Image of Bahama Bay Resort & Spa

Bahama Bay Resort & Spa

22 of 67 hotels in Orlando

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
400 Gran Bahama Boulevard, Davenport, FL, United States

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Like a villa with out a private pool
5 years 6 months ago
Great place to stay. Great setting and location. It is a villa lay out without a private pool, though there are 5 to use on site. No lifeguards, so be sure to keep an eye on the kids. Easy access for local walmart/publix and fast food etc on the SR27 or the 192.
Disney and Universal are between 20 and 50 min away which varies on time of day and traffic weight.

Had one problem on 1st arriving, we had been allocated an upper floor condo but had asked at time of booking (some 11 months earlier) for a ground floor condo as we had a party member who had poor mobility and the upper floors had no elevator/lift service. Staff sorted it by giving us a ground floor condo, an upgrade with no extra charge.

It was close to the trade winds pool and eatery. Food was good and reasonable. The pools could do with selling Ices and ice-cream for the kids. There were no pool towels at the pools but you did have allocated pool towels in the condo with full laundry facilities provided in the condo (though you had to purchase your own detergents, as in a villa).

Would recommend it and defiantly stay there again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sharon
Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
We stayed here with our 20 year old daughter and her friend. Only 10 minutes to get into Disney World. 40 minutes to Universal Orlando. Absolutely love Bahama Bay, the accommodation very nice indeed. Spotlessly clean with all amenities. Our unit had Wi-Fi and was told that Wi-Fi available in all units as of Dec 2010. Staff very accommodating. Had tiny problem with wardrobe door. Reported and maintenance there within five minutes.

Have booked to go again this year - just me and husband. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
We have stayed at Bahama Bay on 3 occassions now over 5 years. We are still really impressed by the accommodation and the location. It is only 20 minutes from Disney, a little further to I-Drive.
It was very clean, there are good facilities in the room, I went home with a suitcase full of clean clothes!
My only gripe is that on one occassion there were a group of Mexicans in the jacuzzi drinking and smoking and staff did not stop them. It was off-putting so we did not use that pool again and went to the one near to reception which seemed to be better kept. I put in a complaint about this so hopefully it was a one-off.

Oh and I notice a few people on this site have complained about a lack of entertainment at Bahama Bay. The management obviously listen to feedback , they now have a karaoke night (thanks a lot) but it was easily avoided by staying out late at the theme parks on karaoke night!

We would definitely stay again if we go to Florida again, a much better quality accomoadation than a lot of the hotels/motels.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct

Recommended
Karen
11 years 2 months ago
Bahama Bay is, quite simply, ideal. The only downside is the incredibly busy road 192 to get there but if you use the toll road (only 50c each way)off Interstate 4 instead, you can save a lot of time and stress.

The apartment was beautiful. All equipment you could possibly want was provided, including washing machine and dryer so you can take all your holiday clothes home clean!! Three pools meant that sunbeds were always available somewhere. Tradewinds restaurant was never busy during our visit, so you could always get a table and the food was excellent and service prompt. The on complex convenience store was very small, with only limited ranges of goods but with Walmart close by, this was not a problem for us.

Our only gripe was that for such a large complex, there were only three pay-per-use computers in the main clubhouse building and with internet dependant teenagers in tow, this is not enough if they need daily contact with their friends in cyberspace!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Private Booking

Recommended
Sal
11 years 4 months ago
Apartment was huge with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.

Very clean on arrival everything you need is in the apartment, washing machine and dryer dishwasher. No cleaner although you could pay to have one if wanted.

Location is ideal not far away from anything but a car is a must! Reception staff were ok but not the best.

We had an apartment near the beach area which was lovely on our rest days from the parks. Pool was never busy.

Would definitley visit again if I was planning to go to Florida.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: diy

Recommended
John
11 years 6 months ago
We stayed at Bahama Bay for two weeks over Easter 2007 having previously stayed there in August 2004.

We like the resort as it's not too busy and the location suits us. We enjoy being further away in the countryside and enjoy the driving to and from the Disney Theme and water parks (which took about 30 mins). The condos are relatively new with some still being built. The condos have 3 floors and about 16 apartments in each block a lot of wood goes in to the construction where in the uk we would use a cavity wall.

Condos are in very good condition, well equipped and clean, we had a three bedroomed, two bathroomed unit with all mod cons and verander. The air con was amazing! The site has several swimming pools and Lake Davenport is huge.

Main problem was that you could easily hear the people next door and those above (we were on the ground floor). For the first few nights we had a party men next door from Canada on a Golfing holiday and they were ok apart from the last night when they stayed up partying! I did complain and security were very good and did ask them to keep the noise down and things eventually did improve.

The staff were very helpful and apologised that the units were not built the same as uk properties - it seems to be a constant problem for them, but from what I have seen the condos are very similar elsewhere in Florida and we would certainly go back to bahama bay.

The local Walmart (north on the I27) is excellent, the prices are amazing.

We had a great time in Florida and will certainly be going back in another couple of years.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct

Recommended
11 years 11 months ago
I arrived at Bahama Bay with high expectations largely due to the many favourable reviews I had read - I was not disappointed! We rented a 3-bedroom condo. directly with the owner and the standard of his apartment was first class, all mod cons, your every need catered for.

The complex itself was a little difficult to find. We managed okay following the directions we had been provided however fell at the final hurdle and missed 'Florence Villa Grove Road.' There is a community 'Davenport Lakes' on the left hand side (it is in large lettering on the corner of the complex wall), you are turning left at this point and follow the road down to the bottom and you will be there.

The complex itself is immaculately clean. We did not use the pools much, only once actually, and were pestered a bit by some bugs but nothing major.

The staff, on the whole, are very pleasant. The reception staff could be doing with some customer service training but hey who cares, didn't need to use them much (one girl was extremely helpful but cannot remember her name.)


We used Tradewinds restaurant three times, twice for the buffet breakfast and once for lunch. Breakfast the first time was excellent but the second time not quite as good. The secret must be to go reasonably early and I guess the food will be fresher. Lunch was good - I would certainly recommend Tradewinds for convenience if you can't face leaving the complex after a tiring day at the parks. Word of caution, do not order takeaway from the menu probably put through your door. We ordered from Beef O'Brady's one night. When you consider the slightly remote location of Bahama Bay, the chances are by the time your food arrives it will be past it's best. That was indeed the case, $35 down the drain, the food was really soggy - disgusting !

One of the highlights for us at Bahama Bay was the fishing dock. We only decided to venture down towards the end of our holiday and how we wished we had gone before. The scenery is quite breathtaking, the tranquillity of the lake and the abundance of wildlife made it something special. You can hire fishing rods from reception for $10 daily which we did, however a word of advice, you can buy cheaper and better ones at Walmart which we ended up doing for our last day. We took chairs down to the dock and sat reading and fishing, absolute bliss, far removed from the manic and mayhem of the parks that we had enjoyed !

In all, we had a fantastic stay at Bahama Bay and will without a doubt return again in the future. If you are considering booking and reading these reviews first, bear in mind Bahama Bay is a little further out than most, but that is a small price to pay. Book, you will not be disappointed - I wasn't !!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
Booked this accomadation on internet through holiday rentals. The owner of this condo gave us instructions how to get to this resort but would find it difficult to find in the dark as the duel carriageway is not lit up. Anyway we had no problems,this resort is 6 mile from Disney and about half an hour to Universal.

It is handy for Interstate 4 and the 192.2 supermarkets are within 15 minutes away and they are so cheap compared to england. The resort is absoluteley 5 star we had a 3 bedroom condo on the top floor 2 large bathrooms and a fully fitted kitchen with all equipment provided,the resort has 3 swimming pools , 1 restaurant and clubhouse with bar, the only downside is no entertainment for kids but who needs it in Florida?
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked self through holiday rentals

Recommended
Borrowdale Family
12 years 9 months ago
Travel City could have provided us with directions, but this was probably as much our fault as theirs. We did have quite a job to find the resort as it was late on Xmas Eve. Finally asked for directions in a gas station on highway 27. Could be better signposted.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Accomodation excellent, condos very well equipped and a very good size. Beds very,very comfortable. The bath in the main bathroom was the deepest I've been in. Our condo had 3 t.v's, stereo and dvd player, bliss with 1x17 yr old and 1x13yr old, no arguments !!

All in all, an excellent place to stay, very clean and comfortable. We would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel City

Recommended
Evelyn
12 years 11 months ago
Excellent accomodation. Very clean, well appointed. Booked two bedroomed appartment but ended up in three bedroom/two bathroom.

A little difficult to find at first but a welcome, quiet peaceful atmosphere away from the buzz of the parks....
Hire car a must.

We didnt eat in the hotel - supermarkets and restaurants nearby.

Staff were very polite. Kids loved the wave and thumbs up from the chap on the gate.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum