20 independent reviews of the Nereus Hotel
Address: Kato Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Nereus Hotel
Nereus Hotel Location
Ranked #16 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Nereus Hotel Nereus Hotel is rated 3.95 out of 5 from 20 Reviews
75% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (20 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Nereus Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

Paul visited the Nereus Hotel in August 2010
Apologies if this seems like a long review but I want to try and give as many details as possible to help you with your choices of staying here or not.

We stayed in the Nereus from 26th July 8th Aug 2010 on half board basis. The main hotel block consists of 3 floors. At the ground floor back are self catering apartments and on the 1st & 2nd floor are hotel rooms for those on bed & breakfast, half board, full board and all inclusive. There is one lift to the higher floors.

We were given a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the front of the hotel. First impressions were quite good as it appears that the hotel rooms have had a makeover recently. Ours was fairly freshly painted with new laminate flooring and had 2 brand new firm beds. ...
The furniture also looked almost new and there was plenty of storage space for clothes etc including a built in wardrobe with drawers underneath, as well as 3 separate cupboard units, dressing table with drawer and a table and chair.

In the room there was also a 14 inchť TV which can pick up BBC 1 & ITV 1, hairdryer, Safe (2.00) per day, air conditioning unit and a hot & cold water dispenser with 2 glasses.

The bathroom is a little on the small side but adequate if only one of you is in there at any time. The large sink unit looked almost new as did the vanity unit underneath which contained even more drawers and cupboards for storage. There is a full liquid soap dispenser next to the sink and another full of shower gel next to the bath. The shower temperature was somewhat temperamental and would switch from hot to cold and back again several times whilst using it. This was a fault other people in other rooms seemed to suffer from as well.

The maid service was superb and standard of cleanliness in the rooms was excellent. Rooms are cleaned daily and sheets changed about every 3 days. Some days the maids would leave a little surprise like a swan made out of clean towels on your bed which was a nice touch.

As stated, we were on half board basis so we had breakfast and evening meals in the hotel. Breakfast is self service and has the usual cereals, bread, fruit cheese, ham, cakes etc or a self service full English. You can eat as much as you like and if you are on room only or self catering it represented good value for money to upgrade to breakfast for only an extra 2.50 per person per day.

Evening meals consisted of a choice of 2 starters brought to your table and 3 main courses which you went to the hot plates and had served to you. This was usually potatoes (different type every day), only one type of vegetable and 2 types of meat and/or a fish dish. The food was of good quality and you could ask for as much or as little as you wanted but was somewhat limited in choice only being 3 types. On one occasion we didn’t fancy any of what was available and ate out but the remaining 13 days we ate in the hotel. There were usually 3 sweets and ice cream if you wanted it afterwards.

Twice a week there would be a "buffet" but this usually consisted of self service various salads and dips followed by 3 courses as above. On Sunday there is a carvery with Roast potatoes, one vegetable and Chicken, Beef and Pork. Again, sweets as above. I got the impression that the choice was limited as the majority in the hotel were either room only, B&B or self catering so they didn't need to cater for large numbers at dinner.

The hotel has 2 pools, one with sun loungers and the other with tables and chairs around it. There are 2 other sun terraces at 1st and 2nd floor level with plenty of sun loungers. There is a games and internet room, a bar which serves drinks, meals & snacks. There is also a self serve laundrette with washers (3.00) and tumble dryer (2.00). Just outside the hotel is a pub owned by the hotel called Papa George. At reception they have some free luggage scales so you can weigh your cases before you get to the airport and avoid the overweight charges if you have stocked up on the cheap cigarettes and booze.

Overall all the hotel staff are very pleasant, friendly and helpful and at least half are actually English ex pats working there including the maintenance men. Nothing is any trouble for them and they deal with any queries quickly and pleasantly. I only had one gripe though.

The hotel has its own cars to rent at very competitive prices. On the Wednesday I booked a car for 3 days to start on the following Friday. On the Friday we turned up to collect it only to be told there was no car available and that they couldn't even guarantee there would be one available the next day, and that it would be a further 5 days before one was available. We went elsewhere but it was annoying that we had given notice and we hadn't been told then that it wouldn't be available when we booked it.

The hot & cold water dispenser in your room requires a 20 litre bottle. These are available for 9.00 from reception and the maintenance man will bring it to your room. However, when it is empty you will have to pay 9.00 again at reception for another full one. A tip however is once it is empty take it to one of the local shops just outside the hotel and they will exchange it for a full one for only 3.00 I couldn't see how the hotel could justify charging 6.00 more than anywhere else though.

On the whole the area around the hotel is very quiet and you don't get rowdy crowds up and down the street. We had a room on the front of the hotel and the only slightly down side was across the street. The Devils own creation was at work until 1am for 5 nights a week, the dreaded Karaoke in the snack bar directly opposite. Neither the owner or 99% of the customers can sing but if you like watching the X factor auditions then it might be for you. Sunday and Monday he was thankfully closed.

If you need a paper, snacks, drinks, crisps, cigarettes etc then there is a shop open 24 hours near the hotel. Go out the front of the hotel and turn left it is on the next corner about 50 yards away. There is a very well stocked quite large supermarket on the street that runs parallel with but behind the seafront. Find McDonalds on the seafront walk behind it and turn left and its about 75 yards on the left with A Debenhams directly opposite. This supermarket even sells well known UK brands from Iceland, Waitrose, Hovis etc.

If you don't want to eat in the hotel then there are plenty of restaurants nearby with very reasonable prices and cheaper here than along the seafront. Some examples are: Full English Breakfast 1.50 a 3 course set menu with choice of starter, main course and sweet from 7.95 to 19.00 Turn left out of the hotel and walk along the street, the restaurants are located on both sides. If McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut are your thing you will find all these located along the seafront.

There is a bus stop 5 minutes away and the buses travel to Paphos Town, through the resort and down to Coral Bay Beach. There is a set fare of only 1.00 and children travel free.

The Nereus is a 3 star hotel so don't expect 5 star luxury. It's very clean, tidy and the staff are all superb and friendly and its location is ideal if you want some quiet on a night or want to be within 5 minutes of the bars, seafront, shops, restaurants etc. Would I stay here again? Yes definitely!

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Geoff and Gill had a holiday at Nereus Hotel, Paphos in October 2008
We have just returned home from the Nereus Hotel. The room was basic, but clean. Two single beds pushed together to make a double. Water cooler in the room was not plugged in, and we had to stretch the lead accross the dressing table to the socket on the wall. The towels in the bathroom used to be white I think, but were now grey.The breakfast was awful, cold every morning no matter what time you went down. Cold scrambled egg swimming in water, cold beans, hot-dog sausages, and streaky/fatty bacon. We ate out of an evening. It\'s a central location, and is handy for everywhere. A good base, especially for those on a budget, but if you\'re wanting a good hotel experience as part of your holiday, perhaps you should look elsewhere.

Tour Operator: On the Beach Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mirka visited the Nereus Hotel, Paphos in February 2008
Nice, family hotel. We had a nice room, but didn\'t like 2 single beds. Rooms decorated in light green, which seemed a bit out of date, but some renovations was been doing in the other part of hotel. At this time of the year the hotel was full of older people, so not much entertainment for younger, but also no noises at night. The hotel stuff was very professional and really friendly. Can recommend nice coctails for a good price at \"happy hours\". Also restaurant was tasty. Lots of English food (sausages, Sunday roast dinner and full English breakfast). I would prefer more traditional Greek or Cyprian cusiene, but cant say a word about food.Paphos was very quiet at this time of the year,but can imagine how lively it is at summer.

Tour Operator: Voyager

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

mark forrester visited the Nereus Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2006
First impression of the hotel were not good to be honest. The lady at reception seemed abit miffed off and so were we when we found out that we had to pay for aircon.
No one showed us where the room was just a quick flick of the hand to say the rooms over there. We found it in the end. Included with the room key was a card to slot in to switch the electricity on. I can see that for the hotel this must have many benefits but for people stayin in the hotel its a pain.

I was lucky because our room had electricity even when the key wasnt inserted which saved some agro. I found the bed comfortable and the room very tidy and when the aircon was paid for the room was super cool and got nicknamed ...
\"the fridge\"

We were self catering which worked out much better in the long run as it looked like the only food worth eating inside the hotel was the lunch. The club sandwich comes highly recommended!. The staff at lunchtime tried there best but were overworked with one waitress and one person taking the orders.

The major plus points of this hotel is its great location and its 3 swimming pools. The pool nearest to the apartment was great and had plenty of sunbeds to top up the tan. The hotel is just 2mins away from all the major bars and restuarants but not too close to noisy

The hotel hire cars arent up to much and much better prices can be found if you look around. The jeep we hired had a stinking clutch and the roof was broken and in 42c you need a roof!

I would advise people to steer clear of bar street and find the quieter cocktail bars. If you want a club then bar street is the best place but the constant touts approaching you every 5 seconds really does start to piss you off.

I would recommend booking a safari with stevies taxi\'s through the hotel because it was great value for money and one of the highlights of the holiday.

overall i would recommend the hotel for people on a budget who are going to eat out. Paphos is a great place and i recommend going there

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Paula visited the Nereus Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in January 2006
The hotel was very clean, traditional in style, a typical family run hotel.

The food was hot and plentiful and even though we were staying bed and breakfast we ate in the hotel every night except one, and the food was really good. The chef was lovely and very friendly and always found the time to walk around the dining area and talk to the guests.

The hotel was right in the centre, I think it may get too noisy in high season.

The staff were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The entertainment was average, but we were there out of season when most guests were quite elderly and the entertainment was quite rightly centred around these guests.

I would definitely go here again and whole heartedly recommend this hotel.

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Smithson stayed at Nereus Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in November 2005
Food was often cold and many guests complained of queing for tables like schoolkids, chef was often unpredictable surly one moment and your best buddy the next....odd!

Hotel was cleanish, location of hotel was excellent, peaceful.

Staff in the hotel..some were friendly some were surly. When we arrived at the hotel the surly receptionist informed us that we had booked 2 rooms when all booking forms we had said we had booked 3! We were eventually given an apartment for 3 across the street while my parents stayed in the hotel. Really not acceptable but sadly we had to put up with it.

Entertainment was rubbish....all in all I give the Nereus a pretty bad report and will not be visiting again. Many guests said they go year after year but a lot we spoke to said theyd never return. ...


The whole dining area needs an upgrade, its like a works canteen and the hotel needs maintenance and a lick of paint.

Read More

Tour Operator: Sunset
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

mike lockley had a holiday at Nereus Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
Just came from Paphos.

Hotel very clean but wants a bit of paint with the decroation.

Staff very nice and very good food and good location only ten mins walk to the sea front.

Entertainment not very good and if you walk up to the harbour watch out for time share.

The best pool is where the new rooms are.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Michael Flynn had a holiday at Nereus Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
Found the room we were allocated inside the hotel very basic but just about adequate. No complaints re cleanliness of either room or hotel itself which was a major plus point.

I considered the chef to be arrogant and ill mannered an accusation he made at myself when I went for food before my partner and daughter. When I pointed out that I was only doing so because they were \'cautious\'(not the precise wording - ha ha) of him and asked me to lead the way he shut up and was relatively ok thereafter. The food itself was little more than ordinary and we ended eating out probably seven of the thirteen days we were there.

The swimming pool area at the hotel was heaving but the new apartment block over the way had a beautiful pool and bathing area. The apartments ...
looked lovely and I wish we\'d been put in one of those.

Entertainment was also basic from what we saw of it but didn\'t spend a great deal of time there.

The hotel was well situated - no where seems too far to walk and Paphos itself is well worthy of a visit.

I hope to one day return to Cyprus but I will not be staying at the Nerueus nor reccommending it to people I like.

In summary, we are not a family of excessive expectation and we are well travelled. Like the majority we save hard for our holiday and I firmly believe the Nereus can be bettered for value.

Read More

Tour Operator: Mercury Direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

E. Beattie visited the Nereus Hotel, Paphos in July 2005
We were in the 1 bedroom apartments and had expected the new apartments. However we were given an apartment in an older block.

Disappointed to begin with but we were happy with the privacy the apartment gave us and it was clean. The balcony was very private and we had no noise so we were very happy with it.

A few niggles were : no soap (had to go out on arrival night to buy soap) no tin opener; no pots (although when we asked we were quickly given)

Although we were half board we wanted to be able to sometimes make a snack lunch (no tin opener, no pots!)The TV wasn\'t in English (what\'s the use of a TV in your room if you can\'t understand anything said!)However we weren\'t there to watch TV but would have ...
been good to catch up with news. When washing dishes the water didn\'t run into the sink, but all over the floor as the draining board didn\'t drain into the sink!

The first morning we discovered a huge cockroach in the bath (AARGH! SCREAM!) It was the only one we saw, but people in another apartment had dozens of them and finally asked to be moved.

The food in the hotel was AWFUL! Dinner school stuff is how I would describe it. The older chef slapped it on our plates grudgingly and in small quantities. The breakfasts were the same each day - fried eggs swimming in oil, streaky bacon more fat than bacon, \'runny\' scrambled eggs and hot dogs for sausages! Even the tea tasted awful - we went out and bought our own tea bags to use. We stuck to cereal,toast and fruit for breakfast and after a few nights gave up on the evening meals and ate out.

We swapped our evening meal for lunch some days - the bar meals were actually quite good - much better than the evening meals. If anyone is going to this hotel I would recommend only to take bed and breakfast, don\'t go for the half board option. In fact if you can take room only, do so as you can buy a decent breakfast nearby for only 1.50 cypriot pounds.

Location of hotel is excellent and the staff were lovely - very friendly and helpful (except for the older chef as previously mentioned) However we won\'t be back!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

tonyblen had a holiday at Nereus Hotel, Paphos in October 2004
Its easy to see why so many people return here year after year, the staff are so friendly and the hotel is kept very clean. A typical 3 star hotel with no frills.
On the down side the rooms in the main building are getting a little tired looking and shabby. Being over critical there was flaking paint in our room, the bathroom had some broken and chipped tiles, also broken handles on drawers and the radio/alarm did not work. Room had a TV but no English channels apart from the odd film etc, so in reality never switched it on.
Despite this the room cleaning staff were excellent and this made up for the less than perfect rooms.
In the reception, there are many Portland Awards from the 1990 to 1996 period, but I did not see any recent ones. I ...
suggest a lick of paint and room refurbishment might help there.
New apartments have been recently built adjoining the hotel and perhaps this building work has tied up some of the owners money over the last two years.
The hotel location is excellent 150 metres from all the Bars and Restaurants.
I would go back in a few years, by which time I would hope the rooms would have been refurbished.
Finally I have to mention the lift which was horrendous it made a terrible squealling noise the whole holiday. Our room was next to the lift shaft and it really got on your nerves between 7.30am and 9.00am and 11.00pm to 2.00am. Many guests reported this to the reception, but it was the same for all of our 11 day holiday. Its funny how you adapt and surprisingly by day 9 we realised we had got used to it.

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Frank Baker visited the Nereus Hotel in October 2004
Fantastic Hotel Simple style no frills all the staff were fantastic even down to the cleaners who start work very early.

Our room was spotless TV worked fine - if you speak Greek.(Small niggle)

Food was good and well varied.

Location of the Hotel location was well placed 10 mins slow walk to harbour.

We are going back again in April 2005 looking forward to seeing all the staff again

Highly recommended for this grade Hotel

Tour Operator: Lets Go

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

NINA and ROBERT stayed at Nereus Hotel, Paphos in July 2004
We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks, hotel staff very friendly, apartments clean and tidy, maid service every day with clean towels, once weekly linen change.
Entertainment such as karaoke, bingo or quiz night.
Swimming pool clean and pool bar close by. Locals can use pool area at a small fee.


Tour Operator: First choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jason visited the Nereus Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2004
We had originally planned to stay at the Nereus as a group of 4 people, but sadly this changed to only two of us going.
On arrival (10.00 pm) we were greeted by the receptionist who came across as a little on the grumpy side and either didnt or couldnt give us a safe key. It later transpires that she was perefectly able to do so.

Foodwise the quality was perfect, but none of the meals had any labels which made identification difficult to say the least - especially on deserts.
Also the vegetables always seem to come mixed with sweetcorn.

The brochure mentions that the restaurant Papageorge is available to guests to use, although you do have to pay for any meals as they are not included in the Halfboard. Depending on which memeber of staff you spoke to, hotel guests ...
\'supposedly\' received a discount - unless you happen to get the grump receptionist.

No drinks are included in the evening meal (not even soft drinks) and so you have to pay for the drinks either at the end of each meal - or on the last night of your stay.

Our room was in the recently openend new blocks of apartments and were of a very high standard, cleaned daily.

However we did have a few problems with the water supply - one day there was no water at all, most other days it was luke warm at best.

The biggest dissapointment was that locals could pay to use the hotels swimming pools - often resulting in loud troublesome kids taking over the pool.

Read More

Tour Operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

margaret stayed at Nereus Hotel, Paphos in June 2004
My family and i stayed within the self-catering apartments,which are only up about a year.We feel it was in a good location,staff pleasant,rooms cleaned every day,along with fresh towels.it took us a couple of days to realise that we were better to cash travellers cheques at bank,as hotel took a big cut.Better value for money with travellers cheques than euro.Would definately go back.This was our first time abroad and will certainly go back to same hotel/apartments.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

margaret visited the Nereus Hotel in June 2004
Everyone has different standards and views, although locals can use the pool (paying a fee) if they are troublesome, they are spoken to, and warned to calm down or risk being kicked out, which did happen when my family and i were there.

The staff are helpful and do best to make your stay as relaxing and pleasant as possible.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

sandra shipwright visited the Nereus Hotel, Paphos in June 2004
this hotel was perfect, lovely staff very clean and so perfectly located for everything.the owner was a gentleman and all the staff that i had contact with were polite and friendly.the food was very varied, there was something for everyone unless you wanted 5 star treatment, the price of the holiday was very good. People we spoke to have been going to the nereus for years. I am definitely going back to the nereus in the next year i absolutely loved it.

Tour Operator: portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Katherine had a holiday at Nereus Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in May 2004
This hotel was super. The staff friendly & helpful. The hotel manager, George was always around & really interested in talking to you which is unusual to other hotels. He even remembered my name!

The hotel is in an ideal location to the shops, bars and there is a wide selection of places to eat within a few mins walk.

Without a doubt I would go back here. I have never had such a good holiday.

Tour Operator: Portland Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Carole and John visited the Nereus Hotel, Paphos in May 2004
On arrival at the Nereus we were disappointed to find that we were in the apartment block across the road from the main hotel with our balcony looking onto the back of a bar / restaurant. However once we settled in we were pleasantly surprised with the standard of accommodation - spacious rooms and spotlessly clean. Our apartment was cleaned thoroughly every day and clean towels also provided every day. Bed linen was changed four times during our two week stay. The hotel itself is a bit dated but the two blocks of apartments, one where the main swimming pool is, are very modern. Towards the end of our holiday, as the hotel became busier, we too found that towels were being left on sunbeds even although no-one was using them. If it was ...
my hotel, I would have signs saying that towels should not be left on loungers and if they are then they will be removed. The Nereus is well situated - within walking distance of the restaurants / bars but far enough away not to hear the noise.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Jackie & Dave had a holiday at Nereus Hotel, Paphos in May 2004
We were part of a wedding party and everyone seemed to have a great time!

The rooms were a little dated and could have done with a little modernising, but were cleaned every day.

The food was fantastic. A good variety and a good portion. Although there was very little offered to vegetarians, one of our party was veggie and the chef cooked her a vegetarian meal specially for her every day.

The pool area\'s were kept very clean and were of a very good standard.

The staff were very friendly, especially the Scottish guy (can\'t remember his name - sorry), who seemed to be in charge of entertainment and worked serving food.

The lifts were noisy and I\'m sure if you were next to them, it would have been irritating.

The rep was really good too, and helped out a lot with my friends wedding.



Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

JILL PARISH had a holiday at Nereus Hotel in May 2003
this hotel is a family run one and is spotlessly clean
we stay half board, and the breakfasts and evening meals are very good. the staff are always polite and helpful and we have been back four years running now and the same staff are there which is nice.
there is entertainment about three night a week
the two swimming pools are clean, the only downer is that as in most places you tend to get towel's left on the lounges by the pool even when there is nobody there which can be a pain.
a lady comes around of an evening to give boiled sweets out, and if you are not in your room she leaves one on each pillow, which is a nice touch.





Tour Operator: THOMPSON

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share