54 independent reviews of the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 60456, Cyprus
Cypria Bay Riu Hotel
Cypria Bay Riu Hotel Location
Ranked #28 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Cypria Bay Riu Hotel Cypria Bay Riu Hotel is rated 3.7 out of 5 from 54 Reviews
78% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (54 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Cypria Bay Riu Hotel Reviews

2/5
2
"Not good"
Mrs J Newall visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in June 2012
Stayed at this hotel in a side sea view room which were priced as best rooms, for our Sonís wedding in June 21st 2012.

I don't know how it got it's 4star plus rating we would give it 2star. The hotel needs a complete refurbishment, the rooms were tatty with only one electric socket, mini - fridge (not) hardly a cooler and empty. Satellite TV was euro-sat only one English Channel BBC world news.

The lobby bar reception area had NO Air conditioning for the whole two weeks we were there. The grass area for sunbathing was covered in some kind of beetle and cockroaches, all the sun beds and umbrellas were old, if you didnít have a bad back when you got there you will by the time you leave, and it's not what I would call on the ...
beach.

English Weddings, if you want something special donít go here, squeezed 3 into one day which made things run late which meant we were all sweating in reception again. This hotel caters for Cypriot Weddings and Prom Parties which take over the hotel and we were restricted to the reception with a pianist for entertainment and still sweating.

Although we were all inclusive we had to leave the hotel on numerous occasions. Good points food and staff.

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"Perfect wedding venue"
mr and mrs bellamy visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos in September 2011
When we arrived at the hotel we thought it was beautiful and it was recommended to us by our tour operator. As we were planning to get married in Cyprus this hotel was a very good choice.

The rooms were very nice and each day we had a different art piece on our bed made out of towels which was nice the rooms were cleaned every day. All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times from cleaners who were always pleasant and reception and bar staff always helpful.

Thereís an indoor pool with sauna and steam room and a gym so lots of facilities. The pool area was amazing with the bridges going across it and an ideal place to get married there. We saw lots of weddings before ours and they were all stunning with lots ...
of areas on the hotel ground to have photos taken. We liked the idea of having the hotel Maris next door to us to which was also the sister to the Cypria bay so you could also use their pool and bars too.

The entertainment wasn't brilliant but was good if you have children but was a bit cheesy but if you did't want to sit and watch entertainment then you could sit on the terrace of either the cypria bay or the maris side and just enjoy the views and a quiet drink.

The food was very good with lots of choice and different every day so you couldn't complain and food was served from breakfast at 7.30am then right through till 10pm for dinner with midnight snacks of sandwiches being served 10-11.30pm.

We were there a week before we got married and our family flew out a week later they put us all together and accommodated us throughout the holiday.

We had an amazing wedding here and very stress free, the planner was amazing and the hotel sorted out the reception for us which was fab. I'd highly recommend getting married here or just go for a holiday because we loved it.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5
"Just returned from 11 fantastic nights"
Rosie stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in July 2011
Have just returned from 11 fantastic nights at the Riu Cypria Bay. Transfer time from Paphos airport only 20 minutes. Check in was very easy and reception staff friendly and helpful.

Room on the 3rd floor with pool and sea views. Rooms cleaned to a very good standard every day and always came back to amazing towel art. Pool towels supplied that can be changed at reception.

Great selection of food at each meal time and snacks in between. Animation team work very hard with activities all day, but are not pushy, special mention to Louise who was brilliant. Lots of weddings at the hotel on the beach which were lovely to watch. Did not watch a lot of the evening entertainment but what we watched we enjoyed.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

E Hogg stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2011
This hotel is in a nice location and is very clean. We also had read bad reviews before going and were concerned but needn't have been.

Rooms were comfortable and clean a bit dated but soon to be refurbished. Fridge, TV and hairdryer in room. We were able to keep air condition on all day which was great as temperatures were averaging 40 every day.

Food was good, always plenty of choice a good selection of well cooked meats, vegetables and salad. Breakfast could be eaten outside. Lunch and Dinner eaten at either Maris or Bay. Dinner was in two sittings where you were given a table and asked to eat at same time each night. We chose the 8.30 sitting at the Maris and used the Bay if we wanted to eat earlier. ...
Both restaurants served same menu.

Pool areas and gardens were kept very clean plenty sunbeds and umbrellas for everyone. During our second week new sunbeds and beach towels were in use.

Staff throughout the hotel worked hard and were very helpful, they couldnít do enough for you.

Entertainment team also worked hard but we didnít bother with it, preferring to walk into harbour of just sit in bar.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Lovely hotel"
Charles Newlands visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in July 2011
First time in Cyprus, our friends said Paphos was the place and it was as we have fallen in love with it. The Cypria Bay Riu Hotel is beautiful as it is on the beach front. My wife and I who I married while on this holiday stayed at the Maris Hotel.

After we had arrived at the airport we got on the bus which took us to our hotel in around 20 minutes. When we stepped into the hotel we were met by this lovely Greek English speaking porter who welcomed us like warmly getting us drinks as he took our cases.

Inside the hotel there is four floors with lifts on the bottom floor you had a lovely indoor pool, reception, dining room and shop. As you stepped outside to our surprise the bay was bigger than we had thought ...
it was going to be.

Our room was nice and clean, and from our balcony you could see the whole bay. The rooms where kept nice and clean every day. There was plenty of nice food to eat at different areas of the bay as you can use the Maris sister hotel the Cypria bay hotel as well.

The entertainment was good fun and was always good to look forward to at night with a few drinks.

Would really recommend this hotel to anyone, probably not up there with the best hotels in the world but well worth the money.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

John Doe stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in June 2011
Well, Just got back from Cypria Maris / Bay on 5th June 2011. Like most people I was concerned about the comments regarding the Maris. To be fair it was fine and there are more reasons for staying there than avoiding it. It does not really hit the four star mark, they have done some renovation work in the lobby and it was a good standard. It is in need of an upgrade but having just stayed there it was perfectly adequate. The good thing about this RIU resort is that you can use all the facilities at both hotels, for example we stayed in the Maris but ate all our meals in the Bay hotel. The advantage to the Maris is that it is quieter in the day with not as much noise around the pool. The bay however ...
has a swim up bar and nicer pool. The bay is far more modern but noisier. The food was very good in both and is from the same central kitchen so the food standards do not differ. The restaurant in the bay is much nicer and you can just book all your meals there no problem. We used the outdoor restaurant at the bay for lunch and it was very good food indeed. The Maris is just older and in need of modernisation but has perfectly adequate accommodation and is cleaned regularly. The beach for both was not up to much but that is reflected in the area. I would not be bothered about staying at the Maris as you get the best of both worlds. Obviously the spirits are not recognised brands but local alternatives which are OK. The beer was KEO which is very good. Helpful staff , entertainment a bit naff. Bus ride to harbour costs 1 and takes ten mins. 15 minutes from the airport. Donít pay too much attention the over negative comments on some websites. Itís fine.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5
"Beware of extra charges for weddings"
Campbell stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2010
Went to the Riu Cypria for our Daughterís wedding and it was excellent! The rooms were fantastic, the food was excellent.

The only downside was that Thomas Cook didnít tell us about all the extra costs which would be incurred with the wedding. Make sure if youíre getting married bring plenty of money or credit cards with you!


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"Clean and friendly hotel"
tracey visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos in September 2010
We went to Cyprus to get married and we were made very welcome at the Cypriot Bay Hotel.

The hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly, the maids kept the rooms clean and left flowers and lovely towel displays daily but they did not change the beds as often as would of liked. It did not have tea making facilities which disappointed me as I wake early and like my cup of tea!

The food was good; a good choice each day.

The daytime entertainment was good but the evening was poor.

The pool area was very nice, always cleaning and had plenty of sun beds.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4
"Great food and location"
Elaine Ainsley stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in June 2010
The food was excellent so much choice and some specials at night, the cleanliness was ok some days the sheets weren't changed and the towels either, location was ok walked to Paphos town one night really nice along the beach, staff really nice couldn't do enough for you, the entertainment was in the next hotel and a but late,

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Randall visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in August 2009
When we visited this hotel, We were a bit apprehensive what to expect after all the reviews We had read. Some people are constant nitpickers. We had a fantastic holiday the entertainment was great, excellent choice of food. The only thing I would say its location it is a bit of a walk to Paphos. It\'s right on the beach which is great when you want to swim in the sea. It was a family holiday with our teenage daughter who had a really good time. As a matter of fact we have booked to go again this summer.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Jefferson visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in May 2009
After reading many reports, I was really worried that I had booked for the Maris - really no worries once we arrived, the place was spotless. The towels were changed daily and the maids were great. The animators team, especially Danny and Marcella were fantastic and a realcredit to the hotel. They were really friendly and got us to join in with games which we don\'t usually do. The beach although small was ok, the water sports guys are great and give a very detailed explanation of how to avoid swimmers and what to keep an eye out for if you go out on a jet ski.

We went for two weeks and the food was lovely, only occassionally a bit samey, but there was plenty of choice for everyone and no-one complained.

The walk ...
to the harbour was a bit longer than we had been told, a bit nearer to 40 minutes than the 20 we were expecting. We would definately go back to this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Jenny Jones stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos in March 2009
DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IT IS THE WORST HOTEL IN PAPHOS

We stayed at the RIU Cypria Bay Hotel from 6th March to 20th March 2009 we stayed in room 1240 supposedly a side sea view but you could only see the sea if you stood up.

First all of the brochures say that you can use the facilities of both hotels but the Maris was closed for the whole of our stay. There is also supposed to be a lobby bar (the smoking area which you had to walk through in order to go to the bar) and a piano lounge it is in fact all the same room and also includes the reception area and where the entertainment took place and only a very few people could get seats to see the entertainment if you ...
were on the second sitting for dinner forget it.. When a coach arrived with a lot of new guest you could not move for suitcases and guests filling in the registration forms. At the time we were there it was very crowded because there was nowhere else to go which brings me to the Nightclub,

For the first week of our holiday the nightclub was only open for three days because private functions had been booked in the nightclub. When we complained to the manager we were told that the club would be open the next week and that the events had been booked along time ago?????? I am sure a lot of people

Read More

Tour Operator: Monarch
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

Dorcas and Vik stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in January 2009
The all inclusive feature said that local drinks were free, but it didn\'t say that the drinks would be diluted. Bar staff were blatant in refilling them with water! The food was good, albeit repetitive. There\'s only so much pasta a guy can take in two weeks. The hotel was a little out of it. It\'s a good 40 min walk to Pafos harbour to fond the bars and restaurants. Don\'t expect the nightclub to be open, even though it says it is open 6 days a week in the ad.

The rest is a copy of a letter I wrote and sent today to Riu Hotels
Direct sales Department
C/Llaud sn 07610 Palma de Mallorca

On Sunday, January 26th my wife and I arrived at the RIU Cypria Bay in Pafos, Cyprus. We were to stay until February 8th. The total cost of the trip had cost me

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Mr M Vale visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2008
Just returned from this resort now combined with the Maris next door.Was impressed with the cleanliness of rooms, public areas,and pool area. Plenty of sunbeds and a good poolbar and lunch Taverna.What badly lets the resort down is all public rooms except dining room are \"smoking\" which after all the restrictions here and in the rest of the EU came as a very uncomfortable shock even children packed into the nightclub on an evening were not exempt.Also the food is not what you expect from a Rui hotel even to plastic cups for wine at dinner on Saturdays when greek weddings take place in the hotel and totally take overthe hotel including the nightclub.The other disturbing thing is the watering down of drinks notibly vodka and brandy this was given away by the reserve bottles lined up on the serving ...
side of the bar with different coloured tops and different levels and tasted awful. Complaints just recieve a shrug from the staff.
Having paid a lot of money its an insult to be given watered down drinks.The entertainment is pretty awful,
Weather good and enjoyed the rest but will not return.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

stuart visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2008
Cleanliness of the hotel was superb. I know it\'s the cleaners job \"to clean\" but they really did seem to have pride in their work. The hotel food could not be faulted superb choice for all meal times from traditional greek food to chicken nuggets in my opinion 10/10 . I would suggest that at least once you eat at the outside \"tavernia\" as this was almost a meze type meal.

most of the hotel staff where very helpfull although watch out for people booking payable extras such as frappe etc to your room!!

the day time entertainment was the normal as you would expect anywhere the evening was very poor.

the hotel has a swim up bar which is great untill you get the \"louts\" that sit in there for hours on end and why kids want to play in a area ...
10ft square when there is a wonderfull pool to splash around in !

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Bell visited the Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2008
We always stay all inclusive so we have had many holidays to compare this one to. The food was ok but nothing special.Breakfasts usual things, bacon (not like ours), eggs, beans, eggy bread, pancakes(nothing like ours) fruit, cheese etc.Coffee brought to your table, tea you could make yourself. The milk was ok, no different to home.

Lunch was outside next to the pool, be warned the floor gets slippy with people entering once they had come from the pool plenty accidents.It was similar most days - chips, pork, chicken, burgers (these were lovely), pizza(yuk!)salads, vegetables, soup and desserts.Compared to other all inclusives we've been to there isn't icecream for the children - solved this fill a plastic cup with icecream for them and use a spoon.

Evening meal in restaurant 2 sittings we went to the first 6.30-8.00 ...
we went down for 7pm similar food to the daytime majority of time pork! Take the menu on the board outside with a pinch of salt because not everything was out. We ate out a couple of times as it gets a bit boring.

The hotel was very modern and very clean. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The entrance is very impressive with hanging plants.The hire of the safe is quite expensive. The maid makes lovely swans, flowers, champagne bottles etc with the towels.

We had a side sea view room which was lovely and quiet. The hotel is about a 40 minute walk from the harbour or 15 minutes on the bus which costs 1.50euros each no matter where you go on the bus number 15. You can go into Pathos old town on the bus 11 which costs 1.30euro. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Compared to other hotels we've stayed in and other riu the entertainment was very poor. They do a couple of things in the morning then a couple in the afternoon (the usual - tai-chi, water aerobics, water polo etc) at nights the animation team do a show or theres the odd outside act which aren't much better.

This is the 8th time we've been to Cyprus - the most expensive too, since going into the euro the prices are ridiculous.Yes we would come back but not to Pathos as theres not a lot for families to do at this end of the island.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Malc London stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos in June 2008
The Hotel Cypria Maris has now merged with the Cypria Bay to become the Cypria Resort Hotel. It is however in all essence still two hotels with shared facilities. When browsing the web and looking at brochures, you will probably hope to be booked into the newer

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Smith stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel in June 2008
We booked to stay at Rui Cypria Resort which is two hotels, Cypris Bay and Cypria Maris. We stayed in Cypria Maris. Made very welcome, glass of cold lemon on arrival and cases taken to room. First impression is that Maris is old fashioned interior compared to Bay which is modern. Apparently Maris has been refurbished but it looks like it is ready for a refurbishment. Rooms were very clean with towels daily including pool towels.

We were soon glad we were in Maris as it is much more relaxed compared to Bay. Bay is more for young families with a shallow pool with bridges and waterfalls. Lots of noisy daytime entertainment for children and adults. Maris pool is less attractive but very deep which meant small children prefered Bay. Very relaxing and quiet around Maris pool which ...
was also right on the beach.

Be prepared to gain weight. You can have 4 meals a day and as much drink as you want. Food was excellent, lots of variety everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Entertainment at the hotel is dreadful. Either a lady playing a piano of singers who sound like something from Eurovision Song Contest.



Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Wall Family stayed at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos in May 2008
There is an impressive reception area, with helpful staff and complimentary drink on arrival. Rooms are very clean and nice, but if you have third bed in the room there is not much space. Bathrooms are well equipped and fairly spacious.Worth the extra for a seaview room.

The maids keep the room clean and tidy, and each day you will find a different towel model,(e.g. Swan or heart)which is a nice surprise.

There is a good choice of food, something for everyone even the kids!

Good daytime activities, although evening entertainment was terrible!



Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Joanne Faulkner had a holiday at Cypria Bay Riu Hotel, Paphos in August 2007
Great time. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff work extremely hard.

The rooms are cleaned every day and beach towels are provided so no need to pack them.

The bungalows are excellent for families with children as they have there own grounds and are very roomy

Tour Operator: Co-Op Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars
Share