Image of Kaya Side Hotel

Kaya Side Hotel

5 of 52 hotels in Side

5 out of 5 from 17 reviews
5 stars
07600 Side/Antalya Province, Turkey

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Barrie & Pat Lawson
15 years ago
We have stayed at this hotel 11 times over the past 9 years mostly in September but we did go in March which was also very good.

The hotel is spotlessly clean as they are cleaning somewhere all the time. You can have clean towels every day if you want to but they would like it if you only wanted to change them every other day.

The rooms are air conditioned which is a plus even in September and mini bar is re filled every day.

There is a wide variety of food available all day in various places and four specialist restaurants which advisable to book as soon as you get there. Every other Saturday there is Gala night when everyone eats round the pool and all the tables are decorated in black and white with an enormous choice of food -hot and freshly cooked as well as entertainment and fireworks.

The swimming pool area is large with plenty of sunbeds, with a smaller pool with a flume/slide and a quiet pool at the front of the hotel for adults only.

If there is anything to complain about it would be the evening entertainment as it geared towards the Germans with subtitles in English as a second thought !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
O'Connor
15 years 1 month ago
This was our first visit to Turkey and we weren't sure what to expect though were boosted by reviews we read on this web site. The reviews were spot on!

This hotel is very good, providing you don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of a major resort though Side is only approx. 15 mins distance in a taxi.

Everything that you need is provided within the hotel. An excellent choice of foods - there are 4 theme restaurants in addition to the 'main' restaurant. While we were there, there was a themed 'Turkish night' where the staff worked extremely hard to provide an excellent night, with a great selection of foods. All of the setting was around the pool, with the area and tables decorated in red and white.

Entertainment/games were provided all day, though not everything was to our taste, there was something for everyone.

As with some earlier reviews, we would recommend that visitors take Euros as everything is priced in Euros. We took Turkish Lira and though this certainly wasn't a problem, we found things were 'marked up' slightly higher when converted than if we had paid in Euros.

One last piece of advice, the airport at Antalya is extremely expensive for food/drinks, so beware for your return journey!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Chris
15 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the hotel at 9.00 in the morning having being delayed by 4 hours, but it was a sight for sore eyes.

The hotel is very clean and tidy, all the rooms and the hotel are air conditioned which is a must with 40 degree temperatures out side. The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel which was great very little noise.

Each day the room was tidied, and towels change if required. And on the Turkish Gala Night on each of our beds they left a swan and a heart design made from towels and scattered with red petals, Very nice touch.

The food well, there is alot of choice and plenty of it. All meals are in the downstairs resturant, halsothere is late breakfast on the beach if you wake up late. There is a special childrens ares in the resturant and there meals include mash potato and spagehetti etc.

I must admit my 9 year old eat her main meal each day at the pool side bar. From noon they serve what they descibe as snack food, but to be quite honest would have done as a main meal in England. They do pizza, spagehhti, chips, salad and at least one meat dish to choose from. And don't miss cake and coffe or cake and beer in my case at 4 o'clock especially the hot donuts.

The gala evenings are spectacular, everyone eats around the pool all tables in black and white or red and white and there is a show to watch afterwards.

I really enjoyed the entertainment, the animation team work hard and if you join in with poolside darts, boules, table tennis or the water sports you will to.

Just one note here if you want peace and quiet forget this place at ten o'clock each day except sundays its time to have fun with music played from 10 till 12 and from 2 till 5. Wait till you learn the dance they do at the end of each session great fun.

The kids club is ok my 9 year joined in during the day when it suited her and her friend. In the evenings they took part with all the dance routines at the shows which are held at a mini theater outside. My only problem was it was so hot outside I couldn't stay that long however this was not a problem for the kids.

The site is very safe and all staff are very child friendly. The disco on the beach is well worth visiting this satrt at 11 pm and finishes at 1.30 am. The foam party is fun but make sure you take a towel and some dry clothes.

If you dont fancy the pool you can walk at least 50 yards to the beach which has all types of water sports available ( at extra cost ).

The hotel is mainly used by the Germans, Russian and Turkish. We made friends with a great german couple (lucky they spoke good English), and to be honest had a great time.

There are only a couple negative points

1 Most English people are in large groups and as the English are in the minority conversation can sometimes be a bit lacking.
2 Ice Creams are not included in Al
3 Don't Bother with the Italain Resturant you get better choice of food in the hotel resturant and the staff are more friendly.

I would reccommend this hotel, but if we go back would take a couple of friends with us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jane
15 years 2 months ago
We had booked for the hotel but were moved to a villa at the hotels request which was ideal for the 4 of us as it had 2 bedrooms. The hotel rooms are big enough for 3.

There is a village about 5 mins away nearby to a lake which has shops and bars much cheaper than Side.

All of the staff are really nice and even though they presume everyone is German they can all speak good English.

The Animation Team earn their money with the kids and adults around the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jane
15 years 2 months ago
We had booked for the hotel but were moved to a villa at the hotels request which was ideal for the 4 of us as it had 2 bedrooms. The hotel rooms are big enough for 3.

There is a village about 5 mins away nearby to a lake which has shops and bars much cheaper than Side.

All of the staff are really nice and even though they presume everyone is German they can all speak good English.

The Animation Team earn their money with the kids and adults around the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Hannah
15 years 3 months ago
They never stopped cleaning the hotel,it was spotless.

Always a good selection of food.

Located on lovely beach,animation team very good,evening entertainment not so good.

Our second visit and would definately return again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Richard/Tracey/James
15 years 4 months ago
We stayed early May.

The hotel was excellent the staff polite and atentive. The room was of good size and very clean(it is cleaned daily).

The food was fantastic there was a lot to choose from. The drink was alright for all inc, but we seemed to drink enough of it including the spirits. This is a large hotel with a lot of good staff,although mainly german guests we were treated very well.

There are plenty places to eat and drink all round the hotel lots of choices,we did not manage to eat everywhere in the week.the pools are excellent and the slides are always supervised,the animation team are great for kids but you can escape to the poolbar.

There are loads of great activites to do as well as water sports on the beach gym,spar,archery,shooting,yoga,waterarobics etc etc) we really enjoyed our stay and would gladly go back.

p.s.take euro's and sterling they like it better and offer you a better deal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Karen
15 years 4 months ago
We always travel as a large group (four families) usually to Spain, but our experience of Turkey was fantastic - especially hotel Kaya side!

On arrival we were met by Erdem (bellboy) who became a good friend throughout the holiday. The rooms are very spacious and clean. mini bar in room was very welcome for the kids (filled two bottles of water, two pop every day).

The whole hotel has beautiful surroundings which gardeners are always attending, several times during our stay they even fumigated with insect repellant.

Food was fantastic with lots of choice (although it is mainly european tastes and could do with maybe a little more for the kids to choose from). The terraced pool bar serves pizza and chips everyday at lunch which suited our 10 kids, and hot doughnuts with chocolate sauce.

Ice-creams are not part of all inc but can be bought for around 1-2 euros.
Turkish night, where we ate outside was fantastic, everything was red and white and the pool area decorated with balloons. They had three camels for the kids to ride for 5 euros - kids loved it.
And gala night was all black and white, again a fantastic night.

We took a mixture of Lira, Stirling and Euros but I wouldnt bother with stirling or lira, euros are definitely easier and you get better rates using the disbank in manvagat or side rather than getting them before you go.

(1.4 euros to the pound at the post office, 1.48 in Turkey)Euros are accepted everywhere even in the hotel for the kids room ie. internet, pool, quad bikes etc. And you do get a better deal for taxis, shops and the market.

Hotel staff can't do enough for you, very friendly and love english kids. Entertainment staff the same, Pinar in particular, all do a great job at making your holiday special.

Turkish bath and massage at the hotel was out of this world (would go back just for that)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Fiona Williams
15 years 6 months ago
I have just returned from staying at the Kaya Side resort. I was very impressed with the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

The hotel is by a massive lake and surrounded by a beautiful pine forest. Although not in a busy area there is small village about 5 mins walk away where there are shops, bars, restaurants, payphones and discos. There is also a bus station there where you can get the bus into Side a much busier resort a 10 min bus ride for a small cost.

The staff at the hotel are very nice and friendly and always smiling and work extremely hard. The new animation team which have only been there for three weeks are brilliant, their shows and entertainment was excellent and they are very good with people from a very young age to a very old age. The photographer was also very nice, and he did not hassle you to buy the photographs you can just look at them.

The hotels disco was very good, a fair size, with plenty of dancing space and seating as well, if you get tired out! It is situated outside the hotel so for guests who want some peace and quite. The drinks are still all inclusive in the disco, which is good!

The food at the hotel is of a very good standard, always hot and appetizing and plenty of choices, including themed nights of Turkish, Italian and Mexican.

The rooms were a good size, with a nice bathroom, plenty space for clothes and a balcony. The hotel was always extremely clean and floors sparkling.

The hotels private beach is a nice size with plenty of room, a 2 min walk down from the hotel. Both swimming pools a fair size one pool with water slides, the other with plenty of area around it for sunbathing and relaxing.

Overall a very good hotel and I would be happy to return later in the year. I will even miss some of the staff and animation.

Fiona
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Shelagh/chris Jones
15 years 7 months ago
We stayed here because we had stayed in the sister hotel Kaya Belek which was superb in 2002. But we were so disappointed by the Kaya Side.

If you are German and like German food, entertainment, dancing ect then book here, we could not wait to go home. It caters we believe solely for the Germans and we felt that we should not have been there.

The food is lukewarm and the same food is served everynight, veal stew, chicken stew, turkey yes stew!!!!!

The waiters take your plate away so quick you wonder if you have actually eaten don't think that we have never been to Turkey we go at least three/four times a year but never again will we go here.

Ps. See our report on the Efem in Icemeler you will see we are not biased
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.