Image of Nereus Hotel

Nereus Hotel

22 of 64 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars
Kato Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
This popular hotel has a friendly and informal feel and guests tend to return year after year. This is an deal choice for families and couples.

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
6 years 5 months ago
Apologies if this seems like a long review but I want to try and give as many details as possible to help you with your choices of staying here or not.

We stayed in the Nereus from 26th July 8th Aug 2010 on half board basis. The main hotel block consists of 3 floors. At the ground floor back are self catering apartments and on the 1st & 2nd floor are hotel rooms for those on bed & breakfast, half board, full board and all inclusive. There is one lift to the higher floors.

We were given a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the front of the hotel. First impressions were quite good as it appears that the hotel rooms have had a makeover recently. Ours was fairly freshly painted with new laminate flooring and had 2 brand new firm beds. The furniture also looked almost new and there was plenty of storage space for clothes etc including a built in wardrobe with drawers underneath, as well as 3 separate cupboard units, dressing table with drawer and a table and chair.

In the room there was also a 14 inch TV which can pick up BBC 1 & ITV 1, hairdryer, Safe (2.00) per day, air conditioning unit and a hot & cold water dispenser with 2 glasses.

The bathroom is a little on the small side but adequate if only one of you is in there at any time. The large sink unit looked almost new as did the vanity unit underneath which contained even more drawers and cupboards for storage. There is a full liquid soap dispenser next to the sink and another full of shower gel next to the bath. The shower temperature was somewhat temperamental and would switch from hot to cold and back again several times whilst using it. This was a fault other people in other rooms seemed to suffer from as well.

The maid service was superb and standard of cleanliness in the rooms was excellent. Rooms are cleaned daily and sheets changed about every 3 days. Some days the maids would leave a little surprise like a swan made out of clean towels on your bed which was a nice touch.

As stated, we were on half board basis so we had breakfast and evening meals in the hotel. Breakfast is self service and has the usual cereals, bread, fruit cheese, ham, cakes etc or a self service full English. You can eat as much as you like and if you are on room only or self catering it represented good value for money to upgrade to breakfast for only an extra 2.50 per person per day.

Evening meals consisted of a choice of 2 starters brought to your table and 3 main courses which you went to the hot plates and had served to you. This was usually potatoes (different type every day), only one type of vegetable and 2 types of meat and/or a fish dish. The food was of good quality and you could ask for as much or as little as you wanted but was somewhat limited in choice only being 3 types. On one occasion we didn’t fancy any of what was available and ate out but the remaining 13 days we ate in the hotel. There were usually 3 sweets and ice cream if you wanted it afterwards.

Twice a week there would be a "buffet" but this usually consisted of self service various salads and dips followed by 3 courses as above. On Sunday there is a carvery with Roast potatoes, one vegetable and Chicken, Beef and Pork. Again, sweets as above. I got the impression that the choice was limited as the majority in the hotel were either room only, B&B or self catering so they didn't need to cater for large numbers at dinner.

The hotel has 2 pools, one with sun loungers and the other with tables and chairs around it. There are 2 other sun terraces at 1st and 2nd floor level with plenty of sun loungers. There is a games and internet room, a bar which serves drinks, meals & snacks. There is also a self serve laundrette with washers (3.00) and tumble dryer (2.00). Just outside the hotel is a pub owned by the hotel called Papa George. At reception they have some free luggage scales so you can weigh your cases before you get to the airport and avoid the overweight charges if you have stocked up on the cheap cigarettes and booze.

Overall all the hotel staff are very pleasant, friendly and helpful and at least half are actually English ex pats working there including the maintenance men. Nothing is any trouble for them and they deal with any queries quickly and pleasantly. I only had one gripe though.

The hotel has its own cars to rent at very competitive prices. On the Wednesday I booked a car for 3 days to start on the following Friday. On the Friday we turned up to collect it only to be told there was no car available and that they couldn't even guarantee there would be one available the next day, and that it would be a further 5 days before one was available. We went elsewhere but it was annoying that we had given notice and we hadn't been told then that it wouldn't be available when we booked it.

The hot & cold water dispenser in your room requires a 20 litre bottle. These are available for 9.00 from reception and the maintenance man will bring it to your room. However, when it is empty you will have to pay 9.00 again at reception for another full one. A tip however is once it is empty take it to one of the local shops just outside the hotel and they will exchange it for a full one for only 3.00 I couldn't see how the hotel could justify charging 6.00 more than anywhere else though.

On the whole the area around the hotel is very quiet and you don't get rowdy crowds up and down the street. We had a room on the front of the hotel and the only slightly down side was across the street. The Devils own creation was at work until 1am for 5 nights a week, the dreaded Karaoke in the snack bar directly opposite. Neither the owner or 99% of the customers can sing but if you like watching the X factor auditions then it might be for you. Sunday and Monday he was thankfully closed.

If you need a paper, snacks, drinks, crisps, cigarettes etc then there is a shop open 24 hours near the hotel. Go out the front of the hotel and turn left it is on the next corner about 50 yards away. There is a very well stocked quite large supermarket on the street that runs parallel with but behind the seafront. Find McDonalds on the seafront walk behind it and turn left and its about 75 yards on the left with A Debenhams directly opposite. This supermarket even sells well known UK brands from Iceland, Waitrose, Hovis etc.

If you don't want to eat in the hotel then there are plenty of restaurants nearby with very reasonable prices and cheaper here than along the seafront. Some examples are: Full English Breakfast 1.50 a 3 course set menu with choice of starter, main course and sweet from 7.95 to 19.00 Turn left out of the hotel and walk along the street, the restaurants are located on both sides. If McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut are your thing you will find all these located along the seafront.

There is a bus stop 5 minutes away and the buses travel to Paphos Town, through the resort and down to Coral Bay Beach. There is a set fare of only 1.00 and children travel free.

The Nereus is a 3 star hotel so don't expect 5 star luxury. It's very clean, tidy and the staff are all superb and friendly and its location is ideal if you want some quiet on a night or want to be within 5 minutes of the bars, seafront, shops, restaurants etc. Would I stay here again? Yes definitely!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Geoff And Gill
8 years 2 months ago
We have just returned home from the Nereus Hotel. The room was basic, but clean. Two single beds pushed together to make a double. Water cooler in the room was not plugged in, and we had to stretch the lead accross the dressing table to the socket on the wall. The towels in the bathroom used to be white I think, but were now grey.The breakfast was awful, cold every morning no matter what time you went down. Cold scrambled egg swimming in water, cold beans, hot-dog sausages, and streaky/fatty bacon. We ate out of an evening. It's a central location, and is handy for everywhere. A good base, especially for those on a budget, but if you're wanting a good hotel experience as part of your holiday, perhaps you should look elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mirka
8 years 10 months ago
Nice, family hotel. We had a nice room, but didn't like 2 single beds. Rooms decorated in light green, which seemed a bit out of date, but some renovations was been doing in the other part of hotel. At this time of the year the hotel was full of older people, so not much entertainment for younger, but also no noises at night. The hotel stuff was very professional and really friendly. Can recommend nice coctails for a good price at "happy hours". Also restaurant was tasty. Lots of English food (sausages, Sunday roast dinner and full English breakfast). I would prefer more traditional Greek or Cyprian cusiene, but cant say a word about food.Paphos was very quiet at this time of the year,but can imagine how lively it is at summer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark Forrester
10 years 6 months ago
First impression of the hotel were not good to be honest. The lady at reception seemed abit miffed off and so were we when we found out that we had to pay for aircon.
No one showed us where the room was just a quick flick of the hand to say the rooms over there. We found it in the end. Included with the room key was a card to slot in to switch the electricity on. I can see that for the hotel this must have many benefits but for people stayin in the hotel its a pain.

I was lucky because our room had electricity even when the key wasnt inserted which saved some agro. I found the bed comfortable and the room very tidy and when the aircon was paid for the room was super cool and got nicknamed "the fridge"

We were self catering which worked out much better in the long run as it looked like the only food worth eating inside the hotel was the lunch. The club sandwich comes highly recommended!. The staff at lunchtime tried there best but were overworked with one waitress and one person taking the orders.

The major plus points of this hotel is its great location and its 3 swimming pools. The pool nearest to the apartment was great and had plenty of sunbeds to top up the tan. The hotel is just 2mins away from all the major bars and restuarants but not too close to noisy

The hotel hire cars arent up to much and much better prices can be found if you look around. The jeep we hired had a stinking clutch and the roof was broken and in 42c you need a roof!

I would advise people to steer clear of bar street and find the quieter cocktail bars. If you want a club then bar street is the best place but the constant touts approaching you every 5 seconds really does start to piss you off.

I would recommend booking a safari with stevies taxi's through the hotel because it was great value for money and one of the highlights of the holiday.

overall i would recommend the hotel for people on a budget who are going to eat out. Paphos is a great place and i recommend going there
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
The hotel was very clean, traditional in style, a typical family run hotel.

The food was hot and plentiful and even though we were staying bed and breakfast we ate in the hotel every night except one, and the food was really good. The chef was lovely and very friendly and always found the time to walk around the dining area and talk to the guests.

The hotel was right in the centre, I think it may get too noisy in high season.

The staff were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The entertainment was average, but we were there out of season when most guests were quite elderly and the entertainment was quite rightly centred around these guests.

I would definitely go here again and whole heartedly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Smithson
11 years 1 month ago
Food was often cold and many guests complained of queing for tables like schoolkids, chef was often unpredictable surly one moment and your best buddy the next....odd!

Hotel was cleanish, location of hotel was excellent, peaceful.

Staff in the hotel..some were friendly some were surly. When we arrived at the hotel the surly receptionist informed us that we had booked 2 rooms when all booking forms we had said we had booked 3! We were eventually given an apartment for 3 across the street while my parents stayed in the hotel. Really not acceptable but sadly we had to put up with it.

Entertainment was rubbish....all in all I give the Nereus a pretty bad report and will not be visiting again. Many guests said they go year after year but a lot we spoke to said theyd never return.

The whole dining area needs an upgrade, its like a works canteen and the hotel needs maintenance and a lick of paint.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mike Lockley
11 years 4 months ago
Just came from Paphos.

Hotel very clean but wants a bit of paint with the decroation.

Staff very nice and very good food and good location only ten mins walk to the sea front.

Entertainment not very good and if you walk up to the harbour watch out for time share.

The best pool is where the new rooms are.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
11 years 4 months ago
Found the room we were allocated inside the hotel very basic but just about adequate. No complaints re cleanliness of either room or hotel itself which was a major plus point.

I considered the chef to be arrogant and ill mannered an accusation he made at myself when I went for food before my partner and daughter. When I pointed out that I was only doing so because they were 'cautious'(not the precise wording - ha ha) of him and asked me to lead the way he shut up and was relatively ok thereafter. The food itself was little more than ordinary and we ended eating out probably seven of the thirteen days we were there.

The swimming pool area at the hotel was heaving but the new apartment block over the way had a beautiful pool and bathing area. The apartments looked lovely and I wish we'd been put in one of those.

Entertainment was also basic from what we saw of it but didn't spend a great deal of time there.

The hotel was well situated - no where seems too far to walk and Paphos itself is well worthy of a visit.

I hope to one day return to Cyprus but I will not be staying at the Nerueus nor reccommending it to people I like.

In summary, we are not a family of excessive expectation and we are well travelled. Like the majority we save hard for our holiday and I firmly believe the Nereus can be bettered for value.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
E. Beattie
11 years 5 months ago
We were in the 1 bedroom apartments and had expected the new apartments. However we were given an apartment in an older block.

Disappointed to begin with but we were happy with the privacy the apartment gave us and it was clean. The balcony was very private and we had no noise so we were very happy with it.

A few niggles were : no soap (had to go out on arrival night to buy soap) no tin opener; no pots (although when we asked we were quickly given)

Although we were half board we wanted to be able to sometimes make a snack lunch (no tin opener, no pots!)The TV wasn't in English (what's the use of a TV in your room if you can't understand anything said!)However we weren't there to watch TV but would have been good to catch up with news. When washing dishes the water didn't run into the sink, but all over the floor as the draining board didn't drain into the sink!

The first morning we discovered a huge cockroach in the bath (AARGH! SCREAM!) It was the only one we saw, but people in another apartment had dozens of them and finally asked to be moved.

The food in the hotel was AWFUL! Dinner school stuff is how I would describe it. The older chef slapped it on our plates grudgingly and in small quantities. The breakfasts were the same each day - fried eggs swimming in oil, streaky bacon more fat than bacon, 'runny' scrambled eggs and hot dogs for sausages! Even the tea tasted awful - we went out and bought our own tea bags to use. We stuck to cereal,toast and fruit for breakfast and after a few nights gave up on the evening meals and ate out.

We swapped our evening meal for lunch some days - the bar meals were actually quite good - much better than the evening meals. If anyone is going to this hotel I would recommend only to take bed and breakfast, don't go for the half board option. In fact if you can take room only, do so as you can buy a decent breakfast nearby for only 1.50 cypriot pounds.

Location of hotel is excellent and the staff were lovely - very friendly and helpful (except for the older chef as previously mentioned) However we won't be back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
12 years 2 months ago
Its easy to see why so many people return here year after year, the staff are so friendly and the hotel is kept very clean. A typical 3 star hotel with no frills.
On the down side the rooms in the main building are getting a little tired looking and shabby. Being over critical there was flaking paint in our room, the bathroom had some broken and chipped tiles, also broken handles on drawers and the radio/alarm did not work. Room had a TV but no English channels apart from the odd film etc, so in reality never switched it on.
Despite this the room cleaning staff were excellent and this made up for the less than perfect rooms.
In the reception, there are many Portland Awards from the 1990 to 1996 period, but I did not see any recent ones. I suggest a lick of paint and room refurbishment might help there.
New apartments have been recently built adjoining the hotel and perhaps this building work has tied up some of the owners money over the last two years.
The hotel location is excellent 150 metres from all the Bars and Restaurants.
I would go back in a few years, by which time I would hope the rooms would have been refurbished.
Finally I have to mention the lift which was horrendous it made a terrible squealling noise the whole holiday. Our room was next to the lift shaft and it really got on your nerves between 7.30am and 9.00am and 11.00pm to 2.00am. Many guests reported this to the reception, but it was the same for all of our 11 day holiday. Its funny how you adapt and surprisingly by day 9 we realised we had got used to it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices