Image of Wyndham Orlando Resort

Wyndham Orlando Resort

40 of 67 hotels in Orlando

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
8001 International Drive, Orlando, FL, United States

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Reid
10 years 10 months ago
The Wyndham is a large complex on international drive housing some 16 blocks of accommodation set on two floors. Each block has a convenient laundry room and ice and drinks machine (we brought a cheap ice box and filled it with ice and housed our drinks in it).

I must admit that when we first arrived we were allocated a room overlooking a car park with dirty stained sheets however, we went back to the front desk and they offered me a choice of two other rooms which were bigger and much better.

I don't think the rooms are of a four star standard but the complex was.

The gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. There is a beach hut bar in the centre of the complex and a small shop and coffee/ice cream bar. We ate at the bar on a few nights and the food was OK.

Restaurants, bars and supermarkets are all in easy reach and the i-ride stops conveniently outside the front of the hotel, this can take you anywhere along international drive for a dollar and kids under 12 ride free.

Staff are both helpful and friendly and the room service was fab. Watch out for the lizards and ducks, you soon get used to them on the path and in the ponds, occasionally in the pool too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Kelly
11 years ago
when we arrived at the hotel the reception was great and we thought this was going to be a great holiday, until we arrived at our room which overlooked the pool which was open 24hrs a day. when we entered our room we could not belive we had paid all that money for this diry and dark damp room in what was supposed to be the holiday of a lifetime. The bathroom had what I can only describe as an egg timner for a light switch. the carpet was dirty there was damp patches all over the walls and stank of dampness, condensation all over the windows and horrible dirty cutains and beds. I have never been so disapointed in accomidation in my life. We then had the misfortune of someone trying to get in to our room while we we all in bed at 22:45 at night. I can honestly say that I have never been so scared while on holiday and when asked to move they wanted more money from us so we left on the sat morning as we did not feel safe staying there with our children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Todd
11 years 2 months ago
We stayed for 14 nights at the Wyndham Resort Hotel on International Drive , and traveled there with Virgin Atlantic. This was my fifth visit to Orlando.

I chose the hotel for its star rating , but was bitterly disappointed.

The flight there was ok ,although 40 min. late departing , but collecting my hire car was a chore. I had expected long delays at passport control , due to the stricter regulations, but was pleasantly surprised to get through this part of the journey quite quickly, they seemed to have improved in this department , however the long wait for my car ,even though I had prearranged the platinum insurance cover and everything should have been straight forward ,was a big wind up. We landed at 15.15 and it took until 1800 hrs to get on our way.

The good side about it was the car itself, it was almost new and in good clean condition.

We arrived at the hotel about 18.30 hrs , and allocated two rooms at the back of the complex , in block 10, they were unable to supply adjoining rooms as requested.

My first impressions were not good , however my standards have become pretty high of late as I have stayed recently in some very nice 4 star Hotels . Including ones in the Dominican Republic, which seem to be doing a lot better considering there standards of living. The rooms themselves are in much need of refurbishment. The bathrooms in particular , only partly tiled and mostly emulsion-ed walls, they were very tiny .

The cleaners came in every day , apart from once when they missed us out. The towels were always changed and the beds made up , but our laminated floor was never cleaned in the full fortnight. When we arrived there were coffee stains on the floor by the bed and they were still there when we left

We pointed out to one of the cleaners the corners of the room which were thick dust and cobwebs , she showed her surprise at the sight of the dust and promised to clean it up the next day but it never happened.

In all the rooms were pretty grubby but the grounds of the Hotel were very nice and well kept . there were some nice touches but it seemed the Hotel is concentrating more on Conference Rooms than accommodation. One other thing I must mention is the soundproofing , all the rooms appear to have connecting doors and you can hear every word of your neighbours conversations.

The Hotel is not in my opinion 4 star , I previously stayed at the Rodeway Inn , Hamilton , twice at Larsons Lodge and Quality Inn and all 3 star , equally as good as the Wyndham .

Next time I visit Florida I will have to consider Walt Disney Resort Hotel's . The rest seem to be letting their standards slip.

While on the subject of my holiday , we visited Universal studios and resort , this i found to be a big rip off. The car parking is dearer, you still have to pay for City Walk unlike Pleasure Island, and after paying out for tickets you still have to pay out more money for fast passes once inside otherwise you will not get on any rides. Catering is also more expensive than Disney. We purchased a two day pass with an extra day free before we left England and only used the one day , It wasn't even worth going back for the free meal we received for travelling with Virgin.

Whilst on that subject, we bought a KIDS EAT FREE card from the Virgin rep , this was also a waste of money , we had a 3yr. old and 7yr. old The yr. old would eat free anywhere and the ticket only allowed the older one to eat from the salad bars , How many 7 yr. olds want to live on salad for two weeks , we still had to purchase any kids meals they wanted even with the kids eat free card , and it also stopped us from receiving the 10 percent discounts most restaurants were offering.

Anyway I think I have complained enough , apart from all the problems we had a very nice holiday in Orlando and I am sure we will visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Virgin Atlantic

Appleton
11 years 2 months ago
We arrived at the Wyndham about 17.00 after a long flight and were amazed at the welcoming response of reception staff after previously reading negative comments. We were automatically upgraded (free of charge)to a 'family suite'which gave us that extra bit of room - very nice.

The room was very clean and spacious and the linen and towels were changed every day. Our romm did have locked connecting rooms but we were lucky and did not have noisy neighbours!

We did not need to have much contact with the staff but when we did we found them to be very helpful and polite.

This is a lovely hotel (with beautiful grounds immaculately presented) which is spread over a large area so the 3 pool areas can accommodate the guests comfortably. It is sited at a busy xroads (Sandlake Road & Int. Drive) but as the grounds are so vast you do not hear the traffic and are handy for the i-ride trolley which stops right outside.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and having seen some of the others we were going to choose this is definitely the better.

The journey to Disney from here is a bit of a 'hike' if you do not have a car but when you eventually return after a busy day in the parks you have a lovely pool area to relax and chill.

Excellent holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Atkins
11 years 11 months ago
Just returned from Wyndham.

This hotel is on two levels only and covers a huge area right on the junction of I-drive and Sand lake drive. This is a busy road but you won't hear a thing if you ask for a room which faces inwards i.e. pool view.

There are three pool areas which are excellent with free padded sun loungers, games, water and chilled towels. There is also a pool bar serving snacks and a hotel bar and restaurant, the foods good but not cheap.

We were in block thirteen which looked like it had been refurbished. Walking around, some rooms and blocks looked better than others, although we didn't hear any complaints from Brits staying here.

Don't use the room telephone it costs a fortune (use a payphone or get a phone card). Don't hire a fridge (get a cheap cool box from Walgreens over the road and fill it full of ice. There is a free ice machine in every block) I think I got this idea off someone on this site!

Hotel staff were always polite, as with all Americans we met.

The big bonus with this hotel is its location right in the centre of I-drive. We didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: style

Recommended
Claire Lewis
12 years 10 months ago
The room we had was great, 2 double beds and a balcony which overlooked the pool areas. We stayed in block 11 and it was spotless, the maid came in everyday and all the toiletries etc were always changed.

The staff were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Since then we have become Wyndham by request members. Will stay again the next time we are in Florida and would recommend to anyone else
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Barbara
13 years ago
This is our third visit to this hotel and we definitely visit again.

The location is excellent, if you are like us and don't want to drive in the evening, there are numerous restaurants within walking distance in both directions of International Drive.

I would though advise you request a room in those blocks over looking the main pool. These rooms newer and slightly bigger ( excluding the family suites) and have either patio doors or a balcony. The older rooms simply open almost immediately on to the parking area.

The staff in the hotel are second to none. We had the unfortunate incident of having to request a doctor which turned into a 911 call, but the staff were at our room immediately prior to the paramedics arriving. Security was also excellent.

I would definitely recommend the Wyndham.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended
Diane
13 years 1 month ago
This hotel was the best one that we have ever stayed in, we have been all over Europe. The room was spotless and the maid came in every day if required.

Little extras make the difference, such as toiletries replaced every day, playstation in room, big tv with a few good channels, even Disney channel for the kids! Two huge beds, a table with two chairs and a small balcony with two chairs and a small table.

There are only two floors in each building, but there aren't any lifts, but the hotel will always cater to your needs if you request a ground floor room. There are three pool, all heated and open 24 hours a day!

The hotel has a few places to eat, but the location is fantastic, we didn't eat here as there is too much choice surrounding.

The location has to be one of the best in Orlando as this hotel is right in the centre of International Drive, the hotel offers free transport to Universal and SeaWorld and you can catch a bus right outside to Wet and Wild.

Disney is about $25 in a taxi, but Virgin sell shuttle passes really cheap to pick up from your Hotel to go to any of the Disney Parks. Bearing this in mind, you don't even need to hire a car when staying in this hotel, we didn't and visited all the attractions.

Everyone on the staff is really friendly and helpful. The Bellhops are a mind of local information and can tell you almost anything you wish to know. There isn't much entertainment in the hotel, but like I said before, you are in the middle of everything so choice is there if wanted.

If you want a day of relaxation, the hotel grounds are a lovely place to relax as the gardens are well tended and the water fountains are beautiful.

We will definitely be going here again in the future as it was absolutely amazing!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places/Virgin

Recommended
Gary W
13 years 1 month ago
My wife and I visited here in June 05. The hotel complex is great, nice surroundings and very tidy.

The pool areas were big enough to avoid the kids going mad if you wanted a quieter dip away from them. The hotel even provide all the usual pool extras such as inflatables, balls, floats and even CD players.

The bar at night is nice and relaxing but can be very quiet even in June, we were the only 2 there on a few nights but the bar staff were great and very chatty etc. The reception staff were a wee bit up themselves and not as helpful while the bellboys and room service were very good.

Only thing we found slightly off putting was the fact as the complex is very open and spacious, your room door opens to anyone, there is little in the way of security etc and this can be somewhat disturbing when you hear movement outside in the early hours - ask for an upstairs room (there are only two levels throughout.

Compared to other places we have stayed at in the area this was however the best. In pricing comparison it was extremely good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
Great hotel, pool view a must though, blocks 7 and up have better views and pools.

Rooms are clean and tidy, a little dated but still excellent for this type of holiday.

On-site coffee shops are very good (starbucks)and gym, sauna, steam room etc, very handy.

Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The location was excellent for universal studios (5 mins by car) the same for seaworld, wet-n-wild etc.
One of the better settings on I-drive.

Disney and parks was about 10 mins away by car.

We would definately stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum