33 independent reviews of the Athena Beach Hotel
Address: Poseidonos, Yeroskipou, Cyprus
Athena Beach Hotel
Athena Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #17 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Athena Beach Hotel Athena Beach Hotel is rated 3.94 out of 5 from 33 Reviews
88% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (33 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Athena Beach Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"fantastic hotel, easy public transport"
garrett had a holiday at Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos in May 2013
Odile and Yannis, really looked after us unobtrusively. Fabulous breakfast daily, Champagne and salmon daily if you want, no we didn't! Lovely classy room, rain shower over bath also lovely free toiletries, spacious, very quiet air con. All staff low paid, with all food and drink paid for with black plastic card, the staff will need tips to survive this year, not easy for them, about three euros an hour, such a great team, ever ready to please.

Tour Operator: Sunsave

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5
"Superb"
Philip Brind stayed at Athena Beach Hotel in September 2012
We first went there in 2002 because the travel agent had double booked us and the
Athena Beach was the only one with a room available for those dates. Thank God they did. Ten years later we finally got to go again and although the staff has changed, the high standards have not.

Ideal location with nice gardens leading you directly to the beach. Everything is cleaned to a very high standard daily. The staff are polite and ready to help.
Car hire is essential, unless you just want to laze by the pool/beach all day. But don't. There is so much to see and do if you hire a car.

All in all a lovely safe holiday and the Athena Beach makes a perfect base.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Walker had a holiday at Athena Beach Hotel in November 2009
This was our first visit to Cyprus other than stopping off for the day from a ship. The hotel was well located next to the sea, and as others have said a 30 minute walk to the port. We had paid extra for a sea view mainly to ensure our room did not overlook the road. The view was fine and little noise was heard. The average age of customers would have been in the sixties, and a number of Tour Operators used this hotel.

The hotel was clean, but a little shabby in places and the room would have been of 3 star quality rather than 4 star. I have stayed in better Travel Inn rooms in the UK.

I found the dining room and the food a little disapointing, again about 3 star quality.

On the other hand the ...
staff were very good and in particular reception staff added considerable quality to the hotel.

However there is little to be said on positive note about the entertainment.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Nicki stayed at Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos in July 2009
This hotel is by far the nicest I have ever stayed in. The Staff were polite, friendly and extremley helpfull, also, they all seemed to love their jobs.
The rooms were cleaned daily and were immaculate. The food in hotel was fabulous, I am a very picky eater but did not struggle once and the novelty of having a sushi chef did not wear off by the end of the week. The theme nights were planned superbly with a good mix of entertainment and food. The beach and gardens were well maintained and cleaned daily including the removal of seaweed.

Having suffered a 19 hour delay coming back and being put up in another hotel made me realise how fabulous the Athena is and I would say that it nearer to a 5 star than a 4 star.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Graham & Michele stayed at Athena Beach Hotel in June 2009
Have just returned from a very enjoyable 2 week stay at the Athena Beach Hotel. We have stayed in many places over the years & I have to say that this hotel must rate as one of the best. From the moment you arrive, you are made most welcome until the day you leave.

Yes, it is a big hotel but there is no feeling of being overcrowded. There is ample seating in bar & lounge areas & plenty of sunbeds & parasols. True, it can get crowded immediately around the pool areas but there is plenty of grassland with palm trees to sunbathe in peace. What

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Lee Parsons visited the Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos in September 2007
The Athena Beach.... where do I start.

I\'ll start by telling you about me so you can gauge my opinion for yourself. I\'m a part time travel writer and have a neutral outlook on accommodation and travel circumstances. I\'m also passionate about food as a hobby so i hope i can give good advice on this too!

On to the hotel....

LOCATION - Its located about a 5 minute walk to the \'Triangle\' where theres a good selection of bars and restaurants. Some good, some bad, and some down right expensive! When the Euro comes in they will all HAVE to lower their prices otherwise European visitors will go places that wont be such a rip off. The harbour is only 15 minutes away (as stated by brochures) at a brisk pace. A nice pace would be more like 30 minutes, although it ...
isn\'t an unpleasant walk.

ARRIVAL - When you arrive at the hotel, you might be put off by the exterior. Dint worry too much as all hotels along this stretch don\'t appear to have taken any pride in the front appearance of the hotel.

THE LOBBY - The lobby area is well lit, spacious and provides plenty of seating with the small reception desk just to your left as you enter. The hotel lobby is all marble. Check in was relatively quick with our bags being taken to our room by the friendly porter. Reception staff are polite but can appear miserable.

THE ROOMS - The room was small but has most things you will need. Iron, ironing board, and hairdryer in the main room. Rooms are carpeted as are the halls making them very quiet at night. Decor wise, they are nothing groundbreaking but still comfortable. You have TV which you get a selection of channels in all different languages but English ones are mainly news channels. Rooms have a fridge in which although welcome, is very noisy in a silent room. The bathroom was slightly odd as there was 2 shower units, both working, installed in the bath. The rooms were reminiscent of a travel inn or travel lodge in the UK so although comfortable, nothing special. This advertises as a 4* hotel so I would have expected better in the rooms.

THE POOL - The pool area is very nice. Its bright, clean and pretty spacious. In October there was no problem getting sun beds either by the pool or on the nearby beach. sun beds are actually quality beds with a sponge mat and sturdy metal supports. Parasols were provided on all pairs of beds although we had masses of problems finding ones that would open. the pin you need to keep them up was either missing or didn\'t reach the hole. The pool is pretty cool and i didn\'t find any of the pools to be heated despite it being advertised. Later October warrants a heated pool but it was never found. Gardens are well kept, with the grass a little long but thats a small observation. The beach bar was there serving ice creams, toasties and all manner of drinks.

THE BEACH - the beach was man made and entrance to the sea for swimming was via a floating jetty. This drops you into a nice rock free are of sea. DON\'T USE THE CONCRETE JETTY - It drops you in the middle of the rocky areas which will result in cut feet! Sand was more like grit really but this is expected for man made beaches. It was kept clean and tidy and provided some stunning sunsets.

TERRACE BAR - There is a terrace running all the way around the 1st floor /reception floor (the pool and beach are at basement level) which offers a place to sit and enjoy a drink with waiter service from early evening. There is also an adjoining bar where the drinks are served. The waiting staff are extremely slow at taking your order and subsequently getting your drinks to you. One evening we waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken and drinks to arrive. They actually never did as we cancelled the order after this time and went elsewhere. We never used this facility again.

BREAKFAST - Breakfast is of a buffet nature and gets massively busy at around 9am. For some odd reason a third of the breakfast room was not set up making getting a table very difficult. The food was OK but nothing special. Some of the cooking techniques left something to be desired! Deep fried bacon? Hotplate omelets? What was a real problem was that hardly anything was labelled so you didn\'t know what it was. This proved very difficult for the Vegetarian in our party. that aside the breakfast choice was plentiful and offered fruit, continental breakfasts and an attempt at English breakfasts.

LUNCH - Lunch was available at pool level under the terrace bar. This offered a selection of hot and cold food to eat in or take out. This was a lot better than breakfast and was reasonably priced. salads, hot dinners, toasties, freshly squeezed juices and lots more. Staff here were very miserable though. and offered nothing more than a grunt as you approached them.

SERVICE - Service is one of the main things that makes a hotel and is also one of the factors in which it gets a star rating. Service was in no way that of a genuine 4* hotel. When we reported a broken kettle it took a whole day for this to be replaced and even then we had to chase it up. We was left without power for 6 hours and again had to chase this to be fixed. Away from the problems we found the service to be pretty awful too with the staff just doing the bare minimum to keep their jobs. At a 4* i expect to get top notch service and this fell some way short.

CONCLUSION - This is an average hotel and has a lovely pool area and lobby. My main grip about this hotel is the price you pay to stag here.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Wrigley Family stayed at Athena Beach Hotel in August 2007
The hotel is well situated. It used to be the case that the hotel was on the outskirts of the \'tourist\' area. However, the immediate area around the hotel has now developed to the point where it is nice and relaxed, while still being surrounded with enough small bars, restaurants, and shops that there is no need to walk the half mile or so into the main restaurant \'strip\' leading to Paphos harbour.

The hotel is exceptionally clean and well appointed - particularly the lobby and reception area.

Rooms are comfortable and well fitted-out. Air conditioning works very well. Balconies are very private [completely enclosed style] so there is no disturbance from adjoining rooms. French windows are single-glazed, so there could be some road noise if facing that way [we had a side room so it was very quiet. We ...
had two rooms with an adjoining door - we noted that the adjoining doors have a packing piece of sound deadening foam that is removed [by the porter]when the adjoining door is unlocked between rooms - this is a really good feature as, even with an adjoining door, there is virtually no \'neighbour noise\'. Rooms walls are constructed of solid concrete, so there is virtually no noise transmission. Some postings have commented on external cooling/airconditioning \'fan\' noise. I think other commenters are mistaken, as I believe the \'fan\' noise is caused by the in-room fridge - we heard a [slight] rumbling noise and switched our fridge off and the room was silent.

Rooms and corridors are carpeted, so there is no \'clip clop\' of women\'s heels when you are trying to get to sleep. Similarly, no furniture re-arrangement noise trauma at gone-midnight.

As you will guess from all the above, I like quiet hotels, and the Athena Beach is nice and quiet.

The room cleaning staff are exceptionally efficient.

Food is of a very good standard, especially the cyprus/BBQ nights [we paid to join these, as they looked so good]. The speciality nights, with candlelit tables around the pool are enchanting. The restaurant staff do seem a bit miserable. Breakfast can be a bit hectic.

The bar service is excellent. Half price cocktails every night from 7-8 are very good value. The bar waiters/waitresses are very efficient and friendly.

Entertainment is restrained, but effective. The animation team seem to put themselves around a lot.

Reception staff are very polite and helpful.

The pool area is very clean and tidy. Some of the plastic drain holes did need cleaning while I was there, But I noted they were cleaning these in the last few days of our holiday.

The gardens and beach area are very lush and well maintained - meticulously maintained almost.

There is a very large number of high-quality sunbeds around the pools, gardens, and beach. I used to get up everyday at 05:30 to read by the pool [I was always the first there]. I have not been at a hotel where there were so many sunbeds remained available at 9, 10, even 11 a.m.

No lilos allowed in the pool. This is strictly enforced by pool staff.

Hotel guests seem, on the whole, a mix of nationalities, with British being in the majority. Guests seem well behaved, with all the children I saw behaving well. There seemed a good spread of children\'s ages, with more 11-16 year olds than I have seen elsewhere, as opposed to infant children.

A new [small] complex of upmarket bars and restaurants has opened opposite the hotel, and this, coupled with the other large-is 4* hotels in the area is making the whole area around the hotel begin to look rather \'upmarket\' compared with the older, more hectic areas of Pahos in and around the harbour.

All-in-all a very refined hotel. A nice relaxing place to be, but with enough going on for all ages so that it doesnt get boring.

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Carol Bold stayed at Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in May 2007
Breakfasts were fantasic & included everything from cereal & fruit to bacon, eggs & mashed potato! We even had champagne one morning with breakfast compliments of the hotel, and a cocktail & canape evening where you get chance to mingle with the other guests & meet the management & staff.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, tidy & very luxurious. The grounds were well kept & pool & beach areas very spacious.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful, especially when it came to our one year old son.

We will definately be returning to this hotel, if you have young children its a perfect & very child-friendly hotel.

(Sea view room recommended if you can afford that bit extra - its definately worth it)

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Michael Moore stayed at Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2006
Another excellent/quiet week spent in a 4 star hotel but one starting to show its seven years of age. The moans include some rust appearing in the bathroom, a strange smell for much of the week - akin to mustiness and lots of ants on the patio, also a leaking kettle which finally blew the mains fuse.

On the plus side were the location next to a decent beach, excellent food and wonderful staff.

The bowling green between hotels was superb value and great fun. Lots of other things to do as well. The pool was too cold to use in late October but the sea was great.
For a rest and relaxing time it was great.

We will visit again. Further comments can be found on my site at http://www.mjmoore.org.uk

Tour Operator: Thomas Cooke

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Smith stayed at Athena Beach Hotel in September 2006
We stayed at the Athena Beach in Paphos for a fortnight. We were married in Paphos at the same time.

We could not have asked for a better hotel, we found the staff to be very friendly and efficient, they even emailed home to Scotland to advise a family member that they had passed on the wedding card that they had sent to us in Cyprus. We held our wedding reception at the hotel and it was perfect.

The hotel is very clean & even the cleaning staff are very efficient and polite. The food was spectacular i have never seen so much fresh food in all my life and it just kept coming.

The hotel grounds and beach were always kept clean and tidy.

A fantastic hotel we will be returning next year for our Anniversary.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

kim rowley had a holiday at Athena Beach Hotel in August 2006
Very nice hotel. Staff very helpful on reception but miserable as sin in the restaurant.



Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Pauley visited the Athena Beach Hotel in August 2006
Just returned from our 5th visit to this hotel, and again had a lovely relaxing holiday.

The breakfasts are great so much choice, freshly made omlettes pancakes fried eggs and is continually refreshed until 10am.

We have never eaten at the Athena in the evening as we prefer to venture out trying different restaurants in Paphos or up the road from the hotel.

The hotel is cleaned to a high standard, the pool and gardens are very well maintained. There are plenty of sunbeds, as always you have to be up reasonably early for the poolside beds.

We personally like the garden area with a palm tree for shade and its also quieter. Our 8yr old loves the waterslide.

The beach is not brilliant and quite rocky but there is a pontoon from which you can ...
swim from. We have always found the staff to be friendly and any requests dealt with promptly and efficently.

Entertainment is very low key but that is a personal preference of ours so suits us. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into Paphos and the harbour, but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel 80cents for Adults 50 for children.

If you enjoy pleasant surroundings with plenty of outdoor space and a lovely pool area right on the beach then you will like the Athena Beach.

Read More

Tour Operator: Argo

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Roxanne visited the Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2006
Whilst we were staying at the Athena Beach Hotel we got married and had our wedding reception at the hotel.

The staff were so helpful and couldnt do enough for us.
The food was lovely on our wedding day and during our holiday.

The rooms were very clean, they were cleaned every day.

The pool area was very clean and there was always sun loungers free no matter what time of day we went to the pool.

We would definatley go back to the Athena Beach hotel.


Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

foster visited the Athena Beach Hotel in June 2006
Stayed on b&b basis ,paid for a side sea view room ,which we asked to be moved as we had more view of the car park .Manager stated that the room was classed as a side sea view.

The hotel is in need of some tlc , decor is dated ,entertainment is very poor , vocalist forgot their words! Rooms smelt of damp on arrival . Pool area was clean , a water slide for the kids , paddling pool and a large pool .

Food was very good , variety of choice at all meal times and well presented . We paid for half board on 5 days out of 10 .Staff at breakfast were not friendly , they were not child friendly at dinner either.

I would not return this hotel ,despite the fab pool and food , if the staff seem hostile it makes it uncomfortable !

Tour Operator: olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Stacey had a holiday at Athena Beach Hotel in April 2006
Hi, I stayed here in April for my wedding, and thought it was great!!!

The food was fab so we upgraded to half board for the 2nd week.

Although there was no entertainment every night they had singers etc to enjoy drink too but most people venture out for walks down the road which is not far.....We had young kids and old with us and we all walked with no complaints... but a taxi is only 4 pounds everywhere so if your feeling lazy.

This hotel is a fifteen min walk from the water park,go-kart centre and 2 mins from the beach.

I found the staff at the hotel very helpful and lovely...they were always on hand if you needed anything.

We had side sea view rooms which were great they were very spacious.

I would totally recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday for all ...
kinds of ages although there were quite a few elderly people playing bingo....just means theres more sunbeds!

There is not a lot for kids to do but they put on DVD everyday for them and play games as well as there is a slide and indoor pool...but lets face it our kids find friends and play.

Definitely check out this hotel I have been abroad many times in 4* accommodation and this is by far one of the nicest hotels.

Also before I go check out the Rimini restaurant it's fantastic!! I had my wedding reception there and they were brill

Have fun....

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Yasmin Hasgul visited the Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
This was my first time to Cyprus and I had a lovely stay at the Athena Beach Hotel. We got a room with a sea view which is what we asked for and the room was equipped with an iron, ironing board, kettle and a hairdryer and they all worked. They also gave you robes to wear and slippers.

The pool area was lovely and they have lots of different pools so it does not get overcrowded. They also have enough sunloungers so you never have to get up early to get a sun lounger and they provide towels to use round the pool free of charge.

It is nice that a hotel does not overcharge for guests to buy things and encourages you to stay in the hotel. The entertainment in the evening was good ...
for the 2 nights that we stayed in the hotel and an evening buffet was C

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Peter Davies stayed at Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
This is an excellent hotel. The food is very good. At breakfast there is a huge choice, with some of it cooked freshly for you.

We originally booked on Bed and Breakfast, but paid a supplement when we arrived at the hotel for half board.

This is good value and cheaper than upgrading to half board with the package holiday operator. Staff were friendly and it was handt having an English receptionist.

Not much in the form of entertainment, although outside gala nights, two in a week, provided some low key entertainment.

Tour Operator: Manod

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Steve and Chrissie visited the Athena Beach Hotel in July 2005
We stayed at the Athena Beach for 2 weeks in July, we found the room and hotel very clean and the staff were very friendly.
We stayed b&b and the breakfast had a wide choice the omelette's a must.

The pool and garden areas were very well kept and sunbeds always available. ...


Entertainment was very low key but we took the bus from outside the hotel to the harbour most nights.

We will be returning to this hotel in the future.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jill visited the Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2005
The hotel has large grounds with plenty of sunbeds situated round the pools and in the well kept gardens. Reservation of sunbeds is not allowed so there were always plenty to choose from although there were a few people prowling about early with their towels looking for favourite spots! The outdoor pools are lovely and very clean. The larger pool is a sensible depth all over and is suitable for swimmers and non swimmers. The middle pool is deeper and smaller and we preferred to sit round this one as there were some nice shaded areas. There is a small pool with a water slide.

Try the strawberries at 3.30 round the pool CY

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Dawn stayed at Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos in June 2005
The Athena Beach Hotel Paphos is a lovely hotel. We stayed on a B&B basis, on arrival we were met and our luggage was taken up tour room, 3rd floor full sea view as requested.

The rooms was immaculate and had everything we needed, fridge, iron and ironing board, tv, hair dryer, tea making, bath robes and slippers, 24 hour room service. It was air conditioned which was essential.

The staff were all very helpful and cheerful.

The dining room was spotless and the breakfast buffet was excellent catering for everyone, the atmosphere was relaxed and the food was good. Fresh crepes every day! Strawberries round the pool were nice and the pool, gardens and beach area were clean and tidy. There were plenty of sun loungers to go around and you could get a beach towel form the hotel so need ...
to pack one.

We did not see much in the way of entertainment as we were out every night.

The location of the hotel is good and the bus stops right out side to visit the harbour and markets. There a some nice bars and places to find a nice meal in walking distance of the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel and will be going back in 2007.

Read More

Tour Operator: Going Places

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share