Image of Monumental Movieland

Monumental Movieland

45 of 67 hotels in Orlando

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
6233 International Drive, Orlando, FL, United States

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
J-Bo
Horrendous
6 years 1 month ago
There is no way this hotel is a 3*. And it is definitely NOT clean. It smelled of mould and damp, there were hairs all over the bathroom when we arrived - not ours obviously - the shower was hanging off the wall, the towels were disgusting with yellow splodges from god knows what on them. You'd be better off camping than staying here. Seriously.

The surrounding area on I-Drive also includes some shut-down restaurants - clearly that area has gone downhill.
Service:
Location:
Holly O' Mahony
9 years 11 months ago
After a seven hour trip to FLorida, i was delighted to be welcomed by such lovley staff. They were helpful and cheerful for the late time of night it was.

When first put it into the room, my family and I were delighted to find a large enough, spacious tidy room. With a large bathroom with hairdryes, the room also had ironing facilites. The televison was quite annoying as it was quite blurry when the children wanted to watch, and the computer we ordered was almost always broken.

The Black Angus steakhouse located on the side of the hotel was nice, good food and once agan kind people, it stays open until about 12.30am which is also good for hungary travellers, although it was quite cheeky in price, i enjoyed my meal, but i would no doubt recommend the resturants, ponderosa, and sizzelers as said it previous reviews which do great deals for familys. I would also say the IHOP was a great place to go for breakfast as it is located down the road from the hotel. The hotel is also near quite a few other amazing resturants including benigans,chillis + TGI'S. The hotel, also is located a meer to foors down from wallgreens which is great as it is a supermarket with everything

The hotel was in an excellent locaton, a 20 minute walk to Universal if you want to walk to go to the citywalk, and the hotel provided a free shuttel bus to universal and seaworld. The best things about the hotel is that it is situated right across the road from the fabuolus wet'n'wild water park. Also, the hotel was near a selection of prime outlets,malls(florida mall is great),premiun outlets,ross and walmarts which is great. The hotel alough does not have a shuttle to disney, but taxis are of a resonable price.

The hotel is also situated near alot of tourist attractions such as go karting and ripleys believe it or not.

The hotel was not great on entertainment though, providing us with a U shaped pool which was great, but not much games to keep the kids to enjoy.

The gift shop was small yet handy as you could buy sodas and chips.

I truly enjoyed my holday there, I simply cannot wait to go back in the near future, brilliant hotel!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Delta Airlines

Recommended
Jodie & Shane
11 years 5 months ago
Hotel was very clean, however when we first arrived we did notice a damp, musky smell in our room, & the room was also a bit damp. We found our towels never dried properly overnight and our clothes felt a bit damp, not sure whether this is to do with the air con or what, but we seemed to get used to it & not notice it after a while.

Hotel could do with a bit of a re-decorate, & a lick of fresh paint, & fresh carpets, did not see any paint or holes as one review has said, but was a bit old looking. Maids were excellent, fresh towels and sheets everyday.

We never tried any of the food as it is overpriced and you can get an excellent meal down the road a lot cheaper, we suggest Sizzler (which is directly opposite-3.99 for breakfast & 9.99 for dinner), Ponderosa (turn right) & Perkins which is a bit further up the road (may want to get the i.bus, which comes every 20mins,or if you've got a car-its perfect!)Make sure you pick up the coupon books that are EVERYWHERE as they have lots of 10%-15% off coupons for most restaurants & can help save a bit of money!

Location was excellent. Free shuttle bus to sea world and both Universal parks, and about 20min drive from Disney parks & premium outlet malls, and prime outlet malls & Millenia Mall if your after bargains in the shops! Also dead opposite Wet & Wild, which if you have a flex ticket you can go in up 14 times!!

Staff were ok,although did seem to have a funny story when it came to our hot water....for the first 3 days we were there we did not have any hot water, so we asked for someone to come & look at it, he told us that because we were situated on the ground floor, at the back of the hotel (rooms 169 & 170). We were the furthest point from the boiler and it would take at least 30mins for the hot water to reach us!!( he also didnt speak very good english!) so basically we had to get up half hour before wanted a shower, turn it on, go back to bed then get up, by this time still no hot water!

After 3 days we went to ask to be moved to another room because we had no hot water, we were told then that the reason was because the boiler room (which we was told first was at the top) had flooded but it was getting fixed that day! My boyfriend who was with us is a plumber, and knew the story was a load of rubbish BUT that same night a minibus fell through the concrete at the front of our hotel and burst the pipe, and from then on our water was boiling, so we still dont know what that was all about, but we suggest you get a room higher up towards the front.

The other complaint was that we'd been to Florida before & the hotel before but this time when we got there we were told we had to pay $2.50 a day as government tax, we had no idea about this as we wasnt informed, & never paid it before, so we handed over our credit card, then at the end of the holiday after checking out we were told halfway through our holiday this $2.50 had gone up to $6.75 a day as we had an internet connection and pc in our room( which we didnt! (We didnt even use a pc) We reufsed to pay it- but couldnt leave...so had to pay up!

We have now placed a complaint with the people we booked with and are waiting to see what happens! but expect to pay this!!our travel agent says we didnt need to pay.

Due to this latter part of the review we would not stay here again, but did have a fantastic holiday regardless!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from this hotel and found it to be lovely.

The hotel has recently been redecorated and it spotlessly clean.

The staff where very obliging and always polite and well mannered.

I would definately return to this hotel for a future visit to Orlando as it is in an excellant location on International Drive.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Susan Waller
11 years 9 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for one week, the rooms were a good size with coffee/tea making facilities and rooms were cleaned daily also towels changed daily.

The public areas of the hotel could do with upgrading the carpets in the corridors have holes and paint marks on them.
The facilities were adequate but the public phones were full for days before being emptied and the hotel shop wasn't open very often.

While we were there we came across 2 guests that had presents stolen from there room.

On the whole the hotel staff weren't very friendly.
To eat I would recommend the Ponderousa across the road and turn right not to far, the steaks are excellent,

The location is excellent but I do think you need a car if your going to Disney it makes things easier.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Av8tours

Dean Grafton
11 years 11 months ago
I have stayed in this hotel four times in the last five years. I have been with family, a group of friends and just me and my girlfriend.

I cannot fault this hotel in anyway. The location is perfect with the free shuttles and they do a $12 return trip to disney which is great if you dont want a car (it is $9 just to park in the disney parks).

The staff have always been very friendly but I do not know how helpful they are as I have never had any problems.

Rooms are cleaned every day and towells changed. This is by no means a luxurious hotel but you do not go to Orlando to sit in the hotel. The pool is adequate.

The Black Angus restaurant maybe slightly more expensive but is the best food especially steak on I Drive.

I love it here and will be coming back year after year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel city direct

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
The rooms were a good enough size for us, there were tea/coffee making facilities and they were fairly basic but very well maintained. The maids were excellent and kept our room spotless.

The hotel itself is in a fab location across from Wet'n'Wild and walking distance (or $5 in a taxi if you're lazy!) to Universal theme parks.

We found the staff to be fine. Though I wouldn't book taxis through them as they are on commission and taxis are over priced. Also the hotel is situated next to Walmart which is very handy.

The hotel did not provide entertainment. The Black Angus attached was not bad for food though I would recommend the Ponderosa for breakfast, turn right at front door couple hundred yards then cross at crossing, 3.99 per adult kids under 6 eat free.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked directly

Recommended
Jones Pary
13 years ago
This hotel is situated in a great location across from Wet and wild International drive -if you purchase an Orlando flex ticket you can go in wet and wild sea world and universal studios/islands of adventure as many times as you wish over a 14 day period, the kids went in wet and wild sometimes just for an hour -more fun than the hotel pool.

Hotel was clean maids came in every day to clean and make the beds. Our room was in the corner with a side view of the pool, other comments said rooms were musty- didtn really notice this , we did have quite a bit of rain during our stay and there were patches in the corridors that were very wet carpets but our room was fine.

Hotel rooms had tv and phones quite basic but for the short time that you are in them were all that was required.

We found the hotel restaurant breakfast not to be that good and even with the 10 % discount by the time they had added drinks etc it was quite expensive compared to the others.

Remember that at the end of the holiday you need to pay a resort tax its about 30 dollars but we had forgotton about it, and had a shock when checking out.

We had a great time at the theme parks and bought our tickets in the uk before we left - no hassle or queueing involved when we arrived.

Overall great holiday and would stay here at the movieland again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
As mentioned earlier this is a basic hotel in a great location. It is starting to look a bit tired now and could do with decorating in some of the rooms. The location is excellent just accross the road from wet and wild. During our stay our bathroom ceiling developed a nasty leak ( from the room above) this was at 11pm at night, all credit to the staff they had another room for us within 5 minutes. Would I stay again, No their are better hotels for the Money, I am going again in October and staying at the La Quinta Further up I drive near The Mercado.... better quality at same price.

My top tip: Buy your Universal tickets online before you travel direct from Universals website, they are currently offering 7 days for the price of 2 or 14 days for the price of 3
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mytravel

Corina
13 years 3 months ago
We had the basic family room (2 double beds, bathroom,tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, sky tv).We@ve stayed in 3 different hotels on I-Drive, but this one was the best.

The location was excellent, with Wet'n'Wild just across the road, Walmart supermarket,shops and lots of restaurants all around us.As we didn't hire a car, we had a taxi to Universal (7$)and took the I-Ride trolley to Seaworld. There was free transport(mid morning), but we wanted to get to the parks for opening time.

Our room was spotless and the maid service was very good. The rest of the staff were ok-not overly friendly.The only thing missing was a mini-fridge to keep drinks cold, so we filled the washbasin with ice cubes to keep drinks cold overnight!

Pool was lovely and clean, but we were disappointed that the pool bar was not open at all. We ate at the Great Western next door with 10% off on production of room key. Lovely food and loads of it!!

There was no entertainment at the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelox/united airlines

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum