Image of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites International Dr Hotel

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites International Dr Hotel

46 of 67 hotels in Orlando

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
8738 International Drive, Orlando, FL, United States

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Teresa
10 years 3 months ago
This is the our second holiday in orlando first time we stayed in quality plaza inn, this time we stayed here, the day we arrived it changed its name to Econo lodge, well what can i say, the holiday is clean the the housekeepers are polite dont speak much english, our bath you couldnt bathe in it was badly stained hardly any enamel left on it. the shower was ok. the shop downstairs had nearly everything you could possibly need, the staff in there were nice you could stand and chat and laugh with, genuinely nice.
The staff on reception well some were ok, but a few were quite rude and couldnt be bothered and it showed.
I would go back there only because it was very cheap and we didnt spend any time there really we were out most of the time. Ponderosa and Sizzlers are fantastic value for money more food than you can eat, the staff are great to.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Ocean-florida

Recommended
Lorraine Williams
10 years 9 months ago
The location of the hotel was great the buses were right on the door step (we kept getting on the wrong one make sure you are on the north line going north and the south line going south).

The staff were ok. one day I went in to ask if we could jump on the bus as you have to book a place the day before and we had not and they were very rude about it.

The maids were lovely the more you tip the more they do so tip each day.

the pool was nice and never that busy with a good food place nxt to it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Tour America

Recommended
Sharon Webber
10 years 10 months ago
Rooms were spacious and cleaned on a daily basis. We requested two rooms next door to each other which we got. The location of the hotel was excellent with lots of shops and restraunts nearby. When you check-in at reception the hotel charges you $35 (2 weeks) for the safe and free local calls, plus $25 deposit for the room keys. You get back $25 when you check out. The staff were ok, one thing annoyed me about them was when i asked to change a travelers cheque they said they had no money. Which i found a little odd considering the people in front of me had just checked in paying the $60 compolsery fee in cash. It did not matter too much as all the shops except t-cheques like real money which was really handy. Pool was open untill midnight which we used to unwind after a hard day at the parks.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My travel

Recommended
Carol MacGregor
11 years 9 months ago
The hotel is not a 3 star as was stated in the brochure. Had to change rooms to be with friends that we travelled with (travel agents mistake, not hotels) and found it took some time to get the man in reception to understand me although he spoke perfect English.

When in new room we found the safe lock broken off and asked if this could be fixed but were told it would not be possible. Had to share friends safe for the fortnight.
Pool was clean and rooms cleaned daily.

The location was fantastic as it was pretty central for most things and there were some great eating places around. Would recommend the Ponderosa for breakfast but not dinner. The best places for dinner were Race Rock cafe and the Uno Bar and Grill.

If you are at universal later on in the day and want to stay for dinner try the Hard Rock Cafe. If travelling to Florida in October would recommend doing the Halloween nights in Universal.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

11 years 10 months ago
This hotel is in a great spot, on international drive, but we were very disappointed, the bath was very dirty , plaster off the wall and the toilet system very loose on the wall.

The carpets want a good clean. I knew about cockroaches but they were a few to many for me, the safe in the room was not working,if you complained no one wanted to know, the reps were not interested.

Now I have never been to Florida before but I found my phone charger would not work and yes we did have the converter plug, and my curling tongs in both rooms would not heat up to a good heat, had to go and buy both from the Florida Mall, then they were fine maybe its just there electric system over there.

We did enjoy our holiday but would not go back to this hotel again, although I must add that the pool and pool bar staff were really nice, I will be going back just not to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Simpson
12 years 1 month ago
This hotel was excellent, clean rooms, pool area was great the staff in the poolside cafe were lovley.
The only downside was our room was facing the busy motorway mind you the air con blocked out the noise of traffic.

The shuttle bus was extremly handy as it was our fist time to florida, the bus driver was very polite and helpfull.

Would def stay at this hotel again!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct

Recommended
Maureen Gower
12 years 2 months ago
We visited Orlando for the first time and stayed in the Best Western Plaza on International Drive.

The hotel is split into separate buildings and is 3 floors high. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the swimming pool. We had 2 double rooms which were right next door to each other as we had requested. Whenever we opened the room door we smelt the stale cigarette smoke. I asked for a change of rooms but couldn't get 2 together anywhere else. The cleaning staff did come up and spray some freshener into the air conditioning system which helped a bit.

The room was definitely dated and could really do with being refurbished. There was no fridge in the room but there was an ice machine on each floor so we could get a cool drink.

As we were in Orlando to visit Disney, we really did not spend a lot of time in the hotel but when we did, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel provides towels around the swimming pool area and there's a cafe bar which sells beers, soft drinks and snacks. The pool is open until midnight and was well used but there was always plenty of beds and tables & chairs.

The maids did a great job, the rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily and bedding changed regularly. We hired a car so we did not have to use the free buses laid on by the Hotel to the theme parks. We thought hiring a car was best for us, we could arrive at the park and leave whenever we felt like it and the parking was only $9 a day.

We had a good look around International Drive and there are lots of hotels there. I would probably not stay at the Best Western Plaza again. Because of the huge choice of other hotels, I would want to try somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Slaters
12 years 2 months ago
We were very pleased with our rooms at this hotel having read mixed reviews. It was clean and spacious with an ironing board, iron and hair dryer in all rooms. Our room was at the end of the corridor near the stairwell but it was fairly quiet. We were in block 2 room numb 2439 but some of the other rooms near the pool seam to be a bit more lively and the constant banging of the security gates closing round the pool would have got on my nerves.

The staff were friendly and helpful but could have smiled a little more. We would go to Ponderosa for breakfast most mornings it close to the hotel and the food is good along with the staff with exception to Doug if you got him on an off day he would try your patients.

The hotel is situated on the best part of international drive its all so clean and well kept.

The shuttle bus worked really well for us we used it every day. you have to book it the day before it went to MK at 7 30 and sea world at 9 00 then universal 9 30 then MGM at 10 40 then EPCOT at 11 45. pick up times to come back were 6pm MK then 7pm UNIVERSAL the 7 30 SEAWORLD then 8 30 at MK then 8 40 at MGM then 9 50 at EPCOT then last one was MK at 10pm

If you have a bus voucher you are guaranteed a seat on the bus some people didn't bother to book and got on but if the bus gets too full he checks everyones tickets and those without valid pick up times they have to get off and let the people with tickets get on. You can queue for the bus sometimes for up to twenty min but when it comes everyone just goes for it so be ready. The bus is usually ten min late but no more and the driver was brill. He used to greet us every morning saying "morning families" we gave him a $1 every time we got on the bus.

The reception staff will lead you to believe that to book the bus you have to go on it to come home on it but you don't you could make your own way there and get the bus back or visa versa but you have to go and come back on the times written on the voucher.

The parks are all brill the food isn't has costly has we thought it was going to be.

We all had a brilliant time and are going back soon. We would stay at this hotel again we loved it has I"m sure you will too.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Billy Pattison
12 years 10 months ago
My family stayed at this hotel in september which is a good time to go very few ques but the shuttle bus was a complete nightmare no one used it right we were forced to que an hour before it was due when we complained to the hotel they did not want to know apart from that the hotel was ok but I would not go again because of the shuttle.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel city direct

Raynor
13 years ago
This hotel room was clean but did smell damp.

The hotel was just in the right place for us on the doorstep to everything but far away so you could unwind.

Did not need the staff much but when we did only to happy to help yes I would use this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel city direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum