on draft and was flat and not nice at all,god knows what make it was. The spirits were the usual local stuff you come to expect but there was no alternative Malibu, Baileys, Dark rum or Amaretto and the soft drinks/mixers were horrific. Basically there's no gun or tap for anything. You have to have coke/lemonade/soda etc out of 2 litre bottles and it was all flat and warm and mostly brands like 'Derby Cola', very poor indeed in my opinion. Especially for the money people pay for 2 weeks All Iinclusive in such a place,we had our 3 days and didn't renew. In our 10 night holiday we ate out in Tsilivi 5 or 6 nights, the All Inclusive only runs until 11pm, there's nowhere really to have a good drink and a laugh as the outdoor bar where the 'entertainment' area is was overlooked by peoples rooms and you felt guilty about keeping kids awake and the music goes off at 12pm. Also because of this there was no atmosphere, it's not a sociable hotel at all unlike others we've been to. There is a disco downstairs but this area is only used early and late season during bad weather!

All in all a mixed review. The rooms and the staff were great and the hotel is clean but the dire situation round the pool, lack of entertainment for both adults and kids,the stony beach and the terrible food counteract the plus points. We have a complaint about the above in progress as we paid a lot of money to stay in what we thought would be a hotel we could eat and drink and relax in and not need much spending money and fell we got very poor value for money and that the food made us ill. Our rep actually agreed with our concerns and said they were common complaints this summer and encouraged us to complain as they also felt things need to be highlighted.

Thomson/TUI rates this hotel as a 4 star but it's officially a 3 star- rather misleading on behalf of the company. If this hotel changes a few things and enforces sunbed rules then it will be a great place. It's just not big enough to support the numbers. There's not enough room around the pool or in the buffet and the mix of 10 different languages in such a confined hotel makes for a droll atmosphere. I usually like a mix of nationalities myself but it doesn't work here.

We would return to Tsilivi but not the the Zante Maris.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 4 months ago
We didnt book this hotel originally but because the resort closes down at the end of october not all hotels are kept open and therefore our hotel was changed to this one.We stayed all inclusive and the food and drinks were ok all though we have had better. They were obviously running their stocks down and the choice is probably better in the height of season. The hotel is right on the beach and again i think the beach ould be better maintained in the high season i.e broken sun beds and rubbish. The entertainment could have been better as people relied on this as the resort was very very quiet. If i was to visit this hotel and resort again i would go at a different time of year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Debroah Maguire
8 years 5 months ago
We have just come back from the Zante Maris. We have stayed in this hotel 3 times and have really enjoyed it. We think both the hotel and resort are great for a week's loll about holiday. The hotel is on the beach and is in a prime position.

The hotel room was lovely overlooking the sea with the balcony going on two sides. The bath was a little small with a jacuzzi in it and the shower was not good - splashing everywhere except where it go. It was very clean except there were a few ants in the bedroom as we ended our holiday. I am sure the cleaning staff would have done something about.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was fine. We would definitely stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Holden
8 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Zante Maris Hotel Tislivi on a half board basis. The short transfer time was ideal after a 3.5 hour flight, the airport was very basic but we passed throuigh pretty quickly. After a few drop offs we arrived at The Zante Maris hotel and were booked in quickly, the room was excellent very clean(side sea view)with towelling robes, slippers provided.The room had a small fridge with a bottle of water in, kettle with coffee and tea (which was replenished each day)Sky Sports 1 and 2 and Nat Geo on it which was nice and full air conditioning.The food was excellent and varied and we always a table available, the entertainment was basic, singers,bigo and a Greek Night. There was a BBQ on the Thursday's but we did not enjoy it as very basic (sprouts on the menu!!)there was no extra charge for the BBQ as half board but you couldpay 10 euro's if b&b.

The trips around the Island can be booked from you rep but we booked through Nefeli Travel (close to the Hotel), Jackie the guide was excellent, English speaking and fluent in Greek (she is from Holland originally), we saved quite a few euro's and enjoyed our 2 trips out (VIP Blue caves and shipwreck tour and VIP 'back to the roots' both excellent.There is not much for teenagers in the daytime other than the pool or beack but plenty of family friendly bars at night, also Crazy Golf and ten pin bowling.

All in All this was a great holiday,Hotel and Resort and we will return in the future, we stayed for 11 nights and wished we'd booked 14!!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Charlene
8 years 9 months ago
three of us travelled to this hotel which is rated a four star and I have to say it is worth a four star. short tranfer time from the airport which is always good but not near to the airport.
breakfast was always lots to choose from so you will not get bored, we went b&b but you could pay 12 euros and have a meal in the evening in the hotel which we done on two of the nights because you get to try lots of different meals and eat as much as you like for that price, but there are lots of nice places to eat out as well.
hotel was very clean and the room was always kept tidy as were the hotel grounds the staff work very hard and are only to happy to help.
location could not be better right on the beach, you do not have to pay for sunbeds or covers and you are so close to the beach that we never paid for a sunbed on the beach which saves alot of money!!not far to walk in the evening for places to eat and drink.
the hotel laid on entertainment each night which was quite good but they never started on time with the entertainment normally one hour late which was not the best when you have made sure you were back on time.
I would go back to this hotel time and time again not really anything bad that I can say, the only thing I did think was that it was not for familys with young children as they might get bored, no kiddies club or play park so I think it would be better suited for adults, just my opinion let you deside.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Jean Hart / Dawn Skelhorn / Esther Skelhorn
9 years 6 months ago
A friend and I, along with her 14 year old daughter, stayed at the Zante Maris Hotel in Tsivili during the last week in August 2008.
First impression, after seeing some of the hotels en route, was that this was a very nice hotel. Most of the rooms had a pool or side sea view, with a few overlooking the road, but they also had a side sea view apart from those on the ground floor. The hotel was spotless, and as everyone was walking sand in off the beach, the Greek cleaning staff brushed everywhere, every day. We were a bit worried about the thirs bed being a sofa bed as it looked quite small on the internet and brochure photos, but the arms fold down and it is a very comfortable, 6 foot long bed.
The location is perfect, right on the beach, and even those in rooms furthest from the beach did not have a long walk, as you would in some large complex style hotels.
The only complaint we would have of this hotel is that British guests put their towels on the sunbeds before 7.00 and no-one stopped them even though it asked guests not to do this in their hotel guide. However, it was much nicer on the sandy beach, especially as it was 34 degrees and there was a nice cool breeze and the sea was lovely and warm. We bought lilos and spent a lot of time just lying on them on the sea in the gentle breeze. Towels are available from the hotel to use on the pool sun beds but can't be taken onto the beach, so you do need to take your own for the beach. Sun beds on the beach are 3 euros each for the day which was well worth it. There are people walking up and down the beach board walk selling anything from chinese massages to fruit salads and the biggest doughnuts I have ever seen. These can be bought for half the price you pay on the beach at the local shops.
There was a different menu every day for the evening meal and we always found the food to be of a high standard. For breakfast there was cereal, fruit, salads, breads and of course everything you need for a full English. The food was always hot and fresh.
It seemed that the majority of the staff were English, although there were some from Zakynthos, Bulgaria and the entertainment guy was from Albania, but they all spoke English.
There was entertainment every night, bingo, quizes, singing acts, a comedian, barbeque night and Greek dance night.
We only decided to have a holiday two weeks before and I am so glad that we chose this hotel. We had a great time and I am going to recommend this island hotel to everyone I know who is thinking of going to Greece.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Tracey Evans
9 years 6 months ago
Excellent. Very clean. No flies, insects or cockcroaches any where. Just the odd cute lizard. Staff excellent. Food was of a good standard- but so many places to eat out at so we would do BB next time. We would recommend this hotel. We got sunbeds around the pool as we went into breakfast- 8.30-8.45. At times we got up earlier if we wanted a particular spot.There were always spare sunbeds around the back you just didn't alsways get an umbrella. Excellent location by sea. great when children are a older and want independence. Our children are teenagers. S
taff in this hotel responded well to all queries and addressed any problems as they arose. We had two rooms- one room excellent overlooking sea the other was damp. This was addressed by maintenance and as they could not resolve problem they responede to our request to change rooms quickly and efficiently.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First chioce

Recommended
James Jue & Chloe
10 years 4 months ago
Arrived to heavy showers which is the norm for august as we found out. Room was very clean and tidy. Maids did a fantastic job and were always smiling. Breakfast was ok. We were told when we booked that this was a great family hotel and there was always something going on. This couldnt have been any further from the truth.There was nothing to entertain children. There were only a few bars, shops and restraunts open as it was coming to the end of the season. We were told when bookong that the place would still be buzzing. It was like a ghost town! Very poor reception on the " english speaking channels". Water had to be run for 45 mins to an hour before it got hot so you could have a bath or shower. The indoor pool was freezing so you had to be very brave to go in.
Would I go to the Zante Maris Hotel again? NO. this is not a "Great Family Hotel" as described. There is nothing for the kids to do and the rep wasnt interested unless you were buying excursions from her.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum