Image of MGM Grand Hotel

MGM Grand Hotel

17 of 59 hotels in Las Vegas

5 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
3799 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV, United States
The MGM Grand, Las Vagas is perfectly located just off the main strip, is in a perfect place for seeing all the attractions Las Vagas has to offer. There 5,338 guestrooms, as well as 51 Sky Lofts, as well as the lavish casino and a 740-seat theatre.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kate Andrews
Lovely and Spacious
6 years 7 months ago
Big comfortable room, lots of channels and free safe in room. Bathroom is spacious with good shower, didn't try the bath! Good view from the window and they don't mind you getting take out delivered to the room. In the lobby area is a Starbucks and a Mc Donald’s etc. Staff are friendly but didn't need any help except when booking tickets for KA. Didn't try the buffet here as quiet expensive, decoration is lovely and we had no trouble.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Really love it
7 years 11 months ago
Waited 10 mins to check in at 1pm. There was only one person in front of us, but they took ages so we moved to another desk. Check in clerk was nice and confirmed our Bungalow suite for 4 nights.

He gave us 2 coupons for $15 beverage credit which is normally included in the resort fee of $10/night. (Now $20 from January 2011) I asked if we would have to pay the resort fee as we had booked before it was introduced and he said we wouldn't so I asked how much internet access was seeing as we would have to pay for it. He said he had also given it to us free (it's normally $15/24 hours) so we got $90 of freebies plus free local calls.

The room wasn't ready and check in is normally 3pm, but you can get in earlier if the room is ready. We were given a number to call from any house phone to check if it was ready.

Left our luggage with the bell desk. It's free, but you have to tip. Gambled on Jackpot Block party and lost. Moved to Mega Winner and turned $10 into $65 then cashed out at $45 so recouped my losses from earlier. Had 2 paralyzers while we were playing.

Called the desk at 2.15 and the room was ready, room 20105 on the 20th floor. The room is just 3 doors from the elevators which was great at the corridors at the MGM are extremely long.

It was a really nice room, 694 sq ft, very similar to the Celebrity Spa Suite we had in May, but with a normal bath instead of a Jacuzzi. There is a separate shower as well as one over the bath.

There was an armoire between the bed area and the sitting area which housed the TV and had 2 shelved cupboards and 4 deep drawers. There was a built in double wardrobe with mirrored doors which housed the safe and iron and ironing board. It was a large, deep safe and would probably hold a laptop at an angle.

There was a large desk next to the window with a great view, a sofa, a chair and a coffee table. There was a wet bar with a small fridge below.

The bathroom had twin sinks, toilet, bath with shower above and a separate large shower. Plenty towels and toiletries and 2 hairdryers.

There were 2 large windows, one in the bedroom area and one in the sitting area, each with a great view of the strip looking north. We could see New York New York, Monte Carlo, Aria and City Center.

We found the air con at the MGM to be very dry and have both been coughing. I soaked a towel to try and humidify the room a bit, but it didn't help. The room is so large there are 2 air con units, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area.

Called down for the bags and they were brought up within 10 mins. Another tip. 10 mins later everything was unpacked.

The internet in the room is now wired or wireless. It used to be just wired. However it wasn't working very well so I called the helpline and an engineer called within 5 mins then came up shortly afterwards and fixed it as the wireless router nearest the room had been switched off.

We have stayed at the MGM a few times and really like it. The Grand Tower rooms are fine, but the Celebrity Spa Suite and Bungalow Suite are much bigger and worth getting if you get a good price for them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
MGM Celebrity Spa Suite 06.05.10

Waited 5 mins at check in at 11am, but the room wasn't ready. Check in clerk wasn't very nice and said that check in was 3pm. We were given a number to call to check if the room was ready. Left the bags with the bell desk and went to gamble. Played Hitchcock theater, lost and lost. Cocktail service was very good.

Called on the house phone at 11.50 to see if the room was ready and it was, bonus. We were allocated 24340 on the 24th floor and were told we could go straight up as we already had the keys. They hadn't taken a swipe of the credit card at check in, but had the details from when I booked online.

I was worried it would be too much of a trek with the room being at the end of the hallway, but it wasn't too bad at all. I hadn't told OH that I had booked a Celebrity Spa Suite so he was expecting a Grand Tower room. He was well impressed with the suite.

Really large room with an armoire between the bed area and the sitting area which housed the TV (CRT not flat screen) and had 2 shelved cupboards and 4 deep drawers. There was also a built in double wardrobe with mirrored doors which housed the safe and iron and ironing board. It was a large, deep safe and would probably hold a laptop at an angle.

There was a large desk next to the window with a great view, a sofa, a chair and a coffee table. There was a wet bar with a small fridge below.

The bathroom was about 13ft x 12ft with twin sinks, toilet, jacuzzi bath and a separate large shower.

There were 2 large windows, one in the bedroom area and one in the sitting area, each with a great view of the strip. We could see Mandalay Bay, THEhotel, Luxor, Tropicana, Excalibur, west along Tropicana, New York New York, Monte Carlo, Aria and City Center.

The casino is one of the largest on the strip, but we found it easy enough to navigate once we got our bearings.

There are several high end restaurants and other more affordable eating places.

The hotel is at the end of the monorail line with easy access to the rest of the strip. Both the Ace Gold and Deuce buses stop outside.

The Grand Canyon Experience shop is opposite the West Wing entrance for drinks and snacks.

The hotel has a Lion Habitat and you can view the lions between 11am and 7pm which is free.

We have previously stayed in a Grand Tower room, but for an extra $30 a night I would certainly stay in a Celebrity Spa Suite again as it is about twice the size of the Grand Tower and we really liked the extra space.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct with the hotel

Recommended
Zoe Mills
8 years 11 months ago
The MGM Grand is an absolutely fantastic hotel! Great rooms, spotlessly clean, fantastic and friendly staff, excellent casino (huge!) with wonderful added extras that you would only see in Las vegas (lions, etc!).

Can not reccommend this hotel enough - perfect, as is Las Vegas. Even if you're not a gambler there is something for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
The Signature is a gated property and we were told at the gate house that we were in Tower 3 which is the newest tower. I had booked with Luxury Suites International originally at $129 a night where it is normally $179, but found an $89 rate so called to have it adjusted. The property is totally non-smoking.

We were allocated room 809 in the 16th floor and right next to the elevators. Unfortunately no balcony as I had requested and the check in clerk said I had to call Luxury Suites International as the booking was with them. I did call and was told there were none available, but to call back tomorrow.

There is also a $20 a night resort fee which covers the use of the wireless internet access, two bottles of water a day, a daily newspaper, private label coffee, local telephone calls and use of the fitness centre which was very well equipped with loads of different machines all with TV screens above them.

The suite was really nice. King bed with nice linens, sofa and armchair, coffee table, lots of lights, a kitchenette area with microwave, coffee maker, blender, sink, fridge, toaster and enough utensils for a light meal, a 28” flat screen TV and DVD player.

The bathroom was a good size with a large, jetted Jacuzzi bath big enough for two, massive separate shower that we could also have both fitted in, twin sinks, small TV, toilet in a separate room with a phone and nice toiletries – shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion.

The view was north and we could see the new PH Westgate, Marriot Grand Chateau, the new City Center Project, the Carriage House, as far south as Monte Carlo and as far north as beyond the Stratosphere.

Each of the 3 towers has its own pool, although the one at Tower 3 was closed. We went to the one at Tower 2 and it was a little oasis of calm. There were people there, but we could have had a bed no problem. There is a cafe called Delights and a Starbucks.

The toilets in the public area were beautiful with glass basins and individual cotton hand towels.

There were sofas with ashtrays and tables just outside the rear of Tower 3 so we sat in the sun for a while.

The Signature is a 10 min walk to the strip along Harmon or 5-10 mins to the back of the MGM, then another 15 mins from there to the front of the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Luxury Suites International

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
MGM What can I say, magnificent and huge. Went on a package sports deal with First Choice to see Ricky Hatton fight. The hotel was immaculate, glorious and spacious. The bedrooms were large and very clean. Bed queen size and very comfy. The food restaurants were a bit on the dear size but there was always McDonalds - which was cheaper than here. Always plenty going on. The hotel is situated just towards one end of the strip but within walking distance to most of the other large famous hotels, New York, New York accessed by a walking bridge over the road and so on to the other hotels. Just loved this hotel and the 24 hour night life. Just amazing. Room only basis so you only spend what you want to spend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Ok, I LOVE this place! It was my second stay, having spent one night here the previous September, I had to come back!
The Signature is basically the 'Posh' part of the MGM Grand hotel. (Although the MGM Grand itself has some lovely suites).
The Signature is made up of three towers that sit out the back of the MGM Grand hotel. About 75% of the suites are actually privately owned and you can normally get a better deal by gong through the owner themselves or a management company rather than booking through MGM (as they add their cut to the price). Try VRBO for lists of owners or Luxury Suites International for a good management company, I booked through Luxury Suites and saved over $1000 on my two week stay compared to MGM prices for the same suite.
The suites are lovely, very clean, flat screen TV's built in, nice little kitchen area, sofa, desk and chair and a nice sized bathroom with a very big walk in shower.
Each of the three towers has it's own swimming pool but you can use any of the three as a guest. Only Signature guests are allowed to use the pool areas so it's normally very quiet. Entry is by room key in electronic reader on gate. There are loads of sunbeds and they are really comfy with thick mattresses on them. Towels and mattress covers are available as you go in. Pool service for food and drink is superb. If you tend to spend a fair bit of time by the pool in Vegas then the Signature really is hard to beat in my opinion. The other good thing is, there is no casino, it's just a hotel, so you do get away from all the noise and clamour....and although Ilove that, it's nice to get a bit of peace and quiet to get ready for the evenings entertainment!!
The only downside I've heard people mention is that because you are at the back of the MGM Grand, you have a 7-10 minutes walk to walk all the way through to the front of MGM Grand - big deal I say! But what people tend to forget is, if you go out of Tower 1 of the Sig, to the road entrance, rather than walk through the corridor to MGM, it's about a 5 min walk straight up to Planet Hollywood - and you've probably saved yourself a 15 minute walk down from the front of MGM! I really can't fault the Signature, it's a little bit of luxury for a great price if you do a bit of research. I've been to Vegas 11 times now (back again this September too) and having stayed in places like Mirage and Bellagio, I can honestly say this is the best place I've stayed in.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Davies Family
11 years ago
The MGM is an amazing place. It,s huge. Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and without any fuss. We found our room easily as a maid who was cleaning kindly showed us the way. Rooms were of a high standard and were very sapcious and spotlessly clean. Everything about the hotel is first class, everything is well signposted and its easy to find your way around.

While we were there, we were lucky enough to catch David Copperfield who was superb and KA which was mind blowing. Well worth the money to go and see.

Food was good, if not on the expensive side. The rainforest cafe was nice, and the food there was good value.

The pools were exceptional, especially the lazy river, which was good fun for all the family. All pool areas were again spotlessly clean, (as was all the hotel) with no rushing for sunbeds which was really nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
We travelled to Las Vegas for the Ricky Hatton fight. Fight put aside, this was by far the best holiday of my life!! The MGM is out of this world. Absolutely huge. Life never stops. We got up one morning at 3am and decided to go out, life in the MGM and outside was still rocking!! Fabulous rooms with stunning views. Night views were the best with all of Vegas lit up. Staff very friendly, never saw the same person twice though! God knows how many staff they have to employ! Rooms were made up everyday, fresh towels etc.. Swimming pools were great, try the lazy river. Cant fault this hotel one bit. Just amazing!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
Just come back from LV 12 nights of 100%enjoyment we loved it my wife and I stayed at the MGM Grand casino and the rooms were excellent even though I went last year I found that there were more kids staying at the hotel this year ?? cant do anything the security is very strict well it would be there is CCTV all over.

Circus Circus or Excalibur is about the only I can suggest for kids not sure about the rooms in Circus Circus.

Excalibur I saw a lot of kids pool area is ok and the rooms are ok I stayed for 1 night in the wide screen with a view and the rates were good about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: BMI

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
One Week Or Two offers a complete personalised travel service with Holidays | Flights | Cruises | Hotels at fantastic prices.
Holiday Truths Forum